Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The right to buy and collect soft air replica guns in Ireland

• 25-07-2001 8:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 28

Take a walk down a main street in the U.K and you will see harmless bb guns on sale to anybody over 16, for as little as £19. Or visit one of the many web sites that sell them online to (again) anybody over 16. These replicas are completly harmless and would not even raise a welt on skin from 10 feet, they are sought after by people who apreciate the technology of war (mostly ex soldiers) but we cannot purchase these items in Ireland??? This is ridiculas and has to change.

Life is just a one way ticket, every one must go around, here's a bucket go and kick it, slit your rists without a sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Jockey Spollix

Now don't bother with the "They can be used in a robbery" or "People can use them to intimidate others" coz you could do that with the VERY realistic toys that you can buy in Smyths....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Gladiator

i know a guy who was shot in the face with one in here, he lost an eye he was only 11 at the time,
    keep them illegal is what i say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Unnecessary, can be used in robberies (DAMN sight more realistic than guns you find in Smyths rolleyes.gif ) , CAN injure people if fired into the face etc.

Keep them illegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭C B

Any grown man who wants to play with toy guns because he "appreciates the technologies of war" should be neutered and locked away for the good of society. rolleyes.gif

i actually had one at one stag, worked the exact same way as a gun, spring loaded clip, ****ed the barrol the saem say and was steal,
    is was so life like, my mate got in ****e trying to bring it back from the states

cough he wants to stick it up his ass cough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭adnans

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by C B:
    Any grown man who wants to play with toy guns because he "appreciates the technologies of war" should be neutered and locked away for the good of society. rolleyes.gif</font>

elvis had a shooting range at the back of graceland. he used to have a good collection of firearms including automatic guns and pistols. if you locked away that guy we would have never ever heard all his music...

on a side note. anything that even looks like a gun should be banned from kids, adults and people in general cause they always lead to much more harder stuff... oh no wait... thats the drugs spiel... buy GUNS (in moderation)!!!

adnans

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by adnans:
    elvis had a shooting range at the back of graceland. he used to have a good collection of firearms including automatic guns and pistols.
    </font>

Yes elvis is a paragon of sanity rolleyes.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Jockey Spollix:
    Your question makes no sense!!
    Are you actually awake yet?

</font>

Try not to insult people in order to get your point across.

If your only collecting them, it would be possible to, except the gun must be unable to fire. But you would know this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

A baseball bat can injure or be used in a robbery, Oh!! shock horror they are selling them in Arnotts, lets boycot the store rolleyes.gif

</font>

Hmmmm .. a baseball bat has no other purpose than as a weapon.
    In fact I belive it will be introduced in the next version of CStrike.
    smile.gif

To get back to the thread when i was in school one of the lads brought in his bb gun and shot a few people. The bruises it left convinced me they are dangerous enought.
    Unlike a baseball bat, it has no legitimate practical purpose.
    You can collect just about anything, but they dont have to be lifelike imitation firearms with a mechanism that can injure.

[This message has been edited by Xterminator (edited 25-07-2001).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Somebody who posted in this thread (big clue: Spollix) has a small penis and wants to carry guns to make himself look like a big man. Thats all it is at the end of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Take a walk down a main street in the U.K and you will see harmless bb guns on sale to anybody over 16, for as little as £19.</font>

Except that the sale and posession of replica guns in the UK is about to be criminalised - within the next few months, in fact.

Which is a pain. Because replica BB guns are fun, particularly the nice gas blowback automatics like the TMP and Mac10 Tokyo Marui replicas. They're cool toys, and nothing more... but their possible uses as criminal tools will see them being outlawed. Bah.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by OJ:
    I have a repla P99
    which fire's a BBS system (ball bearing system) steel one's
    and believe me, these would really hurt you from up to 30 feet away, they can still penatrate your skin, here's a piccy of mine.

336.jpg

sorry about the image being so small, it's all I could find :/
    </font>

Nice try. The picture you own is of a cp99 which comes in two models, the co2 model which fires .22 bbs and the soft air model which fires a light plastic bb at a muzzel velocity of 290fps, the latter will not penetrate skin. Check my original post and marvel at the fact that I am looking for SOFT AIR models!!! tongue.gif

Life is just a one way ticket, every one must go around, here's a bucket go and kick it, slit your wrists without a sound.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Lex_Diamonds:
    Somebody who posted in this thread (big clue: Spollix) has a small penis and wants to carry guns to make himself look like a big man. Thats all it is at the end of the day.</font>

YES THATS exactly what I said, "I want to run around the streets waving guns in peoples faces coz I'm a big sissy at heart"
    oh no wait, thats the Italian cops.

Life is just a one way ticket, every one must go around, here's a bucket go and kick it, slit your wrists without a sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭ThrAx

yeah shinji's right, they are fun toys but them stoopid criminal that cant afford real weapons use them and ppl cnt get them anymore coz they are being outlawed.

I have used a ppk bbs gun and it was really fun to use, i didnt shoot ppl, just wine bottles and beer cans (dont fret they were empty, precious alcohol)

im a robot in disguise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

dear god, you really have an attitude problem. not only can you not drive apparently but you want to buy guns.
    you should try to get out more.
    and keep taking your drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

oh, and a -1 karma for just having an attitude and name calling in two threads.
    its a discussion board, not a bar room brawl.
    chill out.

Your Imps Demand Cable...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I personaly would like a Desert Eagle.

And it's AirSoft, not Soft Air. Just so you know.

I think they should be legal.

I would personaly like to shoot off a few pellets at a firing range.
    Besides, they'd puncture a peice of paper easily, like paper targets and such, but couldn't do any real injury to a person other than the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

I personally think if they were made legal, you would have every knacker/scumbag on the street with one. I know Jockey you said it is for collection, but how can you prove it. I not pointing the finger @ you, but if a scumbag walked in to a city street market and bought one of these things, he probably would try that baby out on some innocent passer-by before he gets home. Not a very nice thing to get at the back of the head on a city bus, is it?

And you can't simply sell to one person over 16/18 (whatever) and not to another. This would just give knackers a reason to steal and rebel. It's bad enough that ppl like this can get their hands on knives let alone air guns, that can be loaded with steel pellets (if the owner requires).

:-phobos-)

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Gladiator:
    i know a guy who was shot in the face with one in here, he lost an eye he was only 11 at the time,
    keep them illegal is what i say
    </font>

I was gonna put bets on someone having a sob story like that.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Lex_Diamonds:
    Unnecessary, can be used in robberies (DAMN sight more realistic than guns you find in Smyths rolleyes.gif ) , CAN injure people if fired into the face etc.

Keep them illegal
    </font>

A baseball bat can injure or be used in a robbery, Oh!! shock horror they are selling them in Arnotts, lets boycot the store rolleyes.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

If you want to collect them, why do they need to work?? Also going on your past posts I would just like to point out that you are ,in my opinion, A FÚCKING MUPPET Maybe thats just me, but I felt it had to be said. I for one don't fancy getting shot any where with any kind of projectile. So keep them illegal is what I say.

John

[This message has been edited by Lump (edited 26-07-2001).]

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by C B:
    Any grown man who wants to play with toy guns because he "appreciates the technologies of war" should be neutered and locked away for the good of society. rolleyes.gif</font>

And where did I say I wanted to play with them??? Collect boy Collect!!!!

well then why did you post,

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Gladiator:
    well then why did you post,</font>

Your question makes no sense!!
    Are you actually awake yet?

[This message has been edited by Jockey Spollix (edited 25-07-2001).]

if you knew someone would post a "sob Story" then why did you post, you cant get around the fact these things are dangerious and miss used and as long as they are they will be banned,

you made out in your first post that they were nearly harmless which they are far from

And where did I say I wanted to play with them??? Collect boy Collect!!!!
    </font>

Sorry I didn't know that you just wanted to stay in your room and grease your weapon!! and maybe show it off to other admirers.

While I do think that Jockey is a fool, I do kinda agree with him.
    I mean, any scumbag could buy a plank of wood and bludgeon someone with, doesn't mean planks of wood should be illeagal, does it?

Like I said, I would personaly like a replica Desert Eagle. And not just for collection.
    I wanna fire at targets with it.
    Tin cans.
    Bullseyes.
    All that stuff.
    I want to stand at one end of the room, and see if I can hit stuff the other side.

Thats my motivation anyway, and I'm sure it's hard to tell anyone elses.
    While they could be used as proper weapons, so could a lot of things.
    A car in the wrong hands could be more lethal than any gun.

But it's an odd arguement.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

I have a repla P99
    which fire's a BBS system (ball bearing system) steel one's
    and believe me, these would really hurt you from up to 30 feet away, they can still penatrate your skin, here's a piccy of mine.

336.jpg

sorry about the image being so small, it's all I could find :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

Angelwhore that's true but...

If an knacker picked up a plank of wood, they probably wouldn't be thinking the same thing as if they picked up a gun. Guns are more likely used in armed robberies (not planks of wood). It's a matter of probability and statistics that raises concern when it comes to guns. I know they are not real, but when loaded with steel pellets and shot at someones skull from close range can accomplish the same result.

It is like those bloody peg guns that you made as a child. The way you tweaked them, made them lethal in the hands of a child. Same goes for air guns.
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">
    A car in the wrong hands could be more lethal than any gun.
    </font>

This is true but, that's why insurance is so much for young ppl because statistics have shown that young ppl tend to drive irradically which leads to accidents. You see another matter of statistics and probability. It is what society uses to decide what is good and bad.

:-phobos-)

LOL!!!

Man, I remember those peg guns... biggrin.gif

Those were a laugh!

Never hurt anyone with them though...

Would it be a possible solution if people were to get a license for the pellet guns?

Where Is Your Millenium?
    Where Is Your Kingdom Of A Thousand Years?
    What You See Is A World Of Hate, Of Pitiness
    Never To Be Set In State
    What You See Is What You Get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

Jockey Spollix

Loose the bad attitude...A few people, myself included are getting fed up with it.

Insanity is spreading like wildfire.......and Im at its center :p

www.scifi-meshes.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Yurmasyurda

Take a walk down a main street in the U.K and you will see harmless bb guns on sale to anybody over 16, for as little as £19. Or visit one of the many web sites that sell them online to (again) anybody over 16. These replicas are completly harmless and would not even raise a welt on skin from 10 feet, they are sought after by people who apreciate the technology of war (mostly ex soldiers) but we cannot purchase these items in Ireland??? This is ridiculas and has to change.

</font>

Harmless my @rse... You and I know these guns can hurt and fair enough you say that all you want it for is collecting but you must understand that people are skeptical of your use of these things, I personally hate anything designed to hurt or maim a person or animal and feel very strongly about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

Believe me i would like to own an airgun to shoot cans and targets, but i would gladly sacrifice this want to see our country stay relatively safe.

If you legalised them, nackers get a new toy, how long before you have steel pellet shout outs in primary schools, and no i'm not talking horse, this will happen guaranteed. If you legalise them kids will get their hands on them, the only way to reduce this kind of carp is to "educate" kids in gun safety, this also would backfire, with perhaps one kid in every couple of thousand having violent disposition this number increasing constantly, It would lead to lost eyeballs and testical and probably some freak death. You can't rely on these kids parents to stop them getting their hands on them if they were legal, look at the situation with cigarettes and booze a friend of mine has been buying and smoking since he was 9, he has never been asked to prove his age when buying fags. Legalisation would only lead to ppl taking an increasingly relaxed view towards guns and eventually become and acceptable part of our culture. This would not be a good thing as we all know (see USA).
    oh and one more thing...

Jockey Spollix, please stop talking jockey bollix

So now I am a ****ing muppet, coz I want an opinion on the right as an adult to buy whatever I choose??? OK that settles everything then!! don't legalise cannabis, censure all music and video, no alchohol until over 21, no bright coloured t-shirts??
    Nice discussion lads, thanks for forgetting what it was about from post one, and atacking me on some moral high horse.
    Luv ya loads. xxxx

P.S I don't use drugs of any kind and I drive for a living, about 150 miles a day.

So now I am a ****ing muppet, coz I want an opinion on the right as an adult to buy whatever I choose??? OK that settles everything then!! don't legalise cannabis, censure all music and video, no alchohol until over 21, no bright coloured t-shirts??
    Nice discussion lads, thanks for forgetting what it was about from post one, and atacking me on some moral high horse.
    Luv ya loads. xxxx

P.S I don't use drugs of any kind and I drive for a living, about 150 miles a day.
    </font>

I don't think anyone said you are a muppet and to your above quote guns hurt people... Music videos don't although alcohol and cannabis do but that's a self infliction so I don't care.

And yes you do have a right to an opinion as does everyone.

Yurma

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Lump:
    If you want to collect them, why do they need to work?? Also going on your past posts I would just like to point out that you are ,in my opinion, A FÚCKING MUPPET Maybe thats just me, but I felt it had to be said. I for one don't fancy getting shot any where with any kind of projectile. So keep them illegal is what I say.

See above.

John

[This message has been edited by Lump (edited 26-07-2001).]
    </font>

Jockey Spollix just relax and don't let it bother you, this sort of went into a flaming thread but $hit happens.

Take it easy smokin.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Oh, Dear god, I do apoligise for calling you a muppet.......... But you are.

John.

P.S. I'm not replying any more...... It may get too abusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

I would love a "soft air" railgun. That would be class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Kastro

i have a p228 at the mo.
    Oj you fukin lier you dont got didly squat!
    if you did you would have shown it to me!
    i wouldnt mind 1 of the gunz that Oj "clames he has" tho.. =) if any1 knows where 2 get 1, mail me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Airguns
    My opinion would be to keep them banded simply to keep them outa of the hands of *******s.

Around 2yrs my Aunt was driving into the infamous town of Bandon, and some little knackers decided to go sniping with their gun.

That would be my main concern .... *******s with air guns.

But also if you wanna be ultra protective many of these actuall replicas can be modified for real use.... correct me if I'm wrong there of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by GREENHELL:
    But also if you wanna be ultra protective many of these actuall replicas can be modified for real use.... correct me if I'm wrong there of course.</font>

Errr no.Not AirSoft types, or any pellet guns i'd imagine. Guns from eras gone by might be, i.e world war 2 collectables are sold in the UK, but they have to have modifications to them, as in welding and sawing etc so they cant be put into use.To get them in working order would take knowledge and alot of time and resourse I'd imagine.And if you have these, why not build your own? Early in the conflict in N.I this was not uncommon.

A few points: I'm not aware of any mass breakouts in pellet gun fights in schools in the UK, despite the guns being available.

As for the "they could be used in robberies" argument, if someone is serious about robbing and if they can't use a replica gun they'll probably use a knife, which are freely available, including some nasty combat/survival types.Or maybe they might use a syringe containing some bodily fluid? Is this preferable?

Many people are unaware of the fact that reasonably high powered rifles are available to buy in Ireland.It's mostly shotguns that are owned, and the reason I believe this is so, is that rounds of ammunition for rifles cost in the region of a pound for one! What does this prevent? If someone went through the process of obtaining a license and paying quite a bit of cash for rifle with the purpose to go on a massacre of some sort(I know that one would be thrown at me) do you think the fact that bullets costed a pound a go would stop him?! Somehow I think the economics of the situation wouldn't bother a psycho too much.What it prevents is people having shooting as a past-time or hobby.

It's just the usual paranoid fear of the unknown.As for why replicas etc are banned, does anyone think it could be related to the fact that if I was to go and rob a bank tommorrow with a gun, I'd probably receive a far stiffer sentence than if i went and attacked someone quite seriously with a baseball bat or some other implement? Just my thought provoking comment for the evening.

[This message has been edited by bugler (edited 28-07-2001).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

Unbelieveable! All this upheaval about bleedin' airguns. Bunch of sad adolescents.
    Get a life....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭CriminallyInsane

I totally back Jockey Spollix. I don't see why everyone jumped down his throat. BB guns are fun. However, they can be dangerous if used by somebody irresponsible. Jockey (to me) seems to know a lot about guns, as do I. I think we can trust that Jockey is mature enough to use good judgement when using such "dangerous weapons". I myself have a crossbow. It can shoot six inch bolts at 150ft per second. It is, in the wrong hands a lethal weapon, but I only shoot at targets down at the end of my garden, while wearing protective eyewear. I got it from england and brought it back on the ferry. I would like them to be available over here so that I could further develop my interest in the sport of marksmanship/archery. I also like collecting gun replicas (the non-firing ones that are made out of metal) and BB guns, because they are far less expensive. By now you probably have this image of me being a facist old man who is fanitical about war and spends all of his time pollishing his .357 in his badroom ,planning a "cleansing" of some sort. I am ACTUALLY a 15 year old student who just happens to have an interest in weaponry. Should I have to account for what "knackers" do with these "lethal weapons"? All of the situations above (such as robberies and bb guns in schools) are worst case scenario and are highly unlikely. Who ever said that toy guns from Smyths are unrealistic, did you ever see James Bond toy guns in shops? They are very realistic and are moulded from durable black plastic with matt finish, not unlike some H&K (Heckler & Koch - Gun Manufacturers) guns, such as the VP70.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭vac

Ive had two bb hand guns, although both were the plastic type they still hurt like fu*k, they are fun but only in the hands of a responible person. My mate hardkore bought one in italy, a steal one, it put holes in cans and dinted the sh*te out of hairspray cans.

The fact is they are ilegal for a reason, they are dangerous and if they were made legal there would be a hell of alot of one eyed kids walking around the streets.

I see.Clearly because some people might like to collect something you deem sad then they are sad. Sorry Mr Cool! Everyone should stick to upgrading their pcs, or playing football, or whatever you think might be appropriate for "adolescents" to do.
    The only thing unbelievable here is that people like you post like your opinions are the only ones that matter, seemingly without any sense of how idiotic and ignorant it makes you look.
    </font>

Obviously your uderstanding of the English language is not very good. I did not make any comment regarding people wishes or rights to collect whatever they wanted. What I commented on was the level or lack of arguments used in this thread. Most arguments used are completely and utterly pathetic. Most people here obviously have no experience with real firearms or do realise that whan you get something shoved in your face that looks like a real firearm, you will treat it as a real firearm, period.
    You are less likely to put up any resistance as to someone armed with say a baseball bat.
    I would also like to take volunteers who will take a few shots from an airgun and then will comment again on it's capacity to inflict injury...

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by mayhem#:
    Unbelieveable! All this upheaval about bleedin' airguns. Bunch of sad adolescents.
    Get a life....
    </font>

Read that load of crap above. Is that what you call making an argument? I'm quite comfortable with my grasp of the english language, thank you.Now, if you don't want to disparage anyone elses interests, toddle off to whence you came.

And are you suggesting that resisting violent robbery is a wise thing to do?

Read that load of crap above. Is that what you call making an argument? I'm quite comfortable with my grasp of the english language, thank you.
    </font>
    Obviuosly not, as I was not stating an argument, I was merely making a comment, thank you very much....

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by VacilatoR:
    if they were made legal there would be a hell of alot of one eyed kids walking around the streets.</font>

Like in England? :/

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Unbelieveable! All this upheaval about bleedin' airguns. Bunch of sad adolescents.
    Get a life.... </font>

I see.Clearly because some people might like to collect something you deem sad then they are sad. Sorry Mr Cool! Everyone should stick to upgrading their pcs, or playing football, or whatever you think might be appropriate for "adolescents" to do.
    The only thing unbelievable here is that people like you post like your opinions are the only ones that matter, seemingly without any sense of how idiotic and ignorant it makes you look.