Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism alive and well in Dublin

• 06-11-2005 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭

I was travelling on the bus late last night with some friends of mine and a few seats behind me at the back of the bus there were quite a rowdy bunch of people although they weren't teenagers (I'd say early twenties). There were two Chinese men up ahead of me having a conversation between themselves, minding there own business. Anyway one of the loud guys at the back got up to get off at his stop and before he heads down the stairs he taps one of the Chinese men on the back and says the following:

"Hey ya alright?"

(Chinese man nods politely)

"Good. Why don't ya go learn some Irish then or else f*ck off? Ya f*ckin' pr*ck ya."

(Cue his friends at the back laughing their heads off as the guy trots down the stairs)

I was disgusted at this as I imagine most of the people on the bus were. The Chinese man just basically tried to ignore him but I felt bad that this total arsehole had singled this innocent guy out just to vent his ignorance and prejudice. It's unfortunate that we have people in Ireland like this who give Irish people a bad name. If anybody needs to "f*ck off" it's people like that guy!

What about yourselves though? Have you witnessed or encountered racism yourselves? I haven't witnessed it too many times myself but it's out there alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

What did you do about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I didn't do anything about it. What could I have done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Yeah I'm sure the OP got up and started ranting at them, demanding an apology... sure... get real... nobody wants to risk getting their head kicked in... I reckon he did what most normal people do and sit there quietly.
    It's easy to be a big hard-man full of talk on the net... it's a different matter when faced with a bunch of people who'd sooner break a bottle over your head than consider an apology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

Yeah I'm sure the OP got up and started ranting at them, demanding an apology... sure... get real... nobody wants to risk getting their head kicked in... I reckon he did what most normal people do and sit there quietly.
    It's easy to be a big hard-man full of talk on the net... it's a different matter when faced with a bunch of people who'd sooner break a bottle over your head than consider an apology.

I would have said something if I was that disgusted by it. Thats the problem with alot of people, they don't say anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

I can't help but wonder how good the louts Irish is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭yak_kadafi

being a coloured guy(that was born in ireland) i see and hear this **** happening all the time to my own community...up til about 5-6 years ago it was all good when there were only a fraction of immigrants here and people were very welcoming etc etc............those days are long gone.....
    if you talk to alot of irish people about racism, they will simply say that it seems like people are opening up their doors alot more to foreigners etc......however for a long time i have been saying that it is only when you are in a minority group that you realise the real extent of it.............
    Sometimes people might not say something to you but you can see by the expression on their faces that they obviously don't want you here.........and then people give out about about foreigners not mingling with irish people...can you blame us?
    It has now come to a point where to be honest I and many of my friends whos parents are foreigners and worked their backsides off and paid their taxes really don't give two ****s bout being irish cos no matter what happens the problem is not going to change ANYTIME soon.
    Some say "dont mind the knackers".The knackers are only part of the problem....you can go to a club and try get talkin to a girl from lets say a posh part of the city and the bitch says "sorry i dont talk to foreigners"........what the **** is all that about?
    Anyway whoever came up with the thread...thanks for hightlighting the problem for something like the ten millionth time......

yak_kadafi wrote:
    being a coloured guy(that was born in ireland) i see and hear this **** happening all the time to my own community...up til about 5-6 years ago it was all good when there were only a fraction of immigrants here and people were very welcoming etc etc............those days are long gone.....
    if you talk to alot of irish people about racism, they will simply say that it seems like people are opening up their doors alot more to foreigners etc......however for a long time i have been saying that it is only when you are in a minority group that you realise the real extent of it.............
    Sometimes people might not say something to you but you can see by the expression on their faces that they obviously don't want you here.........and then people give out about about foreigners not mingling with irish people...can you blame us?
    It has now come to a point where to be honest I and many of my friends whos parents are foreigners and worked their backsides off and paid their taxes really don't give two ****s bout being irish cos no matter what happens the problem is not going to change ANYTIME soon.
    Some say "dont mind the knackers".The knackers are only part of the problem....you can go to a club and try get talkin to a girl from lets say a posh part of the city and the bitch says "sorry i dont talk to foreigners"........what the **** is all that about?
    Anyway whoever came up with the thread...thanks for hightlighting the problem for something like the ten millionth time......

This is a sad truth we should be ashamed of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

yak_kadafi wrote:

You're right, the problem isn't going to change anytime soon. However your point about posh girls... you should know they don't talk to anybody who isn't posh. That means knackers, boggers etc. Also not being a member of your school's rugby team doesn't help.

I didn't do anything about it. What could I have done?

It seems as pointless complaining about it here as it is to do nothing when faced with the situation. If you can witness it first hand and do nothing about it you obviously. don't care too much yourself.

If 2 scumbags were bashing a granny would you stand by and watch because you were too afraid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

In my experience there are quite a lot of black people out there who are always playing the race card. I've been accused of being a racist at least seven times. The accusations were outrageous and rediculous. Racism from all races and ethnic backgrounds is much too common. There are also a lot of people who claim to hate racism but are subconciously racist.

It seems as pointless complaining about it here as it is to do nothing when faced with the situation. If you can witness it first hand and do nothing about it you obviosly don't care too much yourself.

If 2 scumbags were bashing a granny would you stand by and watch because you were too afraid?

It's funny because there was only a thread about "scumbags" and some people wanted to have the army on the street for zero tolerance. It's the general public who need to open up instead of having muscle heads in uniform with guns walking around the street.

Dr J wrote:
    You're right, the problem isn't going to change anytime soon. However your point about posh girls... you should know they don't talk to anybody who isn't posh. That means knackers, boggers etc. Also not being a member of your school's rugby team doesn't help.

the point about em not talkin aint the problem...the problem is when they say "i dont talk to foreigners" and walk away..and ur left standing there thinking..what the **** is up with this city???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

On Wicklow Street, I think it was, I saw some kind of confrontation between an Asian bloke and 2 scummers (coulda been homeless or junkies, not sure)... One was back a bit shouting stuff at the Asian, and the other was squaring up to him sayin stuff like "I'll kick yer f*ckin head in" in a quiet, probably supposed to be intimidating, voice. The Asian bloke was kinda walkin away, but shoutin back at the other guy. So the guy at the back said somethin about "go home to yer own country" or somethin to do with rice, and all the crowd that gathered round started goin "ye racist, get outa here ye racist!" and stuff like that. It was great to see everybody ganging up on the morons :p And an old man was sayin to the Asian guy, "don't worry about it, it's not worth it" and the likes... which was also nice to see, since normally older people would be more conservative and wiery of foreigners.

There's always gonna be d*ckheads, I'm afraid, so they're just gonna have to be ignored. Just know that the majority of the country would welcome foreign people no problem.

Ag marbh wrote:
    I would have said something if I was that disgusted by it.
    Like I said, it's easy to say that now.
    I dunno, maybe you're a big guy and can look after yourself versus a bunch of scobies... or maybe you're such an idealist that you'd take the beating and still feel you came out on top.

Apart from the risk of getting stabbed, I'd wonder if saying something would make any difference... sure you might show the victim of the racial abuse that not everyone is like that, and most people find what just happened objectionable, but are you actually going to make the racist scobie think before doing it again? .. not a chance, you'd be laughed out of it.

Have you ever seen someone telling a bunch of knacks to stop smoking on the bus? Getting smoke blown in their face and things thrown at them for the rest of the journey? ... Do you think they were shamed into putting out the smokes? Hell no.
    Neanderthals have thick skulls and hairy ears, I wouldn't waste my breath trying to get through to them... if all the PC-awareness and Hollywood feel-good movies haven't reached them by now, a stern talking-to isn't going to do much better.
    Meanwhile you have to share your bus journey home with these people, unless you want to get off the bus and wait for another one.

Honestly, my hat goes off to you if you've done this in the past, but you have to understand why a lot of people choose not to act.

It seems as pointless complaining about it here as it is to do nothing when faced with the situation. If you can witness it first hand and do nothing about it you obviously. don't care too much yourself.

Oh grow up, you're a big man on the internet, but you'd probably sh*t your pants if you saw someone being robbed or something :rolleyes:

EDIT:
    Have you ever seen someone telling a bunch of knacks to stop smoking on the bus? Getting smoke blown in their face and things thrown at them for the rest of the journey? ... Do you think they were shamed into putting out the smokes? Hell no.
    Neanderthals have thick skulls and hairy ears, I wouldn't waste my breath trying to get through to them... if all the PC-awareness and Hollywood feel-good movies haven't reached them by now, a stern talking-to isn't going to do much better.
    Meanwhile you have to share your bus journey home with these people, unless you want to get off the bus and wait for another one.

I agree... I was on the bus with my girlfriend and my little cousin during the summer... There was pretty much only us and a group of scummers upstairs, and they were down the back of the bus smoking. My girlfriend notices this and starts staring, trying to be obvious and show her disapproval. I was telling her to stop staring, and she just kept doin it, as if her moral force, or reasoning would convince a pikey to put out their smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭zinc

yak_kadafi wrote:
    the point about em not talkin aint the problem...the problem is when they say "i dont talk to foreigners" and walk away..and ur left standing there thinking..what the **** is up with this city???

Haha man, its not just foreigners as he said, its anybody he isnt posh. You dont fit the posh criteria (how many immigrants live in D4?) so she wont talk to you simple as.

Racism anyway wont go away, thats my theory, its natural .I'm easy going, Muslim/Jew friends etc. but I would never be naive enough to think that racism will ever die, when we have class issues that aint been resolved in any country how the hell do people expect to resolve the race issue.

Its a fact of life I think.

Like I said, it's easy to say that now.
    I dunno, maybe you're a big guy and can look after yourself versus a bunch of scobies... or maybe you're such an idealist that you'd take the beating and still feel you came out on top.

Apart from the risk of getting stabbed, I'd wonder if saying something would make any difference... sure you might show the victim of the racial abuse that not everyone is like that, and most people find what just happened objectionable, but are you actually going to make the racist scobie think before doing it again? .. not a chance, you'd be laughed out of it.

Honestly, my hat goes off to you if you've done this in the past, but you have to understand why a lot of people choose not to act.

I'm not a big guy. Yeah it's easy to say that now but I acted on a similar situation a while back in Abrakebabera(spelling?) and would have no problem doing it again.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Oh grow up, you're a big man on the internet, but you'd probably sh*t your pants if you saw someone being robbed or something :rolleyes:
    real talk....

zinc wrote:
    Haha man, its not just foreigners as he said, its anybody he isnt posh. You dont fit the posh criteria (how many immigrants live in D4?) so she wont talk to you simple as.

Racism anyway wont go away, thats my theory, its natural .I'm easy going, Muslim/Jew friends etc. but I would never be naive enough to think that racism will ever die, when we have class issues that aint been resolved in any country how the hell do people expect to resolve the race issue.

Its a fact of life I think.

It aint ever gonna die but is it gonna stay the way it is lol..every other country i been to..ya never got any white or colured chick ever turning down a dance etc etc....cept here

o and another thing just cos racism is never gonna disappear does that mean that we gotta simply accept it...**** NO!!!!

DaveMcG wrote:

You might consider growing up yourself rather than casting uninformed aspersions on my character.

I wouldn't stand by and watch someone getting robbed, or be racially abused infront of me. If I did nothing I'd feel like I'd be condoning it. You don't have to believe me and quite frankly I couldn't care less if you do or not. This isn't a competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Those lads on the bus may not even be racist - they could just be dumb fools trying to have a laugh at someone elses expense.

It's disgusting. I hate people who don't treat others with respect and compassion, whether they rich, poor, black, white...

Humans are scummy though. These problems will never go away unless we improve our education system to include a lot more social issues. Making society stricter on these fools is not the solution.

You might consider growing up yourself rather than casting uninformed aspersions on my character.

I wouldn't stand by and watch someone getting robbed, or be racially abused infront of me. If I did nothing I'd feel like I'd be condoning it. You don't have to believe me and quite frankly I couldn't care less if you do or not. This isn't a competition.

You're right it's not, so stop trying to make Johnny Mac17-year-old feel like he should be out looking for racists to bash. It's easy to say "you shoulda done something" when you're a stocky 24 year old who's just after reading about the situation, but don't start chastising skinny 17/18 year olds for not challenging a group of junkies to a brawl for the sake of your conscience.

"Hey, don't be slaggin chinese people"
    *junky takes out syringe*
    "--uhhh, I mean, you shoulda killed him!"

The funny thing is, if those lads were Korean they could have knocked the **** out of those scumbags. All Koreans leave school as Taekwondo experts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

dublindude wrote:
    All Koreans leave school as Taekwondo experts.

Eh, no. We do Irish for all the way through school but we aren't all experts in it are we?

Plus, if there's 5 of them, you're in trouble regardless tbh.

nesf wrote:
    Eh, no. We do Irish for all the way through school but we aren't all experts in it are we?

Plus, if there's 5 of them, you're in trouble regardless tbh.

Well, I'd consider a blackbelt to be an expert!!

DaveMcG wrote:
    "Hey, don't be slaggin chinese people"
    *junky takes out syringe*
    "--uhhh, I mean, you shoulda killed him!"

Now you're just exaggerating.

The main point is that the general public need to stand up against these things when they can instead of just watching all of this stuff happen around us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭bagdaddy

Binomate wrote:
    In my experience there are quite a lot of black people out there who are always playing the race card. I've been accused of being a racist at least seven times. The accusations were outrageous and rediculous. Racism from all races and ethnic backgrounds is much too common. There are also a lot of people who claim to hate racism but are subconciously racist.

yeah i agree. Also i've witnessed racism but it was when some black guy called me a 'cracker' which is black slang for a white guy. I think the so called racism Ireland has is greatly exaggerated.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Same as above,that's just who I am, went to the biggest knack secondary school ever...had to back up those words a lot.It's people not doing anything that is the problem.
    If the OP did nothing,it's ok there was a gang of them but what if everybody on the bus reacted?
    That's what people should do,instead of just sitting there.
    Don't just say 'oh what an outrage' , tell them to stfu.

Ag marbh wrote:
    Now you're just exaggerating.

The main point is that the general public need to stand up against these things when they can instead of just watching all of this stuff happen around us.
    Are you having a laugh? I could have exaggerated that greatly, but I don't think there's anything sensational about a junkie taking out a weapon when they're being confronted.

No sh*t people need to stand up to them, but filling kids' heads with notions that they should be out saving the world is going to do nothing except get them hurt.

First of all I was in the centre of the bus and the guy made his remarks before he went down the stairs. there were others ahead of me. What should I have done then? Stood up like Superman and run over and punched the guy in the face?

I don't care about racism? Bullsh*t. I'm sure I and most of the people on the bus cared. I really don't see how I could have done better in the situation when the guy was down the stairs after the comments were made.

And the example you give is ridiculous. Of course if a person is assaulted it's a different thing altogether.

Tell me what you would have done. I'm genuinely interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Oh I bet you felt really smart when you posted that..

10 lads are holding up a securicor van with loaded guns.. If you don't do something to stop it you obviously don't care..

edit :)

dublindude wrote:
    Well, I'd consider a blackbelt to be an expert!!

Every Korean holds a blackbelt? I find that hard to believe. But, regardless, having a blackbelt in a martial art doesn't mean you can beat up groups of people on the street.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

You would need to be a high level blackbelt to do that,not many people are..let alone highschool graduates :)

DaveMcG wrote:
    Are you having a laugh? I could have exaggerated that greatly, but I don't think there's anything sensational about a junkie taking out a weapon when they're being confronted.

No sh*t people need to stand up to them, but filling kids' heads with notions that they should be out saving the world is going to do nothing except get them hurt.

Are the majority of these comments made by junkie's? It's more of a rarity that you're going to have a syringe pulled on you. If I thought someone had a syringe I wouldn't do it myself.
    I'm not filling anyones head with notions about saving the world. People are too passive and let these things slide even when they could easily say something without endangering themselves.

Would you like to jump to more conclusions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

You would need to be a high level blackbelt to do that,

Not really, just stupid.

Sarky wrote:
    Not really, just stupid.
    You need to be stupid to beat up groups of people?
    I'm there!

Ag marbh wrote:
    Are the majority of these comments made by junkie's? It's more of a rarity that you're going to have a syringe pulled on you. If I thought someone had a syringe I wouldn't do it myself.
    I'm not filling anyones head with notions about saving the world. People are too passive and let these things slide even when they could easily say something without endangering themselves.

Would you like to jump to more conclusions?

I would say that the majority of people who say "Why don't ya go learn some Irish then or else f*ck off? Ya f*ckin' pr*ck ya" to some random foreigner on the bus is a junkie and/or a total scumbag, yes, and both are likely to be carrying a knife. How do you know if someone has a weapon or not? Is it people with a sign that says "I'm packin a piece" that you avoid? Or people wearing Burberry? Lemme guess, you only comment if it's a small, skinny, old man in a tuxedo and a monocle who's making racist comments..

People are too passive and let things slide, yes, but this situation was one where it's ok to let it slide, alright? What would you have done in this situation? Chased after the guy, dragged him up, and made him apologise? No, you would have gave him a stern look and then mumbled something to your friend. Just because someone was calling a security guard in Abrakebabra a nig nog, and on your way out the door you mumbled stupid racist, don't think that makes you the saviour of the world. Get off your high-horse, it's dangerous and stupid to start fights with people on the bus for the sake of making yourself feel better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

yak_kadafi wrote:
    Thats quite surprising. I've seen many "foreigners" getting the woman, cos they're "foreign". Goto a different club, tbh.

Oh, and this is the only country that I've been to that some women don't like the Irish...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭celticwarriorjb

Wow Another Racism Thread!!! How Original, Going On Boards.ie Is Like Reading The Dublin Racist Herald
    EDIT: I just made a $15.00 bet with my brother that this thread will go over 75 posts so keep it up you racism enthusiasts!!!

DaveMcG wrote:
    I would say that the majority of people who say "Why don't ya go learn some Irish then or else f*ck off? Ya f*ckin' pr*ck ya" to some random foreigner on the bus is a junkie and/or a total scumbag, yes, and both are likely to be carrying a knife. How do you know if someone has a weapon or not? Is it people with a sign that says "I'm packin a piece" that you avoid? Or people wearing Burberry? Lemme guess, you only comment if it's a small, skinny, old man in a tuxedo and a monocle who's making racist comments..

I think thats a retarded generalisation you make. It's untrue also.
    DaveMcG wrote:
    People are too passive and let things slide, yes, but this situation was one where it's ok let it slide, alright? What would you have done in this situation? Chased after the guy, dragged him up, and made him apologise? No, you would have gave him a stern look and then mumbled something to your friend. Just because someone was calling a security guard in Abrakebabra a nig nog, and on your way out the door you mumbled stupid racist, don't think that makes you the saviour of the world. Get off your high-horse, it's dangerous and stupid to start fights with people on the bus for the sake of making yourself feel better.

I would have said something in that situation. Told them to chill out at least. Who are you to make these assumptions of what I would have done? You don't even know who I am. Once again you do it, when did I say anything regarding a security guard in abrakebabra....I didn't even tell you any details about the incident but you continue to jump to conclusions. All of the things you said above must be something you done/do yourself and it really shows how much of an idiot you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭The Troll

I constantly see it in town, always from scobies. The joy of having knackers in the country. Ive seen them abusing security guards, taxi drivers and various othe rnon-Irish nationals. As far as I'm concerned Dublin scumbags should all be shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

The Troll wrote:
    I constantly see it in town, always from scobies. The joy of having knackers in the country. Ive seen them abusing security guards, taxi drivers and various othe rnon-Irish nationals. As far as I'm concerned Dublin scumbags should all be shot.
    You know, they might well say the same thing about the people they give out about.

Ag marbh wrote:
    I think thats a retarded generalisation you make. It's untrue also.

That's, erm... great...:confused:
    Ag marbh wrote:
    I would have said something in that situation. Told them to chill out at least.

And what difference would that have made? Do you think they might have thought, "sh*t, that bloke's right, we should chill out!" and then go apologise to the other fella? No, most likely they would have said, "f*ck off", and then you would have turned around shaking your head. Am I right? Do you really think your moral opposition to them makes a f*cking difference? If you were really eager to get involved and save the world, you could say something to the guy they were abusing, like "ignore them, they're morons."

What good would your "chill out guuuyyyyssss :o" comment have done?
    Ag marbh wrote:
    Who are you to make these assumptions of what I would have done? You don't even know who I am. Once again you do it, when did I say anything regarding a security guard in abrakebabra....I didn't even tell you any details about the incident but you continue to jump to conclusions.

You didn't say anything about it, I was animating the situation to make a point.
    Ag marbh wrote:
    All of the things you said above must be something you done/do yourself

Nah I don't go to Abrakebabra, I much prefer Iskander's, to be honest.
    Ag marbh wrote:
    and it really shows how much of an idiot you are.

orly_owl.jpg

Don't be getting personal lads. You should be able to respond to people's posts without insults. Try to remain civil please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I was walking down O'Connell Street one evening about two years ago in the dark and the pissings of rain. Anyway outside some convenience store opposite Eason's, two creamers who were pissed and had a bag of cans each, were screaming abuse at this black security guard. One of them then ran forward to throw a can of beer at the security guard....and due to the amount of surface water on the pavement lost his balance and went face first onto the ground. :D After the initial shock, he got up and turned to the security guard, shouted at the top of his voice that he was a monkey and staggered off.

It was unreal to think after making a complete tit of himself that he still thought by calling the security guard a monkey that he was convincing himself that he was a superior being. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

Don't worry Mr Nice Guy, it's not just Dublin in which racism is alive and well... it's all of Ireland. Many a time as a foreigner have I been abused and had racist comments thrown at me. I give as good as I get though and, to be honest, the majority of people who say the racist comment are what I call the 'toothless wonders of society', men in their early twenties from rough parts of towns, with no jobs and who speak and read at a four year old level with no other prospect in life but to be a non-conformist. What really makes me laugh is the general appearance of your average Irish racist, if they were to look in the mirror they'd do their utmost to draw attention away from themselves as they tend to look like blood relatives of John Merrick - the elephant man.

It's a joke really, the Irish turning around and being racist to anyone who comes to live and work in this country, did you as a race not champion the fact you were mistreated as a race, segregated into areas in foreign countries such as the US/UK & Australia in yesteryear?. Then again I am trying to apply logic to a consensus of people where it is not recognised nor understood.

As to the man who told the Chinese man about "Learn some ****ing Irish will ya", well my suggestion to him would be to "learn to speak English properly you stupid ****" as if he fits the bill of your typical racist in this country his dulcet tones echo of a howling bulldog chewing a toffee on a hot day.

I hope with all my heart that more and more foreign people come here to live, by the boatload, planefull and campervan. I'd love to see the uncomfortable look on the scumbags faces when they realise that the Irish will be in the minority on this tiny Island by 2015.
    Wake up and welcome to the 21st century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

Racism alive and well in Dublin
    And youre only noticing this now??

Laguna wrote:
    It's a joke really, the Irish turning around and being racist to anyone who comes to live and work in this country
    *cough* Racist *cough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

Laguna wrote:

It's a joke really, the Irish turning around and being racist to anyone who comes to live and work in this country, did you as a race not champion the fact you were mistreated as a race, segregated into areas in foreign countries such as the US/UK & Australia in yesteryear?

Yeah, good work with your selective quoting there Donkey..

Ag marbh wrote:
    I would have said something in that situation. Told them to chill out at least.

You wouldn't have done that because the guy was down the stairs in an instant after the comments. Unless of course you would have gotten up, walked down the stairs and then told him this?