Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny greatness 1997-2004

• 09-08-2004 3:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭

What a marvellous game yesterday considering the conditions & what fantastic skill & artistery by the greatest hurling team of the modern era.

ilkenny went to the well once more & still no sign of the 3-in-a-row dream running dry. Over the past few years, we've seen them do so much for us & yesterday they showed no real tiredness from maybe as grueling a championship campaign as any hurling team ever had.

Heres the facts. We are through to our 6th final in 7 years. Yesterday was our 8th All Ireland semi in a row. This in an era when hurling is more competitive than ever at the top level.

Our quest for a three in a row is still on on track.

What a battle yesterday & every credit to Waterford.
    This Waterford, side played a lovely brand of hurling unlike the negative stick wielders of their Banner neighbours we witnessed in the last 2 weeks.

While Kilkenny had a lot of missed chances the Waterford record of only one wide and 11 points by half time showed that their game plan could still work.
    Thanks to our forwards we were 3-6 to 0-11 up at half time. The first & third through the genius of the clear vision (thank God) of Henry Shefflin
    Still, there were only four points between the sides at the restart, and Waterford still had every chance of getting a victory.
    Waterford had closed to within just two points and a few minutes remaining but the backs done everything that the forwards lacked in this period.
    Several high balls dropped in but all were repelled by Tommy Walsh, JJ Delaney & co.

What a team this current Kilkenny side are. What lucky people we are to come from such a fantastic hurling county. Commiserations to the Decies but they'll be back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

What a marvellous game yesterday considering the conditions & what fantastic skill & artistery by the greatest hurling team of the modern era.

Absolutely, and Kilkenny played well too! :D

A great game. Kilkenny's defence won it alright. Brian Cody has obviously been taking tips from Mickey Harte and Joe Kernan and crowding the forwards out. Waterford missed John Mullane, which begs the question as to whether Tommy Walsh should have been allowed to play in the replay against Clare, having been sent off the previous day. His case may not have come up yet, but there is definitely a flaw if one red-carded player can play in the next match and another can't!

A good team, but don't forget 1998, 1999 and 2001. You've won nothing yet, not even a Leinster Title, which you at least got in those years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭kilkennycat2004

Flukey wrote:
    A good team, but don't forget 1998, 1999 and 2001. You've won nothing yet, not even a Leinster Title, which you at least got in those years!

Kinda true flukey although I think our performances through the qualifier route has convinced even the sceptics that we are indeed the premier hurling county.
    We also qualified for minor & intermediate all irelands this weekend so even when this team breaks up replacements wont be many years behind. Thats our real strength I suppose:D

Premier Hurling County? So are all the guys that get yellow cards Rebels or all the brothers that have played Tribesmen? :)

Flukey wrote:
    Premier Hurling County? So are all the guys that get yellow cards Rebels or all the brothers that have played Tribesmen? :)

What????

Don't you know who the Premier County is and the Rebels and the Tribesmen? I thought you were a hurling fan!

Oh right .
    Well I think Galway, Tipp & Cork over last couple of decades have not got a record at all compatible to Kilkenny. We are now the 1 & only true premier hurling county.
    Lucky for all that it was 1904 before we started. Probably something to do with us concentrating on football before this :D

Wrong again. Kilkenny won their first Leinster Hurling title in 1888 as well. It may have been 1904 when they won their first All-Ireland and 1904 was their 7th Leinster title, although they were not all won on the field of play, but they started as far back as the footballers and they were still competitive in football beyond 1904.

We'll disagree on that flukey.
    We're winners at hurling thats enough. I dont think you can be really succesful at both.
    Ive been at club hurling matches here with inter county football afterwards & the grounds quickly empty after the hurling.
    We have almost no interest in it & anyway wouldn't want to be greedy either. Ye can keep it thanks :D

I am not expecting Kilkenny to win the Sam Maguire - any more than I expect Donegal to win the McCarthy Cup - but to at least put out a competitive team and that is not beyond them. As you said, the grounds do empty quickly but that just proves that something needs to be done. No one is seriously trying to promote the game, just paying lip-service to it. Of course Hurling will always be number 1, but there is space for other games. There are other sports played in Kilkenny. Counties do promote both sports and from scarcer resources than Kilkenny have. Effort needs to be put into football. There seems to be some ridiculous mentality that it can't be done because Kilkenny is a hurling county, but that is pure rubbish. A proper county board would promote both. Weak hurling counties are at least trying to promote the game and field teams in the league at least. Many use the example of Kilkenny and its stars and even some of the stars themselves to help promote the game. No Kilkenny hurler would ever give up, so that mentality is there, so why can't it be done in Hurling. What are the Kilkenny people afraid of? It won't hurt hurling. It is far too strong for that. If 31 other counties can field hurling and football teams, regardless of how good they are, why can't Kilkenny?

I understand what your saying Flukey.
    Can't see anything changing here however.
    Costly business running inter county teams also :D

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Flukey wrote:
    ...Waterford missed John Mullane, which begs the question as to whether Tommy Walsh should have been allowed to play in the replay against Clare, having been sent off the previous day. His case may not have come up yet, but there is definitely a flaw if one red-carded player can play in the next match and another can't!...

John Mullane got a 'straight red' whereas Tommy Walsh got two yellow cards...

from hogaanstand.com:
    Mullane will automatically miss the All-Ireland semi-final because of the ruling which states that a straight red card means that you automatically miss the next game in the same competition.

I know that is the way it works, but it still isn't really ideal. The whole suspensions thing is one of the really big problems in the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Big Ears

is anyone else sick of all the Kilkenny threads , theres about 3 of them before every game .

and theres only one Premier County and that county aint Kilkenny .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

This Waterford, side played a lovely brand of hurling unlike the negative stick wielders of their Banner neighbours we witnessed in the last 2 weeks

rofl :D:D:D

there is still the matter of Cork or Wexford to contend with ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

I think I seen a different game to everyone else. I thought it was at best an average game of hurling. Half-back played down the field to half back for a lot of it. It was sloppy, mistake-ridden hurling and Kilkenny were luck to meet a Waterford team so flat.

I mean Waterford didnt play until the last 5 minutes and the 3 goals they let in were soft.

Also I never seen these Kilkenny forwards hit so many bad bad wides!

But well dont to Kilkenny. I think theres still a good chance of someone stopping them though.

My 2 c's anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Originally Posted by kilkennycat2004
    This Waterford, side played a lovely brand of hurling unlike the negative stick wielders of their Banner neighbours we witnessed in the last 2 weeks

How rude of the banner county to play a brand of hurling that Kilkenny found difficult to deal with. What were they thinking! Another thing I never realised was how mouthy Kilkenny fans are, if a Dublin football fan shot his mouth off half as often as you folks we would be shot down in no time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭country_gurl

to win the treble... kilkenny need to be practising their points...way 2 many wides that nearly cost us the game we were just lucky waterford didnt get a goal otherwise we were scr€wed as they wouldnt have come down from a high. Well so be it, we're through and this time through the back door so the begrudgers cant say we have it easy. Cause we didnt and still playin poorly most of the time are through to the all ireland final. :cool:
    well done to the minors also... go get em lads!

Big Ears wrote:
    is anyone else sick of all the Kilkenny threads , theres about 3 of them before every game .

and theres only one Premier County and that county aint Kilkenny .

(a)well dont read them then

(b) where are tipp now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

if a Dublin football fan shot his mouth off half as often as you folks we would be shot down in no time!

as if a dublin football fan would have reason to shoot his mouth off :)

[QUOTE=Waylander
    How rude of the banner county to play a brand of hurling that Kilkenny found difficult to deal with. What were they thinking! QUOTE]

Calling what Clare played as hurling was being generous. The spitting at players & personal remarks made to DJ , both of which Kilkenny made no big deal about by the way, has no part in hurling or indeed sport Waylander.
    Shame on the Bannermen :D

Can't really argue with that Sheron, although we are still in the championship at least till Saturday. We still get accused of it often enough though.

As for your comment Cat I think Clare knew they were up against a team that was more skillful then them. They decided they had to play to their own strengths and it very nearly paid off. If the great players of Kilkenny get put off their game because someone called them names then that is their own fault, and if they are that easily rattled they certainly do not deserve to be All Ireland champions. It could be argued that Kilkenny were slightly lucky to get a draw in the first game as Clare missed a penalty and Mc Garry made a couple of saves. Waterford went out and tried to outplay Kilkenny, which team had the more effective tactics to your mind?

The skull duggery displayed by the Bannermen would not succeed anyway so I think justin McCarthy's men have by far the greater prospects.

Thanks to Mr. Quinn the days of ash wielding Claremen may soon be extinct :D

(a)well dont read them then

(b) where are tipp now?

(a)=fair point.

(b)=you cant steal other teams nicknames :p .
    to win the treble... kilkenny need to be practising their points...way 2 many wides that nearly cost us the game we were just lucky waterford didnt get a goal otherwise we were scr€wed as they wouldnt have come down from a high. Well so be it, we're through and this time through the back door so the begrudgers cant say we have it easy. Cause we didnt and still playin poorly most of the time are through to the all ireland final.

thats a pretty accurate view of events , if Kilkenny play like they did aginst Waterford either Wexford or Cork would beat them out the gate once they dont have a terrible game themselves (and even then they'd have a chance) .

its been quite a hectic schedule and I feel Kilkenny players definetly looked jaded late on(I suppose they're not used to playing so many Championship games) its just a shame Waterford couldnt bring them to a replay , as Kilkenny would barely be able to stand with the hard games that have gone before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

I live in Kilkenny and I'm sick of listening to Kilkenny this, and Kilkenny that, I hope Cork or possible Wexford beat them in the all Ireland. We had just a touch of sour grapes by the Kilkenny fans when Wexford BEAT THEM in the Leinster championship. Noel Skeehan blamed the ref and the Kilkenny People(Newspaper) blamed everyone else.
    And where are all the kilkenny fans on match days beacuse they don't go to the matches!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Sure their all a shower of langer over there, if we (Cork) get past Wexford I believe our forwards can crack open that kilkenny defense and our defense is THE ROCK! :D

Dunno why people hate Kilkenny so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Nobody really hates Kilkenny! People just like a change and some people get annoyed by arrogance that some supporters show! ;)

yeah but people should be happy that we are trying to go for 3 in a row instead of beating us down. I use another site like boards.ie and the hatred for kilkenny people is unbelieveable! Yes there is a few who mouth off (mainly ones who dont know much about hurling)... but u get that from any team.

P.S. I dont know much about hurling... just love it... only talk my team up when its needed

Have a look at the title of this thread and then tell me that there is only arrogance in a samll percentage of Kilkenny fans. I also do not like the fact that there is no effort whatsoever put into promoting football in the county. I think Kilkenny are a great team but when fans start thinking they have a divine right to win everything I do not care how a good a team is, I like to see them lose. Also arguements like Kilkennycats about the Clare team were, to my mind ridiculous. Clare knew that Kilkenny could out hurl them in a straight forward match so they adjusted their tactics to try to upset Kilkenny. Now they are accused of being negative thugs, not by Brian Coady or Henry Shefflin, just by the rank and file Kilkenny fans. I watched that game, and if we leave the Shefflin Quinn incident out, which I still think was accidental, I did not think Clare were dirty, plenty physical but not dirty.

I would agree with Waylander about football. But it happens in a lot of counties that one code is promoted over others, but they at least enter a team(well except Tipp or Kerry this year)

On the "thuggery" incident I posted an extract from an article in the Indo this morning in another thread earlier. Gerry Quinn is not happy with they way RTE portrayed the incident.With regards that incident Kilkenny fans should take a leaf out of their teams book and stop complaining

Just because we're from the hurling county that sets the standards it seems to annoy a few people this year more than ever.
    On a recent news programme on KCLR a person rang in complaining like our Tipp friend that they too live in Kilkenny but had no interest in the Cats & why should a news programme be covering the hurling teams selected the previous evening. He was told in no uncertain teams by other listeners that in KK hurling is news. We live the sport.
    I make no bones of saying it again the Kilkenny side 1997-2004 are almost a dream team . They have been in every All Ireland semi in that period.
    If not greatness its as close as makes no difference surely? :D

Just because we're from the hurling county that sets the standards it seems to annoy a few people this year more than ever.
    On a recent news programme on KCLR a person rang in complaining like our Tipp friend that they too live in Kilkenny but had no interest in the Cats & why should a news programme be covering the hurling teams selected the previous evening. He was told in no uncertain teams by other listeners that in KK hurling is news. We live the sport.
    I make no bones of saying it again the Kilkenny side 1997-2004 are almost a dream team . They have been in every All Ireland semi in that period.
    If not greatness its as close as makes no difference surely? :D

you just dont get it do you ?

Whats this Crap Kilkenny Greatness 1997-2004

1997 Clare All Ireland Champions
    1998 Wexford All Ireland Champions
    1999 Cork All Ireland Champions
    2000 Kilkenny
    2001 Tipperary All Ireland Champions
    2002 Kilkenny
    2003 Kilkenny
    2004 WHO KNOWS

Woopee Kilkenny won 2 in a row thats only 1 more that the above teams :rolleyes:

Waylander wrote:
    Have a look at the title of this thread and then tell me that there is only arrogance in a samll percentage of Kilkenny fans.
    ah dont mind him/her! He/she was still on a high from beating waterford.
    Waylander wrote:
    I think Kilkenny are a great team but when fans start thinking they have a divine right to win everything I do not care how a good a team is,

i definately dont think we have the divine right... like any team we love winning. Me just thinks other counties are jealous. Nah seriously its all craziness to me why we are detested... but people hating us will only make us more "arrogant". But you have to admit we have a good record as do many other teams.

Clare "tactics" as you referred to... its a sport of skill not who can knock who out the fastest... it would be a sad day for all if it came to that. I'm not debating for one minute that its not a physical game... it surely is... i wouldnt like to be in the middle of "big dan" etc. But surely hurling can do without behaviour that has been seen by kilkenny, clare, tipp, waterford men alike.

on the football note... anybody i know doesnt like gaelic football... the only ones that really play it is blow ins from kerry and the like. Our local club went through a few years of trying to promote it but the players ended up choosing hurling over the football when push came to shove. You cant beat people into a game they dont like. If people wanted to play it there would be teams and there is u21 team but we just dont have the standard or perhaps even the commitment to play in the championship. Hurling is religion for many Kilkenny people and long may it stay!

p.s. sorry waylander for disecting ur post.

No bother country gurl at least you replied to what other people are saying, unlike Cat who just put on a bold typeface and told us again how good Kilkenny are. I actually have no problem acknowledging that Kilkenny are the best team around at the minute, but as Al Pacino said on any given Sunday any team can win or lose. However, I do not think they are quite as dominant as some Kilkenny fans seem to think they are. I also agree that it is a sport of skill, but all sports have a tactical element which can be almost as interesting. I think Clare boxed a bit cleverer then Kilkenny were expecting and were unlucky not to pull off an upset. To my mind if one of the teams did something wrong here it is Kilkenny for allowing themselves to be so badly caught out. It is common sense to adopt a new approach if something is not working, and I think Clare had to accept that there was a problem after Waterford beat them off the pitch. They did something about it and now Kilkenny fans ( not all of them, but enough to irritate neuturals ) think that it was an underhanded technique by Clare. Me personally I think Anthony Daly played a blinder and was unlucky not to have a chance of revenge against Wateerford last weekend.

fair enough i cant argue with that... I'm lost for words... for once ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭petals

I was at the match on Sunday with Kilkenny against Waterford and it was excellent. The atmosphere was great and both teams did well. It was a brilliiant match

TIPPTOP wrote:

2000 Kilkenny
    2002 Kilkenny
    2003 Kilkenny
    2004 WHO KNOWS

Woopee Kilkenny won 2 in a row thats only 1 more that the above teams :rolleyes:

Tipp man we won 3 in this century hopefully 4 in September. Thats greatness in my launguage. If compared to Tipp I think its 4 since 1965 :D

TIPPTOP wrote:

2000 Kilkenny
    2002 Kilkenny
    2003 Kilkenny
    2004 WHO KNOWS

I think that you will find Offaly won in 1998.

Waylander wrote:
    Me personally I think Anthony Daly played a blinder and was unlucky not to have a chance of revenge against Wateerford last weekend.

I just hope that our hurling mad county will never have to resort to the kind of non hurling tactics remenecent of Argentina v England in World Cup 1966 Ratin et al..to try & achieve something.
    As for the latest about Quinn running to courts is their no end to the shame they are bringing on their county & not just from KK fans either:D

Tipp man we won 3 in this century hopefully 4 in September. Thats greatness in my launguage. If compared to Tipp I think its 4 since 1965 :D

arogence if ever ive seen it .

Big Ears wrote:
    arogence if ever ive seen it .

Just pointing out the acheivements in the said period thats all as the Tipp guy seems to think its no big deal winning 3 titles in 4 years. It is incredible in this competitive era.
    6 of last 7 final appearences. Same.
    It just is like :D

Just pointing out the acheivements in the said period thats all as the Tipp guy seems to think its no big deal winning 3 titles in 4 years. It is incredible in this competitive era.
    6 of last 7 final appearences. Same.
    It just is like :D

Il admit its a great achievement , il admit a lot of Kilkenny fans are being assholes because of they're accomplisments .

also when you hear chants of dj and not Henry you know theres a lot of bandwagon supporters .(but I suppose bandwagon supporters are in lots of other sports on the winning teams side)

I just hope that our hurling mad county will never have to resort to the kind of non hurling tactics remenecent of Argentina v England in World Cup 1966 Ratin et al..to try & achieve something.
    As for the latest about Quinn running to courts is their no end to the shame they are bringing on their county & not just from KK fans either:D

so you're saying Clare should have played in a way that they would have bein beaten easily .

Big Ears wrote:
    Il admit its a great achievement QUOTE]

Thanks BigEars thats what the original thread was about.

The DJ chant I think has as much to do with groups of kids as anything else.
    Henry is an equal hero nowadays thats for sure :D

Still a hard battle ahead in September no chickens counted just yet :D

Big Ears wrote:
    so you're saying Clare should have played in a way that they would have bein beaten easily .

Clare should play hurling like their Munster neighbours Waterford, Cork, Limerick & Tipp.
    Thye brought stuff into the 2 Kilkenny games, & I don't mean playing tactics, that our game doesn't need. :D

A little lesson, possibly you weren't taught this in school
    Maths Lesson
    Century= 100 years
    Decade = 10 years

General Knowledge Lesson
    Question: Which county is the only county in Ireland to have won an All-Ireland title in every decade since 1884???
    Answer: The Premier County TIPPERARY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Creon

Of course "we" weren't taught the general knowledge lesson in school because the point better brought up by Mary Kennedy on "Up for the match" than in school.
    And as for the "maths" lesson,wat kind of an idot are u?how many years in a decade and century aren't taught in maths.unless of course u did foundation level in which case u probably referred to the subject as "numbers".one can only assume this is the case.
    As a point i think i'd prefer to be boasting about the most all-irelands or the current best side in the county rather than which county has had past success in every decade since 1884,don't u?

OOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooo your so fiesty!!!
    I'am really in awe of you Creon, with your knowledge of the educational system I' sure your a.....mmm... yeah whatever you are

Tipp man we won 3 in this century hopefully 4 in September. Thats greatness in my launguage.

Well that's like saying Wexford could argue that they won 1 Leinster Senior Hurling Title this year, compared to none for Kilkenny!