Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

T-Shirts You Can't Stand

• 03-08-2004 7:37pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Has anyone else ever looked at the t-shirt that a person wears and automatically blacklisted them as an insipid prig, until such a time as they prove themselves otherwise?

Personally, there's the following that ring the alarm bells with me:

People's Republic of Cork
    "Hilarious" parodies of a corporate logos
    Fleeting drug references (often incorporating the above)

Come on, show man's inhumanity to certain cotton based garments...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Robbo, are times really that tough that you've to avoid study by posting here?

*sigh*

How the mighty have fallen eh?
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

FCUK isn't amusing any more (neither is FCEK)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Women who wear T-shirts with anything printed on them automatically loose the right to object to you staring at their chest. ;)

That's the whole idea you peon!

Sheesh!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

yeah any of those hash related parodies like "fillabong" are rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Anything FCUK is generally the sign of an intellectual midget, and FCEK (dis)respectively.

My sister has this dreadfull T-shirt with a black widow on it that says "I'd mate with you, but then I'd have to kill you."

Oooh Fratricide... sounds eh... dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

Robbo wrote:
    Has anyone else ever looked at the t-shirt that a person wears and automatically blacklisted them as an insipid prig, until such a time as they prove themselves otherwise?

Personally, there's the following that ring the alarm bells with me:

"Hilarious" parodies of a corporate logos
    Fleeting drug references (often incorporating the above)

Come on, show man's inhumanity to certain cotton based garments...

I can't stand the fact that your such a whiny bitch. Ah no, i'm only joking.
    But seriously [ can you start a sentence with but, i always thought you couldn't, but ignored that fact, but i saw it in the times last week?]
    Drug releated t-shirts*, thats something you grow out of. ( no pun intended)
    nirvana t-shirts
    slut and other related words on birds t-shirts.

*have to say i enjoyed the "highagain" tshirt when i saw it on a friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Hagar wrote:
    Women who wear T-shirts with anything printed on them automatically loose the right to object to you staring at their chest. ;)

Perhaps people should make mens jeans with something written on the crotch so I dont have to walk around with my zipper open anymore.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

^^lol^^ im also sick of all the che-shirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

these t-shirts are pretty cool, especially the new Irish one.

anyhoo, I have to agree about women whose t-shirts have logos across the chest. I like plain t-shirts myself, or one where the design is on the back. The reason for this is I'm not small-breasted, desgins across the front do not help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Twistedlilkitty

i was in a shop once and this mother was with her 10 year old kid, she asked him what tshirt he wanted he points to a bob marley one and says "that one",
    "but do you even no any of his songs?"
    "no"

It was a bit little britain...
    my vote goes to drug reference tshirts, or pink tshirts saying babe, or stop staring at my chest....usually girls who wear these have feck all to stare at...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Aurther Hugh

Often noticed that girls wearing t-shirts saying 'babe' are practically always aesthetically challanged. Used to see this same girl walking to work every morning wearing this t saying 'sex kitten' and bygod was she a rough specimen of the human race. Perhaps she had an ironic sence of humour...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Lozjm

Slightly OT but same goes for all those pants with writing on the arse !!!

I saw a big fat arsed ugly in bray last weekend- with "Athletic" written in pink on the arse of some minging white towlin jogging bottoms.

gross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Twistedlilkitty

Often noticed that girls wearing t-shirts saying 'babe' are practically always aesthetically challanged. Used to see this same girl walking to work every morning wearing this t saying 'sex kitten' and bygod was she a rough specimen of the human race. Perhaps she had an ironic sence of humour...

maybe the teeshirt meant would you rather have sex with a kitten than her?
    how can they have sexkitten tshirts but not F**kPIG tshirts.....

slightly off topic but does anyone know where to get hookups tshirts in dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

Che Guevara T-Shirts
    Kurt Cobain T-Shirts
    The Logo Parody T-Shirts
    Football T-Shirts

I love my Peoples Republic of Cork T-Shirt. Better than the Arnotts and Man U tops about the place :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Used to see this same girl walking to work every morning wearing this t saying 'sex kitten' and bygod was she a rough specimen of the human race. Perhaps she had an ironic sence of humour...

ROFL

Penneys, and their cheap logoed (?) t-shirts have a lot to answer for there

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Those stupid retarted FCUK t-shirts (any of them) I frickin hate them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Ye are a bunch of whining maggots.

What annoys me is little girls - ie. younger than 10 with t-shirts on with the playboy logo, or babe, or any of that shít. Why would a little girl have the playboy logo on her t-shirt!? Obviously it's not her fault, but the mothers no doubt, or the fathers. Isn't that like sexualising the poor girl?

What annoys me also are fat skanger bítches with those tracksuits hanging off their fat arsés with shít written across the back. I can't actually remember what's written on the back now, because it's usually distorted amongst jowls of fat.

Hmmm... I too am a whining maggot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

It really gives me the creeps when I see a CHILD wearing a playboy tshirt. Their parents are buying them for them, that makes them rather ****ed up. I bet they also make their little kids wear thongs as well. "She likes them". Yeah...right. Actually, I read recently about some primary schools in England banning their pupils from wearing thongs. How gross is that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

The various "t-shirt hell" type t-shirts that make a joke out of paedophilia annoy me. That's about it.

Dr. Loon wrote:
    Ye are a bunch of whining maggots.

What annoys me is little girls - ie. younger than 10 with t-shirts on with the playboy logo, or babe, or any of that shít. Why would a little girl have the playboy logo on her t-shirt!? Obviously it's not her fault, but the mothers no doubt, or the fathers. Isn't that like sexualising the poor girl?

ballymun usually
    What annoys me also are fat skanger bítches with those tracksuits hanging off their fat arsés with shít written across the back. I can't actually remember what's written on the back now, because it's usually distorted amongst jowls of fat.

Usually " athletic " or " chic " etc...............

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

tbh I don't like most mainstream t-shirts, even the one's with Lee & Wrangler etc etc etc etc etc on them
    I get most my stuff from thinkgeek.com so I can be sure the chances of somerbody else walking around the town with same shirt as mine are very slim :)
    Some of the t-shirts are dam nice to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

sfsfsfsfsf

Dr. Loon wrote:

It's normally the name of the label or something similar written in Gothic writing but in all fairness it should be something like "WIDE LOAD" :D

Have to say though, I'm pretty tired of the Che t-shirts, it's beeen doen to death!

B.

theres no place like 127.0.0.1

BaZmO* wrote:
    It's normally the name of the label or something similar written in Gothic writing but in all fairness it should be something like "WIDE LOAD" :D

B.

They should have those reversing alarms on the arse of some birds in Dublin

2beep beep beep fat chick reversing !"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭briano

I can't stand the "133t sp34k" t-shirts everyone seems to be wearing around town. You know the ones that say things like "pu55y in5p3ct0r" or some other crap with numbers instead of letters.

Although I have to say, I do like those "talk nerdy to me baby" t-shirts. And will probably continue to like them until they start saying "t4lk n3rdy t0 m3 b4by" at which point I'll probably have to run crying to 127.0.0.1 (localhost? you know what I mean)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Vok

God, this thread really strikes a nerve. I have to take a Valium after going shopping for t-shirts these days.

It might just be cos I'm becoming a crockety old curmudgeon but is anyone else repulsed by what passes for funny/cheeky t-shirt slogans these days?

Was walking around some shopping centre the other day when a guy, accompanying a lady I presume was his mother, walked by wearing a t-shirt that said "Trainee Gynaecologist". WTF?

But a quick rifle through the t-shirt rails of your average RiverIsland, Topman or Next reveals other "hilarious" examples ranging from, in very small print "There's nothing interesting on this shirt but while you're reading it, I'm staring at your t*ts" to an arrow pointing down to a message that reads "While you're down there, love..."

Classy.

The beer-related ones are almost worse in their juvenile celebration of getting hammered.

What sickens me isn't so much the individual messages as the whole philosophy behind them. Parroting the basest and most obvious totems of Lad Culture. It's so fscking lazy! The complete lack of originality and wit of most of the t-shirts only serving to underline the cynicism with which the whole exercise is carried out.

Aside from the above, and agreeing with pretty much all that's been said before, can shops please get over the whole vintage sports wear and "Bob's Machine and Spare Parts, Nevada" look already? It's over. Thanks.

Lozjm wrote:
    theres no place like 127.0.0.1

Not many people get that t-shirt, even less get this t-shirt
    http://www.thinkgeek.com/tshirts/frustrations/691f
    :cool:

Cabaal wrote:
    Not many people get that t-shirt, even less get this t-shirt
    http://www.thinkgeek.com/tshirts/frustrations/691f
    :cool:

cd ~fitbird

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

thinkgeek.com....you ****ing loosers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

i dont like the FCUK ones or the ones with a logo thats got drug refrences. i prefer to get t-shirts thatno one else has, or would get. IE... my nes control pad shirt. except everyone grabs my nipples trying to play it when their drunk.

ferdi wrote:
    thinkgeek.com....you ****ing loosers
    fine so I'll be like the rest of the cool kids and buy loads of FCUK t-shirts because there are "cool"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Well, those thinkgeek t-shirts certainly live up to their names. Tempted by the "There are 10 types of people that understand binary..." t-shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

All of the above.

T-shirts with numbers on them.

T-shirts with chav slogans like "Slapper", "Drunk" etc. on them.

That covers pretty much everything in Topman really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

TmB wrote:
    FCUK isn't amusing any more (neither is FCEK)

FCUK was never funny! Ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Velcrow

Vok wrote:
    God, this thread really strikes a nerve. I have to take a Valium after going shopping for t-shirts these days

Heh Vok - why not take that tension ( it can't be good for you :o ) and design one of your own !!

Try www.pixeltees.com

I have used them and they deliver to ireland - here is a sample ( not by me )

internet.gif

PS. Welcome onBoard(s :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Nemici

yeah I like the whining tone of this thread - i never liked that "cocaine" shirt in the coca cola logo style and another thing - you know those tracksuit bottoms that young chicks these days are wearing with "NOPE" on the ass,

what the FCUK (pun very much intended) is that about - nope, no, no way ??
    what are they saying - or has my mind gone too far on its own ??

Nope is a clothing range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

Gotta say I REALLY hate FCUK t-shirts!
    I've never bought anything with "Babe" or the like on it because it just makes you look arrogant. I bought 2 slogan t-shirts in America recently, here is one of them...

eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=3064&item=3496980599&tc=photo#ebayphotohosting

I like it!

I used to have the following t-shirt:

a102_a_02.jpg

Felt paranoid owning it though so stuck it in a 3rd world charity bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Those "Bomb Disposal Expert" t-shirts...were they ever funny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

The "Don't hate me because I am beautiful..." tees are one of my pet peeves. In the vast majority of cases, nay, in all cases the owner of said T-Shirt is usually dog ugly.

I may have offended some boards users who either own that t-shirt or who's better half owns that t-shirt but they know I am right :)

/me goes to dump the other half

The t-shirt should say "Don't hate me because I'm beautiful, hate me because of this shirt"

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Just while I'm here - I also loathe FC:UK t-shirts. Grrr I'm getting angry thinking about them everywhere. Oh look it's like they're swearing on the t-shirt, how clever! :o Ugh. *Spit*. All those "mad" t-shirts that proclaim their wearer's desire to contract STDs as quickly as possible. Gah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

ive decided to be 'cool' today and actually wear an ibm style FCUK logo shirt. go i can feel the coolness flowing out of me. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

BuffyBot wrote:
    Those "Bomb Disposal Expert" t-shirts...were they ever funny?
    Reminds of that episode of malcom and the middle that was on last week.
    FBI t-shirt. Federal boobie inspector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Glittery tshirts with things like "Diva" and "Crazy Grrl" on them make me want to start stabbing eyes out. But hey, if you want to go around giving people the impression that your shoe size is orders of magnitude larger than your IQ, who am I to stop you?

And there's far, far too much pink around. The trick about being individual, you see, is to not do it in a group.

I have an intense dislike for sports shirts in non-sports situations. You are not a famous footballer, and you most likely never will be. Let it go.

Also, any item of clothing associated with NOPE stabs sheer pain into mine eyes. As Robbo once said himself, "Her arse said NOPE but her eyes said maybe."

I have not seen an amusing slogan on a tshirt in years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

People's Republic of Cork t-shirts work best outside Ireland or Cork at least, imo.

I hate pink t-shirts for girls with stuff like princess written on them. This is a democracy! Why not give them t-shirts with "Teachta Dála" or "Senator" or "Elected Representative" on them? That would be so much cooler!

I also hate t-shirts with "I hate myself and want to die" or other such expressions of self-loathing on them, to me they say that the wearer is a miserable, self-obsessed git.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

And yet, if you killed them, YOU'RE the bad guy!