Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

addicted to pot

• 27-04-2004 1:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

I have a friend of mine who is addicted to hash.
    Is there anything i can do to help him. He is about 23 and out of
    work and spends around 40 euros a week on hash. I thought mabeye
    if i suggested to him to read this thread i might help him or you might have
    stories of how yourve beat pot. Or should i do nothing and hope he gets a job
    and sorts himself out.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I take it he's on the dole and thats how he's financing his habit?
    I would have to agree he's much better off getting a job how long has he been unemployed?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Most people who smoke/take hash on a regular basis (myself included) arent "addicted to hash". Its impossible to form a physical addiction to it. Although a physcological addiction is perhaps possible its rarely the case. Usually the user will find themselves being put off the drug more and more untill they eventually quit altogether.

At this point they usually find they want to do something about life and get some sort of job etc. etc.

Perhaps later, when they are middle class citizens, they'll take up the habit again.

Speaking from personal circumstances, its not an addiction, its a filler for part of my life. Where nothing else holds any interest for me and as such, its keeping me interested.

I intend to quit, at some point, when I no longer have an interest in the substance then, who knows what.

Sure, its probably a "crutch" but its a "crutch" I CAN easily give up, an oppurtunity not provided to plenty of other "crutch" or addiction sufferers.

In closing, its a medium, a phase, it passes with time.

Nothing to be worried about.

I'd be more worried about the nefarious paying for a habit with government money. An activity thats likely to change given time.

Anyway, dont worry, but do offer criticism/advice/insight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

40 a week is hardly a big bad drug habit to be honest... plenty people [me included] spend more on tobacco and alcohol than that.... as long as he realises that he wont get rich/successful smoking dope and that it can sap his ambition then i'd say let him be.... i spend that much on drugs every week at least... its cheaper than going to the pub two nights a week and probably safer too... lets face it, theres an awful lot to recommend about a drug thats best enjoyed in the comfort of your own cosy living room, making occasional epic expeditions to centra for a packet of crisps... 40 a week is pobably getting him a quarter if he's down in the countryside and thats nothing to smoke over the course of seven days.... i very much doubt that smoking that amount is interfering with his pursuit of a career [laziness is probably doing that] or inhibiting his ability to function in society.... tell him work is important for the soul and for self esteem and tell him that drus are best used sparingly and responsibly.

personally speaking i really enjoy smoking dope, but i realise it mightnt always be the wisest course of action on a given day... a few smokes after dinner with a movie before bed never hurt anyone, but doing nothing but sitting about scratching your arse geting stoned watching barney isnt going to do you any favours either. like all luxury goods / intoxicants [everything from coffee to crack] YOU ENJOY THEM MORE WHEN YOU FEEL YOU DESERVE THEM. if he can temper his indulgences with work to provide them he will have a better time of it and apreciate it more. [and he'll probably grow out of it once he gets sick of yet another soned conversation about which teletubby is gay or whatever]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭Doodee

afro man made it big from dope didn't he?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Originally posted by TOMSIE
    I have a friend of mine who is addicted to hash

you cannot be physically addicted to hash, you can be mentally addicted though. Your friend probably feels like he’s in a rut, hash just fills his day in for him. He needs to snap out of the rut he is in, as Mercie said, find something to do, a Uni course so he can move onto finding a job. Once he gets a job, he’ll cut down on smoking during the day, a couple of J’s at night is no big thing imo.
    I would forget about trying to talk him out of smoking and concentrate on kicking his ass into doing something about a job and getting off the dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭martarg

A link:

http://alcohol-drug-treatment.net/marijuana.html

The marijuana user who consumes the drug less often than once a week is probably not dependent. To cease entirely, this infrequent user usually needs to solve personal problems related to stress, peers, family, interpersonal relations, motivation, self-esteem, or life-style. Persons who use marijuana once a week or more, however, may be addicted, since the secondary compounds remain in the body for several days.

In any case, I think you will not be able to talk him off it, he needs to make the decision himself. The "get a job" part may be more effective, but even with that, you don't want to add to his self-esteem problems and get him into a vicious circle. Be supportive :) ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭DrColossus

thing about hash is that for days after ya smoke it you can be reeeeaaaallllll lazy. i agree with Beruthiel, its just a matter of gettin a job, (although its no easy task by any means) dunno if college would be that good a solution cos well someones always got hash in college!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭TUTS

This might not be good... but oh well, if he likes his hash so much...tell him to get a job so he can get better hash and different kinds of weed. Or even get a part time job to pay for a trip to Amsterdam. Try and use something that will appeal to him.... if hash/weed is the only thing ....so be it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Agent Orange

Call the police and have him arrested. It will force him to face the true nature of his crimes.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Originally posted by Agent Orange
    Call the police and have him arrested. It will force him to face the true nature of his crimes.

A Orange
    please read the CHARTER regarding comments such as these
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

I think hash is a more dangerous drug then people let on. I used to have the odd J with friends who smoked a fair bit but I've given it up completely because I noticed it was completely killing any drive/ambition I had and I hated that ****ed up feeling of not wanting to do anything the next day. I agree hash is not addictive and as soon as I decided I didn't like what it was doing to me I was able to give it up with little effort. On the other hand I've seen several of my friends piss their lives away and their whole focus in life has become skinning up. There's a lot of people such as Ivan who can handle smoking hash with little ill effects and continue to function normally but I think there's also a lot of people out there who really shouldn't be touching hash and its completely ****ing them over. Tomsie's friend seems like a prime candidate to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

I love this "you can't get physically addicted to hash - only mentally" crap. SO WHAT?
    Nicotine is physically out of your system in a very short time (approx 7-10 days) but you try telling a smoker that after a couple of weeks and they'll rip your head off.

I am addicted to hash also, and it's no joke. If I buy some (generally an ounce a time) I CAN NOT avoid smoking it. I CAN NOT control when I smoke it. I CAN NOT keep it for a rainy day. I'll sit and smoke, and smoke, and smoke till it's all gone, and then look for some more. I'm not myself. I cant socialise - I get paranoid with anybody new. I can only smoke around handful of people, which effectivly means I turn my back on my friends and family.

It effects mightn't be as bad as a heroine addiction, but it is an addiction.

Ivan - I spoke like you a few years ago.

Luckly my dealer/friend stopped dealing, so now it's more difficult for me to get, and I don't look for it.

But I know, soon, a friend will be getting some, and I'll order an O, and I will become a hermit for 2 weeks. My work will suffer. My social life will suffer. And I won't be happy.

PS: ever wonder why noone ever says -"(s)he's become such a great person since they took up the drugs!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

Originally posted by Zulu
    I love this "you can't get physically addicted to hash - only mentally" crap. SO WHAT?
    Nicotine is physically out of your system in a very short time (approx 7-10 days) but you try telling a smoker that after a couple of weeks and they'll rip your head off.

I am addicted to hash also, and it's no joke. If I buy some (generally an ounce a time) I CAN NOT avoid smoking it. I CAN NOT control when I smoke it. I CAN NOT keep it for a rainy day. I'll sit and smoke, and smoke, and smoke till it's all gone, and then look for some more. I'm not myself. I cant socialise - I get paranoid with anybody new. I can only smoke around handful of people, which effectivly means I turn my back on my friends and family.

It effects mightn't be as bad as a heroine addiction, but it is an addiction.

Ivan - I spoke like you a few years ago.

Luckly my dealer/friend stopped dealing, so now it's more difficult for me to get, and I don't look for it.

But I know, soon, a friend will be getting some, and I'll order an O, and I will become a hermit for 2 weeks. My work will suffer. My social life will suffer. And I won't be happy.

PS: ever wonder why noone ever says -"(s)he's become such a great person since they took up the drugs!"

Wow sounds like you have issues, if you are so worried/frustrated by your habit why don't you give up? There is plenty of help available to people trying to give up weed/hash/whatever. Why keep using drugs when you obviously aren't enjoying it?

Originally posted by Kone
    Wow sounds like you have issues, if you are so worried/frustrated by your habit why don't you give up? There is plenty of help available to people trying to give up weed/hash/whatever.

I would like to give up, but I can't, thats tends to be one of the problems with an addiction - but thats for the advice. <sarcasm>

There is help available, true. But did it ever strike you that I mightn't want to seek help in order to save embarrasment? Maybe to protect a loved one?? These problems tend to be a little more complex.

Also a point about hash - because the effects tend not to be too drastic, people don't seek help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

There is help available, true. But did it ever strike you that I mightn't want to seek help in order to save embarrasment? Maybe to protect a loved one?? These problems tend to be a little more complex.

And the side effects you describe aren't embarassing/hurting loved ones?

I would like to give up, but I can't, thats tends to be one of the problems with an addiction - but thats for the advice. <sarcasm>

Also a point about hash - because the effects tend not to be too drastic, people don't seek help.

Addication can be overcome Zulu, seek help and you will be amazed! I am not trying to annoy you, I am just trying offer you some points to ponder.

There is no such thing as 'I can't give up' what you really mean to say is 'I won't give up' If you were dedicated to giving up you really could do it!

Give up Pot

So you say you might not want to seek help in case you hurt a loved one?
    Do you think barracading yourself in your room with an O is a good for your loved one?

Is avoiding embarrasment better than living with an addication?

If the effects of addiciton to hash aren't too drastic why do you sound so frustrated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭martarg

Wow sounds like you have issues, if you are so worried/frustrated by your habit why don't you give up? There is plenty of help available to people trying to give up weed/hash/whatever. Why keep using drugs when you obviously aren't enjoying it?

Well, Zulu, you have my support from the distance.... there are many issues in life that cannot be solved simply by knowing theoretically what one ought to do, and so many petty psychological addictions that one cannot get rid of even if they tried, I imagine how much harder it must be with drugs... this is what I meant earlier when I talked about being supportive. You are the one going through the problem, and I don't think we are entitled to scolding or insinuating that you are in that position because you don't want to get out....

That said, if you do want to get out, I think that you need your loved ones' support, and in the end it will be for everyone's good. I am sure they will be more concerned for your welfare than for the news itself. So, it may be difficult, but I would try to gather the courage to tell them... perhaps try to seek help without them knowing, then break it to them gently later on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

if he is spending 40euro a week he is probably going through a little over a quarter (0.25 of an ounce) a week. if he is smoking that alone, it is quite alot. the worst of it from my view point is tht he is smoking alone, doob should be a social experience. just get to cut down and only smoke with other people. also get a job which requires hism to be well presented - this will force him to give up even more.

remember - everything in moderation.

Originally posted by ferdi

remember - everything in moderation.

Wise words Ferdi

Originally posted by BuffyBot
    Not being smart - but no - they're not - because I smoke either on my own - or with a small circle of very close friends I feel comfortable with. the people I try to portect don't know. (I hope)

Look sorry people - I appricate the honesty of your advice, but the reason I've mentioned this is to highlight that hash IS addivtive, (mental addiction is arguably worse that physical addiction) not to seek advice.

I haven't bougth hash in months - but luckly I'm not niaeve enough to say either "I'm not addicted" or that "I've beaten the addiction". I want to offer a counter to all the "hash isn't addictive" comments because I genuinely believed that when I started smoking years ago. Now I'm a little wiser.

Yes Hash is addictive, psychologically addictive, so are chocolates, the internet, beer, curries and porn, etc, etc ,etc.

Different strokes for different folks

Some people are more likely to become addicted to substances (whatever they may be) than others. Some people are just born with an addictive personality.

I have to disagree with your comment that "mental addiction is arguably worse that physical addiction"
    If you had ever witnessed someone going through withdrawl from an opiate or heavy anti-depressant you would understand. You must remember that after the initial physical withdrawl comes the mental pain, the 2 are linked, so physical addiction is really 'physical and mental addication' whereas mental addiction is simply 'mental addication'

I wish you all the best,

/Kone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

I'm failing to see where the problem is,

are you blaming hash for him being jobless?

40 euro a week? so he smokes a half ounce a week that's not really alot.

alot of people would smoke that in one smoke up.

it sounds like he probably has alot more problems, or has none at all.

i don't see a personal issue here at all.

/skins up

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Oh please, what a total cop-out.

If you REALLY wanted to give up, you could quite easily. The simple fact is, on some base level, you clearly dont want to.

I can stop smoking hash any time I want and have done on a number of occasions.

Perhaps you are an exception but this means not everyone who smokes will go through the same things as you.

Personally I only really smoke with friends. The thoughts of staying at home on my own smoking a quarter is depressing, to be totally honest.

That said, we have gone through Ounces in one night.

As it is, I would smoke everyday after I came home from work, but the simple truth is that I cant do that because the cheap, crappy, low grade hash we get over here prevents me from doing that. I cant smoke the night before work because I wont feel 100% the next day for work and would have a seriously shítty day.

That said, if I could get grass over here on a regular basis, I wouldnt have that problem.

People have been smoking hash, in one of its many forms, for thousands of years and no civilisation has fallen because of it. Hash doesnt suppress your ambition, however chances are if you start smoking in the first place, you didnt really have much ambition in the first place. This is mainly due to the sterotypical hash user and hence, the type of person you probably are in order to come into contact with it.

I dont know, this is the type of argument/conversation that can be carried around in circles over and over again. Its extremely difficult to convince people to change their minds, on both sides of the argument.

As for :
    http://alcohol-drug-treatment.net/marijuana.html

This comes from the government who said that Hash drives people insane, suppresses their ability to control themselves, leaving them intoxicated and liable to commit heinous crimes. While, ultimately, leading to heroin addiction.

Give me a bloody break.

As yet the only clinical trials of marijuana, that I know of, proved that none of the United states governments related symptoms of hash use were true at all.

The only effects reported were a slight hunger, a euphoria and mild drowsiness. The same symptoms its users have reported for centuries.

Its too bad its illegal to purchase hash at all, even for scientific studies. Perhaps otherwise we might have had it legalised years ago.

Sorry for seemingly dragging the thread off topic, but I've already answered the original poster with my opinion and now I'm re-addressing the other posters :ninja:

Originally posted by Emboss
    I'm failing to see where the problem is,

are you blaming hash for him being jobless?

40 euro a week? so he smokes a half ounce a week that's not really alot.

alot of people would smoke that in one smoke up.

it sounds like he probably has alot more problems, or has none at all.

i don't see a personal issue here at all.

/skins up

first off, pm me NOW and tell me where you get €40 halves and secondly, you think it is ok for people to smoke a half alone in one sitting?????:eek:

please invite me to the parties you go to........seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Tbh i have friends in MUCH worse situations - going through an ounce or so a week at least. but then again he was generous and spread it around at peanuts at times :)

Tbh different people react differently mentally to hash and weed.

some (like myself) after an initial bout of a year or so dying to get wasted can now take it or leave it. like i could smoke that much in a week myself...but the next week i'd probably just go "**** it, not arsed."

Others get truly hooked on it because it fills time. they'll crave after the stuff for days on end when they cant get it and lie on the floor for the days when they do. it just depends on mental attitude to stuff really.

The best thing to do is find things to tempt your mate out from getting stoned all the time...at least then he might get stoned doing productive stuff :)

I'd just like to post this in case some users are unsure about what they are actually smoking.

A large majority of the hash sold in Dublin is Soapbar, it's not hash, it has a very low % of THC and it is literally TOXIC!

Beware! Some dealers may try to pass soapbar off as pollem, be careful.

Cannabis Ireland

DANGER - Soapbar - DANGER

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

huh.. i'd be damned surprised if 1/10th of what I smoked wasn't soabar hash

bleh, god damn country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Originally posted by ferdi
    first off, pm me NOW and tell me where you get €40 halves
    ehhh careful now, this isn't a forum for finding the cheapest briquettes in Ireland.

Originally posted by Gordon
    ehhh careful now, this isn't a forum for finding the cheapest briquettes in Ireland.

and for €40 a half, briquettes is exactly what you would be getting! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Ryo Hazuki

I love a big cone in the morning before school.

Another 1 at 1:00pm, and about 10 later on. Everyday.

Dont you just love the smell of dope....

Easily go through an ounce a week...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭The Brigadier

He is in a better situation than getting pissed all week.

Originally posted by Ryo Hazuki
    I love a big cone in the morning before school.

Another 1 at 1:00pm, and about 10 later on. Everyday.

Dont you just love the smell of dope....

Easily go through an ounce a week...

amen brother amen.....

Originally posted by Ivan
    Oh please, what a total cop-out.
    If you REALLY wanted to give up, you could quite easily.
    Wow, you've just sorted out every addicts problem. You're a genious.
    "Oh please give me a break", these kind of comments aren't helpful to anyone.
    The simple fact is, on some base level, you clearly dont want to.
    Very good - the first phycologist to give an opinion based on under 5 posts. Of course you've already decided that you completely understand my/others situation. Remarkable. :rolleyes:
    I can stop smoking hash any time I want and have done on a number of occasions.
    Good for you. I never suggested you were addicted.
    Personally I only really smoke with friends. The thoughts of staying at home on my own smoking a quarter is depressing, to be totally honest.
    It's depressing for me also (this is about the only point I'll agree with), hence it's a problem.
    People have been smoking hash, in one of its many forms, for thousands of years and no civilisation has fallen because of it.
    What a FANTASTIC point! :rolleyes:
    People have been drinking for thousands of years also and no civilisation has fallen because of that either. Are you suggesting that drink isn't a problem to alcholics?

Look - I am NOT saying hash is bad. I am NOT saying don't smoke. I am just saying it is addictive, and people should be aware of the problems it may cause them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Lainey

i know plenty of people who smoke hash every day.. and whether it is a habit or not for them, except when they are severely fried, they are just fine..
    i agree that alcohol has a worse effect if only on the surrounding people..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 TOMSIE

mabeye i wrong here i have only done grass once and it didnt affect me but i wasted a whole day doing it and i think to myself what a boring and unproductive life it leaves just sitting around all day smoking and rolling.

But i remeber my friend telling me a few years ago that hash wasnt addicitive at all. And now he's changed his tune saying he's addictive and his goal is to give it up while rolling a joint at the same time, So i think the moral of the story is that some people can get addicted to hash.

Lets not forget that hash is a drain on you on your money 40 or 50 euro out of the doal is alot of money how much better could he be spending it. And i dont think he can me arsed to get a job weed might have a influence there. Personally even though i mightnt be as bad as alchol abusive i still think it a bad thing if your doing it every day and your better off without it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

There is nothing like a waterfall in the morning....

I had a lot of friends that were/are addicted to the stuff, the only time that they could cut back was when they couldnt get it...

The easiest way to cut back is stop buying, the money that is set aside for it...save it to a holiday, new clothes, new PVC get up...whatever

The biggest problem with that is that a lot of friends may still smoke it and call over and offer...A new job with long hours and few days off can really stop any recreational activity, just keep thinking about the monies.

An old friend of mine said that moving to greener pastures was the easiest way he gave up the stuff, he just got up and left, found a job in England and moved over there, he said he was forced to give up due to the lack of finding dealers and not knowing many people. When he got settled properly and made new friends it was easy for him to refuse any offers after 2 months of being clean, then he moved to South Africa and got into a lot worse but you get the point....

BTW - I'm clean and have been for a long time, I dont find it hard to give up anything - CS - Quake & John player are my little joys ;)

christ all mighty

i don't belive i've read so much bull in a thread in a long time.

the guy enjoys a few tokes...so fecking what?

i smoked an ounce and sometimes two a week for nearly 6 years straight rarley missing a day where i didn't smoke, one day i cut it out that was it no more.

no withdrawl symptoms no "oh i'd love a joint"

i just happen to enjoy it the same way i enjoy a glass of oj in the morning, i'm not addicted to orange juice i just happen to like it!

where is this guys issue? he doesn't have one

it's a sad day when someone can't enjoy a few blows without some nit wit calling him a drug addict...

cop the f*ck on lads...

I agree with your points Emboss but I still have to say

SAY NO TO SOAP!

<vote quimby!>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭claire h

>> I have a friend of mine who is addicted to hash.
    Is there anything i can do to help him. He is about 23 and out of
    work and spends around 40 euros a week on hash. I thought mabeye
    if i suggested to him to read this thread i might help him or you might have
    stories of how yourve beat pot. Or should i do nothing and hope he gets a job
    and sorts himself out. <<

It's not your responsibility, in all fairness, to "sort him out". If he's happy, let him be. If he does want to give it up, that's when it's time for you to offer advice. And I wouldn't throw words like 'addicted to' around him, seeing as it'll come off as really judgemental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

I was addicted to bananna skins once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 TOMSIE

Dont think people have read my second post he says himself he's addicted and wants to give it up but cant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

i have two mates like this, haven't done much in the past few years cept smoke and watch daytime tv.
    tbh it's having no adverse affects on them, and i'd love to have that kind of lifestyle myself. they'll grow out of it when they realise they cant live on the dole forever. neither of them are sure what they want right now, and in fairness i can see myself doing something similar for a while when i finish college. im not interested in the rat race and working myself to the bone so i can be ripped off when buying a car or a house. what the **** is the problem with enjoying life?

i mean fair enough this guy is sick of it and doesn't want to smoke like that anymore but cant seem to get out of the rut. however i dislike the implications that all people who smoke are addicted and wasters etc.
    get him off his ass bit by bit. spend one day just sorting out his cv, organising references etc. ask him what he's interested in, where he wants to go.
    spend another day just looking on the web and researching jobs, you cant expect him to walk out the door one day and get a job, and he clearly doesn't have the motivation himself. when he has to get up in the morning he'll be less likely to spend all night smoking. give him a hand, he'll need it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

Originally posted by Seraphina
    i have two mates like this, haven't done much in the past few years cept smoke and watch daytime tv.....

They truly are, kings of men!

Yeah it all depends on where your at in life , like iof you got kids and job and stuff you should stay well away from drugs (and drink) caus they don't really help the family unit.

From my experience if your in dublin and got to one of thosae schoolls like institute or ashfield (more so ashfield) there is aalot of people who do allot of drugs and when i look at them after the few years there, I see them as friends but alot of people have little self control, and a fair few of the people didn't stop at hash. But of about 50 or so regular smokers, about 30 where doin yokes a good bit, and about 15 were treatin there nose by the time they left school.

so moral of the story is, if your goin to do drugs:
    1 - know you limits
    2 - prioritise between life and drugs
    3 - don't get ropped in by friends, it has to be a personal decision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

Get him something to do in the day. It's a right bitch starting off without rolling one at some point, and because of the illegality of doing that anywhere it becomes a right pain in the ass and time killer as you've gotta go to specific safe places to do it. But once over that, the work during the day should kill most of the time he'd spend smoking. Also if he smokes more he'd probably be a bit more active (only smoking a little bit is only likely to really put you into a lazy downer) and more likely to get his act together at first. plus that'd mean he'd use it up quicker and would have days without any.

Myself, I smoke a fair bit (and tbh neil, if it was me you're talking about I've only done that a rare few times), but that's because I'm on a year off before college (which I'm quite looking forward to next year) and in a pretty weird place as regards my unemployment (too long to explain).

I've already decided that as soon as I get a job / go to college, my smoking cuts down. I'll have to go to college and do course work + possibly work. I simply won't have time for smoking as much. Probably will smoke a fair bit, but that'll be when it won't be affecting my work. I do find that the whole tobacco in the joints thing must play a big part in my smoking habits cause I tend to smoke the odd one just because I want that lil kill to the ol' cravings - a la cigarettes (and I don't smoke em).

But yeah, I've prepared mentally for when the time comes to quit it completely (and I'm almost sure there'll come a time in my life when it just won't have a place in my week). It's sorta like wanting to ride the high till it becomes a downer and then hop off. Take it as far as it's useful.

Back on the original point again, your friend should probably just come to accept that it's just not doing him any good. That it's just not inspiring him at all. Perhaps he just needs a break to get back to why it was fun, but if so then he's gonna wonder if it's as great as it was. Especially seeing how much more of life he experiences when sober and not hiding away somewhere skinning up with a few other bored mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Ryo Hazuki

I was addicted to bananna skins once

lol, good point there.

Good ould buzz when you smoke the dried inside stuff.

• Site Banned Posts: 197 ✭✭Wolfie

Originally posted by Kone

Hmmm.. this reminds me of the legendary drugs debate, wherein you and others refused to accept the possibility that one can become addicted to hash at all. Interesting how your opinion has changed! :)

Its good that you admit drugs are bad. Welcoime to mature and responsible society mate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭MoosemaN

NooOoo Wolfie is back :D

Nobody has ever said that to much of anything is good for you wolfie..

What I think it is:

Everything is a fight against being bored. A simple fact of life :)

Cannabis kills the bordom very effectivly. I myself smoke more in Ireland than I did in Holland just because it is to grey here and I do not like to drink beer every night.

However recently I only smoke on weekends as I get tired the morning after, and that affects my work.

Some people can handle smoking everyday some can't. It could take sometime before he/she figures this out.

Originally posted by Wolfie
    Its good that you admit drugs are bad. Welcoime to mature and responsible society mate!

i hope to god i never entre that society.

abuse of drugs - bad.
    drugs - not great but not terrible.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

yeah, penicillin is a crutch!