Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BESS

• 29-09-2004 1:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭

yoyoyo wrote:
    hey, just wondering what the image of bess students is like?, i mean ive been detecting a slight hint of animousity towards them!!
    ditzy D4 heads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Some of them are great. Well, one I know is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

awell rules need there exceptions, m8 of mine is doing bess and she's sound out......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 yoyoyo

will my distinct northsiderness spare me from this stereotypical slander?or will i too hav to bleachmy hair and say "yaw"?

lol i'm sure their's clusters of normal people, every course has its stereo type, don't make it accurate :)

SkyLynx wrote:
    lol i'm sure their's clusters of normal people,,

doesnt inspire confidence.....................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Chick

i know lots of really nice guys doing bess, i wouldnt worry about it yoyoyo, im sure theres lots of diff types of ppl from all walks of life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

Only guy I know in BESS is bang on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭David19

I know two or three guys in BESS and they're all bang on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

I know a bunch of bess girls I'd like to be on and bang too..

It's not a rule that they are all horrible people but they do certainly have a disproportianate amount of wa*kers!
    I've come across many, girls and lads.. Went on holiday with two last year and have hardly spoken with them since.. Reason why is implied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

I know 24 or 30 people in BESS and they're all bang on...
    especially the ladies

24 or 30, not an odd choice of numbers?

There are probably 6 who are iffies sky... Chump likes to be precise methinks and within error...

It all depends on what you constitute as an asshole..

hrmmm lil OTT but o well...

Meh.. I'll split the thread

EDIT: Done..

lol playing with yer mod powers like a big kid

Ah well it needed to be done.
    Pav tomorry? I'll be there cos of results.. If I pass I'm gonna poison myself.. I say your cheap wine into club cranberry bottle :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

I've come across many, girls and lads

Hah, I'm so immature. I saw "over" instead of "across" and giggled like a little child. :D

hrmm i might be there, depends if any of the lads getting their results tomorrow are in, what time ye expecting em at?

they're apparently being posted 4pm.

hrmm where yer results go up? web first or on notice boards? i think TP ones are going up in SNIAM........................

Sci notice board.. down the arse end of the hamo

thanking you for all your info on my soon to be friends, -i'm an anti social recluse anyway so i'll probably just go find some pigeons to harrass in college.cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭sleepingbeauty

Pav tomorry? I'll be there cos of results.. If I pass I'm gonna poison myself.. I say your cheap wine into club cranberry bottle
    hope the results went okay ApeX?! :) enjoy the pav!

Well so how ye do? and hrmmmm was in the pav most of the nite meself, though was talk'n with ace_rimmer(donal) and neither of us have a clue what u look like :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Sci notice board.. down the arse end of the hamo
    And I mean like totally, a pint of Heino for myself my good man...

sorry, easy target, roysh

Bahahahaha, lmao. :D

Does one encounter many of that ilk in TCD? I have an uncanny habit of easily picking up accents, and a D6 is a bit undesirable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

There is some girl around trinity who enjoys using the phrase
    Scary Malary

lafortezza wrote:
    And I mean like totally, a pint of Heino for myself my good man...

sorry, easy target, roysh

Fool, you got it backwards.
    Hamo is pronounced like steo, jonno etc... You don't have a clue..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

It's loike, totally focking exaggerated how many Rock and Gonzaga boys there are in BESS. I've been reading too focking much Ross O'Carroll-Kelly, and BESS isn't all Kens and Probs and dyed blond hair and rugby jerseys. There are a few, but for every stereotypical D4-head, there's someone who isn't.

And to the people who know me and referred to knowing one sound person in BESS, I'll kick your ass if you aren't referring to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I didn't know you did BESS. And if you kicked my ass who'd help you carry boxes around Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Plasticman

Pet wrote:
    I have an uncanny habit of easily picking up accents, and a D6 is a bit undesirable...

D6? Surely you mean D4? I know many more people around here that speak in a "schweh" accent than a "roysh" one. It's very annoying, actually.

Heh, it's like "scanger or toff? scanger or toff!?". I think the toffs will make a nice change though, I've had enough scangers for one lifetime.

Isn't D6 all Killiney, Foxrock, etc? Then again I'm not a Dublin native so I'm not familiar with the postcodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

d6/d6w is terenure parts of knocklyon and that sort i thought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭sleepingbeauty

hrm d6 is like rathmines, ranleagh area? but my knowledge of those numbers aint the best...meh i guess it doesnt really matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

Yeah Dublin 6 was the biggest postal district so they split it about 10 years ago. 6 is Rathgar/Ranelagh/Rathmines/Dartry type area. 6w is Terenure/Kimmage/Walkinstown area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭vinks

knocklyon is d16 it covers some areas of templeogue as well.

D6W is Terenure. Killiney's not, thats south county dublin.

oh ive met loads bess ppl durin freshers week and barely any of them were the stereotypical knobs i had in mind! met guys doing law as well and they were cool too? blew that one right outta the water!

Yeah, I guess not everyone can fit the stereotype. However, I did encounter quite a few "Roysh, Fionán!" types, all were BESSers, so...

god, i met someone called Fionán doing bess lol!!

He was a country lad tho, so didnt have the D4 accent.... :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

templeogue is SO not d16 its d6w. walklinstown is d12, gawd get it roysh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

templeogue is SO not d16 its d6w

Nope, you're just wrong.
    Templeogue, i.e. beside where I live, is D16, Terenure is D6W. The dividing line is just past Terenure college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭gilroyb

Afraid a large portion of Templeogue is D6w. All up around the Spawell is D6w. I'm not aware of any portion of it that is D16, but I'm willing to accept that some of it may be, but the majority is 6w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

Templeogue, i.e. beside where I live, is D16,

D 16 is from the line of the Dun Laoghaire/Rathdown electoral area to somewhere in Knocklyon. Having lived in D 16 for around 16 years now, I'm fairly certain it doesn't encompass Templeogue village, mostly since D 16 and D 6W don't even border each other:

http://www.dublintourist.com/maps/dublin_postal_codes.shtml

Both the tourist site above and Wikipedia (never fully reliable, but usually close enough) list D 16 as containing parts of Ballinteer, Ballyboden, Kilmashogue, Knocklyon, Rathfarnham, Rockbrook and Sandyford while Templeogue is located in Dublin 6W by both. An Post has no record of Templeogue ever existing, but only lists Clonard, Ballally, Ballinteer and Ballyboden as being part of Dublin 16. It's An Post, so I'm not going to completely rule out the possibility that some side road in the area has accidentally ended up with a D 16 address (my address says I'm in Rathfarnham, despite my living a good 2 miles outside of it), but for all intents and purposes, Templeogue is Dublin 6W and Bartronilic can rest safe in the knowledge that he's not living in some knacker postcode, he's in Dublin 6 West.

Yeah PHB. i live in templeogue, 6w so you put ur foot in it there :D this is funny fighting about post codes!

this is funny fighting about post codes!

And it's all BESS students.

Imagine that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

And it's all BESS students.

Imagine that.

In my defense, I care more about people with high-handed, arrogant "Nope, you're just wrong" attitudes posting factual inaccuracies than I do about post codes. And...do I really need to post the requisite "why science students are bad people too" insults here? They're getting boring.

its just a pet hate seeing somebody getting an area mixed up or wrong. its really stupid and hypocritical (as if i'd know where glenageary is or which side of cork is the bigger side) but it just gets to me.

templeogue is the brown area in the southeast of dblin 12 right under dublin 6w. the reason why its in dublin 12 in that map is because it used to be in dublin 12 but it was considered too isolated or something.

i'll stop talking about post codes now.