Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

folding at home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭neGev

Excellent deRanged! That's good to hear. Are you running the command-line version on your spare machine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

neGev wrote:
    Are you running the command-line version on your spare machine?

yeah - the command line linux one.

Hehe, you're truly on the path to enlightenment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭BugBlaster

this is a list of my machines running F@H

2.6 p4 256ram
    2.0 athlon 256 ram
    450mhz lapy with 32meg
    and the massive 233mhz overclocked to the mighty speed of 266 (takes well over a week for one unit) 96megs ram 2voodoo2 cards sli'd

mostly running 24/7 cept at weekends when the kids take em over to play games online an on the mini-lan

anyone want to donate a machine to me I'll put it running and kept it running!

havent really stopped running F@h since I switched over from SETI last October after 1300 units there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭BabyEater

Does anyone want to donate me a Socket A heatsink as my XP2100 is without.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭darraghrogan

BugBlaster - that's pretty slick the way you used a tiny url to get the stats image to display - solved the problem with the tag for signature not displaying images without .jpg at the end. Needless to say i've used the idea!  Darragh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,561 ✭✭✭SickBoy

I've started to wind down my effort on SETI and I currently have 2 machines doing F@H now. I will eventually get the entire fleet converted and then there should be some(serious?) pressure on the top runners to get some extra WUs ;)

BugBlaster - that's pretty slick the way you used a tiny url to get the stats image to display - solved the problem with the tag for signature not displaying images without .jpg at the end. Needless to say i've used the idea!  Darragh

I've been using Tinyurl to do that since October roughly. I clearly don't spam enough :p

neGev wrote:
    I've been using Tinyurl to do that since October roughly. I clearly don't spam enough :p

Any idea how to get the active CPUs field working?

Darragh

I don't think it actually does unless you have 2 (or more)
    Discrimination against us uni-processor guys !

I've got 4 working - 1 linux box and 2 windows boxes in work and my mac laptop at home. Would just be interesting to see which one is best...

I reckon that with the graphical client (which I have on the mac) the processor ID is set to 1. Then on the command line clients in work I should be able to set the ID...

Might mess with it later if I have the inclination!

Darragh

if you use the command line version like i do you can change settings for the machine numbers...

add -help to the end of the command line in the shortcut to see the options availeable

howye, glad you saw some sense an stopped lookin fer those alien SETI units

Sickboy has nearly 60,000 Seti units completed so I am sure he will be of help to us to get past those Microsoft Ejits on the rankings
    http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/team_overtake.php?s=&t=39432

So cmon lads.... get those machines cranked bac up n let em GOOOOOO!!!!

Ummm nicked the info off of neGev's sig

/me says sorry neGev

Heh, it's all good :D
    Feel the Folding <3 !

Edit:
    I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas on how to get more Boardsies, or anyone at all for that matter, to join the team. For a site with probably a thousand or so active posters, between 18 and 21 Folders is fairly dismal.
    If you've any thoughts, just throw them out there!

we could ask some more seti users to switch over..... what is the chance of em finding aliens anyway??? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

well I'm showing up in the stats now, and starting to make some progress up the ranking too!

Cool beans. Does anyone happen to know anyone still hunting for little green men who might be persuaded to join the dark side?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

joined!

nick=mtf1

have it running on 5 pcs for the last week, i have about 20 800mhz pcs that i could set it running on, but i better discuss it with my bosses first, might have them running by friday

must say its a cool idea, hope some good comes out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 RonanH

Just started folding on my work pc, a ****ty PIII 833Mhz, but any thing's a help right... Will be on 24/7 so it should work away slowly all the time... Have a few questions... can I have it start automatically after a reboot?Can I stick the console version in the autoexec.bat? I'm running Win98. Is the console version quicker than the windows version? I have a prog running on the pc that swallows all the cpu cycles, is there a way to force a certain % to go to folding? (It's been running for 3 hours now and only done 25/2500, windows version). One last thing, if it finishes its wu during the night/weekend will it automatically get another one and keep processing?

Regards,
    Ronan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

RonanH wrote:
    can I have it start automatically after a reboot?
    Yeah, although it should be set to do this already... if it's not you can stick a shortcut to it in the start>programs>startup folder or add a reg key for it.
    Can I stick the console version in the autoexec.bat?
    As far as I know, the console version is a 32-bit executable, so it'll need a windows environment to run... autoexec.bat loads things in DOS mode, so... er no I don't think so... also it requires internet access, which you're not getting in dos anyway.
    I'm running Win98. Is the console version quicker than the windows version?
    The console version is supposed to be faster, but they say the GUI version runs at the same speed when it's minimised to the taskbar. (they're both windows versions technically, just one has a fancy graphical user interface, and the other runs in a text box)
    I have a prog running on the pc that swallows all the cpu cycles, is there a way to force a certain % to go to folding? (It's been running for 3 hours now and only done 25/2500, windows version).
    I can't remember if Win98 has any task priority system and I haven't used the Win9x version, but in the 2k/XP version there's an option to set the priority a notch higher if you find it competing poorly with other programs for CPU cycles... The Win9x version might also have it, I don't know.
    What other process is sucking up all the CPU time?
    One last thing, if it finishes its wu during the night/weekend will it automatically get another one and keep processing?
    Providing it has internet access when it finishes, yeah.

Actually...
    RonanH wrote:
    It's been running for 3 hours now and only done 25/2500
    Let's see...
    3 hours = 180 minutes / 25 steps = ~7 minutes per step.
    7 minutes per step isn't that slow really... I'm getting 9 minutes per step at the moment (Tinker core).
    It depends on what core and protine it's working on... some go faster than others... my other PC is working on one using the Amber core and it's getting like 3 minutes per step.

By the way... I was doing some browsing yesterday and came across the Grid cancer research project... I remember when this was the big thing around Boards, we even have a team on it.
    http://www.grid.org/services/teams/team_members.htm?id=7B148F5C-3FAD-4BD1-AD50-24D74B6EA65F
    Is anyone still active in this?

Thanks Donkey,

If the GUI version is as fast as the text version I think I'll stick with that, much nicer to look at :) I'll just stick it in the startup folder, the problem with that though is that the pc may not be logged on... I'll see how it works out. (strangely I still have internet access while not logged onto the network, I think the proxy uses tha MAC address rather than a log on for giving access). As for the process that is swallowing my cpu, it is a Building management system, as soon as it starts up cpu goes to 100%.

well this is what my machines???? do...

a 266mhz unit, there just for the fun 7hrs 25 minutes per step/100 :rolleyes: runs in safemode with little or no other processes runnin..

a 450mhz lappy.....2hours 20 minutes per step/100

a 2 Ghz athlon 44 minutes per step/100

a 2.6Ghz P4.....10 minutes per step/100

what settings are ppl using..... any tweaks?

[settings]
    username=bugblaster
    team=39432
    asknet=no
    machineid=1
    local=32

[http]
    active=no
    host=localhost
    port=8080
    usereg=no

[13:35:40] - Ask before connecting: No
    [13:35:40] - User name: bugblaster (Team 39432)
    [13:35:40] - User ID: 6C0F16AD42D4B817
    [13:35:40] - Machine ID: 1
    [13:35:40]
    [13:35:40] Loaded queue successfully.
    [13:35:40] + Benchmarking ...
    [13:35:44]
    [13:35:44] + Processing work unit
    [13:35:44] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
    [13:35:44] Core found.
    [13:35:44] Working on Unit 03 [March 19 13:35:44]
    [13:35:44] + Working ...
    [13:35:46]
    [13:35:46] *
    [13:35:46] Folding@Home Gromacs Core
    [13:35:46] Version 1.70 (October 24, 2004)
    [13:35:46]
    [13:35:46] Preparing to commence simulation
    [13:35:46] - Looking at optimizations...
    [13:35:46] - Files status OK
    [13:35:46] - Expanded 340211 -> 2016585 (decompressed 592.7 percent)
    [13:35:47]
    [13:35:47] Project: 1277 (Run 8, Clone 54, Gen 69)
    [13:35:47]
    [13:35:47] Assembly optimizations on if available.
    [13:35:47] Entering M.D.
    [13:36:41] (Starting from checkpoint)
    [13:36:41] Protein: p1277_proj1277_A21ext_d22_99phi
    [13:36:41]
    [13:36:41] Writing local files
    [13:36:41] Completed 784620 out of 1000000 steps (78)
    [13:36:41] Extra SSE boost OK.
    [14:22:53] Writing local files
    [14:22:53] Completed 790000 out of 1000000 steps (79)

other yoke....

[settings]
    username=bugblaster
    team=39432
    asknet=no
    machineid=2
    local=39

[http]
    active=no
    host=localhost
    port=8080
    usereg=yes

[core]
    checkpoint=3

each machine has its own Id.... does this matter?

any ideas?
    ta

oh n now some useless info.... this is my longest post since joinin the boards
    :cool:

I've no tweaks really, just overclocking a bit.
    Athlon XP2600@2.07GHz = Plodding along at ~15mins frame. (Amber)
    AMD64 3000 winnie @ 2.25GHz = ~5 minutes frame. (Tinker)
    Speeds have varied over the course of the day, but that's what they're doing right now.

usereg=no
    usereg=yes

on different machines.... usereg???? whats that about?

Well since about this time yesterday, i've gotten to 275/2500, 11%. At this rate it'll take me 10 days to get one wu processed :eek: Think I need to upgrade my pc.... (*gets out BIG hammer :D *)

BugBlaster wrote:
    usereg=no
    usereg=yes

on different machines.... usereg???? whats that about?
    I'm using the GUI clients, and I've just had a poke around the options dialog while keeping an eye on client.cfg
    Now the option I change to toggle "usereg" between Yes and No is this:
    Network and Proxy Settings
    You may either use the connection settings of Internet Explorer or manually set proxy information.
    [checkbox] Use Internet Explorer Connection Settings
    When this box is ticked, usereg becomes "=yes" when unchecked it's "=no".
    I assume usereg means "use registry settings", as opposed to setting the proxy details manually... also "usereg" appears under the [http] section of the client.cfg ... so that just about wraps that mystery up nicely.

So yeah, unless you're having problems with your client connecting to the folding servers, I would ignore it.
    Both of my clients have "usereg=no" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

i'm @ 29th now - not bad for 2 weeks, and i've only installed on 5 of the 20 pcs that i mentioned earlier (thought i better test it first)

i'll give it a week, and if there is no problems, i'll be 4 times faster :p