Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pob?

• 15-09-2004 6:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭

Over breakfast this morning, I almost peed myself laughing as my boyfriend and my housemate did impressions of the old tv puppet, Pob. I have never heard of Pob but am now dying with curiosity to see some videos.

I found this but it's dull as dishwater: Pob stuff.

My questions are:

What are your Pob memories? And am I alone in having missed him?
    and
    Can you supply me with links to any clips of him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Doper Than U

I hated that damn puppet, he gave me the creeps. He used to blow on the window through those evil pursed lips so he could write his name on the now spittle-ridden glass. Incidentally, I was looking for a decent pic of him, as I have a friend who is the SPITTING image of him (how unfortunate for my friend...), so if anybody can find a better site than the one linked above (which was all I could find too), I would really appreciate it.. thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭oneweb

whoa, I was just on a mobile phone software site yesterday called pobsomething and one of the wallpapers was that yoke.

Gave me the creeps, ugh!

It is what it's.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,988 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

He's a freaky little thing isn't he? Although puppets made partially, or wholly, of wood are always freaky. However Pob was worse. Blowing on the glass was bad enough, but I was always somewhat grossed out when he'd follow the thread he unwound from himself, unknitting his body. It's just wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

Damnit, all you guys are doing is making me more and more curious to see this weird little ba$tard! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭Naos

so after googling for a sec i found:

http://www.jedisparadise.co.uk/index.htm?childrenstv/Pob/Pob.htm&1

Ladies and Gentlemen, i bring you, Pob.

OMG!! lmao!!.. that is a great site... that horrid little puppet!... Thanks for that Mear.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭Naos

thank me with some karma my good man lol

• Registered Users Posts: 14,021 ✭✭✭✭tk123

yes i remember him - he was WEIRD...especially when he was eating/drinking ketchup through a straw!!! I hate tomatoes so that used to make me want to puke!!! It'd be all around his wooden face!! :p

Cool thread...I still wish I could see him in action though. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Pob was an absolute legend. I loved his programmes when I was small, my sisters would never let me watch it though as Home and Away or some such shít was always on at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭littleninja

Ah yes, Pob, I had forgotten all about him until I had seen this thread, thanks for the link Mear.... was a nice blast from the past (well, kind of anyway)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Grimlock

Pob rules!
    Sunday mornings on channel 4, I used to die laughing at him, spitting all over the screen and just generally being a hyper little bastard!
    The woman who made him went on to make the teletubbies.
    I have one or 2 short clips of him at home.
    Will post them tomorrow and put links to them here.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,021 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Grimlock wrote:
    Pob rules!
    I have one or 2 short clips of him at home.
    Will post them tomorrow and put links to them here.

Coooooooooooooooooooooool :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

I hated that ugly little fecker... although I did want a jumper like his. One of the un-ravelling kind btw. Cool colours (for the 1980's visually challanged kid).

• Registered Users Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Oh God this was my favourite program as a kid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭jared almasy

even as a child he scared the crap out of me, and when they ressurescted him for the animation week on channel 4 a few years back, i lost about 4 nights of sleep, the links great, i havnt slept in 2 days already. check out 80snostaligia.com, you may find him there, they have thundercats if not

Sorry to drag this up again: Grimlock? Any chance of those clips?

/me is desperate

crap! totally slipped my mind.
    will route through my cd wallets tonite.

aplogies for having the attention span (and spelling abilities) of a fly.

get back to ya soon

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Oh my God! I thought that I had imagined this programme. It's nice to know that I'm not as crazy as I thought I was...but Pob is definately freakier looking than I remembered! I do remember liking it though, hilarious for small people. :D

Grimlock, man.

Don't make me beg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

It was on c4 on sunday afternoons around the time taking ecstacy became really popular in Ireland.
    Nuff said really.

Really sorry but can't find the disc,
    I can find everything from Jayce and the Wheeled Warriors to Victor and Hugh; Puddle Lane to the Tellybugs but I can't see the Pob stuff! :mad:
    Will look again over the weekend, just don't have time in the evenings;
    Will post here on monday with an update, promise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

It was mostly the hands that freaked me out. Blood red plastic unmoving demonic appendages, surely forged in the deepest bowels of Hades itself. He was a freaky little bugger, most of my recollection is him spitting at the screen and just making a mess for the sake of it. I hated Pob, but I enjoyed hating him, if that makes sense.

I do hope you can find those videos, I could do with a good bout of hating Pob again...

Heh heh.

Never mind Grimlock! My day will come.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

that was the dude that used to eat jam and put it all over his sand town. the theme tune went something like "Whats the time?, Pobs play time, playin the games with the people of pobtown". etc etc

Ok after a weekend of scavanging I've found the intro :-)
    I have more *sorry to get hopes up*
    but just can't find it!
    *scratches head*
    B-Man you're a bit off, not really sure what you are remembering.

Ah crap it won't let me attach the file!
    anybody got any ideas?
    It a real media file at just under 500kbs?
    I could just mail it to those interested i suppose....

You could try and upload it on My5minutes.com ... anyone have any webspace you could upload it on?

Got access to my college FTP server :-)

here's a link
    I also put up some Ann and Barry, to remind us of school!

http://student.dcu.ie/~kanep2/80s

When/If i find the other Pob stuff it'll go here also.
    Enjoy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Grimlock wrote:
    I also put up some Ann and Barry, to remind us of school!

http://student.dcu.ie/~kanep2/80s
    Ahaha, quality shít :D
    Do some more!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

Oh god it's been years since I last saw this

"PUUUH AWWWW BUUUUUHHH!!! *Spit everywhere*"