Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tubridy Tonight

• 16-10-2004 10:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone see it?

I only flicked it on just to see..and my first thought was "Der Harold Schmidt Show" on Sat One was proberly funnier. And he was German!

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Belle Ende

He sees himself as on par with the likes of Leno/Stewart/Letterman. But he's not on a par with even the likes of Marty Whelan (gag!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

have to agree. but it is nice to have someone new to moan about besides the same old cronies!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭tipperaryboy

another attempt by rte to make a good tv programme but they cant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Belle Ende

Cork_girl wrote:
    but it is nice to have someone new to moan about
    Ha ha! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭Zhane

I hate Ryan Tubridy! i hate him, i hate him, i hate him! and i really hate that RTE are pushing him as the next big thing too!

who else have they!!! unless there's someone they're saving..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

thaugt it was ok the seoige sisters :/ set resembles jay lenno's and ryan can be a annoying fool at times not the best voice when you wake on the full irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

He was OK with Royston Brady, he can talk to politicans, but he cant talk to the general public. When he went into the audience and compared someone to Velma in Scooby Doo, I felt like turning onto Sky One's greatest car crashes or equivilent, as both were of the same cloth. Really cringeworthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭X-Dawg

I hate that f*cking nimrod.
    Another sh*te show from RTE.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Yeah, tried to watch it last night, but it was very poor, in my opinion. It's definitely not something I'll be making an effort to watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Err, I actually liked it...was flicking the channels but I actually found him very funny, admitedly, he is old beyond his years but if you give him a chance he can be very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

i actually thought it would be worse. i can't stand his radio show. he tries to fit some kind of smart alecy remark into EVERY sentence. but he seemed to tone it down for the tv show. he seems keen to resurrect gaybo's 'one for everyone in the audience'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Cute_Button

CathyMoran wrote:
    Err, I actually liked it...was flicking the channels but I actually found him very funny, admitedly, he is old beyond his years but if you give him a chance he can be very good.

I liked him too- I listen to him on the radio on the way into work in the morning- think he's very funny. Hes quite good- give him a chance!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭X-Dawg

Even his stupid name pisses me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

I've been forced to give him a chance, and he is still crap. Like someone here said, he tries to force a joke into every sentance, has an amazingly annoying voice with a face to match. And to top it all off, The Camembert Quartet are his house band, what a fantastic pairing, both sh1t as each other.

edit: Speaking of the camemberks, has anyone got a web address for them? I'd like to get in touch

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

X-Dawg wrote:

LOL..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

It's amazing how RTÉ is set up in such a way as to offer a life of wealth and fame to those who, in any other circumstances, would be doomed to a life of misery and rejection by their peers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Drapper

Thought he did very well !!!!

Typical Irish begrudgery !!!

Why dont you turn over if you dont like it !!!!! The lad did well !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I have been waiting so long for a saturday night chat show that I forgot to tune in.

He's only doing 10 episode. So for those of you that wish to get to like him, you won't be able to, as He'll be gone before you can say "Kenny Live".

All the begrudgers ??

Come on !!!

Who do we hate ?? Where is you sense of National pride ??

A new guy trying to make it and we slate him ????? Jasus !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

National Pride? A pan loaf of Irish Pride would ask better questions and do less interrupting! C'mon!

He's not new, and has been around for ages, albeit, this is really is his first live prime time offering of his own. I did like him on the Rose of Tralee.
    BUT going on Saturday nights effort, it wasn't great. My comments on the previous page show that it was more miss than hit. He has 10 weeks.

Elmo, if this 10 week run is deemed a success, expect more in the new year.

He is one of those people that you either like or hate. I know a lot of people who can not stand him but a lot of people who think he is great. He reminds me a bit of controlled version of Jonathan Philbin Bowman. The show was at the very least more watchable than Pat Kenny which I had the misfortune to watch the previous night. Yes, he has been in some bad shows, the Full Irish was so bad that it eventually became good and now I love listening to it. Yes, he interupted a lot - but it was his first night - let him get used to it AKA the Rose of Tralee. Give him a chance!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Personally, I'm not a great fan- he can be one of the most condescending assholes on the airwaves. That said- have you actually tried to find some other trite on the radio in morning? Personally I'd have rathered someone gave Royston Brady a right bollicking than the excuse of an interview with Tubridy- hes really been getting up my goat for a while. But then again, for all my misgivings about Tubridy- he can have his moments. Its quite amusing listening to him being cut to adds hurridly on the radio- as he makes yet another poorly thought out comment. That said, he is intelligent and can be sarcastic, two traits that normally make for an interesting diversion.

I have national pride, but this guy does nothing to help it. Do you expect we should just get behind him and voice our support because he is Irish? It is because of my pride I refuse to do this.
    Drapper wrote:
    All the begrudgers ??

Come on !!!

Who do we hate ?? Where is you sense of National pride ??

A new guy trying to make it and we slate him ????? Jasus !!!!

So what do you suggest? Any alternatives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

brink back derek davis.

I think Hector would be a hundread times better than Tubridy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

FX Meister wrote:
    I think Hector would be a hundread times better than Tubridy.

Nonsense. All Hector's new show is proving is that the comedy factor is long dead, and he's only proving to irritate more than entertain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

That Tubridy lad sure has a face for radio...

Saying that, I didn't see his TV show as I was working at the time. No particular want to either though. From the sounds of it it's a mix of the Dunphy show and a half-assed Leno clone with an only half-decent radio jock stuck on as presenter.

RTÉ still should have tried to secure Patrick Kielty's services as a chat show host.

I'm not Hector's biggest fan either but he is better than Tubridy in my opinion. As for Kielty, I think he's crap aswell. Like I said, it's just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭bribren2001

i actually thaught it was quite good considering what is on of a saturday night- F all!

he is quite funny and always looks to bring a joke in here and there!

his guests were quite good aswell with the lovely seoige sisters and hector who is always good for a laugh!

tubridy tonight get the thumbs up from me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

he is quite funny and always looks to bring a joke in here and there!

Here as in the first sentence and there as in every sentence after that ?

Nonsense. All Hector's new show is proving is that the comedy factor is long dead, and he's only proving to irritate more than entertain.

yep gotta agree.. he did have a comedy factor once upon a time... now he's everywhere and has become really annoying imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭begbie

Haven't watched. Will never watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Haven't watched. Will never watch.

Very informed point of view.

And in realation to the 10 week pilot episodes. I think I remember Gay Byrne suggesting that Dunphy not take such a long break.

To start a show in October is too late, for the autume season. And these 10 episodes may have a bad impact on viewing figures, because of the late start.

Or maybe he's just no good. I will take a look before making my mind up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

I haven't watched it yet but like him what his other stuff. I agree he can be a bit of a smart arse but can't we all. Anything is better than Pat Kenny ( On the Late Late a few months ago he asks a guest, who had lost a child , "what did they look like in the coffin?"), I mean ASSSSSSSSSSSSSHOLE !!! and don't get mestarted on Uncle (I still get paid a 200,000 euro, yes TWO HUNDRED THOUSAND EURO !!!! retainer by good old RTE) Gaybo the feckin' leach :eek:
    He's probably the best of a bad bunch at this stage so we'll see......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

So the first week brought big viewership which is to be expected for a new show... Wonder what this weeks figures will be like.

Tubridy launches with a bang

24/10/04 00:00

Ryan Tubridy's new chat show, Tubridy Tonight, performed well on its first night, attracting a more-than-respectable total of 460,000 viewers, peaking at 563,000.
    The Late Late Show had been watched by 584,000 adults.

Paul Moran of Mediaworks said that, compared to Parkinson on TV3, Tubridy was a clear winner. Viewership of the imported chat show on TV3 has dropped since it started its season. Its first episode on September 4 was viewed by 166,000 adults, whereas last Saturday, it only achieved 85,000 adult viewers.

Tubridy's audience outnumbered Parkinson's by five to one. "It will be interesting to see if they maintain it," Moran said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭unme

Can someone explain to me how they calculate these veiwing figures? Maybe this is a dumb question, but I have never managed to work out how they can be so damn sure about how many people actually watch these programs. My guess is that they use a sample number of people who somehow report back, but unless they have tens of thousands participating, the figures are likely to be way out of line with reality.

I saw some of last night's show, and caught a bit where Tubridy was talking to a guy in the audience... if you saw it, you know how ridiculous that part was... When I flicked over another time, there was an elderly singer called Cliff Richard wearing tight leather trousers on it, and Tubridy was spraying perfume on him... I'm not joking folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

AC Nielsen provide the figures. Here's how they do it (from their website)

With the increasingly competitive nature of the broadcasting business, accurate television audience measurement is a must. Broadcasters and advertisers worldwide depend on ACNielsen to provide an accurate picture of the complex, rapidly changing media marketplace.

Using the latest technology, ACNielsen of Ireland gathers information about Irish television viewing patterns from a representative panel of 650 homes. A large household survey is conducted annually - Establishment Survey - to establish the size and nature of the television population in Ireland. The panel is designed to be representative of the television population as defined by the Establishment Survey.

Households that meet the demographic requirements of the ACNielsen viewing panel are invited to participate. A device called a Peoplemeter is installed on every television set and VCR is the home. The Peoplemeter monitors the television viewing of everyone in the household. Every person in the home is assigned a button on a handset which they use to login and logout their viewing. The Peoplemeter is connected to the telephone line in the household. In the early hours of the morning, (between 3.00 and 6.00 am) the central computer in the ACNielsen head office dials each of the panel member households and collects the viewing data from the Peoplemeters. The data then goes through a series of rigorous quality control procedures. Reports are then produced on the ratings for the previous night's programmes. Once the data has been checked, it is transferred via modem to advertising agencies and broadcasters across Ireland.

Using IMP*ACT, a sophisticated software system, media professionals can then analyse and tabulate the information in a number of ways, depending upon their individual needs. From the initial statistical development of the panel to IMP*ACT software training, ACNielsen provides all the support required to operate a national television ratings service.

Thank you alleepally. That makes interesting reading.

So basically, 650 households and a bit of fancy software determines the viewing figures. Fair play to the company who came up with the idea of making money doing this, even if it is probably as accurate as your standard opinion poll - which is not accurate at all.

Now, I wonder where those bunch of households who are responsible for the Tubridy figures located... They have a lot to answer for. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

X-Dawg wrote:

yes!

People don't get enough criticism for their names.

I hate his "rat pack manque" persona
    "young old fogey" - BOLLOCKS!

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    I hate his "rat pack manque" persona
    "young old fogey" - BOLLOCKS!

Yeah. Thats really annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Less of the Tubridy bashing...

Its seems that some people cant handle a person with a bit of intelligence and wit and are probably bashing him, just because they dont get it... high brow comedy style...

he is witty, intelligent and a damn good presenter. A breath of fresh air in rte in my opinion. He a lot easier to watch than pat 'im a plank of wood' kenny, who just cant cut it as the late late presenter. He seemed to get that job on seniority rather than natural ability.

People should give Ryan Tubridy a chance as he is just starting out in his media career. He's only been around a few years, and in fairness, who becomes a master of their craft in the first few years of their career?

Give him a break and to all those people who wont even bother watching, dont really have the right to make an informed opinion... report back when you watch the show... :rolleyes:

So, how much did he pay you?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

I hate Ryan Tubridy .

He is one of the most flatulant flat headed wop eared swivel eyed phornacating little gits I've ever layed eyes upon !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Less of the Tubridy bashing...

Its seems that some people cant handle a person with a bit of intelligence and wit and are probably bashing him, just because they dont get it... high brow comedy style...

he is witty, intelligent and a damn good presenter. A breath of fresh air in rte in my opinion. He a lot easier to watch than pat 'im a plank of wood' kenny, who just cant cut it as the late late presenter. He seemed to get that job on seniority rather than natural ability.

People should give Ryan Tubridy a chance as he is just starting out in his media career. He's only been around a few years, and in fairness, who becomes a master of their craft in the first few years of their career?

Give him a break and to all those people who wont even bother watching, dont really have the right to make an informed opinion... report back when you watch the show... :rolleyes:

I remember Tubridy from my UCD days and he was a snide, patronising, precocious person even then.

I also remember him from Poporama (not to be confused with Panorama)

Dave Fanning is intelligent as is John Peel. They're the kind of broadcasters/DJs I would look up to.

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    Dave Fanning is intelligent as is John Peel. They're the kind of broadcasters/DJs I would look up to.

I fully agree with you there. They are also two of my favourites.

There isn't much Tubridy can do about his ugliness short of wearing a brown paper bag (XX-Large) on that head, but his snide manner is something he could work on.

I don't know how RTE manage to erase all traces of the wires used to move his arms and legs. The genius of technology and modern day puppetry! Kermit the Frog could teach him a lesson on body control and coordination

When a muppet like Tubridy puts himself on public display and gets paid out of our compulsory licence fee/tax, he has to expect feedback. And the worse he is, the harsher the feedback. People here are very kind to him in my opinion - much too kind for our own good.

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    Dave Fanning is intelligent.

I think Dave Fanning is a muppet, to be honest. I don't hate him as much as i hate Tubridy though.

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    I remember Tubridy from my UCD days and he was a snide, patronising, precocious person even then.
    I remember him from college too - I was involved in Science Fiction, which he would never have got in a lifetime - he seemed OK then to me though he rubbed a lot of people up the wrong way. I am just judging him on his shows - yes, he can be snide, patronising and precocious but he can also be incredibly funny and I must admit that it is very endering the way that he used to go on about his daughter. I did not get much chance to see much of the second show, but in terms of what is on currently he is the best of the batch - do remember he is at the begining of his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭Raven_k42

....so then....the nation of Brad Pitt lookalikes is tearing shreds out of Mr. Tubridy because of his looks !!.

Get real folks. I've long thought Pat Kenny...much as he's a capable and a nice guy.....is absolutely wooden. The poor fells just lacks the barest trace of charisma. Attempts at humour are embarassing. He might look like Parky.....but really suits radio much better.

Young Mr. T is doing his best. He is witty, and so far the guests look like they're enjoying it. At least it doesn't sound so scripted.

Give him a chance.

K.