Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jes bargain high end pc.

• 24-07-2004 3:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭

Just saw this today.

click

That's an amazing system for that money. Worth considering for any new buyers that don't want to build themselves. Even if you built it I doubt you could do it that cheaply. That g-card and processor alone would cost you the guts of 700 euro or more. Great system.

They are advertising it as the machine from hell. Not sure that's such an appealing title :dunno: but anywho.

BloodBath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

very nice , it just need more ram

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Thats a ver nice pc , would say mid to high range for 1200 is a very good deal.

Would need more ram but other than that its Doom to go , i mean good :)

And anyone bored build better online for less, i doubt you could.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

Yeah another 512mn of RAM and your sorted.

It has 2 x 200gb samsungs as well for RAID 0. You can't go wrong.

BloodBath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Hmm. I'm pondering over buying a new desktop and this one looks very enticing indeed. Opinions on whether I should go for this or save more and go for an Alienware Aurora Extreme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

I wouldnt buy an Alienware PC.
    Their stuff is nice but very expensive.

ya if u like the specs of the alienware just build it yourself and save alot of cash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 JES Computer

BloodBath wrote:
    Just saw this today.

click

That's an amazing system for that money. Worth considering for any new buyers that don't want to build themselves. Even if you built it I doubt you could do it that cheaply. That g-card and processor alone would cost you the guts of 700 euro or more. Great system.
    We are very pleased you like our offer :)

But before you order one of our pc systems ... please keep the following in mind:
    These pc systems are originaly built for the german market.
    Software, manuals and the layout of the keyboard are GERMAN.
    We are not able to change anything on the configuration of this systems, because they are delivered to us by fujitsu siemens germany as-they-are.
    We can of cause upgrade the memory for you before shipping (and test the new installed modules) ... but we can´t exchange the included software (and the operating system) to english versions.
    Also the 24 months pickup and return guarantee is only useable for our german customers ... customers from foreign countrys have to send their pc back to germany if service is needed.
    If you have no problem on installing an english windows xp home edition (the serial number on the licence sticker on these pcs should also work with an english oem-cd of windows xp home, we didn´t test this by now) ... and if you are able to get a cheap keyboard with english layout ... this system might be very interesting for you anyway :)

If you have further questions on our pc systems, be free to ask either here or via email (shop@jes-computer.de).

Greetings from germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Col_Loki

Welcome to the boards.

I see ye have changed the website to a different format over the last week or two, how are you finding it?

Col_Loki wrote:
    I see ye have changed the website to a different format over the last week or two, how are you finding it?
    The old shop system was buggy ... and several options we wanted to add weren´t possible to implement, so we decided to change the complete software.

The new system now updates every hour ... so the display showing if products are on stock or not is far more reliable.
    Also this shop has some nice new (internal) statistic functions we missed on the old software ... it is very helpful on ordering the top selling products at time and comparing the prices to other stores.
    Another one of the new features (only partially implemented yet) is, for example, if you decide to buy a new inkjet printer, the shop offers you the fitting compatible cartridges automaticaly ... in the past many customers ordered the wrong cartridges with their chosen printer.

The programmer is still working very hard on this new software, but we are very pleased so far :)
    Some customers sent us emails that they prefered the design of the "old" shop ... but in my opinion, this can be easily solved by some "cosmetics".
    First of all, we needed (and now hopefully have) a stabile system, the next step might be the design ;)

The new system now updates every hour ... so the display showing if products are on stock or not is far more reliable.

I always found your site good and accurate, this is a very nice addition to keep that up.

From a cosmetic point of view i found your site to be one of the best and very easy to navigate. A few features like an option of no picture (just a listing) and a sort by price / stock are the ones im missing.

Good prices, good selection and ye keep up with the market extremely quickly...... keep up the good work.

PS Just wondering how you managed to find the boards?

Col_Loki wrote:
    PS Just wondering how you managed to find the boards?
    Was not too easy ... but some search engines helped out ;)
    Many users from ireland ordered components from us ... but no one informed us about this forum :rolleyes:
    However, we are very interested in satisfying our foreign customers, so we are glad that we found this forum at last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Great to see interaction from Jes Computers. As you have already stated quiet a few boards members purchase from your company and you have a good reputation here. Might I suggest you consider setting up a simular forum interaction as Elara and Komplett here. It can only improve your standing with boards members ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

How much would shipping on that cost ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭El_MUERkO

Hi JES person, I've bought stuff from your website in tha past and you always sorted me out including when I had a problemw with memory and had to get it RMA'd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Mixie

Molly wrote:
    How much would shipping on that cost ?

I would also like to know what the shipping would cost. I emailed that question to sales a few days ago and when I didn't get a reply just ordered an x800pro. Still tempted to order the PC instead though if you reply before I pay for the x800 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

I'm also in the middle of buying an entire PC from jes ( I've sent the bank transfer last week should be there by tommorow ) and I'm very happy with their service always had a very speedy reply to any e-mails I've sent. About the new web site the only little problem I have is that you can't order products in price anymore:confused:, just takes a little longer then before to pick out what you want. It's great to see some representation from you guys :)

The shipping costs are calculated by the shop automatically when you place an order ... so i can´t give you more information on this.
    It depends on your shipping address and the combined weight of the ordered items.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

Can you pay by bank transfer to Jes? I dont have a credit card you see, and really liked the look of that amd 64 3200 for 219 euro...

Deadwing wrote:
    Can you pay by bank transfer to Jes? I dont have a credit card you see, and really liked the look of that amd 64 3200 for 219 euro...
    Yep that's how I paid but it takes a few days to clear to Germany that's why I've been waiting since last week to hear from jes to see if they have gotten my cash - I'll e-mail them tommorow.

Thanks OCG, how do you go about doing it tho? I looked on the site an all the payment options i got were money order and credit card

Deadwing wrote:
    Thanks OCG, how do you go about doing it tho? I looked on the site an all the payment options i got were money order and credit card
    From this page here you get all the Bank info including Swift code and IBAN number - to transfer to a foreign country you need to go into the bank (for BOI - AIB I think can do it on the phone) you fill out a form (you need all that info including the addresses) and then bank will take care of the rest. It takes a few days so be patient, also there should be no charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭El_MUERkO

Swift code speeds the process up so ensure you dont miss it like me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

could somebody give an objective overview of the PC and what they think value for money wise ,
    I had a look at the website and to my untrained eye it seems like an almost unbelievably good deal , I could seriously consider getting a machine from hell !!

could somebody give an objective overview of the PC and what they think value for money wise ,

That spec for that price is pretty much un-matchable. Its very very hard to pick out faults. Obvious one would be the slightly weaker motherboard (ie no overclocking features, mabye not as good sound) but thats pretty much it.

Mabye an extra 512mb Ram......... monster of a machine. The more i look at it the more impressed i get. 400gb of space, 6800GT, 3200+ AMD64, DVD Dual burner, mouse etc.........

Off that subject did Jes increase there shipping costs to ireland lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

nice to see u on the forum . always looked at your site but a bit iffy of buying incase anything goes wrong with shipping and order gets lost and i end up trying to comunicate to somone who dosnt reely care about a single indidual . but if u were on boards that means ud have to care about every poster :) . will your time on boards be short lived or will it continue ?

they are delivered to us by fujitsu siemens germany as-they-are.
    We can of cause upgrade the memory for you before shipping (and test the new installed modules)

Two (related) daft questions:

1) If I wanted more memory, I'd just have to email you guys after I place the order and you'll install it?

2) Does the entire thing come preassembled, or are they shipped as parts?

Thanks.

From this page here you get all the Bank info including Swift code and IBAN number - to transfer to a foreign country you need to go into the bank (for BOI - AIB I think can do it on the phone) you fill out a form (you need all that info including the addresses) and then bank will take care of the rest. It takes a few days so be patient, also there should be no charge.

Cool, thanks for the info OCG, for al your help, ill agree tot ake your hot ET playing sister out on a date..*L* One more stupid question tho, when youre ordering something, how do you let them know youre paying by bank transfer, if the only options you have are money order or CC?

elexes wrote:
    but if u were on boards that means ud have to care about every poster :) . will your time on boards be short lived or will it continue ?
    Please keep one in mind: the JES staff is doing most of the posting on boards like this in their spare time ... because we are all very busy at the office ;)
    Anyways, we hope we can continue answering questions here and on other boards outside germany for a long time ;)
    Mixie wrote:
    Two (related) daft questions:

1) If I wanted more memory, I'd just have to email you guys after I place the order and you'll install it?

2) Does the entire thing come preassembled, or are they shipped as parts?

Thanks.
    1) If you order extra memory with your pc (mushkin basic green ist tested and approved to work with this systems, so i recommend these modules), we install and test them before shipping the pc if you want us to do this.
    When you place an order, there is a text field where you can write us additional wishes on your order ... like doing some memory upgrade, installing tv-cards, installing some soundblaster audigy, etc
    This little text field can be also used for giving us informations about your payment ... as Deadwing asked before.

2) As i wrote before, the pcs are manufactured by fujitsu siemens germany, one of the biggest european pc manufacturers. The pcs are complete preassembled, tested and installed.
    If you want more informations about them, i recommend visiting http://www.fujitsu-siemens.de/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

With AIB you fill out a transfer form also, and it only costs 75c as long as you have the IBAN number and don't want it to go express - it takes 4-5 days.
    I've often transferred money to German companies in this way as in my experience Germans have a phobia about credit cards (I guess it is the charges that they are trying to avoid.)

Wow, 20:55 and I have my answer - that's great.

Thanks - hopefully will order one of those systems tonight so (assuming I ever get off work heh)

blorg wrote:
    Germans have a phobia about credit cards (I guess it is the charges that they are trying to avoid.)
    The charges of the credit card company are of cause one reason.
    The other reason is, believe it or not, credit cards aren´t very popular in germany, the most common form of payment in germany is the standard EC Card everyone gets with a bank account here, allthough it is only accepted in some european countries.
    Anyways, paying us with almost any type of creditcard is possible via paypal. It´s a very secure and fast system, so when you are paying with paypal, we are regulary able to deliver the order the following day ... their payment confirmation reaches us very fast.
    That was the reason we decided to use this system.

Mixie wrote:
    Wow, 20:55 and I have my answer - that's great.
    It´s exactly one hour later here in germany :p

Nice one.

It's good to see you take the time to interact with customers outside of e-mails. I have only good things to say for Jes. I have made a couple of big orders with them in the past and everything was perfect. All my e-mails were replied to quickly as well.

My only suggestion would be that you make a site in English to help new customers on the site.

Keep up the good work and low prices.

BloodBath

BloodBath wrote:
    My only suggestion would be that you make a site in English to help new customers on the site.
    This is one point i ask all of you here for a little help :D

My english isn´t the best (it´s a long time since school) ... so i ask you officially to help us building an english faq for our website, including all details for payment, shipping, sending back defective products etc.

So, if you have any idea what should be implemented in this faq, be free to send me your suggestions via PM, we´ll set this english faq online as soon as possible.

We are also planning special contact email adresses for foreign users, so we can help you faster if something went wrong with payment or delivery.

A quick question for the Jes guys here, (i already asked OCG but im sure you guys would know just as well!) On your site the only payment methods are money order and credit card, how do i pay by bank transfer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Seifer

All this after I received my order to-day :(
    I suppose it'll help in the future for upgrading and stuff.
    You're doing a good job though; got everything in perfect condition.
    One comment though; I had to ring gls to correct my address as the site is obviously designed to take german addresses. What you sent my stuff to made no sense and was on its way back to germany when I rang gls.

Money order ......... thats the one for bank draft.

DeadWing they don't take credit card. Only paypal and bank transfer.

I personally don't like paypal because of the 3% extra charge. It's alright for small orders but on orders a grand and more it's just stupid.

BloodBath

Seifer wrote:
    I had to ring gls to correct my address as the site is obviously designed to take german addresses. What you sent my stuff to made no sense and was on its way back to germany when I rang gls.
    I allready heard about this problem in another thread ... Mutant_Fruit had the same problem that some lines of the address were missing and the delivery of his package went terribly wrong :(
    The company programming our new webshop software is already informed on this problem, they are working on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

It wasn;t so much that they were missing.... the whole address was completely wrong! Even the name was wrong. Dont ask me how in the world that happened, but it did. Not one line on the package corresponded with one line of my real address. :(

It wasn;t so much that they were missing.... the whole address was completely wrong! Even the name was wrong. Dont ask me how in the world that happened, but it did. Not one line on the package corresponded with one line of my real address.

So if the Name was wrong, and the address was wrong.......... are you sure you didnt just rob some other poor feckers package?

lol :p

Deadwing wrote:
    A quick question for the Jes guys here, (i already asked OCG but im sure you guys would know just as well!) On your site the only payment methods are money order and credit card, how do i pay by bank transfer?
    Sorry for taking so long to reply I've been trying to tweak Doom:) as Col_Loki has already said there are only two options Pay Pal and Bank Transfer/Money Transfer, you simply choose the one that's not Pay Pal:D anyway later on in the checkout process I think they will give you the bank details at the bottom of a page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

Col_Loki wrote:
    So if the Name was wrong, and the address was wrong.......... are you sure you didnt just rob some other poor feckers package?
    Well, phonetically the name on the package was similar enough, but spelling was completely off. Its like some guy was calling out the name to another person, without spelling it out. So the second guy made a good guess at the name. The address was completely off though, i dont live in Kilrush... whereever the hell that is.

Sorry for taking so long to reply I've been trying to tweak Doom:) as Col_Loki has already said there are only two options Pay Pal and Bank Transfer/Money Transfer, you simply choose the one that's not Pay Pal:D anyway later on in the checkout process I think they will give you the bank details at the bottom of a page.
    Ah damn you and your doom playingness!! Am i the only one who doesnt have it yet?? :(
    Anyway thanks for all the help OCG, much appreciated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

The charges of the credit card company are of cause one reason.
    The other reason is, believe it or not, credit cards aren´t very popular in germany, the most common form of payment in germany is the standard EC Card everyone gets with a bank account here, allthough it is only accepted in some european countries.
    Anyways, paying us with almost any type of creditcard is possible via paypal. It´s a very secure and fast system, so when you are paying with paypal, we are regulary able to deliver the order the following day ... their payment confirmation reaches us very fast.
    That was the reason we decided to use this system.
    I'm well aware of this from visiting Germany in person! I was very surprised at the extent to which businesses just didn't take credit cards. We have this reflected here to a certain extent with Aldi and Lidl, who keep up their native traditions! Well done on the paypal issue, even with the charge; it is a slight annoyance to have to trapse to the bank and then wait a week when buying something from a German company. On the flip side German companies are in my experience by far the cheapest in the EU as well as being the most helpful and willing to deal with non-German customers. Companies in other countries just don't seem to get this whole 'single market' thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

My brother is about to buy that "machine from hell" (the 160 version), and as he owns a company, it's for business use so the usual non-vat thing applies. However, on the product page, it says price includes vat at 16%. But at the checkout, it adds on vat again. Which adds on another €173. I was just wondering if anyone who'd bought anything off them had seen this? And if so what happened with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Nice to see somebody from Jes on the boards. I have not ordered anything from Jes yet because of the no credit-cards thing, but I may in the future :)

Spike wrote:
    My brother is about to buy that "machine from hell" (the 160 version), and as he owns a company, it's for business use so the usual non-vat thing applies. However, on the product page, it says price includes vat at 16%. But at the checkout, it adds on vat again. Which adds on another €173. I was just wondering if anyone who'd bought anything off them had seen this? And if so what happened with it?

no it dosnt it just tell you how much vat you are paying at the checkout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭joc_06

I'm very interested in this product and i would like to ask you some questions on it.

1 - Can i upgrade to 1 gig of mushkin basic green memory and how much will this cost.

2 - CAn i change cases and will i get a discount off price of other cases?

3- How much is delivery to ireland for this product?