Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People i hate at Rock concerts/gigs

• 10-04-2004 1:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭

#1: The guy who thinks that simply because a girl is beside him in the crowd takes it upon himself to 'chat her up' and doesn't take it from the one-word responces that she's not interested!

#2: The Encouragement-Guy; this guy goes out of his way and misses some of the concert(!) by trying to engender his enthusiasm for the band, usually happens when a filler song is on, because he knows it's $hite too.

#3: The 'come-up-the-front' vocalists; these f*cks hassle the crowd to come up to the 'front' of the audience and lamblast them if they don't, hey i payed in here, hassle people on the street for not 'supporting the scene'. If your music isn't groovy/good enough don't blame me/us.

#4: People who can't mosh with proper respect - i know it's probably been a laboured point on these boards - in fact i hate most/all moshers but i let them mosh. Also crowdsurfers, same story.

#5: People, who, even if they're the same height or smaller than me, somehow have a massive head blocking the view.

#6: People who come late for the headliners and rush to the front all sweaty and disgusting.

#7: Eternally drifting group of hand-holding girls during the entire concert!

#8: The girlfriend all dressed up in 'rocker-gear' but you know she hates rock music and is only going because of her boyfriend.

#9: Over-protective/bearing boyfriend clasping his girlfriend from behind - some of the times it's ok, not when you see the look on their faces sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Originally posted by colincarnate
    [B
    #8: The girlfriend all dressed up in 'rocker-gear' but you know she hates rock music and is only going because of her boyfriend.

#9: Over-protective/bearing boyfriend clasping his girlfriend from behind - some of the times it's ok, not when you see the look on their faces sometimes. [/B]

oh, you gotta hate em.

proper moshing is a delight tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 danemac

Originally posted by ferdi
    oh, you gotta hate em.

proper moshing is a delight tho

U seen to be the sort of person how worrys about everyone esle and therefore misses out on watching the gig
    ww) ww) ww)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭colincarnate

Originally posted by danemac
    U seen to be the sort of person how worrys about everyone esle and therefore misses out on watching the gig
    ww) ww) ww)

i presume you're talking to me, but yeah, i only really involve myself with this hatred when the band is boring, which a lot of rock bands are. sometimes at good bands it's so in my face i have to take a minute to them, note it in my skull, and then ignore them and have a good time. you got me though, i over think sometimes at gigs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Brian Houlihan

I agree with the moshing thing, but mostly the people I have been in pits will pick you up if you fall.

I don't like the jerks who arrive late and push themselves to the front saying they got vip passes or some ****e.

Originally posted by Brian Houlihan
    saying they got vip passes or some ****e.

i'd even like a little excuse like that, never heard that though, usually it's some 30 year old culchie with sweat rolling down his $hite child-like tattoos on his back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭j0e9o

the worst thing is when theres a cowrd surfer coming behind u have no idea and then next think *WACK* a gr8 big boot to the back of the head very annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭j0e9o

i'd even like a little excuse like that, never heard that though, usually it's some 30 year old culchie with sweat rolling down his $hite child-like tattoos on his back...

i feel the love

Originally posted by thomasmckinless
    i feel the love

I've got a lot of hate to give... i just don't know how to show it :D:D:D

in fairness i sound fairly harsh alright, but i think it's funny these observations on these idiots - who nearly ruin concerts for me... like being offered drugs during the best concert i've been too ticks me off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

ooh, no .. drugs... evil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Kurdt

you're always gonna find people you don't like at gigs (in fact you'll find them everywhere you go) learn to ignore them and enjoy the music, join a yoga class or sumat!

or the best way to deal with them... kick them! they don't usually like that!

personally i hate people that get really really pissed... its such a waste! i don't usually drink at gigs coz its much better waking up without a hangover and remembering the gig...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

the worst thing is when theres a cowrd surfer coming behind u have no idea and then next think *WACK* a gr8 big boot to the back of the head very annoying

Yup. And if you want to keep the contents of your pockets, crowd surfing is a bad plan.

People how push desperately to the front are also incredibly annoying, especially when they're behind you. The solution is to start some moshing :)

Moshing can be taken too far though, especially when some dipshít thinks its a fight and starts punching people. Not on at all.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

a) Off-Tune Loon - Fella who thinks just because the band have the volume turned up to 11 he can get awaying with 'singing' (and I use the term loosley) every single lyric to every song without embarrasing himself. He doesn't realise that whilst he can't hear himself singing everyone else within 10ft of his gob can hear this idiot shouting his mostly incorrect and always off-key lyrics in their earholes. Funny for about 2 minutes, painful after 90.

b) Microphone Head - Similar to #6 except it involves dickheads with giant Jack Osbourne permed afros standing in front of you. Worst part about these are they always come in pairs (for moral support due to their ridiculous appearance?).

c) Short Arse Sheila - Any girl under 5'2'' whose lack of manners is surpassed only by her lack of height. S.A.S. MUST get to the front of the crowd but has already decided that you're not going to facilitate this desire and as such has already resorted to elbows instead of 'excuse me's'. SAS doesn't realised that if she'd simply tap you and ask you to move so she could get closer to the front you'd glady assist - but instead but she has to take onto herself to bodycharge and elbow everyone in her way until she is 2 feet from the stage. Quite laughable watching them get all hot and bothered trying to push people a foot taller than them when a simple word in their ears would have been more effective.

d) Mr. MyRound - The genius in Whelans/TBMC/wherever who waits until exactly 5 minutes AFTER the headline act has started playing before deciding that he SIMPLY MUST now get a round in for he and his 8 friends. 15 minutes spent barging past everyone to get out of the floor area is followed by another 20 getting the drinks and finally 30 minutes of dextrous balancing in order to get back to the table. Could only happen in Ireland!

e) Scenester - The guy who has never even heard the band he here to see - but has at least made sure to memorise the tracklisting off the headline bands last LP in order to have something to talk about with his colleagues. Easy to spot cos he's dead quiet for 80+ minutes and the loudest person in the place when 'Radio Friendly Pop Hit #6' is played. Usually comes out with comments like 'Wow! I didn't realise that was one of theirs!'

f) Darragh Purcell - nuff said really. I'd like to hang his scrawny chicken neck with that scarf of his.

//

Type (c) (d) are usually met with violence such as a kick or dig. Category (f) doubly so.

all classics Pigman II
    another peeve of mine, which i kinda find funny is when i'm near the front/mosh pit and there's crushing going down, which i don't mind. but i find the skinny girls who are getting crushed and no doubt about it crushed - stick with it as not to be ikkle girls about it. also i despise the girls who double their efforts in the mosh pit to chalk one up for the 'girls team'
    then you get the loathsome creatins who say: "sure would you look at some of the girls in the mosh pit, they're harder than the blokes in there, fair play." - yeah right they're all being destroyed in there pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by Pigman II

f) Darragh Purcell - nuff said really. I'd like to hang his scrawny chicken neck with that scarf of his.

Wow...I haven't seen that guy in so long! He's not on tv anymore...what's he at?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Little "hard men" in the mosh pit that keep bitching about my elbows "being too high" only because they are too small and cant stand the fact that they are being beaten round the pit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

People who have absolutly no respect for the support act and talk loudly during their set right in the middle of the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Lol. How true it is! And they always need to come between you and your friends while they're drifting around!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Originally posted by thomasmckinless
    Originally posted by civilian_target
    Moshing can be taken too far though, especially when some dipshít thinks its a fight and starts punching people. Not on at all.....
    Originally posted by civilian_target
    People who have absolutly no respect for the support act and talk loudly during their set right in the middle of the crowd.

Agree with all these. As regards the second one, there seems to be this guy I see at every single gig in TBMC. A tall guy with a beard and longish hair....he's picking a fight in the pit every time. He picks out the smaller people in there and starts throwin boxes at them. I saw him leave by the side with this big guy at The dropkick Murphy's gig....I'd say he got the livin shíte kicked outta him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭nesthead

i cant understand why anybody moshes unless the music is ****e and its just a load of blast-beats. i cant listen to or (more particularly) watch the band onstage while moshing. its such a macho load of shiit anyway and ruins gigs for many people.

the people i hate the most are the cockrocker jocks, who are more hardcore than you cause they mosh and punch the whole gig. there was so many of them at metallica and slayer(ozzfest). dunno about tatoo the planet but with the proposed bill of pantera, slayer and sepultura im sure it was chock full of them.
    many of these people are only really into really mainstream metal but think theyre in a totally underground scene but have no clue about music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

The teeny boppers.

The Iron Maiden gig in dublin was full of the little gits. I have nothing against young kids listening to good music, quite the opposite, but what annoyed me most was the fact that they filled every available gap due to their small size. There was no way I could move for the entire gig, and even breathing was hard because of these teeny little things filling in gaps that would have stayed empty with enough adults around...

No respect for the old classics, either. Some of them seemed to be looking at me for approval, as if they were worried they weren't making that devilfinger.gif sign properly, or they weren't screaming exactly the right things...:dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Originally posted by nesthead
    the people i hate the most are the cockrocker jocks, who are more hardcore than you cause they mosh and punch the whole gig. there was so many of them at metallica and slayer(ozzfest). dunno about tatoo the planet but with the proposed bill of pantera, slayer and sepultura im sure it was chock full of them.
    many of these people are only really into really mainstream metal but think theyre in a totally underground scene but have no clue about music.

:D Nicely put!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭NightStrike

I don't like people who start kissing/shifting/whatever in the pit. I mean for god sake there's a time and a place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rob1891

fucking asshole standing to my left, behind my ear, shouting, cursing, moaing, 'bollox', 'shoite', 'blah-fucking-blah'. Not loud enough to travel to the stage, cowardly. Why is this cunt here? Paying €25 to see a band he obviously doesn't like. Distracting me with every piss ignorant comment he makes, jesus, by the end of it I want to slit is fucking throat.

ahem ... yeah, hecklers are bad. :)

These quiet ones I think are the worst, they haven't the balls to announce their discontent to the entire crowd and band 'cause if they did someone would shut them up. Instead they stand there muttering gig-long and throughly ruining the experience for anyone within earshot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

#1: The guy who thinks that simply because a girl is beside him in the crowd takes it upon himself to 'chat her up' and doesn't take it from the one-word responces that she's not interested!

#2: The Encouragement-Guy; this guy goes out of his way and misses some of the concert(!) by trying to engender his enthusiasm for the band, usually happens when a filler song is on, because he knows it's $hite too.

#3: The 'come-up-the-front' vocalists; these f*cks hassle the crowd to come up to the 'front' of the audience and lamblast them if they don't, hey i payed in here, hassle people on the street for not 'supporting the scene'. If your music isn't groovy/good enough don't blame me/us.

#4: People who can't mosh with proper respect - i know it's probably been a laboured point on these boards - in fact i hate most/all moshers but i let them mosh. Also crowdsurfers, same story.

#5: People, who, even if they're the same height or smaller than me, somehow have a massive head blocking the view.

#6: People who come late for the headliners and rush to the front all sweaty and disgusting.

#9: Over-protective/bearing boyfriend clasping his girlfriend from behind - some of the times it's ok, not when you see the look on their faces sometimes.

#1: People Like You.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

The hidiously large mongo:
    Out of nowhere comes the most freakisly gigantic heap of a man (7-foot-tall), and he decides he wants to stand infront of YOU for the rest of the performance.
    You spend the next hour with your face stuffed into the back of his armpit thanking God that he put on deoderant.
    You'd think someone so tall could see everything from the back of this small venue, but oh no, he has to barge his way to stand in the very front.

Really screwed up Frank Black @ Vicar St. for me.
    So if you're out there giant ginger mongo - eat sh*t.

Originally posted by SantaHoe
    The hidiously large mongo:
    Out of nowhere comes the most freakisly gigantic heap of a man (7-foot-tall), and he decides he wants to stand infront of YOU for the rest of the performance.
    You spend the next hour with your face stuffed into the back of his armpit thanking God that he put on deoderant.
    You'd think someone so tall could see everything from the back of this small venue, but oh no, he has to barge his way to stand in the very front.

Thats me! Screw you, ya Short Arsé Sheila (see pg. 1), I was made tall and I want to see the band. If you want to go in front of me, ask, I know I'm tall and I'll let you go in front if you put the elbows down and ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

I haven't got too much against crowd surfers until they somehow find their way over to you and crush you or you get a boot to the head.....I hate moshers tbh...at Slane I was stuck between three mosh pits, and then the security guards come and if you get pushed into the pit they'll take you out regardless etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

GROPERS - guys who think because you're female and it's squashed and crowded that they can get away with feeling you up because you're standing in front of/beside them/ crowdsurfing over them.

Originally posted by Civilian_Target
    Thats me! Screw you, ya Short Arsé Sheila (see pg. 1), I was made tall and I want to see the band.
    I'm not short, I'm of average height or above.
    If you want to go in front of me, ask
    This giant mongo actually pushed his way into the front, without asking I might add.
    This wasn't just bad luck on my part, I had a great view between the heads of all the other normal people... then this freaky mutant feels he needs to get closer because he can't see well enough, what an inconsiderate arse.
    They should have the bouncers put all the gigantism suffering freaks at the back, or make a special cage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Originally posted by Sarky
    There was no way I could move for the entire gig, and even breathing was hard....
    It was ridiculious that there was no seperate pit at that gig. You had everyone in the ****ing place trying to push forward, and injured, dehydrated people not wanting go out for a rest for fear of losing their spot at the front of the gig; which they had queued for hours for.
    Originally posted by Seraphina
    GROPERS - guys who think because you're female and it's squashed and crowded that they can get away with feeling you up because you're standing in front of/beside them/ crowdsurfing over them.
    This happens to guys too, although probably less often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭chewy

people who follow the band around and go to all their concerts and therefore are more important/worthy than you, for air, space or band knowledge...

again boyfriends who shift their girlfriends right in your face...

people who think its okay to hang onto the back of your shirt, or put there hand on your shoulder for long periods when the crowds swelling, or to gain leverage when jumping to the music

the fella in front of you who takes off his shirts in a tight crowd

(not exactly hate) anyone who styles their hair clothes the xact same as the band...

was at hothouse flowers ages ago and all these women were swooning up the front for yerman liam o'manlain (or whatever his names is)

girls who if you accidently bump into them think your molesting them... ;)

older/ smaller women who know they won't be able to handle the crush who go to the front and then have to leave in the middle of the first song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Originally posted by Karl Hungus
    #1: People Like You.

/me applauds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

The ****3r who stands on your feet repeatedly, even though your 5 metres away from a mosh pit, and no one else is moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Glad to see someone mentioning the prat who takes off his shirt in the crowd. Especially bad if it is jam-packed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

Twats who taunt the support act and assault them with missles. after the last metallica concert i lost all faith in the irish rocker scene.

and they moan about the fact that people call them scum.this just proves peoples points.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭LightofDarkness

My 2 cents....

Many of you seem to loathe the pit experience. You complain about just about everything including moshing. You know, there's another area (or 2) in concerts where you might feel more at home. And it ain't the pit.

The pit is really there for people who want to go that little bit more nuts for their favourite band (moshing, surfing, thrash dancing). And it's only fair that they be allowed to do that in a place designed for them and that purpose, without being scrutinised. The only other group who should want to be in the pit are those who feel the absolute need or yearning to be at the front row. I'm ALWAYS in the pit and I sometimes feel like being up the front. So, like any rationally thinking man, I queued from 4:30 am for Metallica and 9:30 am for Maiden. And guess what: I was one the first up the front.Front row center for the 'tallica and a little more to the left for Maiden.

If you'll notice moshing/surfing/all the crazy **** isn't permitted in the rest of the concert. Just the pit. Because that's why it's there. So guess what people do in there?

i hate those bastards on stage.

oh, and i got pit passes at the metallica gig.. but I walked in around 6-7 o clock I think, after a few leisurely pints in the pub 'cross the road and just got handed them a few minutes after I walked in, thanks to mystic_fybrosis :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭markomac316

ive only ever been to two rock gigs in my life, Slipknot and Muse and they were great. All them things you said to me just made the experience better it seemed like a proper rock gig. I loved the pitt in both gigs was fantastic.

If a big guy barges is way infront of you, you barge infront of him, im sure he/SHE wont mind if he/she is taller than most people there.

"it seemed like a proper rock gig"

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭chewy

the guy who, in slane, cos he can't be bothered going to find the portaloos takes out his lad and pisses where he stands in a shoulder to shoulder crowd of 80,000

Originally posted by chewy
    the guy who, in slane, cos he can't be bothered going to find the portaloos takes out his lad and pisses where he stands in a shoulder to shoulder crowd of 80,000

lol! Now *THATS* something to compain about.

And as for you Santahoe, either eat more carrots or learn to be a bit more pushy. If there's a giant put in front of you and he ignores your asking, push. He probably can' hear you, since you're so near the ground :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

forgot tbh.......that pretty much summarizes what I really hate about big crowds.....Slane was full of such ppl :dunno:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Shona

I hate the guy with long greasy hair infront of you who keeps headbangin and you get mingin hair in your face, ewww! Or you accidently touch his back and his shirt is soaked with sweat!!!:dunno:

then move away frm the crowd, apply a little bit of anti-perspirant deodarant.. touch up your make up and GO FREAKIN NUTS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Shona

I hated me at Slane last year, i decided to wear flip-flops, what kind of dumbass summer loving notion was that....very painfull feet....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

9:30 am for Maiden. And guess what: I was one the first up the front.Front row center for the 'tallica and a little more to the left for Maiden.

I walked into the point at around 7:20, and was at the front and slighty to the left for Maiden. i probably seen you there :D

There was this woman at Iron Maiden that was so completely off her tits on drugs and she was stumbling about and falling into people. it was quite annoying, because she was using poeople for support when they obviously didnt want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

The twat at Muse who, when you tell him to stop elbowing you in the back so he can get front row instead of you says "Stop complaining. Have you ever been to a gig before? If you don't like it you can always leave"

He doesn't understand that yes, the moshing at Muse was moderate, but people digging their elbows into your spine is not normal, pleasant or something only a "never-been-to-a-gig-before" would complain about. Hate those guys.

Oh and the two girls who kept arguing with each other at Slane "stop banging into me, bitch!".

And finally, and most unpleasantly, the security guards, too short to get into the real police who go on a power-trip and insist on standing in front of you on their little barrier-stands and keep threatening to throw you out for being pushed up against said barrier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The off his head scumbag asleep face down in the mud, celtic shirt tied around his bare waist "proudly" displaying tatoos that look like a five year olds crayon drawings...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

the cockrockers who think they know more about music than everyone else because they dress in black, have long hair and leather coats and go around talking in pseudo american accents.

Originally posted by Civilian_Target
    He probably can' hear you, since you're so near the ground
    Yeah I tried tugging at his sock, but he almost stood on me, so I climbed into his shirt pocket instead.
    But just so you've got a better picture - I'm 5'11 he was about 7'4 - he could have gotten down on his knees and still been able to see over other people.
    I was mashed into his back and when he started jumping, I could feel his big fat arse rubbing against my stomach... really disturbing :(
    Next time I'm just gonna pay the extra 10 euro for a seat on the upper deck... too bloody distracting trying to keep your spot all the time.