Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tracksuits, the depths of fashion?

• 14-10-2004 4:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭

I've just been looking at the shoes and tracksuit bottoms thread. Tracksuits have to be the depths of fashion. They show absolutely no element of fashion sense or imagination whatsoever. Most of them look absolutely terrible. While the may be functional, comfortable and casual, there are lots of other casual clothes that could do the same and make the wearer look a lot better. Some of the tracksuits out now do look a bit better, but some of the ones people wear make a badly-dressed tramp look fashionable. Tracksuits should be purely for people out jogging or involved in some other physical exercise, but for almost anything else: forget it. Dungarees are something else that people shouldn't be seen in, unless they are doing a bit of painting or other DIY as they basically a pair of overalls. People can wear something casual by all means, but show a bit of imagination if they are and keep their tracksuits and dungarees for the track and for doing your decorating. These two things certainly don't make you look fit or decorate your body in fashion terms. Of course that is just my opinion. Do many others share it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Prozium

Anybody i have spoken to about why they wear tracksuits tell me that they are for comfort and that they don't have to think about what they are wearing.

Personally I don't see how they are any more confortable than let's say a pair of cords or something. Also they have no fly and I presume this would be awkward when you're shaking the dew off the lilly !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

A pair of Jeans is a far better alternative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I can see why some people prefer them as they are comfortable. I think tracksuits though should be kept for sports or jogging etc. I used to wear tracksutis all the time when i was younger like from 10-16 but since then i only wear them when im out walkin or if im really stuck for clothes.

I especially hate the ones with the zips at the bottom of the legs. People leave the zips open so their shoes are half covered and it looks really bad.

Another thing that looks horrible is when people's jeans are long and start soaking water from the ground when it rains. Why not just flod them up a bit when the rain starts?

simu wrote:
    Why not just flod them up a bit when the rain starts?

Because, my dear, flod is not a word !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Sorry but there is something seriously sexy about a fella in a tracksuit!
    Zips open at the bottom of the tracksuit bottoms look kool, they make your legs look longer n ur feet not so much like planks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

It's not tracksuit trousers that bother me so much - I wear them myself the odd time out of laziness. But wearing a full tracksuit, complete with knackery white tracksuit jacket, is asking for noses to be turned up.

Sico wrote:
    It's not tracksuit trousers that bother me so much - I wear them myself the odd time out of laziness. But wearing a full tracksuit, complete with knackery white tracksuit jacket, is asking for noses to be turned up.
    Agreed if I were to buy a full tracksuit I would never wear it all at once! Shell-suits are so scumbaggish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Doublezero8

If you don't play sport then you shouldn't wear tracksuits.

Prozium wrote:
    Because, my dear, flod is not a word !!!!

I just coined it - it means to fold something to avoid a flood.
    fletch wrote:

Zips open at the bottom of the tracksuit bottoms look kool, they make your legs look longer n ur feet not so much like planks

I think it makes you look as if your feet are big lumps. You can have all the men in Ireland who wear tracksuits, I'll have the rest!

simu wrote:
    I think it makes you look as if your feet are big lumps. You can have all the men in Ireland who wear tracksuits, I'll have the rest!
    Mmmm yes please! :D

simu wrote:
    I just coined it - it means to fold something to avoid a flood.

Ah, I see.

I must have misunderestimated you !!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

fletch wrote:
    Mmmm yes please! :D
    At your present rate you should be able to get through all of them by next tuesday ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Bri

As the OP of the other thread I have to say I agree with you a certain amount...but not entirely. It's an age thing first of all - teenagers fine. Old people no. Zips IMO are way better because otherwise you may aswell wear the grey horrible dunnes style from the 80s. Wet tracksuits look manky (sp?) but so do baggy jeans that are half navy half denim from the wet soakage.

Also, plenty of the snobby Dublin girls manage to look good in them as much as I loathe to say it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Chonaic

what about the girls ones, you know illuminous pink/green/yellow/orange/baby-blue, hell even the brown one in that towelly fabric, damn sexy!!! :D;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I see there are plenty of people out there that think they look terrible too. Now if only we could convince the rest of the people.
    Prozium wrote:
    Anybody i have spoken to about why they wear tracksuits tell me that they are for comfort and that they don't have to think about what they are wearing.

Exactly. They don't have to think about what they are wearing. No imagination as I said.
    Orla wrote:
    I used to wear tracksutis all the time when i was younger like from 10-16 but since then i only wear them when im out walkin or if im really stuck for clothes.

If you are using them for walking, even that it too much. For walking down the street: certainly not. If you are talking about hill-walking, well maybe but a pair of jeans would be far better. If you are stuck for clothes, take a walk down to the nearest shops - preferably not wearing a tracksuit - and get some decent ones.
    fletch wrote:

You are easily pleased. Either that or you have as little sense of style as those guys. You often see very good looking fellas or girls who ruin themselves by wearing a tracksuit. Great looks, but no style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

fletch wrote:

Jahcintah is da yuwah ?

lil bum fluff tash, cap peaked at 45 degrees and a jp blue hangin outa his mouth, shouts you

hes a riyade, im gonna marrie him so i am nicolah

Jahcintah is da yuwah ?

lil bum fluff tash, cap peaked at 45 degrees and a jp blue hangin outa his mouth, shouts you

hes a riyade, im gonna marrie him so i am nicolah

Lol - that's the top-matching kinda style you got there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

The only reason to wear a tracksuit in my opinion, aside from doing sport would be when you're walking. And wait for it, here comes the nerdy scout-knowledge - if you fall in a bog or lake while wearing jeans you will suddenly discover that your jeans have absorbed half the river and it won't be good from then on.

But come on, what is the likelyhood of that?

Jeans > Tracksuit, anyday.

And those ones with things written on the ass? *shudder*

cap peaked at 45 degrees
    lol lol lol...but its gotta be a burberry cap!

Bri wrote:
    Also, plenty of the snobby Dublin girls manage to look good in them as much as I loathe to say it.
    Yeh they wear O'Neills tracksuit bottoms which are not near as skanky as yer Adidas n Nikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

I think tracksuit bottoms can look nice if you get the right ones. I have a nice pair of white ones which are made out of some strange material that makes them glow slightly!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Flukey wrote:
    You are easily pleased. Either that or you have as little sense of style as those guys. You often see very good looking fellas or girls who ruin themselves by wearing a tracksuit. Great looks, but no style.

Well said. It's almost worse to see someone with the potential to look good wearing something so disgustingly unflattering and skangery. It's like declaring that, actually, they really want to wear fake tan and about 5 pounds of foundation on their face, as well has having a terrible peroxide blonde job and those ridiculous fake gold hula hoop-sized earrings (I recently saw a particularly awful pair of these - about 10cm in diameter, with the word "Bling" in the middle...).

As for the zips...well, God forbid you try and make your feet look good by, I don't know, buying a nice pair of shoes that match your outfit rather than just wearing some crappy overpriced Nikes. But then again, this all goes back to imagination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭chizzle dizzle

ok i remember i started a thread about rockers (which got locked) and the stuff they wore and i got slaughtered by most people, you's were all sayin how they should be able to wear what they like and what they feel comfortable in, so why dont you say the same about this thread.
    These "scags" should be able to wear what they like, it doesnt effect you in anyway,so why not just get over it and worry about more important things in life! sure half of them are probably sayin the same thing about what you are wearin. I personally wouldnt go for the whole bright coloured tracksuit look and when I do see some one wearing one I would stereotype them into being a "Scag" like most people do about the types of clothes other people wear. But it really doesnt bother and it shouldn't bother you either.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

ok i remember i started a thread about rockers (which got locked) and the stuff they wore and i got slaughtered by most people, you's were all sayin how they should be able to wear what they like and what they feel comfortable in, so why dont you say the same about this thread.
    These "scags" should be able to wear what they like, it doesnt effect you in anyway,so why not just get over it and worry about more important things in life! sure half of them are probably sayin the same thing about what you are wearin. I personally wouldnt go for the whole bright coloured tracksuit look and when I do see some one wearing one I would stereotype them into being a "Scag" like most people do about the types of clothes other people wear. But it really doesnt bother and it shouldn't bother you either.

Eh, no. See, the rockers thread descended partly into a totally irrelevant (although muchly enjoyed by myself at least) discussion about music, and partly into an argument as to whether there was any reason that band t-shirts were for some reason unacceptable as a form of clothing. And then it got locked because, fun as it was, it was getting silly.

What I'm arguing here (I won't claim to speak for other people) is that I dislike tracksuits for a very simple reason - they mostly have all the aesthetic values of a used bin bag. They look awful, unflattering, and generally betray a lack of any sense of fashion other than "I wear what glossy magazines tell me is in fashion this season". Now, this is a fashion forum. There's *really* no point in coming in here and saying "oh, why are you giving out about what people wear? Sure if it's comfortable, leave 'em be". The entire point of this forum is to discuss appearances.

Personally, I'm a big proponent of "comfort" as being a crucial part of any item of clothing I own. But I also make an effort to wear clothes whose designs I like and think look good, that are well-cut and are flattering to my physique, and in general that accentuate whatever part of my appearance I want to focus attention on. A flabby skanger wearing tight tracksuit bottoms with "Nope" written on the arse that makes her flab overhang, and a belly-top along with it that emphasises the flab on her arms does not suggest any concern or understanding for these ideas. And frankly, I've yet to see anyone look good in a tracksuit - as mentioned previously in this thread, there's been more cases of people who'd look great in another outfit (whatever it is - I don't adhere to the "jeans or tracksuits" idea that seems to be prevalent here) but instead opt for the trendy-but-awful-looking tracksuit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

maybe they have a different idea of "Looking good" than you?

Well Mordeth, very few people look good in a tracksuit. There are some clothes that look terrible, no matter who is wearing them. They are OK for sports and maybe hill-walking, but people wearing them for everyday use or worse, when they are out socially, just looks terrible and totally inappropriate. As has repeatedly been said, they show no imagination. Even if they may look good in a tracksuit, you can be certain they would look an awful lot better wearing decent clothes.

We are not just talking about skangers here either. There are plenty of people who would not be described as being skangers and have very good looks and the potential to dress very well, who don't. I know of one very good looking girl whose mother was a model, yet she is often to be seen wearing a tracksuit for regular wear, which is a pity for someone who could look very well. Walk down the street and see how many people, skangers and non-skangers alike, that are wearing tracksuits, many of which wouldn't be fit to put on a scarecrow.

No one has commented on the dungarees/overalls that people wear, which also look terrible. Some of you are too young to remember a few of the other fashions disasters of the past like leg-warmers or cullotes which looked like someone wearing a very loose fitting maxi-skirt on each leg. Platform shoes are another thing that look absolutely terrible. Horizontal-striped, Dennis the Menace-styled tights or in fact almost any patterened tights are another thing that look terrible. Plain tights do a lot more to show a woman's legs at their best than any patterned tights, which do absolutely nothing for their legs. Ripped or out-sized jeans are another awful sight. Seeing someone going around in clothes that a person that had massive weight problem would find too big, looks ridiculous. How can wearing clothes that are damaged and/or way too big for you look good? Fashionable clothes should fit, be in good condition and make the wearer look good, which none of the things I have mentioned do. People don't have to be dressed to the nines all the time but they should wear clothes that look good and there are plenty of clothes out there, suitable for casual wear, that do look good.

Flukey, your giving the impression that preppy clothes are in. Eh, maybe for some people and classes, but not all!

My OP wasn't anything to do with the kinda scanger look brought up here.

Did you ever consider people mightn't always LOOK GOOD in fitted clothes. Too fat, too skinny, etc. Many of them mightn'd by confident enough to wear other items. I'm a big fan of people making the effort but I find your kinda view too simplistic, 1-dimensional and all too easy to preach about from the internet.

But that's just me :)

you are totally contridcting yourself,even if you cant see it, you are. You just said that you are proponent of comfortable clothes, so what you deem comfortable may not be comfortable for everyone else. Every one has their own taste in clothes,wheather you like their taste or not and I have to say that I certainly dont like all people tastes in clothes. I myself find both tracksuite bottems and jeans comfortable, do people have to look good in what they wear all the time just to satisfy the opinions of others?
    The whole thing about looking good in tracksuit bottoms, I have seen soom people wearing tracksuit bottoms and they look very good in them and even the people that dont,cant they just be let look a bit not up to scratch once in a while. Im sure you have had a few fashion no no's so far in your life or a few days where you just wanted to laze around?
    You also mentioned how tracksuites are unimaginative, well to my knowledge nearly every one wears jeans aswell so how can that be classified as imaginative? The only things really to wear on your legs anyways are jeans or tracksuit bottoms so can you come up with ant other ideas of clothing to wear on your legs?I think not,except if your a girl where you can wear skirts and dress.

Seen as you have a hell of a big problem with the whole tracksuite and dungaree look, would you mind me asking what type of clothes you wear? just to see if your fashion ideas are any better or more imaginative than what we just mentioned.

Perhaps of a photo of what's good comfortable wear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I know a girl who wears two tracksuits...once over the other EVERY DAY. :eek:

it must be weird forming opinions about people because of the clothes they wear..

maybe you need an evolutionary wake up call?

(it's all a lie)

Try telling Flunkey that! He is the one with the issue about trachsuite bottoms. I'd really love to know what he wears seen he has a big problem with most types of clothing.
    Go on Flunkey have the confidence to tell us or are you afraid of being whipped by the rest of us.

maybe he's a naturalist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Tracksuits look particularly bad on middle aged middle class suburban women shopping in supermarkets, complete with nose in the air, air of superiority.

If they are coloured luminous pink/purple and have a jumper sporting a nautical motif, this is even worse.

Wearing comfortable clothes is fine, but wearing clothes that are way too big for you and are falling off you, dragging against the ground, that you keep have to re-adjust are obviously not comfortable. You often see people wearing clothes like that and they are constantly re-adjusting them or themselves and it is obvious they are uncomfortable, so it is not just an opinion.

Many other people here have expressed the same viewpoint as I have, so it not just me. I am not forming opinions about the people that wear the clothes, just the clothes themselves. It was other people that described them as skangers. I have said that different types of people wear them. I don't personally like them and I put that opinion up for discussion and some agree and some don't, which is what we expect. I've continued to express my opinion as others who have posted in the thread have, as we all can do. I don't expect everyone to agree with me and if you don't that is fine. We will all continue to express our opinions, on all sorts of issues on the boards, which is what these boards are for. I have said on a number of occasions that some tracksuits don't look so bad and also there are times that are appropriate for them, but I still hold the opinion that for the most part wearing tracksuits as regular everyday wear, doesn't look good and most of the time when you see someone wearing one they don't look good.

Bri, no matter what size or shape we are, there are clothes that look good on us and suit us. Clothes don't have to be a perfect fit. Loose clothes are fine, but there is a difference between loose clothes and clothes that are completely out-sized. Tracksuits are great for sports etc. but generally they are not good for everyday wear.

What do I wear? I am in my 30s so I would have different styles and tastes to most of the people here. Generally I'd wear trousers, sometimes jeans or chinos, shirts or t-shirts, shoes etc. For my line of work it is appropriate to wear a suit or jacket with a shirt and tie, so that is what I do. I don't wear that in other circumstances, except on special occasions, like a wedding or something like that, or for the very occasional social event that would merit it. For most social events it would be more casual clothes.

Surprise, surprise, I never wear tracksuit bottoms. :) The only sort of tracksuit top that I have is a Dublin top that, as a big GAA supporter, I would wear to a match that Dublin were playing in. To the many other matches I attend, I wear more regular clothes. So I have a wide variety of clothes, but I wouldn't buy or wear something that obviously doesn't fit me. If I was doing some manual work like gardening, I'd wear the older clothes that mightn't be in great condition, as anyone would, but other than those types of situations and especially if I am going out, I wear clothes that look well.

Well from my observing I have never honestly never seen people who wear tracksuite bottoms having to pull them up because of them being way to big.People dont wear clothes that are falling off them. I dont Know where you go out but in town and stuff I've never seen people wearung tracksuite bottoms that are hanging off them.
    If you think that tracksuite bottoms are only comfortable for sport, what makes not doing sport any less comfortable? I really dont understand why you have a big issue with this whole thing about wearing tracksuites.

Do you have a problem with tracksuites in general or just people who wear them at special occasions and when goining out? I mean do you have a problem with young teenage boys wearing tracksuites cause the marority of them do.
    Maybe your comming from a different angle seen as you are older but I am in my teens and the majority of teenagers wear tracksuite bottoms,thats just a fact,the tracksuite frensy is mainly aimed at our age group.
    I think you may be talking about older people who wear them and I think thats where we differ. But I still think your view point is quite shallow regardless of what age group wear them. There are other clothes out there than just jeans you Know and some people just perfer tracksuites and thats a meer fact of life.

It comes down to this: do you think the girl below looks good or not?
    terryjacket.jpg

Personally, I think she looks awful in that racksuit despite being resonably athletic and good-looking. She would look far better in a different outfit but as they say, de gustibus non est disputandum.

Here's a picture to illustrate what I meant about opened zips on tracksuit legs looking bad - see the girl in front in the white t-shirt (though, in fairness, she's wearing it to do sport):

00970024.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

simu wrote:
    It comes down to this: do you think the girl below looks good or not?
    terryjacket.jpg

Personally, I think she looks awful in that racksuit despite being resonably athletic and good-looking. She would look far better in a different outfit but as they say, de gustibus non est disputandum.

Two things
    • Rack suit, that's priceless !
    • Would she look better, if she took off the tracksuit, of course!

She looks good and that particular tracksuit doesn't look as bad as some, and that is not because of who is wearing it, but she would look a lot better dressed differently and could still be very comfortable.

Chizzle, I don't think tracksuits look good for casual wear and particularly some of the ones that you see, that are just totally awful, probably older than you are and hardly washed in that time. It just shows a complete lack of imagination in what to wear. As Prozium said earlier people have said that one of the reasons they wear them is that they don't have to think about them. That says it all. I've seen people with nice tracksuits and that look well in them, but that is not the norm and at the other end of the scale, as I've said before, you'd see better dressed tramps!

Anyway, I am going out tonight, so I better go off and get ready and find some good clothes to wear, ones that will fit, look well and will be comfortable. :) Bye!

simu wrote:
    Here's a picture to illustrate what I meant about opened zips on tracksuit legs looking bad - see the girl in front in the white t-shirt (though, in fairness, she's wearing it to do sport):

00970024.jpg
    I don't really see any problem with opening the zips on tracksuits, but then again, watch out, I'm a teenager, my opinion is skewed and whatnot.
    They've got better trousers than that, though. My O'Neills (which I wear only for tennis and PE, to be honest, I find them completely boring and samish to wear in normal life.) have zips at the back which means you can only see the back of the shoes. Looks better in my opinion...

And those towelling material tracksuits? Pah! Towels are used for drying yourself after a shower. Things like towels and curtains should not be made into clothing for everyday use...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

This topic seems slighty, well perverted. I can imagine seeing some guy in a tracksuit walking down the road, and seeing some guy with a camera hiding in a bush. Who dragged the pictures into this equation?

I think the girl wearing the pink tracksuite looks good, its better than the whole black look that soom people go for ,(but thats a whole different issue.

Seen as you have such a problem wtith tracksuites. Every time you see a person wearing one you should just close your eyes as you walk past them. Thats basically what it comes down to cause people will continue to wear tracksuites despite the fact that you dont find it pleasing to your eye.

People find tracksuites comfortable because they have room to move in them insted of wearing fitted, tight, heavy jeans.
    I dont know if yuo have noticed but there is a whole industry out there for people you like sports and like to wear the clothes on a regular basis, Lifestyle, JJB'S, Champion and Elevery's are such examples,those shop are there to cater for those who like to wear tracksuites and such clothes. whats wrong if someone wears a jersey of the team they support?
    People wil not stop wearing tracksuites weather you like it r not so i'd give you soom advise and that would be to get used to it.

If you ever decide to have children Flukey will you prevent them from wearing tracksuite just because you dont like them.Will you always provide them with jeans?
    Good look is all I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

i think basically, Flukey needs to open his mind. He (or his mind) refuses to accept the fact that other people like other things. His mind demands he defines whether something is good or bad, right or wrong. In other words stop being so obsessed about other peoples clothes. Its their choice, and not yours. And i don't think you're a judge, so stop judging people. And further more, it doesn't pose a lack of imagination. To some people clothes are only there to keep you warm and because society demands you wear them. And some people choose tracksuits because they are may be the most accessable. Then again, people may have to wear one, because their social group collectively has decide that is their "dress code" and one choosing to rebel against this will be imidiatly shunned.

People, people. This has already been said. If you have a problem with people bickering abuot what other people wear, do NOT come onto a fashion board. As you can see, the title of this thread is "tracksuits, the depths of fashion?", not "tracksuits, nobody should wear them because they are stupid". People are discussing (or trying to) discuss the FASHION element of tracksuits, not the functional side of them. If you want to boil it all down the way you people seem to be doing, why bother arguing about anything because obviously nobody is going to change just because YOU don't like it.

And please chizzle dizzle, there's no e at the end of tracksuit.

</rant>

Has anyone noticed if tracksuits soak up water faster than jeans? I wear jeans nearly all the time and it was raining yesterday and my friends who were wearing tracksuit trousers seemed to be having some weird water seepage problems, but only on the inside of the leg. A mystery indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

lets not forget tracksuit bottoms rolled up and tied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I think the girl wearing the pink tracksuite looks good, its better than the whole black look that soom people go for ,QUOTE]

and who is that aimed at? me or CM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

There's nothing wrong with the black look (though with me it tends to be dark trousers and ridiculously bright tops...). And I've seen way too many bimbo-types wearing tracksuits like that pink towelling one to think they have the right to exist. Also people going around in that Juicy Couture-type tracksuit with an arse like the back end of a truck. Commonly seen pushing buggies in the Square.
    *shudders*
    And jeans arent heavy, I wear baggy jeans all the time and it's never bothered me.