Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Engagement ring query

• 23-08-2004 9:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Mods - This may not be the most appropriate place to post but I want to post unregged.

Myself and my GF are getting engaged. We are about to start looking for an engagement ring. Can anyone advise on Jewellers? I'm in the West. Would it be worthwhile to take a trip to the UK or Europe to buy? Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Sorry I can't help you with your origion question, but I would advise:
    Talk to her. She'll know where to go. She'll know what she likes. I would imagine that staying in Ireland is the best bet. (Afaik, jewlers provide free cleaning of engagement rings etc(I'm assuming thats if you bought it from them). If you have any problems, you don't wanna be going abroad to sort them out.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Don't forget the 4 C's !

DeBeers.com would be a good place to start learning what to look for.
    E-Bay can be pretty good for diamonds but really, you'd have to be buying a certified diamond from a reputable dealer. However, It is a very good place to have a look at different stones and get an idea of how much you're going to pay for a stone plus what type of metal you'll go for (platinum is best for showing a diamond IMO)

On the other hand, I'm not sure how many women would be delighted to hear that you bought it off ebay. For de rosemance factor loike!

http://www.tiffany.com (g'wan and suggest it, I dare ya!)

Or you could go for the finest cubic zirconia known to man ( www.argos.co.uk ;) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭query

I've been kknown to spend many a happy day at work on www.adiamondisforever.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭gonker

i dont know what your budget is but i was in dubai recently...yeah i know but it was REALLY cheap and you can pick up really cheap deals but diamond rings can be bought really cheaply over there a friend bought one for 9k but when she got it home was valued over double that. You do have to haggle very hard though...walk away and they will call you back...just an idea....and dubai is absoloutly amazing....we went for a safari in the sahara for our anniversary....the sun going down over the sahara is very romantic :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

im not being smart but amazon.com has set up a jewellery section recently, excellent value, theyve cut something like 30% off the price youd pay in a jewellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Definitely bring her away and make a weekend with it, topping it off with the ring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hey guy's thanks for the feedback. Just to clear this up the ring is no surprise to her. We are together 7 years and have discussed getting married. We will be looking for the ring together.

I hear the mark up Jewellers in Ireland make is like 100% which really pisses me off. I don't mind spending the cash but I'm very much against rip off Ireland.

The only problem buying abroad is what to do if you have a problem and how do you know the goods are 100% genuine.

Has anyone any experiences with Jewellers in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Lisapeep

Someone above said that they paid 9k for their ring - is this the norm?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Corksham

Lisapeep wrote:

Yes, yes it is, assuming you have more money than sense

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Lisapeep wrote:

if it is
    then there are some very insane stupid people out there
    that's a disgraceful amount to spend on a ring unless you are Elizebeth Taylor and can throw your money around willy nilly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Lisapeep wrote:

I was talking to a friend a while ago about what the norm was for the cost of an engagement ring and she reckoned that the standard calculation was 2½-3 times the guys monthly salary. I don't know how true that is but she reckoned it was a well known thing.

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Yes, yes it is, assuming you have more money than sense

What's the rule of thumb again on what you're meant to spend...isn't it a months salary, or summat?

EDIT

*looks up*

2-3 times...wow...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭IgnatiusJRiley

Buy a load of Kinder Suprises. There's bound to be a ring in one of them!!
    Failing that, just go to any jewellers and buy whatever takes her fancy.

Most jewellers will give you a 20% discount for cash. (It doesn't have to be cash literally just not credit card). If you want a ring made somewhere like the Kilkenny Design Yard or the Powerscourt Centre can be good. They can also make wedding bands too. (Make sure you try on the ring with a wedding ring - may be scary but needs to be done)

Totally against the spirit of the original post, I find myself with an unused engagement ring. What is the convention? Should I get an earring made out of it? (Why didn't I go for a two stone instead of a solitaire). I like the ring but it only fits my engagement finger and obviously I don't want to wear it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Um, give it back to the poor sap that spent 2 1/2 months of his salary on it? :rolleyes:

I reckon it'll be a trip to Holland for me if this ever rears it's head!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

BaZmO* wrote:
    I was talking to a friend a while ago about what the norm was for the cost of an engagement ring and she reckoned that the standard calculation was 2½-3 times the guys monthly salary. B.

lol
    the standard calculation!?
    who comes up with this crap?
    is there a rule book somewhere?

totally agree
    I'd much rather spend my money on grass :D

Beruthiel wrote:
    lol

totally agree
    I'd much rather spend my money on grass :D
    Well, actually I was referring to De Beers and the probability that it'd be much cheaper to buy near them.

Beer and Grass instead of an engagement ring? Sounds good to me!

Hey don't shoot the messenger! As I said, I don't believe in it myself. Christ! I couldn't believe in it, cos if it was the case I'd have to fork out 10K! I think I'd rather stick with the beer and grass!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

1 months salary is the norm. Whether thats before or after tax is another thing. Our budget is E1500 to E2000. The wedding will cost approx E20K so you need to have some budget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

actually ive wondered about how much should be spent on an engagement ring a couple times (just out of curiousity if your reading this dear) i was way overestimating by the looks of things. i didnt think 9k was far off the mark. whats the average roughly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

1. Set your budget.
    2. Pick your metal. Yellow gold, white gold, rose gold, silver, platinum, stainless steel, 9 carat, 14 carat, 18 carat?
    3. Pick your stone - precious or semiprecious? Diamond solitaire? More than one diamond? Diamonds and other precious stones? Just other precious stones? Semi-precious stones?
    4. Do an internet search on the metal and stone you're interested in to get some ideas.
    5. Visit jewellers online.
    6. Decide if you want new, second-hand or antique - you can get a beautiful antique setting and buy a stone to go in it, if you want something unusual.

I'd say use the internet for quite a while before you go shopping.

Now, the only real tip I can give you: first things first, visit a jeweller that has NOTHING YOU LIKE IN IT, just to get used to the experience of knowing your ring size and also of saying 'no, thanks' to the jeweller.

Jewellers are salespeople, and they can make you feel pretty small if they decide to play you and the missus off each other.

Once you're both happy in advance that you want nothing from the store, it's good to try it out for the experience. You get to see what metals look like what on your skin, you learn the shape and weight of different metals and so on. Plus you get to see the items you may have read about in the flesh as it were and you're under no pressure to buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭gonker

It wasnt me who bought the ring for 9k it was a friend. I was just stating that bargains can be had...personnally I think that is too much to spend on a ring I would be petrified to wear it I felt I would have to have a security guard walking around with me all day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Buy a load of Kinder Suprises. There's bound to be a ring in one of them!!
    Failing that, just go to any jewellers and buy whatever takes her fancy.
    Well why not wait until Halloween and get a brack with a ring in it :D ...Anyhoo I think this is CRAZY - I wouldn't expect a guy to spend so much money on a ring?!? If you are getting engaged than surely you should know what to pick - now I know some of you guys are a bit dumb sometimes but if you were going out with somebody long enough to propose would you not have an idea about what to buy?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Penelope

I think it wud be really romantic if you took her to Dublin for a weekend. McDowells on O'Connell st are the best jewellers for engagement rings-I think!
    By doing this, it will make it a very memorable day. I don,t like the thought of my boyfriend just getting a ring on line. In years to come you can say where and when you got engaged. This way she could pick her own ring but it wud still be special coz she wud have had no idea.

You can't set a price on a ring. It all depends on her taste. But i know i wouldn't like my boyfriend spending more than €5,000 and even that is too much. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

There is an auction room in Dublin well worth keeping an eye on - http://www.oreillysfineart.com/

They have a ring auction every year with some beautiful stuff at about 50-60% of normal sale prices. Of course you both have to know about it. The bidding is great crack if a little nerve racking. A friend got her ring (H, VVSI, 1.01ct solitaire, diamond shoulders, plat band...nice) there last year for 4.5k, insured now for 9.5k. The same spec'd ring was costed at anywhere from 9k to 12.5k in jewellers around the city centre! The rings ranged from €250 to €75,000 so it catered for everybody's taste and pocket ... rings could be viewed the day before.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Kind of makes me ill, people spending that kind of money on a ring.
    Is it supposed to make someone feel good that you've squandered months' wages on something pretty, clichéd and useless?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

there are some advantages to buying your ring in this country.
    We got mine in Applebys. When we went back to get our wedding rings, they gave us a discount. At christmas hubbie bought me a watch from there and we also got a discount when they saw we'd bought our rings there.
    Another reason, whenever I'm in town I pop in and they clean my ring for free.

I think it could be worth while to point out here these days a lot of girls feel better contributing something towards the ring.

And anyway, if someone gave you a piece of prominent jewellery that you could end up wearing for THE NEXT SEVENTY YEARS, what would you rather, an Argos special or something you really liked and wanted?

It doesn't necessarily have to be uber-expensive on that basis, but frankly if you were going to be stuck staring at something every day for the next seven decades you'd probably rather it was something you liked too.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

BaZmO* wrote:
    I was talking to a friend a while ago about what the norm was for the cost of an engagement ring and she reckoned that the standard calculation was 2½-3 times the guys monthly salary. I don't know how true that is but she reckoned it was a well known thing.

B.

No it's traditionally only ONE month and more importantly since it's essentially a contract to marry the person she would have to give back the ring if the wedding was called off. Think of it as a deposit, its his property until the deal is sealed.

When you realise the markup on rings n' stuff and you hear about "blood diamonds" and the cartel that DeBeers have going it's put you off buying a ring. I know people who got wedding bands instead.

Time was an engagement ring was supposed to cost one months salary.

I went out with a girl, who, quite flatly, asserted that she would accept nothing less than the value of a years wages. :eek: Suffice to say, I never proposed.

And anyway, if someone gave you a piece of prominent jewellery that you could end up wearing for THE NEXT SEVENTY YEARS, what would you rather, an Argos special or something you really liked and wanted?

Wouldn't you rather it was something different, something unique?
    What's the attraction with diamonds anyway - I reckon they're one of the least attractive stones, and as a symbol I could think of better than something cold, hard and see-through...

It's supposed to represent eternity - diamonds last forever..

As to giving it back, it depends who breaks off the engagement

Wouldn't you rather it was something different, something unique?
    What's the attraction with diamonds anyway - I reckon they're one of the least attractive stones, and as a symbol I could think of better than something cold, hard and see-through...

I don't see diamonds in my post? I just said something you liked - if you like a stainless steel band with recycled beach glass set into it by some up and coming artist, that's up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭silverside

FOUR THOUSAND EURO? are ye all mad? ? ye could go on a brilliant holiday for that and have something to talk about for years - instead you get some piece of metal you will worry about losing or having robbed.

I don't see diamonds in my post? I just said something you liked - if you like a stainless steel band with recycled beach glass set into it by some up and coming artist, that's up to you.

Aye, it was more of a corollary than a rebuttal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭yossarin

I was in antwerp over the weekend. theres a large diamond district (famous for it) and its a party town as well. good for a visit if you're buying or looking at prices.

//as an aside, wtf with "chunky" rings! So crass and styleless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Beruthiel wrote:
    lol
    Probably De Beers. Aids sales. There was a time when it was one month's salary but that's inflation for you.

Don't even say it. I know

I'll say this much to the original poster: assuming you're going diamond, there are people out there who just get the biggest dirtiest diamond they can get their hands on. They grade the things by the four Cs (cut, carat, colour, clarity) for a reason. Big cloudy yellow diamonds aren't attractive at all. Like so many other times, size isn't everything and it'd be good if people realised this. Pick a balance between size and colour that'll suit your pocket (but for the love of all that's holy stay away from the really yellow ones - even Argos have a colour guide at the beginning of the catalogue that'll give you an idea of what's yellow and what's not). Buy something nice. You'll get something smaller but better. Pernickity hoores like me will notice the difference. Chavscum won't but then you're probably a classy bloke.

Was well impressed with one of my cousins. She went off with the hubby to let him buy the ring and by the time they got back to their house she'd had his brother bring in a pool table she'd bought for him! Poor lad nearly fainted from the surprise!

Sleepy wrote:
    Was well impressed with one of my cousins. She went off with the hubby to let him buy the ring and by the time they got back to their house she'd had his brother bring in a pool table she'd bought for him! Poor lad nearly fainted from the surprise!

That girl deserves a life of prosperity and happiness. I hope the two of them have a wonderful life together.

What a girl.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Section 4 of the Family Law Act 1981:

Where a party to an agreement to marry makes a gift of property (including an engagement ring) to the other party, it shall be presumed, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, that the gift—

( a ) was given subject to the condition that it should be returned at the request of the donor or his personal representative if the marriage does not take place for any reason other than the death of the donor, or

( b ) was given unconditionally, if the marriage does not take place on account of the death of the donor.

So ladies, poison his beer if you want to keep the ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

I'm intrigued and bemused that some people are indignant about what others do with their money. If someone wants to spend thousands on an item then off with them. Where do you draw the line? Is it mad (or bad even!) if you spend €200 on new sneakers, or €40,000 on a fancy new car, or €500,000 on a too-big house, or €10,000 on a painting, or €150 on a nice meal or €40 on a bottle of wine or €100 on a concert ticket or €2,000 on a guitar or €1,000 on a pc or €3000 on new curtains!!!!!! etc etc? News Flash ... some women LOVE jewellery ... and diamonds in particular. It's for life, unlike some of the other things mentioned, it symbolises something important, unlike most of the other things mentioned, and surely it's about what you can afford not what it costs. €4000 may be 30% of your earnings when you're a student (in which case it probably would be mad or at least atrociously bad money management to spend thousands on a ring) but it may be less than 5% of your earnings at another point in your life and who's to say what you should do with it. Do what you want with your money guys and feck the begrudgers ... you'll be dead soon enough.

Zulu wrote:
    That girl deserves a life of prosperity and happiness. I hope the two of them have a wonderful life together.

What a girl.

So far so good. Not so sure about the prosperity bit, but they're certainly very happily married 3 years on.

Myksyk wrote:
    News Flash ... some women LOVE jewellery ... and diamonds in particular. It's for life, unlike some of the other things mentioned, it symbolises something important.
    ....like wealth?

Are Zulu and Sleepy the same person???

Nearly every post in PI by one is followed by the other!!! ;)

It's all very confusing! :confused:

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭wicklah

patrick glynn on middle abbey street will make rings for you.

bought the engagement ring in mcdowells, decent place, seemed okay for price (not saying how much but just over a months salary but could have got cheaper since I discovered patrick glynns place)

went to get the wedding rings and couldn't believe how all the known jewellers in dublin rip you off. engagement ring was platinum so she has to get a platinum wedding ring, patrick glynn will make it for half the price as the jewellers were quoting (he is a jeweller by the way). he will also make my ring for half the price as I was quoted in the likes of weirs/mcdowells/fields/hsamuels etc (scumbags) (i'm getting white gold as it would have been too expensive for the 2 of us to get platinum wedding rings).

never tried abroad to be honest so I have no comparision price wise.

i'd recommend going in there

BaZmO* wrote:

B.
    For the last time, we're not the same person.

BaZmO* wrote:

B.
    For the last time, we're not the same person. :D

Someone please PM me on how to manually upload your own personal Avatar, it's time...

Sleepy wrote:
    For the last time, we're not the same person.

Easy Tiger! I didn't know other people had said the same too!

Someone should organise a competition or a bare knuckle fight or something and the loser has to lose his avatar!!!

Let's get reeeaddy to rrrrrrrrruuuuuuuummmmmmmmbbbllllllllllee!!!!!!!!!!!! ;)

Have to subscribe for a personal avatar, Zulu.

Bareknuckle fighting's not my game BaZmO* but I think the idea of a duel for ownership of the avatar is a good one. My weapon of choice: a yard of ale.

Sleepy wrote:
    Have to subscribe for a personal avatar, Zulu.

Bareknuckle fighting's not my game BaZmO* but I think the idea of a duel for ownership of the avatar is a good one. My weapon of choice: a yard of ale.
    I was about to hand it over peacefully - but now that you've mentioned "the yard of ale", and challenged my integrity, I say: "You Sir are a cad and a scoundrel, I demand satisfaction! - I challenge you to a duel!"

My weapon of choice was the simple pint of Guinness back in my UCG days. We went for the "shock and awe" tactic.