Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who likes knobs and switches

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Jebus H Keeeeeryst!

And I thought this was bad
    040328_R01_005_SL_medium.jpg

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Mmm, EMG's. Can't say I'm too fond of the body shape, especially on the top and bottom where the curve gets tighter.

That's all parametric EQ stuff. Way too complicated. Are we musicians or scientists? Surely we cannot be both?

I'm gonna guess two volume, two tone, and two 4 band eq's. As for the six switches...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Pah! You want knobs?

Arturia_Moog_Modular_Synthesizer.jpg

Mmmmmm! :) Never get bored with that baby.

Mike.

Where do ye start? :D

mike65 wrote:
    Pah! You want knobs?

Mmmmmm! :) Never get bored with that baby.

Mike.

But that's not a guitar...

Gadzoooooks! :eek: You're right, how'd I miss that?! :D

Mike.

You think you're sooo smart :p

/me goes to find a picture of the Apollo mission control...

Have you tried playing Fanfare for the Common Man on one of these?

rover-rus_lunokhod_mission-control_500x298.jpg

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

I've always thought there should be a Prog band called "MoogHenge"

Bad Moog Rising

Ha, cool.

Moog Indigo

MOOGPIE :D

Check Mate!

Genius. Now where did I leave that cape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Zoton

Doctor J wrote:
    That's all parametric EQ stuff. Way too complicated. Are we musicians or scientists? Surely we cannot be both?
    I am. But my songs about heterocyclic pi bonded systems never seem to catch on. ;)

You should investiagte some Voivod, my friend :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

Doctor J wrote:
    Jebus H Keeeeeryst!

And I thought this was bad
    040328_R01_005_SL_medium.jpg

one of our lecturers was playing one of these.. but no as many knobs... it was peerty:)

Probably an Alembic

13346_45viewL.jpg

tis the one alright.. didn't sound too bad neither...

I think I know the guy you're referring to. Does he have a red fretless Tokai Jazz bass too?

Christ, I want an Alembic. One of those Lotto winnings purchases at the moment though :(

I like them, but they're way down the list.

There's the likes of Benedetto, Warrior, Sadowsky, Wal, Pedulla, Listerud, Hot Wires, a truck load of vintage Fenders and loads more to get first

7_strengs.jpg

Hot dog.

Oh yeah, Shadoski. Wouldn't mind one of those too. Still, I'm getting a nice 5 string this weekend ;)

Almost forgot Bassurgery

Truly cumworthy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Milkman Dan

Doctor J wrote:
    Probably an Alembic

13346_45viewL.jpg

i think i'm in love..
    shiny...

Doctor J wrote:
    Almost forgot Bassurgery

Truly cumworthy :)

Holy crap. I mean, HOLY CRAP!

feylya wrote:
    Holy crap. I mean, HOLY CRAP!
    Yeah, I know. They truly are something else.

http://www.lgmguitars.com/guitars/leviathan/

I'm liking these at the moment. €2000 or so for a custom 7 string. I'd get one if I didn't need a new computer :(

Nice. Get PC Peripherals to upgrade your PC on the cheap. Buy the guitar.

Everyone's a winner, baby, that's the truth :)

Na, I was gonna buy a new computer, sell this one and buy the LTD H-302

Hey those guitars are only $1800... give it a few more weeks until the dollar is worth the same as a ruble and dive in!

Pshaw to computers. What have computers ever done for anybody?

€1400 at the moment. Gah, but I need a new computer. Fecking decisions.

Trust me. An upgrade is the way forward here. Why buy a new floppy drive, keyboard, screen etc when you already have one?

Well, my screen is actually about to explode so I'll be getting a screen, case, motherboard, cpu, RAM, harddrives, graphics card and PSU.

Meh. Your funeral. Maybe you just don't have the balls to rock? ;)

I have the balls. I just don't have the amp :(

So make one.

Make an amp? I seriously thought about that before but it would cost more than to buy one tbh.

Doctor J wrote:
    I think I know the guy you're referring to. Does he have a red fretless Tokai Jazz bass too?

indeed he did.. great bassist.. a complete show off :D but a great bassist none the less

Meh, steal one.

newband wrote:
    indeed he did.. great bassist.. a complete show off :D but a great bassist none the less

Yeah, the man's got talent, that's for sure. Dunno about the bass costing twelve grand though :p

Steal an amp? Interesting. I'm trying to sell the HB amp, DS-1 and eq pedal to get a Peavey Bandit II or a Line 6 Spider II 210

feylya wrote:
    Well, my screen is actually about to explode so I'll be getting a screen, case, motherboard, cpu, RAM, harddrives, graphics card and PSU.

have a look here.. highly recommended..

i ordered my pc today..

Pentium 4 2.8
    1gb ram
    120gb hd
    17'' flat screen..
    basic soundcard and graphics card but i will be getting an mbox soon so that doesn't really matter..

1089euro inc vat.. (extra for an operating system aswell)

they're based in ballymount

At the moment, I'm running:

P4B 2.4 @ 2.88
    512RAM
    150Gb
    geforce 5600 ultra
    Audigy

This is not enough for me.

Doctor J wrote:
    Yeah, the man's got talent, that's for sure. Dunno about the bass costing twelve grand though :p

he didn't tell us the price.. but i could tell he REALLY wanted to :)

He went through the different woods with us :rolleyes:

551.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

feylya wrote:
    Steal an amp? Interesting. I'm trying to sell the HB amp, DS-1 and eq pedal to get a Peavey Bandit II or a Line 6 Spider II 210
    I thought you were getting a Roland Cube 60?