Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I says to him I says.....

• 03-11-2004 11:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭

Does this bother anyone else. I hear this all the time in the office from a coutry fella (not slagging the country folk). It just bugs me, he says it so much when telling a story along with a few other annoying catch phrases. He must say it about 6 or 7 times in one little anecdote.

Does anyone else have any other annoying phrases they hate or is it just me being picky again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Ask him why he speaks like Foghorn Leghorn / Fred from Corrie, that should shut him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Hehe, that might do the trick alright. So I say to him I'll say.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Everybody has annoying phrases.
    Count how many time you say "like" when explaining something to someone.

Ok like, you know like, the way i see it is like, that the thing is like....... no wait a minute I'm not from cork! (no offence to any cork people, but you's do tend to say like alot),

actually I am guilty of saying "Right" far too much. Point taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭yossarin

Everybody has annoying phrases.
    Count how many time you say "like" when explaining something to someone.

my flatmate uses this as every second, like, word. arrgghhh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

or tipp people saying well..........wtf well is where you gwt water from!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Didn't this phrase start in the novel 'The Great Gatsby'?

And it was mocked in The Simpsons.

I believe it was episode with Homer tripping on the chili. And he came into the kitchen in the house and Bart was saying to Lisa "So i says to Mabel, i says"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

My auntie says "kinda of" everyfew secs when describing something....like(i say that ALL the time) for example...."I kinda went to the shops yesterday 'n kinda crashed into a parked lorry".....wrecks my head cause I feel like shouting at her "you either DID or you DIDN'T!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

or "Stop the lights" is another one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

when people call you
    chuck
    alright chuck

hower yeee

wazzdastorreee (whats the story but they say it in one word and forget letters)

WHA instead of what

DAT instead of that

MA instead of mam

DA instead of dad

RAFTER instead of see you after

the one i hate the most is

" see you i'll bloody bate ye ! right! "

the word is beat and you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

woosaysdan wrote:
    or tipp people saying well..........wtf well is where you gwt water from!!!

Thats not exclusively a Tipperary thing. People say it where I'm from (County Louth, hey) all the time.

I have a habit of saying "Give yourself a lash" quite a bit.

embee wrote:
    I have a habit of saying "Give yourself a lash" quite a bit.

Yes ma'am!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

I tend to use the phrase "I could have stabbed him/her/myself in the head" alot.
    I use the word "stuff" incessantly... my favourite word tbh... can be used in any situation.
    "Things" or "thingies" is another one.

When I get worked up or excited about anything I don't know what the hell I say half of the time. I get really animated, my voice goes really squeaky, I talk a million words a second and I must talk some amount of sh1te! I can never remember it though... Must tape myself sometime* :p

* this is not an invitation for sneaky candid camera escapades!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭sanncoo

My one is 'you know'!!

I am currently on a 12 step programme to wean me off the phrase! you know! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

I tend to use the phrase "I could have stabbed him/her/myself in the head" alot.

Ditto. My phrase of the month is "God I'd like to stab him in the head with a fork", and I really would. I find the idea of a fork sticking out of someone's head very amusing.

I also say "cute" far too much, aswell as "Go suck a fvck!" (from Donnie Darko). I'll get over it.

I say "thats what the man said" quite alot.
    I usually say it in a stupid attempt to try to convience someone that I actually meant to say whatever stupid thing I said by mistake.

* this is not an invitation for sneaky candid camera escapades!

I'm no psychiatrist but i think you may have deeper problems ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

I used to use the phrase "In fairness" alot. But in fairness I think i've weaned myself off it.

koneko wrote:
    Ditto. My phrase of the month is "God I'd like to stab him in the head with a fork", and I really would. I find the idea of a fork sticking out of someone's head very amusing.
    I usually would say fork, spoon, straw, harpoon amongst others which don't spring to mind atm. They all seem quite amusing to me! :D
    sprinkles wrote:
    I'm no psychiatrist but i think you may have deeper problems
    You know, you're not the first person to say this ;) hehe!

/me walks of twitching and swatting invisible flies

That would be crazy, unless your using an invisible fly swatter!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Personally, I actually like the phrase, purely because it reminds me of the Fat Slags from Viz, and the specific joke:

"So he says to me, he says 'What would ya do, right, if I stuck me c0ck in yer mouth?' and I says to him, I says 'I'g fughin togh ligh fith then!' "

Ok, ok, I'll go sit in the corner now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭neoB

"so I says to him, get the hell of my fire truck" Omg worked with a guy like that. That was mostly the first thing out of his mouth. Drove me insane, that is all that came out of his mouth. "and i says.. and says and " GRRR :) Everyone made fun of him. Jebus he was such a redneck :/

neoB wrote:
    "so I says to him, get the hell of my fire truck" Omg worked with a guy like that. That was mostly the first thing out of his mouth. Drove me insane, that is all that came out of his mouth. "and i says.. and says and " GRRR :) Everyone made fun of him. Jebus he was such a redneck :/
    I don't understand... What annoyed you so much about this poor man?
    Did the guy not actually have a fire truck?

Fysh wrote:
    Personally, I actually like the phrase, purely because it reminds me of the Fat Slags from Viz, and the specific joke:

"So he says to me, he says 'What would ya do, right, if I stuck me c0ck in yer mouth?' and I says to him, I says 'I'g fughin togh ligh fith then!' "

Ok, ok, I'll go sit in the corner now.

LOL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Im a dinger for

Basically

Yknow

Like (only at the end of a sentence though, not 'like' in between words)

yknowlike

Ones i hate which other people say

Its all gravy (sorry roar)
    Take it easy (when saying goodbye)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

...can't believe no one has mentioned:

"So, I turned around to him and said..., so he turns around to me and says..., so I turned around to him and....", what bloody direction were you all facing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

or a friend of mine always says keep it lit all the time now he has me saying it grrrr id love to keep him lit with some petrol!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

sprinkles wrote:
    So I says to him I says.....

Well it could be worse... whaddabout the people who say

So I turned around to him and I says to him I says.....

And he turned around to me and says...

It's like theyre kinda (sorry fletch) swinging around the tables or something

[EDIT] Sorry Zulu didn't see your post there [/EDIT]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

The one I hate is "I'd say".

Scenario? Here you go :

Me : What colour is the grass?
    Randomer : It's gren, I'd say.
    Me: ?? - to self - What?....It's a simple question, either it is green, or it isn't.

You see, the phrase "I'd say" is meant to be used like this :

Randomer : What time will you arrive?
    Me: About half past seven, I'd say.

"I'd say" means the following :

"I don't know, but I'll give you as good an estimate as I can given the prevailing circumstances."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

An annoying habit I have is I say "What?" and then answer the question...

"Do you know what time it is?"
    "What? .... Half five."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

sprinkles wrote:
    Ok like, you know like, the way i see it is like, that the thing is like....... no wait a minute I'm not from cork! (no offence to any cork people, but you's do tend to say like alot),

actually I am guilty of saying "Right" far too much. Point taken
    "you's" is not a word either, funny you should use it when moaning about other peoples speech... :p

it's used quite a lot though because we don't really have a plural for 'you', except 'ye', but nobody likes that word because it's just lame :D

(no offence btw sprinkles, its all in good humour!)

on that note, neither is "alot".... its two words people....

seansouth wrote:
    The one I hate is "I'd say".

Scenario? Here you go :

Me : What colour is the grass?
    Randomer : It's gren, I'd say.
    Me: ?? - to self - What?....It's a simple question, either it is green, or it isn't.

You see, the phrase "I'd say" is meant to be used like this :

Me: About half past seven, I'd say.

"I'd say" means the following :

"I don't know, but I'll give you as good an estimate as I can given the prevailing circumstances."

I'd say doen't even mean that, it's short for 'I would say', and really shouldn't be used in any sense except a situation like:

Bob: What if he told you you were wrong?
    Me: I'd say "Go F**K yourself"! :D

on that note, neither is "alot".... its two words peolple....

you know 'peolple' isn't a ....... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

Along the same lines as "So I says to I says" but equally annoying is "So I turned around to him and said...."

"So I turned and around and said to him yes, and he turned around to me and said no...."

Lot of twirling going on in conversations these days.

robbie1876 wrote:
    Along the same lines as "So I says to I says" but equally annoying is "So I turned around to him and said...."

"So I turned and around and said to him yes, and he turned around to me and said no...."

Lot of twirling going on in conversations these days.

Congratulations! You get the prize for being the THIRD person to mention this one... :p

"see your man ,ye , your man the one with the face, ah you know him you do, oh whats his face, you have to know him..."

a ha a ha what,

"see your man ,ye , your man the one with the face, ah you know him you do, oh whats his face, you have to know him..."

a ha a ha what,

ha ha .. yeah yer man... whats his face..

Another one I hate is "yoke":

"Aw what's that yoke called. Ye know the big yoke with the other yoke on top."

I'd say doen't even mean that, it's short for 'I would say', and really shouldn't be used in any sense except a situation like:

Bob: What if he told you you were wrong?
    Me: I'd say "Go F**K yourself"! biggrin.gif
    So, what I said was essentially correct?

Me : About half past seven, I'd say*.

* Where "I'd say" translates as :

"If I knew the answer exactly,I would say 'About half past seven', but I dont know exactly, so I'll give you as good an estimate as I can given the prevailing circumstances."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

NotMe wrote:
    Congratulations! You get the prize for being the THIRD person to mention this one... :p
    So I turned around to NotMe and says "Ha, I opened this thread so long ago there wasn't even a page 2"

or when your on the phone and people say
    "hang on"
    to what???
    not being bad to people from longford just one guy in my office i cant understand one one he says most of our conversations i'm just smiling and nodding

robbie1876 wrote:
    So I turned around to NotMe and says "Ha, I opened this thread so long ago there wasn't even a page 2"

And then I turned around and I said, "Fair enough".

Well no not really. In my example i'm incorporating the future tense, which is implied in the word 'would', where as your example is purely conditional, not incorporating the entire meaning of the word 'would'.... how and ever i'm not bothered enough to get into an argument over said word, i'm sure we could volley this for quite a lengthy period and bore people to tears, but i've got a better solution.....

I LOVE YA MAN!!! kiss and make up? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭climaxer

My family have the weirdest sayings - my Mam is always saying "if all was dead belong to me" eg. it means she wouldn't do something no matter what. So if I asked her if she would go down town on xmas eve she'd say "I wouldn't go down that town even if all was dead belong to me". :confused: My Grandad uses the term "I might have to choke on my own vomit" a lot. It means that if he don't like someone and would hate to be in their company or have to do something not like to do.

I used to freak out my ex as I was always saying "ah lads now". We'd be sitting down watching the tv and I'd say "ah lads its freezing". I also use the "in fairness" one a lot too and the "like" too but not as much as my daughter.

My uncle is always saying "do you get me" and "you're missing what I'm saying to you".

I think your grandad is bein a bit severe there climaxer! :D

Well no not really. In my example i'm incorporating the future tense, which is implied in the word 'would', where as your example is purely conditional, not incorporating the entire meaning of the word 'would'.... how and ever i'm not bothered enough to get into an argument over said word, i'm sure we could volley this for quite a lengthy period and bore people to tears, but i've got a better solution.....

I LOVE YA MAN!!! kiss and make up? :D
    That for me?

I'd say I better, I don't wanna fight no more!

climaxer wrote:
    I used to freak out my ex as I was always saying "ah lads now". We'd be sitting down watching the tv and I'd say "ah lads its freezing".

Climaxer

Are you my ex in disguise! He'd always says 'lads' and there might only be the 2 of us in the room.

It drove me mad. I'd always say there's only me in the room, who else are you talking to!!!

okay...that made me sound like psycho bitch......ooops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭climaxer

sanncoo wrote:
    Climaxer

Are you my ex in disguise! He'd always says 'lads' and there might only be the 2 of us in the room.

It drove me mad. I'd always say there's only me in the room, who else are you talking to!!!

okay...that made me sound like psycho bitch......ooops!

:) First off me is a she but my ex used to say to me what you said to your ex. He'd be like who the f*ck are you talking to? After a few dates he said it to me that the first night he called to my house he thought I had people hiding behind the sofa spying or something :D

climaxer wrote:
    :) First off me is a she but my ex used to say to me what you said to your ex. He'd be like who the f*ck are you talking to? After a few dates he said it to me that the first night he called to my house he thought I had people hiding behind the sofa spying or something :D

Okay....know that you is a she and not a he. Me is a she too, so unless me likees she's in a special way.....okay let's not go down that road!!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I hate the word Lads.