Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pubs/clubs to bring the girlfriend to?

• 07-07-2004 5:33pm
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭

Question for everyone: where's the best pubs and clubs to go as a couple. i know all the ones that are great for a score, but i need somewhere to bring the girlfriend out to, preferabley with some good music. Any suggestions? thanks!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

where abouts in this fine country are you?

flogen

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

i'm a typical Dub, hence why i forgot to stick that in! so i'm looking for places in Dublin City Centre :)

well I'd say somewhere like maybe Zanzibar, or The Sugar Club, as they're both comfortable places, and usually have music on. Depending on your taste, you may hate Zanzibar, or love it, and the same for Sugar Club. Also note the Sugar Club has alot of gigs on, which you may not be interested in....

Bruccelles (sp?) is a grand place for a few quick pints too... or outside in O Reillys at Tara St. dart station can be nice and chilled, a grand place for a chat...

thats just afew places off the top of my head, The Isaac Butt isnt bad either, but I think thats closed for refurbishments

flogen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭In_Diana_Jones

SamSara is the winner on this one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭Hecate

Ba Mizu under the powerscourt centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Originally posted by flogen
    or outside in O Reillys at Tara St. dart station can be nice and chilled, a grand place for a chat...

not a huge fan of o'reillys - grand place but not the best area - and last time we saw the results :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Its full of pricks and costs a fortune, but Sam Sara or Cafe en Seine are winners!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Originally posted by jesus_thats_gre
    Its full of pricks and costs a fortune, but Sam Sara or Cafe en Seine are winners!!

you talking about o'reillys?

sam sara isnt bad...

cafe en seine isnt great... its a bit too 'super pub'.. no character...

Hogans or the Globe are good bars for what you would be looking for...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

And Cafe En Seine doesn't cost a fortune????? €6 a pint last time I was in there :rolleyes:

yeah, crash, the area there is a bit dodgy alright, which is a shame.. the white horse around there is nice too, and you dont have to go as far down the quays to get to it...

(what do you mean by last time we saw the results...btw?)

flogen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭spooiirt!!

wat de hell man? go to fuyawoarks! its deadly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

best pint in dublin - the Harbourmaster beside the I.F.S.C. or the excise bar a little further down.

lovely spots, full off ifsc winkers, but the ambience and atmosphere is super!!

whichever place you pick you have to buy the poster a pint.... its in the charter ye'know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Capitol on Georges Street, next Corner up from Hogans.

Really nice comfy seats, great for a chat and do great cocktails.

Everything you need to impress a woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

dakota?
    sosumé?
    the duke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by VinnyL

lovely spots, full off ifsc winkers, but the ambience and atmosphere is super!!

That's a contradiction isn't it? If it's full of IFSC wánkers there's no way ambience and atmosphere can even exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Originally posted by MiCr0
    dakota?
    sosumé?
    the duke?

Wanker hangouts all - try Mulligans in Poolbeg Street, no music, but you forget to say what 'good' is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭silverside

wouldnt have anything bad to say against the Duke, though could see your point about Sosume/Dakota. If you can cross the river, I like the Met bar on Eden Quay and Panama on Bachelors walk.

Mulligans is really trading off its reputation as a 'real dublin pub' - but if you want a proper aul lads' pub try Kennedys beside Tara Street dart station, or the Flowing Tide on abbey street.

oh, good call silverside, the met bar, definitly.... upstairs is nice and chilled if you want to chat, and if you want a dance, you can head downstairs (you have to pay in there, mind you)

flogen

Originally posted by HelterSkelter
    And Cafe En Seine doesn't cost a fortune????? €6 a pint last time I was in there :rolleyes:

Let me clear this up, you don't think €6 a pint is expensive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

Originally posted by Dr. Loon
    That's a contradiction isn't it? If it's full of IFSC wánkers there's no way ambience and atmosphere can even exist.

you'd have to go there to understand man!!

do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Corega

The George. The likelihood of anybody else hitting on your girlfriend will be minimal...apart from lesbians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭missy me

barcode is a cool disco bar or whatever the hell it is.theres an arcade so you can go have fun there or bram stoker museum.i like the place anyway!especially on a friday (it only opens from thurs 2 sun):mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭silverside

where is barcode? And is it related to Barcode in the casino in Melbourne?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭missy me

its on the clontarf road right beside fairview park, in the west wood gym, it really rocks , worth chekn out

Originally posted by Third_Echelon
    you talking about o'reillys?

sam sara isnt bad...

cafe en seine isnt great... its a bit too 'super pub'.. no character...

Hogans or the Globe are good bars for what you would be looking for...

Character??? What are you on about? You can't be Irish!
    It is a pub...it has drink...and hot chicks if you're lucky..that's all the decoration you need. Cafe En Sein is bigger, so it can fit more of these in!

Originally posted by Corega
    The George. The likelihood of anybody else hitting on your girlfriend will be minimal...apart from lesbians.

I dunno, man... its a dodgy issue... If a bloke hits on your girlfriend, you can get territorial, if he keeps acting the idiot, depending on the situation you might end up getting agressive. same situation with a lesbian, what are you gonna do... beat them up?? PC gone mad, I tell's ya...:D;)

flogen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

Traffic on abbey street-very couple orientated atmosphere.

Handles on thomas street or beside christ church

Traffic? Are ya mad, its a knackers hang out. Bring your girlfriend there if you want her to get stared at by a load of skangers.

Grand Central, new place on the corner of Lower Abbey Street and O'Connell Street is quite nice. Its where the bank used to be.

Thanks for all the help so far. Was actually gonna think about traffic but if it's really bad then probably shouldn't! :p Forgot to say that dancefloor is a must - she's only happy when she's up dancin! :D

One of the lads at work has just recommended trinity arches.... anyone else agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭alienhead

dakota

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Originally posted by In_Diana_Jones

Cafe En Sein is bigger, so it can fit more of these in!

Nice Freudian slip :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Met bar on Eden quay - no knackers, no runners, no knobjockeys, very few if any suits, cool r'n'b tunes each evening, dance floor downstairs if required.

Originally posted by alienhead
    dakota

Was here twice, a Thursday and Friday night. Both nights were dead and there is no atmosphere at all... Drink is alright though...

If a dance floor is a must and you wanna impress your missus, Cafe en Seine is a winner... Especially if she is posh bitch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

Forget all that crap, get yourself and the missus into a taxi and head to Harry Byrne's on the Howth Road in Clontarf - no music, lots and lots of character, and a great pint of Guinness at a reasonable (ish) price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

Madigan's in O'Connell St and O'Neill's in Suffolk St tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Was in the Longstone beside the screen cinema last night. Lovely pub, kinda Harry Potter theme going on there, and a very friendly barman upstairs. No dance floor, but really really comfortable and relaxed, even when its full of people:)

Character??? What are you on about? You can't be Irish!
    It is a pub...it has drink...and hot chicks if you're lucky..that's all the decoration you need. Cafe En Sein is bigger, so it can fit more of these in!

Yes, Irish, 100%... not stupid, lets get pissed everyday irish though...

A pub needs a bit of an atmosphere and a bit of character... there's nothing worse than sitting in a bar with a pint and the place is dull, boring, full of fake plastic river island/next girl clones... yawn...

You need a bar that is a bit lively, not too big, no ****, no skangers, classy girls with something a bit different and intersting to offer other than 'bimbo talk'...

Cafe En Seine is not great... its just a big room full of palm trees and sh1t... thats not a pub... its a wanker haunt....

A pub needs a bit of an atmosphere and a bit of character... there's nothing worse than sitting in a bar with a pint and the place is dull, boring, full of fake plastic river island/next girl clones... yawn...

You need a bar that is a bit lively, not too big, no ****, no skangers, classy girls with something a bit different and intersting to offer other than 'bimbo talk'...

Cafe En Seine is not great... its just a big room full of palm trees and sh1t... thats not a pub... its a wanker haunt....

If you ever chatted birds up in pubs, i'd listen to your points here!

River Island/Next Clones?? Man you're such a loser!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Originally posted by Red Alert
    One of the lads at work has just recommended trinity arches.... anyone else agree?
    haha what a joker

Damo multiplied by talking out of his ass = pretencious wanker

I have seen you in clubs and pubs, you can pull the wool over these poor folks eyes... but i know!!

If you ever chatted birds up in pubs, i'd listen to your points here!

River Island/Next Clones?? Man you're such a loser!

There was absolutely nothing wrong with my point... thats what i think...

Im just a bit bored of women with nothing to say apart from crap. Id rather hear a bit of an intelligent conversation for a change...

Phil you're not one to talk... I actually like to chat to women, rather than the 'beasts from middle earth' that you dawn the door of.... :D

Damo multiplied by talking out of his ass = pretencious wanker

I have seen you in clubs and pubs, you can pull the wool over these poor folks eyes... but i know!!

your maths aint that good!!!

How is my point pretencious? I just said i'm sick of meat markets. thats all. Thats in no way pretencious.

I know that you love to go to coppers every week, but come on man.. its gotta stop now...

No wool being pulled here... there was nothing wrong or incorrect about my point...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭mise

saturday night in the village is usually good, as is doyles if you just wanna dance.

Originally posted by mise
    saturday night in the village is usually good, as is doyles if you just wanna dance.

village is good alright... solas a few doors down is really good as well...

Did nobody read the chaps first post? He wants to bring his girlfriend somewhere and Im guessing he will want to impress her with somewhere classy enough but not full of posers.

So first off, thats O'Neills on Suffolk Street out, cos its a big sitting room full of krusties. In fact, most of these places are krusty pubs, The Village, The Longstone (harry potter theme?????? wtf), Madigan's in O'Connell St(biggest dive in O'Connell Street, and its got Quirkeys)

I would definitely say that The Met on the Quays is a good place, nice modern place, no w*nkers to speak of, no posers and no krusties to make your missus think you left you army jacket at home with its German flag on the sleeve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭mise

can you dance in the met? I wouldnt say The Village is a "krusty" place, and neither is Solas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

Keogh's off Grafton St, great place to bring the ladies too...

Originally posted by mise
    can you dance in the met? I wouldnt say The Village is a "krusty" place, and neither is Solas.

Solas is actually perfect for a 'bring the gf to pub' type of place....

Nice place.. not too crowded.. good drink... always the chance of seat...

Solas is actually perfect for a 'bring the gf to pub' type of place....

Nice place.. not too crowded.. good drink... always the chance of seat...

How the hell would you know what a "'bring the gf to pub' type of place...." is?

jesus_thats_gre has had more chicks than you!!

:-)