Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi drivers ask for price hike

• 12-05-2004 3:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭

RTE News
    15:53 Wednesday May 12th 2004

Taxi drivers have warned that fares could increase due to rising fuel prices. They have said the higher fuel charges will hit their earning power. The Taxi drivers claim that because they operate on a fixed fares structure and cannot adjust their prices, they have to absorb any extra charges themselves. They want the go-ahead for a fare hike that would not require re-calibration of meters.

ARGGGGHHHH!!!!!!!!!
    horse sh1t they already make enough to keep a frickin jumbojet in fuel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Ripwave

Originally posted by egan007
    RTE News
    15:53 Wednesday May 12th 2004

Taxi drivers have warned that fares could increase due to rising fuel prices.
    Let's be generous and say that they only get 5miles to the litre. And petrol goes up about 10c to €1/litre. So their costs go up an extra 2c per mile - an increase of about 15c from O'Connell St to the Airport.

Somehow, I don't think they're looking for a 15c increase!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

I was at tesco clearwater last night - a queue fo 8 taxis in front of me. only 83c per litre (78 with cupon)
    I did not see them reducing prices when they got cheaper pertol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

blame it on deregulation and them refugees comin over here takin our women:mad:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

they are a bunch if fcukers. They should be forced to reduce prices as it is 'cause it's a complete ripoff the prices they charge. Luckily my estate is well serviced now with buses but before it was we were getting charged from between €6.50 and €10.80 for the same journey which was only 4 miles.

Originally posted by Tommy Vercetti
    blame it on deregulation and them refugees comin over here takin our women:mad:

persumably u are joking....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I was at tesco clearwater last night - a queue fo 8 taxis in front of me. only 83c per litre (78 with cupon)
    I did not see them reducing prices when they got cheaper pertol

You're sh1tting me! My nearest service station was yesterday charging 99c per litre of unleaded and I think 89c for diesel!

I hope tesco roll out more service stations!

yeah seen a few cowboys with it over 1euro
    it's funny how prices go up so quick in stations - even though they bought the petrol at last months low price

roll on tesco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭bovril

where can I ring to check on a fare??

Got picked up on saturday night in tallaght , there was a fiver on the meters already before I even went anywhere. I was travelling within tallaght and it cost me 10.60 in total for 3.4 miles, I asked for a receipt and I want to check it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Ripwave

Originally posted by bovril
    The Carriage Office are responsible for regulating taxis, afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by bovril

Got picked up on saturday night in tallaght , there was a fiver on the meters already before I even went anywhere.

Was it after midnight? Did you ring the taxi firm to ask them to pick you up or did you flag it down?
    AFAIK there's a pickup charge and an extra charge after midnight too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭OHP

I love this . Try being a Taxi driver for just 1 Saturday night and then pass judgement. I got into a taxi one Saturday night and was kicked and punched until I was eventually left on the ground. Then the people that done it got sick all over the car held a knife to the Taxi Drivers head and stole all his takings for the night. I would not be a Taxi Driver for all the money in the world. So what if they rip us off now and then. Our Government rip us off all the time and we sit back and whinge and do nothing about it. Those guys have to sit back, listen to all your crap, while trying to drive and get you home. But they get no thanks whatsoever when they do. Many a night I have sat into a Taxi and didn’t have a clue where I lived. But they still got me home. I agree there are some Taxi drivers that overcharge, but don’t knock them all because of a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Originally posted by OHP
    I love this . Try being a Taxi driver for just 1 Saturday night and then pass judgement. I got into a taxi one Saturday night and was kicked and punched until I was eventually left on the ground. Then the people that done it got sick all over the car held a knife to the Taxi Drivers head and stole all his takings for the night. I would not be a Taxi Driver for all the money in the world. So what if they rip us off now and then. Our Government rip us off all the time and we sit back and whinge and do nothing about it. Those guys have to sit back, listen to all your crap, while trying to drive and get you home. But they get no thanks whatsoever when they do. Many a night I have sat into a Taxi and didn’t have a clue where I lived. But they still got me home. I agree there are some Taxi drivers that overcharge, but don’t knock them all because of a few.

So should banks raise charges and add on costs cos people try to rob them. I bet if you went into a shop to buy a tv and they said they wanted an extra €50 cos sumone held them up the day before you'd tell them to stick it and go to another shop. Taxi drivers , like every other profession, know the risks and think about it before they go into it. They are overpriced and generally annoying. Every time I get in a Taxi, no matter how short my answers or how much I sit there , they insist on talking to me. I'm not a rude person but generally dont engage strangers in conversation so i generally mumble some sort of reply, but they never get it, they keep blubbing on with questions and "helpful" tidbits of info. There was a taxi driver on Gerry Ryan (its on in work, not my fault) and he was actually giving out bout the fact that eating out in a restaurant was so cheap in spain compared to here, FFS, my pot, the kettle over ther in the corner wants a word,..................

OHP, if we were to live by your way of thinking then we'd all starve and be living on the streets 'cause prices would be unsustainable. Just 'cause Ireland is a ****hole and taxi drivers are open to abuse doesn't mean they have the right to charge what they like for what in a lot of cases is a very poor service. In every other country I have ever been in, Taxis are a standard type of car, usually something like a Merc. They are clean, they are well serviced, the drivers are polite and only speak when spoken to and the fare is cheap. You come to Ireland and it's a lottery as to what sort of car and in what state it's in that you get. The driver could either be a very nice chap who will chat to you about their kids or you can get a complete scumbag who will do everything in their power to rip you off. Now, I'm not saying that all taxi drivers are the same, but taxi drivers are not a race or religion. They all have the power to improve the overall reputation of their entire organisation by putting in more rules and regulations and then sticking to them. As it stands, the taxi business in this country is a complete and utter joke, just like so many other things in Irish society.

Originally posted by LFCFan
    Just 'cause Ireland is a ****hole .

off the point but.....
    c'mon it's the best country in the world....sure i hate being ripped off, everything is too dear, it rains too much, it's hard to make a euro, but it's FECKIN GREAT here! (when you look at the big picture)

off the point but.....
    c'mon it's the best country in the world....sure i hate being ripped off, everything is too dear, it rains too much, it's hard to make a euro, but it's FECKIN GREAT here! (when you look at the big picture)

if we got rid of the litter and the scumbags and got in a government who could actually do a good job this would be a great country but as it stands we have a long way to go before we can truely say we are living in a wonderful country. Anti social behaviour has turned parts of Ireland into a dump and this really needs to change. We have all beeb blinded by years of Cèad Mìle Failte and all that crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭minority

I think we should get in our cars and park on the major junctions and roundabouts (like the taxi drivers did at deregulation) in protest at the high price of taxi fares.

We should then march in town with our families and hold up signs saying 'no christmas presents for our children'. I **** you not i was working in town when they were marching after dereg with their children bawlling their eyes out because they really did think santy wasnt coming that year.

Anyone who does that to their own children is a scumbag. I hate taxi drivers with a passion.

Ive gotten into taxis which have numbers that show they were dereg taxis only to hear the drivers harp on about why dereg should be brought back.

I'ld love to see these scumbags go on strike again over christmas and earn **** all.

That was a good rant.

LFCFan the way I look at it is. You go to a Doctor, wait hours, then pay €40 for almost 5 minutes of his time then another €30 to €40 on a prescription. Go to the pumps for petrol here and its €1.05c per litre. The ESB are now looking for a huge price hike and we will just have to pay it. Not only do you pay taxes on your wages, but also on every single thing you buy. These are things we simply cannot do without, and have no choice in paying. But on the other hand you do not have to use a TAXI if you plan your night out. And nearly everyone has friends that do not drink and have the use of a car. So why not make use of them?

OHP

Originally posted by Stekelly
    So should banks raise charges and add on costs cos people try to rob them. I bet if you went into a shop to buy a tv and they said they wanted an extra €50 cos sumone held them up the day before you'd tell them to stick it and go to another shop. Taxi drivers , like every other profession, know the risks and think about it before they go into it. They are overpriced and generally annoying. Every time I get in a Taxi, no matter how short my answers or how much I sit there , they insist on talking to me. I'm not a rude person but generally dont engage strangers in conversation so i generally mumble some sort of reply, but they never get it, they keep blubbing on with questions and "helpful" tidbits of info. There was a taxi driver on Gerry Ryan (its on in work, not my fault) and he was actually giving out bout the fact that eating out in a restaurant was so cheap in spain compared to here, FFS, my pot, the kettle over ther in the corner wants a word,..................

Banks do raise charges and add on costs (although hidden) for those reasons. And yes I would tell the guy with the TV to stick it because I would have that choice to do so in his case but not the Bank's. It is cheaper to eat out in other country. Petrol and Diesel prices have risen again and that means that not only will the cost of a TAXI go up but food and everything else as well eventually because of it. Anyone know where I might get a Government Leir Jet so I can stick a TAXI plate on it?

OHP

Wait I found one :phere

Originally posted by OHP
    But on the other hand you do not have to use a TAXI if you plan your night out. And nearly everyone has friends that do not drink and have the use of a car. So why not make use of them?
    OHP

Before my estate got proper bus services we had NO choice but to use a taxi if we wanted to go out anywhere that involved us having a drink. Not everyone goes out drinking in groups. There are such thing as couples you know! And there are a lot of people in the same situation. I was even told by one of the more genuine drivers that there were some drivers taking advantage of people in our estate because they knew we'd practically no choice but to use taxis. I've hardly seen a taxi near our estate since the buses became more frequent and good riddance too!

Originally posted by OHP
    Petrol and Diesel prices have risen again and that means that not only will the cost of a TAXI go up but food and everything else as well eventually because of it.

Yeah, they'll put their prices up now because of the price of oil but they won't bring their prices back down when the price of oil comes down.

LFCFan,

Just today I got a Taxi from the Golden Island Shopping Centre in Athlone to the A.I.T. (which is approx just over a mile) Cost of the Taxi was €4.50c and I asked the driver how much would it cost to go 2 miles or over. This is the break down I got from him:

First 2 Miles (even with 4 passengers & loads of baggage) = €4.50c
    Every Mile thereafter cost €1.50c extra.
    There was no waiting time charged. (Nothing extra added no matter how long the journey took.)
    Add in an extra €1 after 9pm

So a 3-mile journey before 9pm would cost €6.00c and after 9pm would cost €7.00c. No matter if there is 1 or 4 passengers or how long it takes. I got the Bus back into the shopping Centre and it cost €1.00 but it had 17 people on board so the same journey on a Bus came out at €17.00. I don’t know about the rest of Ireland, but as far as Taxi charges are concerned in Athlone. I do not see any reason why they should not ask for a rise. And as for using a Merc as a Taxi. Try first of all buying and running one here in Ireland and compare it to other countries. Actually before I start whining on. Maybe we should do a price check of Taxi’s around Ireland. Say for 3 miles. I will start it off.

Athlone = €6.00c before 9pm and €7.00 after (no charge for time or extra passengers/ luggage etc.)

Personally I think the Taxi drivers in Athlone are great and provide an excellent service. And I really don’t care if I paid €10.00 or €20.00 so long as I got home safe.

OHP

Well I have searched. But I cannot find anywhere where it lists standard Taxi Fares in Ireland. I thought there were standard rates laid down. But apparently this is not true. Anyone know if there is such a place where I can check Taxi fares?

OHP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Johnmb

Originally posted by OHP
    Well I have searched. But I cannot find anywhere where it lists standard Taxi Fares in Ireland. I thought there were standard rates laid down. But apparently this is not true. Anyone know if there is such a place where I can check Taxi fares?

OHP
    You'd have to go to the local issuing authorities I'd imagine. Each one has its own rates. The Dept of Transport may have copies of them all in one place. Otherwise, the local councils are the place to go. Some may have the rates up on their websites (and if they don't, they should).

Actually, here's a link to the Dublin fares:
    http://www.dublincity.ie/traffic/taxi_fares.htm

Thank you for that link Johnmb. I am not that good at math. So in a nutshell what would a journey of 3 miles cost in Dublin say with 2 Adults a Kid and 2 pieces of luggage?

OHP

Originally posted by OHP
    Thank you for that link Johnmb. I am not that good at math. So in a nutshell what would a journey of 3 miles cost in Dublin say with 2 Adults a Kid and 2 pieces of luggage?

OHP
    Well, I work it out at €8.55 on a normal day, or €9.90 on a Sunday/Bank Holiday/late night. That is assuming that you hailed it off the street or at a rank (other that the Airport), and you did not spend most of the journey stuck in traffic.

Originally posted by Johnmb
    Well, I work it out at €8.55 on a normal day, or €9.90 on a Sunday/Bank Holiday/late night. That is assuming that you hailed it off the street or at a rank (other that the Airport), and you did not spend most of the journey stuck in traffic.

In the canaries that journey would cost around €2.50 in a Mercedes with a very polite driver.

In the Canaries, that driver is unlikely to be paying about €5000 for insurance, €0.90 a litre for fuel, and wasting most of that fuel stuck in traffic, as well as many other overheads (such as servicing), and all that before he can start buying food, let alone other luxeries.

Which all points back to the way the country is being run. At the end of the day, everything that pisses us off about this country can be traced back to successive incompetant governments.

Successive incompetant governments have played their part, but so have the people. While I may not particularly like Harney, she is right when she says that one of the main reasons for high prices in this country is because people blindly pay them. It feels good to pass the blame on to someone else, but the government only played a small role compared to the average Irish person.

my friends dad and brother are taxi drivers.
    i asked them about insurance a few weeks ago.
    his Dads insurance is <€1000 but he's been driving it for 10 years.
    his bro is 29 - insurance last year was €2100. this year its €1500 and hes only driving a taxi since 2 years. And already he wont shut up for 5 seconds of the day.

This rubbish about how much a taxi drivers insurance is is just a red herring to make people feel sorry for them. Its like any driving insurance. If you are 21 then your insurance will be sky high, taxi or private car. high insurance Is not speific to taxis

Taxi drivers make plenty of money. i didnt see them giving money off the trips when petrol price ever went down.

Originally posted by minority
    my friends dad and brother are taxi drivers.
    i asked them about insurance a few weeks ago.
    his Dads insurance is <€1000 but he's been driving it for 10 years.
    his bro is 29 - insurance last year was €2100. this year its €1500 and hes only driving a taxi since 2 years. And already he wont shut up for 5 seconds of the day.

This rubbish about how much a taxi drivers insurance is is just a red herring to make people feel sorry for them. Its like any driving insurance. If you are 21 then your insurance will be sky high, taxi or private car. high insurance Is not speific to taxis

Taxi drivers make plenty of money. i didnt see them giving money off the trips when petrol price ever went down.
    Well if that is true, then things have changed considerably over the last few years, because to get insured from June 2001 to June 2002 it cost me just over £4,200 (That's punts, not Euros).

So would it be fair to say

3 Mile Taxi Fare in Athlone Day = €6.00 Night = €7.00
    3 Mile Taxi Fare in Dublin Day = €8.55 Night = €9.90

I am beginning to get the picture. But would it be possible for people from Cork, Galway, Limerick, and Wexford etc. In fact all over the country, to post Taxi costs here as well please?

OHP

Lets stay on track here LFCFan. If we gather enough information about Taxi fares / crappy and insulting drivers / cars etc. We should be able to point out all the differences to the Government. And if we make enough people and the right people aware of what is going on then we should be able to do something about it. So let's find out a lot more information about it all first and then seek out the right people to complain about it all to.

OHP

Sorry LFCfan but here you go on again about a Merc as a Taxi. See if you can find a Merc dealer in the Canaries and ask them what price a Merc is and then how much it would cost to Tax and insure it as a Taxi. Then compare it to Ireland. There is no comparison.

OHP

Originally posted by OHP
    Sorry LFCfan but here you go on again about a Merc as a Taxi. See if you can find a Merc dealer in the Canaries and ask them what price a Merc is and then how much it would cost to Tax and insure it as a Taxi. Then compare it to Ireland. There is no comparison.OHP

All I was comparing was the standards. They don't have to be Mercs but some of the cars I've had the displeasure of entering have been nothing short of appaling in this country. Standards need to be raised a hell of a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Originally posted by OHP

There was no waiting time charged. (Nothing extra added no matter how long the journey took.)

Eh .. that is absolute b*llocks. Well, at least in Dublin, in the taxis (not hackneys). Watch the little meter next time you're stopped in traffic or lights or whatnot. There's a little clock-like icon that blinks on a countdown. The faster the car is moving the faster it counts down and adds to the fare. So, being stuck in traffic still adds money.

So "time waiting" is included .....

Originally posted by Lemming
    Eh .. that is absolute b*llocks. Well, at least in Dublin, in the taxis (not hackneys). Watch the little meter next time you're stopped in traffic or lights or whatnot. There's a little clock-like icon that blinks on a countdown. The faster the car is moving the faster it counts down and adds to the fare. So, being stuck in traffic still adds money.

That is not correct. Once the car is moving above a certain speed (3mph I think), then the clock doesn't operate. The faster the car is going, the faster it travels the 1/9th of a mile, that's why the meter moves faster, it is nothing to do with the clock, that only counts down when the car isn't moving. But there is a waiting charge, not only the clock, but an additional charge, if for example, you were to get a driver to wait half an hour outside an office. I can't remember what that charge is usually, but it is at the descretion of the driver (the unions usually set it, along with fares going outside the metered area).

Originally posted by Lemming

Eh? It is not a load of B Lemming. After reading your post, I once again checked Taxi fares in Athlone out and there is NO charge for time, only distance. That is why it really would be nice to get Taxi fares etc. from all over Ireland posted in here so we can do something about it. But from what I have seen so far. Ye really are being ripped off in Dublin.

OHP

Let's get some Taxi fares lads. Read my last post about taxi fares and post yours here.

Well if that is true, then things have changed considerably over the last few years, because to get insured from June 2001 to June 2002 it cost me just over £4,200 (That's punts, not Euros).

As i said, Taxi drivers never tell the truth about insurance. They always inflate it.
    I have friends who dont drive taxis and their insurance is that high too. Should we all go out and give them some money just for the sake of it :)
    If you cant afford the cost of entry to a business, then what are you dong in that business anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

Originally posted by eth0_
    You're sh1tting me! My nearest service station was yesterday charging 99c per litre of unleaded and I think 89c for diesel!

I hope tesco roll out more service stations!

Sorry if already said (Tired).

They have done this in england. Once all the local competition is gone they up their prices.

As i said, Taxi drivers never tell the truth about insurance. They always inflate it.
    I have friends who dont drive taxis and their insurance is that high too. Should we all go out and give them some money just for the sake of it :)
    And what has been inflated? The only ordinary drivers who have insurance that high are young drivers, or dangerous drivers who have a history.
    If you cant afford the cost of entry to a business, then what are you dong in that business anyway.
    Nice strawman, but nobody said anything about not being able to afford the cost of entry into a business.

And what has been inflated? The only ordinary drivers who have insurance that high are young drivers, or dangerous drivers who have a history.

I have yet to get into a taxi where i considered the driver a safe driver. In fact i would say i've had more near misses on the roads either in a taxi or with a taxi than any other vehicle on the road. Taxi drivers seem to think they can drive however they want with no regard to safety. I'm sure this is not lost on the insurers.

Again with the strawman arguments. The insurance is high because of the public liability part of the insurance, not the comprehensive car insurance part, as you would already know if you bothered to actually check into things before proclaiming to know all about them.

part of that public liability being the danger the taxi driver causes to their passengers.
    If you paid as much as you say for insurance then you must be either lying, youn, or have a bad driving record.

Since when have taxi drivers not harped on about how hard done by they are. Even when they were making fortunes.
    Tell it to someone who cares (that would only be other taxi drivers).
    Get one drunk and the bragging about how much they really do earn starts.

part of that public liability being the danger the taxi driver causes to their passengers.
    No, that public liability is the same as the public liability that all businesses pay if they allow the public to access their premises.

If you paid as much as you say for insurance then you must be either lying, youn, or have a bad driving record.
    And how would you know? You who has 0/zero/nada/none, as is no experience in the subject? For every intelligent persons information (as in those who want to get information on a subject before proclaiming to know all about it), my quote at the time included either £500, or £1000 (can't remember the exact figure at this stage) loading, which the insurance companies added in order to get themselves a nice big cut out of the initial surge in drivers. The unions were supposed to be fighting against it, I'm not sure if they were successful.
    Since when have taxi drivers not harped on about how hard done by they are. Even when they were making fortunes.
    Well, as long as ignorant people continue to claim that all drivers are raking it in, those drivers have every right to put on the poor mouth. The simple fact of the matter is that any drivers who are making a lot of money at the moment are working very hard to get it. A taxi driver will not make enough money to pay a mortgage and a car loan if he just works Monday to Friday from 9 to 5. Those who work those hours have no right to bitch and moan about drivers making money, because if those people where willing to work unsocial hours, they too could be earning a lot more money.
    Tell it to someone who cares (that would only be other taxi drivers).
    Yet it is you, and not other taxi drivers, who is post here with a load of uninformed opinions, and getting upset when the errors in your "facts" are pointed out.
    Get one drunk and the bragging about how much they really do earn starts.
    Get anyone drunk, twist the conversation in that direction, and they will either boast about how great they really have it, or they will complain about how bad they really have it. Taxi drivers are no different.

The only one here getting upset is the Taxi driver ---- as usual :)

There aren't any taxi drivers involved, just you and me at this stage.

OK, let me try again, for anyone who didnt notice what i meant.

The only ones getting upset are the taxi drivers (or ex-taxi drivers) --- as usual :

How's that???
    Can you figure out what i was saying now.

Its just like talking to a taxi driver in a taxi and trying to stop him talking about how hard done by he is... Impossible.

OK, let me try again, for anyone who didnt notice what i meant.

The only ones getting upset are the taxi drivers (or ex-taxi drivers) --- as usual :

How's that???
    Can you figure out what i was saying now.

Its just like talking to a taxi driver in a taxi and trying to stop him talking about how hard done by he is... Impossible.
    You seem to be getting a bit upset there. Maybe if you had done some proper research before making your claims, you wouldn't have found yourself in such a position.