Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who wants to go to British University Champs?

• 20-05-2004 11:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭

Ok people, we're going the British Champs, they say they've plenty of space, we can take 8 anyways, possibly more if we want, so whos in?

Shooting:
    Starts 12pm, on Saturday 19th June, they would like names ect, by the end of this week if possible, if you think you might go, put your name in, we're not paying them till we get there so you can always pull out.

Entry fee:
    £12 = 18 euro each

Accomodation:
    There is camping for £6 = 9 euro per tent, per night, (don't know if we can rent tents yet, will find out)
    There is room accomodation also, rougly £40 = 60 euro per person, per night. So camping looks pretty attractive, also not too much space, would need to try and book it immediately if at all.

Probably staying two nights, Friday and Saturday

Travel:
    Haven't worked out exact details yet, will do it after i finish exams on tuesday.
    But most likely leave friday, stay there friday night, shoot saturday, stay saturday night and return sunday.

Shooting Distances:
    Womens Recurve: (60/50/40yds) = (55,46,36)
    Mens Recurve: (80/60/50yds) = (73,55,46m)

All 122cm Target with 5-zone scoring:
    White = 1
    Black = 3
    Blue = 5
    Red = 7
    Gold = 9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Aryzel

Anyone who is interested and able, let me know, also if ye have a tent that isn't too hard to carry or if ye perfer getting rooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭mr potato head

yea sounds good 2 me... i,ll be in the uk anyhow!
    I think the place its being held is between birmingham and coventry from what i understand, am i right anyone know?
    I'm game for camping sounds like a good nite after the comp!
    What way are we going about entrys, doing it ourselves or we going through you?

Its a national sports center: website here with directions:

http://www.lilleshall.co.uk/index2.html

I'll sort out travel, next week.
    Ya, best to go through me, easier that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭MicS

I might go ... though I need to practice shooting longer distances, not in form at the moment. Also will have to sort out visas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 The Sin

I'd like to go & as it currently stands I (Sinéad) and Máire are available to go.
    Keep us informed Dermot, you're doing a great job so far. I'd like to nominate Dermot as team captain, anyone with me!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭toxof

Hey Dermot..
    Whats the story with a team.
    Will you all be able to enter as one team or will you have to enter as DIT, Maynooth, etc...
    I think DIT are sending 3, SIN, POTATO and MADRAB...
    How many people are needed to make up a full team??

Ps Dermot for Presidant/Captain of Ireland

Teams are 4 archers from the same university, we'll all be representing our own universities, so if DIT could get a 4th person, we'd have 1 full team and then individuals from other colleges.

Also there does be a national score. top 4 scores from each country count, so even if we don't a university team we should have a national one :P

They are looking for names for this weekend, so i'll put down Sinead, Maire, Me, Ciaran, Keith (=mr.potato head right?), Daniel, Padraic, Mikhail.

I know some of ye won't be coming, but i'd prefer to keep the places booked for ourselves and we can send less when the time comes, and it makes things easier if anyone else can come.

Tents aren't available for rent on site, but i'll try and arrange something.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

*must train* *must train a LOT*

I want to be able to go. Must TRAIN!!! :)

Will Ewan be in Germany/uninterested?

Originally posted by Aryzel
    Teams are 4 archers from the same university, we'll all be representing our own universities, so if DIT could get a 4th person, we'd have 1 full team and then individuals from other colleges.

Or if DCU can get 2 more. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

Originally posted by halenger
    Will Ewan be in Germany/uninterested?

I'll be in Germany for the entire summer. Would like to go and terrorize some of the people I mentally scarred back in the day at the Junior EuroNations, but alas, was not meant to be.

Hopefully will be about next year.

Good luck lads, do us proud, and try to keep Madrab on a leash :P

If you're on to them could you get room prices please? Think I'd be more interested in a room, fun and all as getting feck all sleep uncomfortably just for the laugh is. :p Single and twin room prices would be handy. :)

Travel gonna be by boat? I would guess that's more convenient and more likely since lack of advance warning to airlines etc. and well airline costs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭baggins

if DIT could get a 4th person

if DIT are desperate. (i emphasise, DESPERATE) i could probably make up numbers. wouldnt fancy my chances at being able to SEE 72 metres or whatever it is, but i could try :dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭af666x

Is there still space? I'd be well interested in going.

That's another DCU archer unto the breach :p

You'll need to test that bow at 70m. I never did when I shot outdoors with it.

Now that I think of it. Do you have to be personally affiliated with the IAAA to go?

OK exams are finished and i've looked into travel and accomodation for the british champs.

Travel:

Ferry from Dun-laoughire to holyhead:
    Suggested time: 16:05 on Friday 18th (30min check in time), arrives 17.45
    Cost ~45euro per student, return ticket

Train from holyhead to telford:
    Suggested time: 18:24 arrives 21:45, 1 change over
    Cost ~57 euro, return ticket

Archery competition will be collecting people from telford to bring us to lillehall, on friday evening. We'll be dropped back to train station sunday.

Train telford - holyhead (sunday)
    13:22 arrives 17:51, 2 changes

holyhead - dun-laoughaire
    18:30 arrives 20:10

Accomodation

There might be on-site accomodation, i couldn't get through to them earlier, but its about 60euro per person per night!!, so its cheaper to buy a tent :P

So camping accomodation:
    tent site is ~10 euro per tent

Entry fee is ~15 euro each

Total cost:
    Travel : ~100 (will look to see if there are cheaper ways)
    Accomodation : ~ 10/20 euro between us, but we need tents, anyone have one/two
    Entry fee: 15 euro

Total : ~130 + food and drink and drink :P

So i need confirmed names (real names please) for who is going:

So far:
    Dermot Madden (Maynooth)
    Sinead Cuthbert (DIT)
    Maire Cuthbert (DCU)

I need a final list of names by tuesday evening, at the latest. So either put your name and number up here, or text it to me by tuesday evening, i'll be sending off our final team wednesday morning, 087 6452077. Remember guys need to be able to hit 73meters.

let anyone who you think might want to go, know that they need to contact me by tuesday

nothing to do with iaaa, so don't need to be affiliated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭span

I'm gonna head over too. I had a good weekend at the sportslink shoot:D
    Gavin Dunne (carlow IT)

checked up the travel prices again, we can get a sail&rail ticket for Dublin-Telford for 68euro return.

So total cost each is ~100euro + food and drink
    And we need to sort out a tent or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭mhairesa

do we have to buy the tickets in advance or on the morning we go away? and are we all gonna meet up before hand to decide who is bringing what and sort the fine details or are we gonna do it via the boards?

A: Madrab, bring your video camera.

B: People, bring cameras.

We *need* photographic evidence that we(as in irish intervarsity archers) have our **** together enough to organise a team and represent ourselves abroad.

Will come in handy when the time comes to extract money from the IAAA / IOC / CUSAI etc

Anyway, have fun lads, and good luck. Im flying out to Germany tomorrow morning. I'm really sorry I cant go, but go in the knowledge that you have my full support and approval :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭baggins

Just out of interest, do any of you people know where a body could aquire a set of W&W evolution limbs in a godawful hurry?
    i honestly dont think 26 pounds would have much hope of hittin 73 metres without having ridiculously long arms..... (wonder if rizzo would lend me his arms for a few weeks???)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭trig

Was up at Sportslink on Saturday with some of the Carlow lads and Mikhail. Now we were only shooting short metric but got my ass kicked by span (not that its a major achievement). As I said, it was only short metric but he scored a 1019 with 72 hits out of 72 at 50m which isn't too bad at all.

For any of you who want to go over to the British University Champs it might be a good idea to go to Kilkenny next weekend and to shoot a Provisional FITA/Ladies FITA (70m/60m/50m/30m). I think the Carlow lads are going and maybe Mikhail and Keith Coltan as well so maybe everybody else could try and make it and compete for places. It goes without saying that the Cuthberts will be there. Thats about the nearest we have to what they shoot so it'll give you an idea of how good we are and who's a good outdoor archer cos there's a world of difference between outdoors and indoors. If nothing else, it'd be good practice.

Originally posted by baggins
    Just out of interest, do any of you people know where a body could aquire a set of W&W evolution limbs in a godawful hurry?
    i honestly dont think 26 pounds would have much hope of hittin 73 metres without having ridiculously long arms..... (wonder if rizzo would lend me his arms for a few weeks???)

Logged in from dublin airport, god bless free wireless internet access :)

I know altservices will go to an archery range and meet you... not sure how local they are.... quicks might do it as well, so you buy the limbs and they would give them to you at Lillishall... no chance to practise with them though. Other option si buy from altservices and pay more for a priority next day delivery type thing... if they're in stock they should be sent out fairly sharpish.

Good luck

Regards

Ewan

Originally posted by trig
    For any of you who want to go over to the British University Champs it might be a good idea to go to Kilkenny next weekend and to shoot a Provisional FITA/Ladies FITA (70m/60m/50m/30m). I think the Carlow lads are going and maybe Mikhail and Keith Coltan as well so maybe everybody else could try and make it and compete for places.
    i have to agree with john here it is a good idea to try to shoot the ladies fita so you have a little bit of practice at the longer distances. and during your practice for the next week or so you should get your mesuring tapes out and practice on the distances we'll be shooting so you have proper sightmarks, and try to practice on a smaller face that way wen ur shooting on a big one you'll think its easier!!!
    Originally posted by trig
    It goes without saying that the Cuthberts will be there.
    unfortunatly sinead and i wont be able to go.

Team: (so far)
    Dermot Madden (NUIM)
    Sinead Cuthbert (DIT)
    Maire Cuthbert (DCU)
    Gavin Dunne (Carlow IT)
    Keith Coltan (DIT)

Padraic said his not going
    Anyone else interested in going?

We can get Sail and Rain tickets at Dun Laoghaire, on the day, and can probably get away without paying entry fees and camping fees until on the day, so if there is anyone still interested in going......

As for bringing stuff, there will be toilet and shower facilities on site, not sure about food yet.

- Yourself
    - Your Bow
    - Money (maybe some Sterling, no euros in UK)
    - Clothes: worn(recommended) and spare(optional)

- Bathroom and shower stuff, towel, toilet roll might worth a bit by the end of the weekend... 150 people will go through a lot :(

- Snacks for travel, not sure if we'll have time between changes to get something proper to eat.

- A camera, or not

- Food and Alcohol provisions for the weekend, might not be needed, can always get in telford on the day anyways.

- Sleeping bag, or something.

Thats about all the individual things i can think off, the only group thing we need are tent(s) to hold everyone.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Wot, no arrows?

I'll get me coat...

Lol... Nice one.

Ciaran not going?

Good luck to the team. Apologies for the last minute pulling out but I'm not ready for it and I wont be. Very bad year. Not gonna rant. Anyhow have fun!!

We can get Sail and Rain tickets at Dun Laoghaire

Since you mention rain, :p, wet gear might be an idea? Just a thought. I would assume the outdoor championships are actually outdoors rather than the indoor 90m arena they have?

i'm planning to head to kilkenny for the saturday, anyone else heading down that i could get a lift off? i can make it into dublin early in the morning if that would help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

sorry i have been really busy with my thesis and exams

is it tooo late????

my no is 085 7207876 if you need to contact me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Shirt

Howdy! (Quick intro - I'm the president of York Uni archery, found this place... well, kinda by mistake...)

Wet gear is probably not a bad idea - much like taking an umbrella on holiday, it's a guarantee you won't need it.

Alcohol is mandatory, there's a couple of supermarkets within easy reach and you can get a lift with whoever is going.

Halenger - yes, it's properly outdoors, the indoor thing is ludicrously expensive to rent.

It'll be nice to see some people that aren't the usual crowd - I'll be the big blonde drunk guy.;)

Hrm... Must drag some of your guys this direction sometime perhaps.

Someone arrange something and invite them. *points thataway* :p

We should fancy up our IVs. Last one of the year gets the title "Irish University Indoor Champs"? Hehehe...

If I'd found out about the things before Xmas, I might have asked if I could turn up. However, I only found out about the IV matches during finals revision/procrastination...

Ah well, I might get a masters and be about next year... If I'm a student next year, I'll see if I can scare up a team from this island to come and beat your lot. :P

Now if that's not a challenge then I don't know what is!

Do ye not get a year's grace? We do. As in for the year after we finish college we can compete in Inter-Varsities.

Nope. Not on an undergraduate degree - with a PhD it's possible to hang about almost infinitely if you mess with the viva dates, I know someone that is on his 8th year of eligibility (although he only took up archery 5 years ago).

I thoroughly intend to hang around student archery here till no-one is willing to put up with me any more. We have a gaggle of graduates who come back to help out with major events - suspect you'll get to meet some of them, they're calling themselves ACME and do an awful lot of useful stuff...:)

Dermot Madden (NUIM)
    Sinead Cuthbert (DIT)
    Maire Cuthbert (DCU)
    Gavin Dunne (Carlow IT)
    Keith Coltan (DIT)
    Ciaran Bolger (DIT)

There is room for anyone else who wants to come, anyone interested?

Sinead and Máire have a tent, and i think i should be able to get another one, so we should be ok on that front.

On travel front, we've the choice of getting 12:15 ferry from Dublin port and getting to Telford around 6:30.
    Or getting 4:00 ferry from Dun Loaghaire and getting to telford about 9:15.
    Any perference? i'm slightly inclined towards the 12:15, its easier to get to (bus to it from busarus) and if its sold out or anything we can always try the 4:00.

Also do people want to just meet at the ferry or meeting in city center first ect? we will need ~30min check in apparently for the ferries.

I'd prefer the 12:15 option too.

I'll be heading straight out to the ferry from tallaght so wont be meeting in town

I asked about clothes colours and shooting arrangements.

Club or Uni colours prefered but its not particualy strict or anything.

We shoot 6 arrows per round, but in a different way.

Group 1 shoots 3
    Group 2 shoots 3
    Group 1 shoots 3
    Group 2 shoots 3
    Collect

FINAL Plans for weekend
    FRIDAY
    (Dart) Connolly - Dun Laoghaire: 15:00 - 15:25
    Book in to Ferry: 15:30 -ish, recommended, Sail and Rail Ticket: 68 euro
    (Ferry) Dun Laoghaire - Holyhead: 16:05 - 17:55
    (Train) Holyhead - Wolverhampton (ARRIVA TRAINS WALES) 18:24 - 21:12
    (Train) Wolverhampton - Telford (CENTRAL TRAINS) 21:27 - 21:45
    (Minibus) Telford - Lillhall: 22:00

SUNDAY
    (Train) Telford - Chester (ARRIVA TRAINS WALES) 13:22 - 14:41
    (Train) Chester - Holyhead (ARRIVA TRAINS WALES) 16:20 - 17:51
    (Ferry) HolyHead - Dublin Port: 18:30 - 20:10
    (Dart) Dun Laogharire - Connolly: 20:38 - 21:02

COSTS:
    Sail and Rail Return ticket: €68
    Camping fee: £str 4 each (€6)
    Entry fee: £str 12 each (€18)

Food, Snacks and Drink for weekend: £str 40 (€60), this is a wild guess on the high side, so make your own judgements

TOTAL = €68 + £str 56

So everyone going needs to be at Dun Laoghire ferry port, (right beside dart station) arround 3:30pm on friday (its better overall to get the 4:05pm ferry, it ends up saving lots of travel time over the weekend).

Myself and the Cuthberts will have tents.
    So bring:

yourself
    your archery stuff
    money, €68 + ~£str60
    clothes, ect. for weekend
    a sleeping bag

Food and snacks can be got on the go, but bring stuff if ye want.
    We'll be back in Dun Laoghaire around 8pm Sunday evening.

I'll try and call everyone in case ye don't see this, & ye can call me(087 6452077) if anything comes up.

Also, last second entries are welcome :)

Dermot Madden (NUIM) Capt;)
    Sinead Cuthbert (DIT)
    Maire Cuthbert (DCU)
    Gavin Dunne (Carlow IT)
    Keith Coltan (DIT)
    Ciaran Bolger (DIT)

I don't have contact details for Keith or Gavin, so if either of ye see this can ye leave a note.

Keith is in UK, i don't know how your traveling, but if you want to get a train to telford, you can catch a lift with us out to the archery field on friday night, ~10pm. Also shooting is on 12pm on Sunday, so you might just arrive then, let me know what you decide.

Good luck lads, have fun, and do us proud :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭mr potato head

i'm getting a lift there so i'll be there on friday nite about 10.30 or so... chat to u before then..

Hi guys, Sin and i only have a 2 man tent just in case you're counting that as an extra bed,its not! at a push it can fit three but with bowcases and bags, which are considerably larger than regular bags, theres no chance of fitting anyone extra, sorry!!

Keith, do you and Louise have yourselves sorted accomodation wise?

As for coming home on Sunday the darts havent been running south bound for a while now at weekends so we may have to bus it.

And Sinéad says "CAPTAIN I remember proposing you for TEAM MANAGER, when did captain thing happen? Congratulations on becoming captin by the way!!!;) "

Oh yeah, if you can rob/borrow some kind of seating that you can fit in your bag bring it cause it may come in very handy. Lidl have fishing stools for €5 (availiable from thursday)

Hi Dermot my contact number is 087 6325352

I'd like to go & as it currently stands I (Sinéad) and Máire are available to go.
    Keep us informed Dermot, you're doing a great job so far. I'd like to nominate Dermot as team captain, anyone with me!?
    :p

My tent is only 2 man aswell, but i'm sure we'll work something out, but if anyone else feels like bringing another tent, please do.

The 46A, runs from dun Laoghaire, and shouldn't take too long to get into town on a sunday evening.

provisional target list is up: I have it on my site, with our names highlighted.
    (Gavin will be filling in for Padraic or Daniel or Mikhail on final list)
    (I know Máire is down as DIT, i've let them know about that mistake)

http://www.irreal.net/downloads/

There are 124 gents recurve and 64 ladies recurve,
    211 archers total (inc compound, ect.)