Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going-out clothes

• 18-06-2004 8:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭

Ok i'm not sure if this is in the right forum so sorry if it's wrong...Anyhoo I just got a text from some friends asking me to join them in town but I made up an excuse and turned them down cos I don't really have any "going out clothes" so now i'm spending the evening in (again!). Anytime I go out I always feel underdressed compared to all the other girls around me - especially if we go on to a club. I suppose my style would be skater girl/grungey, I work in IT so I always wear skate runners, jeans/trousers and a tshirt cos i'm always running around carrying stuff or climbing under desks. I don't wear skirts - haven't done since school and I don't think I even have a pair of shoes - just the runners that I wear on my motorbike! Anyhoo can anyone give me some advise - even suggest some clothes that would look ok in a club - I want to go out and feel comfortable so I can get on with having some fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Personally I'd say stop worrying about it.

Myself and a few friends were refused entry to Cocoon a few weeks ago because we were "a bit too casual folks"...:rolleyes: At 7 in the evening on a Thursday?

This despite the fact that between what I was wearing and my Oakley glasses I had about €800 worth of gear on me...not that that should matter of course.

F*ck them if they judge you on what you are wearing. There are plenty of cool places around Dublin where people pay no attention to you're clothes. Plus you are far more likely to be yourself (and consequently more confident) if you wear what you are comfortable in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

I work with a girl in IT who sounds just like you, she wears the same sort of clothes and always looks damn fine.

Comfortable clothes breed confidence which brings its own rewards. As long as you're not getting refused entry wear what makes you feel good.

Personally I've always had a soft spot for the sk8er gurl look ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,380 ✭✭✭fitz

I also have clothing issues.

I have to get someone to tie my shoelaces before I leave the house for work in the morning.

It's also impacted on my sex-life in the past.

I'll never forget the time I had to wake that girl up so I could leave her apartment without tripping over my laces.

WHAT SHOULD I DO???!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Originally posted by fitz
    WHAT SHOULD I DO???!!!
    :D:D Good One:p

Ah Jaysus, leave the girl alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Meh, I wear the same type of clothes for everything. I don't see the point of getting dressed up to go out - good clothes would just get wrecked and usually, everybody's too busy drinking to see what you are wearing. You could get some t-shirts with slogans or cartoons or bright images on them to look a bit more "going-out", I suppose. As for men, I don't think they give a damn what a woman is wearing as long as they think they've got a chance of scoring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Grimlock

Stick with what you are comfortable with, no point going out wearing something you don't like and isn't you because you'll likely spend the nite feeling too self-concious and not have a good time.
    'sides the skate runner, jeans and t-shirt can look quite sexy if pulled off right.
    But maybe you should look around for something a little different, i'm sure if you take the time to look you'll find a cool skirt/dress/outfit that's dressed up and deifferent but that's still you, and sometimes when ppl change from a type of clothes they usually wear to something dressed up they can look stunning, well in my experience at least.
    Good luck with things :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Drop into Penney's with a twenty and pick yourself up some gear that's in the same colours you like to wear, but a bit more sparkly and body-clingy. The idea is to dress yourself *up*, from where you are now; not to disguise yourself as a totally different person.

Ditto with makeup and the like: just wash the hair so it's glossy, and stick on a bit of lip gloss. If you get into it all, you can go further.

I'll second what many have said already...

Sk8er girl = nyom nyom nyom...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

YAAAAAAAAY thanx everyone - I'll jst stick to being moi!!
    You could get some t-shirts with slogans or cartoons
    I've got loads of these already - I've even got a pac-man one with a ghost and pac man on it and it says "eat me" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Go to Whelans in Georges Street. It's a really laid back place, and people just wear what they want going in:) Word of advice, don't ever, ever go to Annabells. Went there for the first time ever with some friends from college at the end of our exams, and I swear we were the only girls there not wearing short skirts! I won't even start on all the poser guys in the suits. I mean who wears a suit to a night club? Music was fairly crap too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭radiospan

Originally posted by tk123
    YAAAAAAAAY thanx everyone - I'll jst stick to being moi!!

I've got loads of these already - I've even got a pac-man one with a ghost and pac man on it and it says "eat me" :p

Lol, reminds me of those overly suggestive t-shirts they wear in O'Briens. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭nads

Ok i'm not sure if this is in the right forum so sorry if it's wrong...Anyhoo I just got a text from some friends asking me to join them in town but I made up an excuse and turned them down cos I don't really have any "going out clothes" so now i'm spending the evening in (again!). Anytime I go out I always feel underdressed compared to all the other girls around me - especially if we go on to a club. I suppose my style would be skater girl/grungey, I work in IT so I always wear skate runners, jeans/trousers and a tshirt cos i'm always running around carrying stuff or climbing under desks. I don't wear skirts - haven't done since school and I don't think I even have a pair of shoes - just the runners that I wear on my motorbike! Anyhoo can anyone give me some advise - even suggest some clothes that would look ok in a club - I want to go out and feel comfortable so I can get on with having some fun!

Firstly - Marry Me.

Secondly - D'mind getting dollied up, but if you insist wear those cotton(???) or wooly fashionable jumpers rock/whelan's chicks do be wearing. *Goes into dream* Oh yesss.

Originally posted by nads
    Firstly - Marry Me.

Secondly - D'mind getting dollied up, but if you insist wear those cotton(???) or wooly fashionable jumpers rock/whelan's chicks do be wearing. *Goes into dream* Oh yesss.

why get married when we can live in sin! :p

Wooly jumpers sexy? Wearing wooly jumpers in the summer? What's that all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

What everyone else has said really - just go out in what you're comfortable in, I'm waiting to go out at the moment and I'm just going out in what I usually do: a nice t-shirt and jeans. Never get hassled about not being smart enough from clubs so there's obviously nothing wrong with it.

What you describe as your style is perfectly okay to go out in - love the sound of the pacman t-shirt! It's the sort of thing I love to see women wearing when they're out cos it gives us guys an easy opening line :) Don't feel underdressed - remember, most of us laugh at the dollybirds that go out in tiny skirts and covered in fake tan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

I've even got a pac-man one with a ghost and pac man on it and it says "eat me" :p

Where did you get this Tshirt from?? I want one!!

ps. I agree with what most ppl said already. Stick to what you're comfy with. Ive been there and worn the dolly dresses and shoes that you need a safety net with. Its just not worth the worry of "am I gonna fall off these 4 inch heels" or "is someone gonna spill their drink all over my new dress". Bleh! Ive no more time for that.

I stick to comfy shirts and jeans now. I am reformed! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Concorde

I had a well-paid job for years, and while my friends like to wear designer clothes I dressed rather like yourself. I met my husband while dressed like that. I think he prefers me like that as I don't spend much of his money on clothes! Anyway, why would you want to dress up just like others? From what I see at discos and pubs, lots of girls are just wearing what resembles straps barely covering their boobs and arses. Do you really want to dress like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Originally posted by Concorde
    From what I see at discos and pubs, lots of girls are just wearing what resembles straps barely covering their boobs and arses. Do you really want to dress like that?
    I'm sure the male population don't mind.

Glad to see you coming to this decision tk123, just be yourself.

Originally posted by Gordon

Glad to see you coming to this decision tk123, just be yourself.

What decision has she come to/are you referring too? i want to hear how this thread ends up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Plain jeans, good footwear and a short-sleaved top that says something a little different. An outrageous pattern (like the Pacman) / colour will get noticed. Quality, not price, is a lot better with the top. Avoid very light colours which will pick up beer stains.

For a further step go for some tight fitting jeans and a lower cut top. A V-neck will have the guys staring at your cleavage all night.

Accessorise with one of those day-glow belts and a key chain. Keep jewelry simple, stud or clip-on earrings and if you want a chain with something on it, the it is more important than the chain

Keep the make-up simple - lip gloss/stick, maybe a tiny bit of rouge. Try some glitter if that isn't too Barbie for you.

Avoid plain straight hair, every girl in town has is. Get some highlights and a stylish cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

Originally posted by Victor
    rouge

rouge...?
    ROUGE?!
    old women wear rouge! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

Plain jeans, good footwear and a short-sleaved top that says something a little different. An outrageous pattern (like the Pacman) / colour will get noticed. Quality, not price, is a lot better with the top. Avoid very light colours which will pick up beer stains.

For a further step go for some tight fitting jeans and a lower cut top. A V-neck will have the guys staring at your cleavage all night.

Accessorise with one of those day-glow belts and a key chain. Keep jewelry simple, stud or clip-on earrings and if you want a chain with something on it, the it is more important than the chain

Keep the make-up simple - lip gloss/stick, maybe a tiny bit of rouge. Try some glitter if that isn't too Barbie for you.

Avoid plain straight hair, every girl in town has is. Get some highlights and a stylish cut.

I'm sorry trinny/victor, but that's so funny. she should stay the way she is, nothing looks worse than a person looking uncomfortable in their own clothes.
    Plus what's she's wearing sounds fine to me - it's the way i dress and i've had no problems just the bonus of being able to walk home from a night club in comfortable shoes and not freezing my ass off in a little dress.

Victor, you scare me.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

Originally posted by blondie83
    I won't even start on all the poser guys in the suits. I mean who wears a suit to a night club?

I do if i happen to go straight out from work, which i do sometimes

Originally posted by Seraphina
    rouge...?
    ROUGE?!
    old women wear rouge! :p

"Whore's wear rouge, ladies pinch!"

What decision has she come to/are you referring too? i want to hear how this thread ends up.

I'm jst going to stick to being ME!! I don't know why i was worried abt it now - thanx for all your advice guys

That's the style :) Now that's what i call closure on a thread, fair play man.

Originally posted by sleepy
    "Whore's wear rouge, ladies pinch!"

a Grandma Bouvier quote? - that's low :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

God, a girl who likes to dress casual, works in IT and rides a motorbike. Never, ever tell people who you are when you go to a boards beer. You'll be swamped. ;)

Originally posted by seamus
    God, a girl who likes to dress casual, works in IT and rides a motorbike. Never, ever tell people who you are when you go to a boards beer. You'll be swamped. ;)

She won't need to Seamus, she'll be easy to spot with all the chicks in short skirts and dudes in suits...;)

Originally posted by seamus

a Grandma Bouvier quote? - that's low :D
    Just proving Sleepy's Theorum that there's an apropriate Simpsons Quote for EVERY Occasion!

Originally posted by Sleepy
    Sleepy's Theorum that there's an apropriate Simpsons Quote for EVERY Occasion!

"Better keep the egghead, might come in handy"

You're dead right though man, if only they paid us for useless quotations - or maybe i should get a job already :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Originally posted by blondie83
    Word of advice, don't ever, ever go to Annabells. Went there for the first time ever with some friends from college at the end of our exams, and I swear we were the only girls there not wearing short skirts!

Winner!!!

Man I always thought you were a bloke... They should cast you in the next Terminator movie, not even Arnie could be so regimented about fashion.

Anyway on topic...

Hippy chicks are always the ones an average fella will go for in the end. Initially, a fella cant help but notice the short skirts and tits hanging out, but after a while that sorta gets a bit boring and fake. Hippy chicks tend to be themselves and you pretty much know you are onto a winner with em, they also tend to look the same in the the morning after and dont leave an orange patch on your bed!

Keep wearing the same style of clothes but maybe just tighten it up here and there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

rofl - and you don't get hassled by drunk langers? Never met me b4 then :)

Why did everyone assume that once she said 'town' she meant Dublin? I know two gorgeous girls I work with here in the real capital that would fit that description :):p:)

Why not ask some of your friends to go shopping with you? It sounds like they'd know where the 'good' shops are and be able to give you some advice. You don't have to take it, of course. If they're good friends they'll understand if some clothes would make you uncomfortable or are "just not you". There's so much variety in women's clothing you're bound to find something you like. If not, at least you'll have spent the day with your friends and hopefully enjoyed yourself without "going out".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭tribble

Stick up a photo (blur facial detail if ya want but leave the general shap of your head intact).
    This is the only way people can recommend a more specific look for you to try.

tribble

/me - i have too many sisters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Plain jeans, good footwear and a short-sleaved top that says something a little different.

Like, perchance, "I dress like my fifteen year old sister".
    An outrageous pattern (like the Pacman) / colour will get noticed.

Yes, wear flourescents, they're really flattering.
    Quality, not price, is a lot better with the top. Avoid very light colours which will pick up beer stains.

Alternatively, get some table manners so you don't need a trough when you quaff. Then you can wear whatever you want.

Marvellous!! We all know it's really great when the person you're trying to talk to addresses his entire conversation to your tits.
    Accessorise with one of those day-glow belts and a key chain. Keep jewelry simple, stud or clip-on earrings and if you want a chain with something on it, the it is more important than the chain.

That way, if you can't catch a taxi home, perhaps some passing members of the travelling community will pick you up as one of their own and give you somewhere warm and dry to sleep. (Day-glo indeed.)

Yes - that way, after you get lipstick all over everything, you have an alternative way of getting home - you'll be suitably made-up to facilitate earning your taxi-fare in Benburb Street.

And never mind that it's money immediately wasted as your bike helmet flattens the whole lot into one helmet-shaped mess.

You know, Irish women have little enough style without contributions like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Thanks for the witty put downs, now do you want to contribute to the thread?

Originally posted by Blitzkrieger

Why did everyone assume that once she said 'town' she meant Dublin? I know two gorgeous girls I work with here in the real capital that would fit that description :):p:)

Cos none of us believe you provincials have electricity, never mind d'interent...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Originally posted by Dataisgod
    I do if i happen to go straight out from work, which i do sometimes

Sorry Data, no offence intended, These guys weren't coming from work though, they didn't look much older than eighteen :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

You could go for the hair tied up... long [1]flattering one piece that's reasonably tight fitting with shoes[2] to match.

You never know... you might even enjoy a change of style.

As an aside ... many a conversation I've had with a pair of tits and they've never seemed to have complained.

Also, hasn't everybody had a girlfriend who's let him name her opinions[3]?

Larry, Mo and... curly.

[1] Slightly above the knee is long in my book.....
    [2] Fuck me pumps.
    [3]I mean tits. Get it... opinions?.. never mind.

Originally posted by Typedef
    You could go for the hair tied up... long [1]flattering one piece that's reasonably tight fitting with shoes[2] to match.

You never know... you might even enjoy a change of style.

As an aside ... many a conversation I've had with a pair of tits and they've never seemed to have complained.

Larry, Mo and... curly.

[1] Slightly above the knee is long in my book.....
    [2] Fuck me pumps.
    [3]I mean tits. Get it... opinions?.. never mind.

:eek: Keep your opinions to yourself!! hahahahahaaa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

:eek: Keep your opinions to yourself!! hahahahahaaa

What d'ya mean opinons?

When we want yours we'll pay for the *chop*[1] in Kuala Lumpar. As it is, there a quite enough opinions floating around surmounted with a peroxide bleached whining machine[2] to make an edition of Questions and Answers... what with the Summer that's in it.

[1] Yes I meant sex change
    [2] I mean her head.

*buh!?* [1] [2][3]

[1] :confused:
    [2] :confused:
    [3] :confused:

Originally posted by Typedef

Larry, Mo and... curly.

If the stooges are referring to breasts she'd want to be that babe from Total Recall, man, three of them, it's like the grail :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

Originally posted by simu
    Wooly jumpers sexy?

Just ask bahairy about how he feels about wooly jumpers!

Yeah I hate bent unspoken rules about clothing! Last weekend i had to go spend a whole load of money buying "work Clothes"! and I hate em', not even comfortable!
    Who says you gotta wear a suit or formal clothes in an office. Personally I feel its important to wear whats comfortable. Jeans and t-shirt are just the best, And in winter you just slap on a hoody and its grand.

I'd say the most formal I will get (when not going to work:( suit!), is jeans , t-shirt and a plain jumper instead of a hoody.

I was thinkin' that some day at work I get one of those ealy 90's tracksuits all the russians wear and go into work.

Originally posted by Superman
    Just ask bahairy about how he feels about wooly jumpers!

Yeah I hate bent unspoken rules about clothing! Last weekend i had to go spend a whole load of money buying "work Clothes"! and I hate em', not even comfortable!
    Who says you gotta wear a suit or formal clothes in an office. Personally I feel its important to wear whats comfortable. Jeans and t-shirt are just the best, And in winter you just slap on a hoody and its grand.

I'd say the most formal I will get (when not going to work:( suit!), is jeans , t-shirt and a plain jumper instead of a hoody.

I was thinkin' that some day at work I get one of those ealy 90's tracksuits all the russians wear and go into work.

Nads maybe you should try to get them to have casual friday at your company - they have it my place and all the suits wear their nomal clothes on a friday.

My office is casual every day :D