Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What course are you doing?! [CAO Results]

• 23-08-2004 5:07am
    Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭

Well, what the heck are y'all doing?!

I got DCU Computer Apps, DC121 , I'm ecstatic :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Jammer

Degree - Computer Science & Software Engineering in Maynooth
    Diploma/Cert - Computing (Information Technology) in Blanch IT

Both my 1st choices, so :D

Think i'll do the degree in maynooth!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Lantis

*copy, paste*

DC154 (Degree) - Languages for Intl. Communication (Japanese)

I'd be bouncing off the walls if I wasn't too lazy to move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭PrecariousNuts

Offers available to be accepted:
    Course Type Title Status
    TR035 Degree Theoretical Physics Valid until 31-AUG-2004

Huzaah I'm delighted although it went up a good bit from last year to 525 points

how can u tell the points needed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭PrecariousNuts

http://www.cao.ie/institutions/DEG04.HTM

It should tell you instantly the minute you log in if you have it or not anyway

yeah, got ur link in the other thread. Looks i got in by the skin of my teeth on the degree one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I'm doing BESS :D. Trinity, here I come!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Jammer wrote:
    yeah, got ur link in the other thread. Looks i got in by the skin of my teeth on the degree one.
    Yep, got in at 485 points, the points are 485*. Strange, the 1st round points went up 10 this year when there was a decline in applications for business. Anyway, YAY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Gillzer

Financial Maths and Economics in Galway was 480 last yr, its gone down to 425!
    And me with my 490 thinking i wouldnt get it! All those hours studyin for no fookin reason!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Number6

I was offered my 7th preference
    Gy301 - Science in NUI Galway.

I shan't be accepting it as I wanted to do DN110 (General Nursing) UCD.
    Daddy's going to beat me with his belt today :/

No Daddy, not again... I've been a good boy... It's the CAO system.... NNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

What were you hoping to do?
    I think its time to go back to bed and contemplate all the hours of valuable drinking time I wasted studying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Sarunas

congtarts cult, got the same thing, both my first offers, dc121 and diploma in nci (NC102).
    Woooooooooooo DCU im comming...

Yeah... the points kept the same for comp apps is dcu, anyone know what there arent any points for genetics in dcu, friend of mine is hoping to do it.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Sarunas wrote:
    congtarts cult, got the same thing, both my first offers, dc121 and diploma in nci (NC102).
    Woooooooooooo DCU im comming...
    Thanks :) , well, looks like there will be quite a gang of us, the points didn't change at all.

Yeah i just checked the points for comp in trinity, i could have gotten in! just dont have the higher maths :(. Bring on DCU!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

i remember when i got into DCU... of course back then the points were 410 (i think)... and we wore an oinion on our belt, t'was the style at the time

well done everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭-oRnein9-

Yep I'm in just checked and excepted it there, got in with 315 didn't think I would, I'm chuffed. See ya's all there, anyone know when the course starts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Told ya it wouldnt move, well guess Ill be with all you guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭asphalt-cushion

I cant believe it. I got medicine in UCD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭geo

missed out Theoretical Physics in trinity by 20 points (i got 505 ) damm 75 points jump...so far anyways have science in trinity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

Got 345 points,

LC491 Degree Construction Management Valid until 31-AUG-2004
    LC411 Diploma/Cert Construction Valid until 31-AUG-2004

Was looking for Construction management in GMIT, but everyone I know is going to Limerick anyways, so I'm not too bothered. Taking a year out anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Flashraziel

I'm doing "International Communications (Japanese)"
    I got 355 points. The course was 355! Boo Ya!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Bah

Gillzer wrote:
    Financial Maths and Economics in Galway was 480 last yr, its gone down to 425!
    And me with my 490 thinking i wouldnt get it! All those hours studyin for no fookin reason!

I know! It went up by about 30 points for the last few years, and now down by FIFTY FIVE. I got 510 and was worried I wouldn't make it... Btw, if it's not already obvious:

GY309 Degree Financial Mathematics and Economics Valid until 31-AUG-2004

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Kappar

TR004 Law in Trinity

Although I didn't get in through the Leaving Cert results (Done a Cert in Trinity last year and done well) I think I am allowed post on the LC board ;-).

Anyone else for Law TCD?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭penguincakes

Undenominated Engineering (Degree) - DN077 in UCD. ****in 495 points though, it was a hell of a shock! Got it comfortably but a friend wasn't so lucky...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭claire h

Psychology UCD. 3rd choice, but am happy with it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

I got I.T in NUIg, but I don't really like the idea of studying I.T since I've been studying it most of my young life, feckin' boring stuff so it is.

Hope there are vacancies in degrees in languages tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Intel

Congrats to all!

I got Civil Engineering in UCD, Im real excited. Anyone else 4 Civil or any other engineering in UCD? :rolleyes:

Now, have to apply for campus accomodation....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

I'm doing BESS :D. Trinity, here I come!!

BESS? Ye bleedin slapper! ;)

DC121 - Comp Applications for me, thank you very much Mr. Cao !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Micheal Wittman

Finace and Venture management in Maynooth:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

computer science in DIT, its dropped by 80 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Film Production in Dhulaigh, boo yeah! Doesnt even require points!

subway.ie wrote:
    I know! It went up by about 30 points for the last few years, and now down by FIFTY FIVE. I got 510 and was worried I wouldn't make it... Btw, if it's not already obvious:

GY309 Degree Financial Mathematics and Economics Valid until 31-AUG-2004

Good someone else doing the course, I was beginning to think I was the only eejit with loads more points than I need!
    So, have you any idea what this course is about, cause I haven't got a clue.
    Do u become an actuary out of it? If you got 510 you could have done the actuary course in DCU.
    I've been on the internet all day looking for a house for me and 3 other lads and no joy yet. Seeing as how ur from Galway, can we live with you?! Any advice on getting accomodation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Trebor

well i'm off to scotland to do computers :)

cya all!!! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

.......................and im off to learn carpentry.

Gillzer wrote:
    So, have you any idea what this course is about, cause I haven't got a clue.
    Do u become an actuary out of it? If you got 510 you could have done the actuary course in DCU.

Hmmm. Don't really have much of a clue here either... something about maths and economics? Supposed to be mainly statistics and probability (which I hate), calculus (which I like) and economicsy stuff (which I don't know anything about).

I think you can go on to actuary... but it takes awhile. You get the general basics, but you've got to do more courses to pass the actual exams (I think it's a bit like the accountants exams?). I could have done it... but that would mean moving to dublin. Which would be bad.
    I've been on the internet all day looking for a house for me and 3 other lads and no joy yet. Seeing as how ur from Galway, can we live with you?! Any advice on getting accomodation?

Well, eh, I've got a single bed in an apartment... so, errrr, living with me could get a little weird. Advice for getting accommodation - get down to Galway *early* this Wednesday and queue up for the Galway Advertiser - theres always a *huge* queue for it. Bring a few mobile phones and start rining places straight away - demand is usually huge. Just in case you're tempted - STAY AWAY from Corrib Village. Nasty, nasty place. Unless you're into living in the Irish version of Guantanamo Bay?

STAY AWAY from Corrib Village. Nasty, nasty place. Unless you're into living in the Irish version of Guantanamo Bay?

Or as Bertie calls it 'Gwatayama Bay'...
    I second that, I've heard nothing but bad reports about the place.
    Try Dun na Coiribe, or Gort na Coiribe they're just up the road from it (opposite Terryland), and ive been inside one of the apartments and its very nice

Intel wrote:
    Try Dun na Coiribe, or Gort na Coiribe they're just up the road from it (opposite Terryland), and ive been inside one of the apartments and its very nice

Good, this is the kind of advice I need! Any other places to avoid? Is Tirellan in Terryland OK, Im viewing a place there tomorrow.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Deaf Studies and Irish Sign Language In Trinity College...
    Very Nice,

altho i Didnt Apply Via the Cao, so i dont really know why i cared

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭munkeehaven

i'm going to do medical laboratory science in CIT its my first choice so i am a happy kittie :D:D .i suppose i knew i would get it as it is 450 and i got 540 but i still was a bit nervous that somehow i wouldn't get offered it...ah well i can relax now.i'm going to be a MAD SCIENTIST!!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭thebigmc

I got offered architecture in UCD- delighted! Anyone else on the boards doing architecture?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Pugwash

BESS in trinity. dissoppointed not to get the points for law but I've a feeling that this multi-disciplined course with loads of options is the way to go.

As for the infamous criteria of the typical BESS student who'll fill the majority of the places next year, :rolleyes: the jury's still out..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Roller Toaster

Pyschology and English Languages in London Metropolitan in '05.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭cole9

I got Business and Legal studies in UCD 505 points needed and I got 505 so I just scraped it. Anyone else doing this?

Gillzer wrote:
    Good, this is the kind of advice I need! Any other places to avoid? Is Tirellan in Terryland OK, Im viewing a place there tomorrow.

I dunno about Tirellan, but you should try Menlo Park Appartments - a bit closer than Dún Aras and not too dear. If you're trying to get a house yourself, then definetly get into Galway tomorrow to pick up a copy of the advertiser and start ringing/viewing/booking places ASAP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Doin' Buisness and Legal in UCD as well. So delighted to get the points (I got 515) I just got a letter in the post explaining how to buy the (mandatory) laptop.. €1250 for the cheapest one...oh well that's what parents are for I guess :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I got arts in ucd.
    Anyone else going to be an unemployable bum?

I got arts in ucd.
    Anyone else going to be an unemployable bum?

Speaking about employment and arts...Has anyone any idea about what professions arts graduates are most employed.

One of my friends told me that quite a few of them become secondary school teacher in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Yeah i suppose that alot of them would, though i also suppose some go in with the intention of being teachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭David19

http://www.tcd.ie/Careers/student/sdo.htm

This is what trinity graduates do. Go to arts section to see what they do