Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ideas for a 3rd year project.

• 05-10-2004 8:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭

I am doing the cw098 course and the lectures are not providing us with much information with projects ideas for our course. It has to last us 200 hours so it will have to be some where complecated. and has to be like an internet page connected to a database.... so any ideas would be greatful, please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

Did it last year, you dont have to do a web page!You can do a networking one instead like set up a router if you dont like doin asp!!
    but idea s for a web page would be something your interested in clothes cars music!!
    Make sure and hound your project manager to make sure your doin the right stuff!!
    makesure you have add update and delete along with any other original stuff streaming video music!!!
    ideas: tourist info site
    selling games
    library
    music shop
    gaa/ sports site
    clothes shop etc
    anything as long as you can make it work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

What about an online computer games magazine? you can do reviews of a loada games and have ppl vote on wat they think is a good game etc.

someone did it last year but they hadnt a clue so if u do it this year they'll be comparing to that fecker and give u loadsa marks. ;)

The_B_Man wrote:
    What about an online computer games magazine? you can do reviews of a loada games and have ppl vote on wat they think is a good game etc.

someone did it last year but they hadnt a clue so if u do it this year they'll be comparing to that fecker and give u loadsa marks. ;)

Eat me **** brick, at least i m in 4th year now! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Shamo

I'm doing the project in php accessing a mysql database because i'd prefer it to asp.

Was wondering is there asp questions on the summer exam papers or are they doing it just for the project?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

hahahahahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

i thought the idea was to have a HARD project..not something uselessly easy.
    from autin kinsella "your project should be something than,after working one year in the industry, is not something that will take you a week"
    sorry but any kind of ASP/JSP/SQL project is..well..stupidly easy.
    also remember potential employers will want to know if you have done a project in college and saying that will just show you have zero drive and ambition. try something a little more complicated, last years 4th year networking projects are here : http://glasnost.itcarlow.ie/~net4 ..you might get some idea's from there.

i was looking at some of those 4th year "projects".....
    some of them were pretty crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

Bollocks to that "make it hard" ****, i'll be making something that does exactly what it says on the tin. Why make something really ground breaking/jaw dropping if it's more bug ridden than a shanghai call girl after a busy weekend? ASP, Access and HTML all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭i_am_dogboy

Laguna wrote:
    Bollocks to that "make it hard" ****, i'll be making something that does exactly what it says on the tin. Why make something really ground breaking/jaw dropping if it's more bug ridden than a shanghai call girl after a busy weekend? ASP, Access and HTML all the way.
    Maybe it's something to do with learning new things......You'd be better off to do a project you want to do and would be interested in rather than an easy project that doesn't involve any new things. If you want to do something you're far less likely to leave it till the last minute. Maybe I'm crazy or something......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

shamo your a dirty rotten liar, admit it your using asp and access!

ffs lads, why bother with another crappy website? you wanna end making websites for the rest of yer lives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Shamo

shamo your a dirty rotten liar, admit it your using asp and access!

LIES

What do you mean another crappy website? It's not as if we're taught how to do anything thanks to the scope of CW019.l What do you expect "The Internet 2.0"?.

Ehh, i did cwo19 and i'm hoping to do an ai project this year. No need for asp/php now is there, or even a website.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

man ai would be cool. Whats the constraints of the project. What languages are you limited too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭kegan5

word of advice for csm3 (Laguna!) if your doing a website make sure you have a hell of a lot of technology in it! And validation too if you get that your grand oh and don't bother with flashy gif images it just irritates the supervisors unless it's doing something worthwhile!

Anyway no project for us until next year :( uh huh!
    My csm3 Project :rolleyes:

No constraints that I know of, probably gonna use lisp or java for it, but i still have to propose the project so i may end up doing something else.

cool, i think a good project would be to write a simple webside program that converts html to wml for map phones.

Also kegan, no offence but that site is tacky. I don't know how your not supposed to take offence to that but at least try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭kegan5

:rolleyes: erm I'm offended? lol well I like it but then I like the Riviera so I suppose it's like someone who likes networking doing a networking project :)

I think a lot of people did websites in csm3 last year :-/ probably coz no one can think of anything else

I liked that riviera website. Argh, i wish i knew how to use asp, then i'd be laughing. Do you mean validation as in stuff lie numeric checks and all that sort of guff for credit card numbers and the like? dirty great big "If" statements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭seanos

Laguna wrote:
    What do you mean another crappy website? It's not as if we're taught how to do anything thanks to the scope of CW019.l What do you expect "The Internet 2.0"?.

Isn't the point of doing a project; doing your own research, and learning a new skill/something which a lecturer didn't tell you implicitly ?
    Isn't the point of an Education to have the ability to learn on your own time, and inititive ?
    The reason someone employs you after getting diploma/degree -- is the fact that the piece of paper tells them you can learn on your on accord, if they say 'do blah for us', and you have no idea how to do blah, you sit on front of google for a day, learn how, and then do it ?

Stop whinging - is that all this forum is for ?
    whine a question, and then whine at responses requiring effort.

Tom : Your tryign /not/ to offend someone ?
    god - they Americanised you ;(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭elvis2002

Projects I feel shouldnt be easy. sql, asp, jsp websites are piss easy to do, after u make one you could make another in a weekend. I'd like to do a hard project which requires lots of research, time and hardwork, not google "JSP registration form" and getting the code and pasting.

Also, all the crap they have u do through the year such as plans, funtional specifications etc all add up at the end. You might make the best website with the most advanced features but if all your reports are just getting 40 your mark will be very low at the end of the year. I got 75 in 2nd year project for networking, My code wasnt spectacular or anything but my reports were better than other people.

You're going to instruct me on the process of education are you? save it. If i wanted your opinion on what i'm thinking, doing, or thinking of doing, i still don't want hear it. Hounding my every post on this forum with regular "attempts" at condescension.

SeanOS wrote:
    Isn't the point of an Education to have the ability to learn on your own time, and inititive ?
    The word i believe you were groping for is initiative. Good luck with that education of yours.

Lets not get into a grammer spelling bitching war. we all have bad spelling and grammer now and then but then again we are not writing a book here.

ehhh kegan that website sucks!
    shame on you all resorting to websites as projects for computing courses

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Ah guys. You need to put things into perspective. CW036, our course which branches off from CW019 is a programming course. Their course, whatever its called, is an end user course. i.e. working as some kind of IT admin. And given the level of expertise with most IT admins, I'd have to imagine they are right on track...

Alot of website design is about the DESIGN process. Not the making of it, technology speaking, its deciding what looks nice where. And that can only be learned by making websites.

Seriously, try not to be too harsh when judging other computer courses, its all relative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

TomTom wrote:
    cool, i think a good project would be to write a simple webside program that converts html to wml for map phones.

just stream XML from the database, an convert to HTML an WML and whatnot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

Me 4th year project:

http://www.michaelrea.com/

Worked too :)

http://www.michaelrea.com/coldfusion/mainMenu.jpg

BY THE WAY

Any ideas on a Masters project for me ? I'm stumped

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Me 4th year project:

http://www.michaelrea.com/

Worked too :)

http://www.michaelrea.com/coldfusion/mainMenu.jpg

BY THE WAY

Any ideas on a Masters project for me ? I'm stumped

You know, I was planning on replying to this post with something along the lines of

"You know, that doesnt look too hard."

However, after having a brief look at your project journal...

I wont.

we couldnt give a rats ass, everyone just put some piece of crap together and went and got drunk!
    Laguna, pick the easiest mo fo you can find, write a savage report and you'll be flyin :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Divine

This is my third year project website

IT with Multimedia CLonmel