Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bans

• 23-03-2004 4:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭

Jaysus lads, lighten up would ye?

Intervarsity archery by its nature is mostly about having a bit of fun. Obviously this boards main purpose is to discuss intervarsity archery, but ya gotta remember that a fair proportion of intervarsity archery is about having fun... Yeah, even the infallible me had to learn this one, an intervarsity competition aint as serious as say your standard IAAA shoot... banning someone for talking a bit or crap on this forum is like disqualifying someone at an intervarsity for not having their initials on their fletches or not wearing whites....

Regards

Ewan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭mr potato head

most (i stress most) aren't really posting crap/spam.... well not much anyhow.
    you now the meaning of our posts (even the ones that look that way at fitst glance) and and u know that they are just a bit of craic...
    we're all on a bit of a high after a good laugh of a w/e and that wasn't just the archery the social side of things too...
    its a you had to be there situation... and it was all archers who were there.

Madrab for President...

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Originally posted by Renegade_Archer
    banning someone for talking a bit or crap on this forum is like disqualifying someone at an intervarsity for not having their initials on their fletches or not wearing whites....
    Only one ban, and that was for the equivalent of showing up at an intervarsity without a bow and kicking a football around the targets. IMHO.

If anyone has an issue with the charter, say so and we'll discuss it. In the meantime, anyone who has an issue with the moderation should PM the moderator or discuss it on the Admin board, as the charter says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

the people have spoken

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

There will be no more spamming.

It will not be tolerated.

Having fun and a laugh is perfectly fine but posting pure crap isn't.

This board is a privaledge not a right.

If you have a problem talk to the boards.ie admins. You can deal with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 The Sin

I've been a silent reader for a while & now I shall have my say. Firstly your last comment about taking it up with the administrators is needless as it's already been done, and secondly you can't latch on to the whole spamming argument as they've already admitted guilt in this area, apologised and explained where they were coming from.

And come on it's not like you've never been guilty of bitching particular individuals and groups on this board before is it? There are rules against this as stated in the charter!!

"No flaming, trolling or PERSONAL ABUSE"

And here comes the evidence boys....

"Apologies to any who attended and weren't from DIT. (It's not fair to apologise to people who score scores like that.)"

"My personal opinion is that if DIT win all this year I'll not be very fond of IV competition. It will be simply boring. I'd be more interested on a 1-1 competition with every college other than DIT! Or quite simply we'd completely ignore the DIT team score and whoever came 2nd would be a truer winner."

I know this doesn't seem too bad but all your messages regarding DIT seem to have a very anti-DIT tone, which isn't present when you mention other colleges. Here's a little example of your double standards. When discussing our possible recruitment of a certain archer......

"I for one am very unhappy with this situation, unless of course Keith changes his mind and starts to shoot for DCU"

I just didn't think this bias was appropriate for a moderator. Disagree if you wish, it is a discussion board after all.

Bias??

Who am I biased against? DIT? What have I done? Deleted all your posts? Banned all your members?

I've done nothing of the sort. I've banned noone. I deleted the spam because it was that, spam.

None of that is personal abuse. That is me expressing my unhappiness at the strength of the DIT team.

So what?

I don't even know why I'm wasting my time. I don't owe you or anyone else here an explanation for all the acts which I have not even committeed.

Woah!!!
    Why the massive reaction? I never accused you of banning anyone or of deleting a single thing, I merely commented on your posts, which I've been meaning to do for a while!!! As I've already said they have a very consistent tone......

Massive reaction is because of the timing of your posting.

Does it really matter what I think of DIT in all fairness?

They're the best team out there. I know it, we all do.

I'm always the one saying that they're almost good enough to shoot internationally (as a team)-I realise some have already done so-and more when Keith joins ye.

If I appear to be biased against DIT users then there's a problem. But my opinions have in no way affected my judgement here, at all.

Baggins if you're so eager to get me out of being moderator then you can set yourself up a nice little poll. Lets the archers decide.

What the hell do I care.

Look Podge as far as I'm concerned you're welcome to be moderator, I just don't like my team being abused, when all they do is do their best. Of course you're entitled to your opinion but after making comments like you have there's no use sayin "oh we all know they're the best" if you're just saying it to shut me up. Just leave the lads alone the majority have been shooting no more than 2 years & they don't deserve sour grapes.

I don't post to shut people up.

You can either accept what I've said or not.

I've really had enough abuse from DIT people for one day. In fact I've had enough abuse from DIT people full stop.

DIT have the team and the skill that we all aim for. DIT set the bar and most of the rest of us aim for that.

For a lot of us that bar is out of reach but c'est la vie.

And in all fairness the vast majority of your team have been shooting for many years and have had the advantages of coaching there along the way through the schools competition.

Good for them. We've only finally gotten ourselves a coach whereas ye have such an amount of experience already there that ye can coach people properly. That advantage is there. I'd want that for every club out there if it was possible. A coach is a very vital part of a team and keeps beginners from getting into bad habits (hopefully). It has taken us 2 years to get a coach and even at that I don't know how long that'll last. But in the meantime it'll do us good.

I'm sorry but simple addition will tell you that 3 people out of a club with over 80 members does not constitute "the vast majority".

Also we've recieved various amounts of coaching over the years but NONE of us have a full time or professional coach, unless you're trying to call me one, which I certainly am not!!

And finally before I retire for the evening I would like to clarify that I never told you to shut up, in fact I invited a response and stated that you were entitled to your own opinion. Maybe you just missed that because it's late and you're tired or something...

Originally posted by The Sin
    if you're just saying it to shut me up.

That's what I was referring to.

To be honest I don't even know who you are.

I made reference to the team, not the club.

We've about the same number of members but very few active - this year worse than most. I'm not saying professional but those who have gone through the schools system have received a large amount of coaching - they wouldn't be going to the Junior Euronations without coaching.

I'm not complaining. I'm just saying it's a shame that everyone's not getting that coaching. It might be more an IAAA thing though than an IV thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭toxof

Bling Blong Bling BlongBling BlongBling BlongBling BlongBling BlongBling Blong

This is not a hate campane against you..
    We are just trying to introduce a bit of Fun between the student archer comunity.
    As it was stated earlier alot of this so called spam is a ongoing joke from GMIT IV,
    involving DIT, Maynooth, Limerick and DCU students.
    Its not our fault that you were not present and dont get the joke, PEN1S PEN1S

Madrab or maybe the SIN for President

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭taby

Right so. I have to say that you guys really don't seem to have a lot of respect for the moderators on this board. I understand the spam..i once spammed and i got given out to and never did it again. But i repected the moderators decison and didn't go compailing bout possible ban etc. If they've apologised than fair enuf. But i think our moderators have done a good job and i really don't see the bias in the moderators tone. What happened to being allowed to have an opinion? U Sin said u shud be allowed ur opinion yet u won't allow Halneger his opinion . Every team wud love to be thes best but at the end of the day we all can't be and we are allowed be disappointed etc. I vote that we keep current moderatorship. They've good a rather good job so far and i have no complaints what so ever. :-) Can every1 plz be less down on the poor moderators? i didn't see anyone defend the moderators altho every1 jumped in for the spammers etc....anyway that's my two cents. :-)

Have a lovely day and peace all :-)

What club are u from anyay The sin? just curious....

:-)
    Oh and congrats to DIT on their win. :-)

Originally posted by The Sin
    I've been a silent reader for a while & now I shall have my say. Firstly your last comment about taking it up with the administrators is needless as it's already been done,
    I haven't seen any posts on the Admin board about the Archery board.
    And come on it's not like you've never been guilty of bitching particular individuals and groups on this board before is it? There are rules against this as stated in the charter!!

"No flaming, trolling or PERSONAL ABUSE"

And here comes the evidence boys....

"Apologies to any who attended and weren't from DIT. (It's not fair to apologise to people who score scores like that.)"
    If you have a problem with a post on this board, take it up with the moderators - privately. If you have a problem with the moderators, take it up with them - privately - or take it to the admin board.

Let me be entirely clear here - do not discuss the moderation of this board on this board. Got a problem with that? Take it up on Admin.

Originally posted by toxof
    This is archery-related how?
    We are just trying to introduce a bit of Fun between the student archer comunity.
    As an archer, I get my fun shooting arrows at targets. I don't know what IV events are like, but if you showed up at a field archery shoot shouting "bling blong penis" all day, you'd be lucky if all you got was a polite request to desist.
    As it was stated earlier alot of this so called spam is a ongoing joke from GMIT IV,
    involving DIT, Maynooth, Limerick and DCU students.
    Its not our fault that you were not present and dont get the joke, PEN1S PEN1S
    Here's the thing about in-jokes: you'd be amazed how quickly they get tiresome for those who are not in on them.

Discuss the intervarsity - including any related frolics - to your heart's content, but cut the crap please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Blind man

wow tings suddenly got serious here edy were sum big as posts there. so lets leave the lovers tiffs to 1 side nd get bk to d game plan.

Heh the sin i told ya every1 wud get confused witout de fada.

Plus i tout spam was dat ting were u kept getn emailed unwanted porno or how to save 200 euro on ur coffee bill nt a load a students sharin a common joke from an intervarisity.

Does that intervarisity rreference cover me as archery related topics maybe il throw sumthin else in to keep them happy...... how bout y do arrows have fletchs dat il give sum1 else a lead on 2 archery to heh im good at this.

Now lookit u've mad me post as big ass post

Oh ye Madrab for president

Nd sure y nt let the sin b govenor r sumthin

on second thoughts maybe nt she mite try nd organise a revolt r sum such like.

Nite people!

Originally posted by oscarBravo
    I haven't seen any posts on the Admin board about the Archery board.

Archery Moderators - from Feedback/Suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

To Baggins
    The moderators seem to have a bit of a power trip going on, what with banning people for ahving a bit of fun.

I should also add here that some of the members who are being threatened are some of the most skilled and respected young archers in the country, while the moderator whose identity i actually know wouldnt be all that good (no personal offense) or well known in the community.

That's just low! Halenger wasn't even here for most of these childish shenanagins and yet he's the one being constantly blamed and complained about, get a life!
    And you'll notice that the majority of the replies to your post in the admin board seem to disagree with you.

Originally posted by halenger
    Archery Moderators - from Feedback/Suggestions.
    Hadn't spotted that one - ta.

Originally posted by toxof

This is archery-related how?
    quote:

all this bling blong and pen!s stuff was being shouted at the IV.... there were students from four different colleges were staying in the one hostel. In the process of having a bit of fun we came across a cartoon series that was never aired which we watched over the weekend.... hence the quotes above which are from this cartoon. (Mission Hill was the cartoon)
    www.msnhill.com

There was method in our madness...... but i admitt we are mad!!!!!

Madrab 4 President

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

this forum is a joke
    thanks for the laugh

If people had to put up with that crap being shouted, I'm glad I wasn't able to come to GMIT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

"Centre For Tubby Youth Ireland" or "Colm Thinks You're Idiots", ohh the wasted summers...

shouting?

you can shout with a keyboard?

ps aroows need fletches for blinging.... i mean stabilisation i hope that answers you penis... i mean question blindman

From Mr potato head:
    all this bling blong and pen!s stuff was being shouted at the IV....

IT WAS AN ON GOING JOKE OVER THE WEEKEND... STILL FUNNY...

not top of your lungs shouting, general banter shouting.... watch mission hill you'll understand.

mission hill

madrab for president.... !

Sounds a bit too much like simple toilet humour and I could just watch 'South Park' for that, but certainly seems you guys enjoyed it and it stuck.

Right so

How many people do we have who think thsi thread are utter noncense?? do we need to have a poll??? People who don't want this matter to continue and who want those people responsible ( not the moderators mind u cos they're just doin their job) to stop going on about it pleas post a yes answer. :-)

That's the end of me even taking time out of my busy day to reply to ur guys noncense :-)

See u all at next intervarsity and i hope i can find out who u are than and say hi :-)

U shudn't hide behind usernames :-)
    and attack people :-)

I'm Sue :-)

Nice to meet u all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭mhairesa

hi taby, its nice to meet you too. im máire from DCU. will you be goin to limerick? its always nice to see more girls in this male dominated(by numbers not scores;) )sport!!

Yep it is toilet humour... we're from DIT what more do you expect...

Im Keith... The guy with the pink bow... I WAS NEVER CONFUSED!!!!!

Thought everyone knows who everyone is, well mostly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

In case anyone was in any doubt, Im Ewan from UL, the evil looking one with the black Spigarelli. Im not evil though. Honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

Originally posted by halenger
    There will be no more spamming.

It will not be tolerated.

Next time somebody posts crap on here there will be 15 villagers shot in retribution.

Oh, and the admins will kill your family, burn your house down, and shoot your dog, if you have one.

Regards

Ewan

im ciaran "the multicoloured one" from dit

im the "interesting" one at the iv shoots

Originally posted by Renegade_Archer
    Next time somebody posts crap on here there will be 15 villagers shot in retribution.

Oh, and the admins will kill your family, burn your house down, and shoot your dog, if you have one.

Regards

Ewan

Interesting proposal...

You really do have to explain that such utter nonsense is an "in" joke. To anyone watching on it is pure crap and spam.

There was actual spam too but that was removed, the culprit banned (not by me so enough of the blame game) and he admitted to be spamming.

The Sin = Sinéad, I didn't think it'd be a difficult code to crack!

I'm a DIT archer who happens to have been shooting for about 7 years & I administer coaching both to DIT and to random archers at IV's (as my commander & chief John will vouch for, I'm sorry John I have a problem I JUST CAN'T RESIST!!!)

I apoplogise Oscar Bravo that my boards etiquite is not entirely up to scratch, IF (and that's a big if) I ever have a problem with a moderator that I feel warrants private discussion then I'll do it as suggested, until then I'm just glad to see that some archers are actually using this board a bit more for a change!!

Why can't we all just get along & try to use this as a place to get to know one another. Ewan had a forum which allowed us (being schools archers at the time) to get aquainted & it improved the atmosphere at comps greatly & years later here we all still are, we're certainly not friends..........
    more like aquaintances!!! :p

hi taby, its nice to meet you too. im máire from DCU. will you be goin to limerick? its always nice to see more girls in this male dominated(by numbers not scores )sport!!

HEY! I'm actually Sue/ Suzanne who is also in DCU archery club. I'm also on comittee and am PRO so u prob shud know me :-)

Nice to meet all of u.

Ewan should remember me and my nickname from intersocs :-p

Hmmmm villagers being shot eh? What if u have a goldfish?? U'd prob injure urself by shooting at the bowl.

Oh i won't be goin to limerick unfortantly as i have sumthin else on that weekend :-(

Aw shucks!!

I guess next intervaristy i'll have to kick..i mean say hello to Ewan eh? :-p

heh im muffin

ive actually forgotten me name at dis stage but if i meet ya n d arhery world dat il do.

well im glad dat dat wole feckin ting got sorted out mayb i shuda read de rest of this thread b4 i posted a reply on the admin thread to taby. so i was echoing the sentiments of sum of our more level headed folk after all.
    hu wuda guessed it me of all ppl.

if nethin ders a hole lot of ppl bein goin on bout the archery forum, its kinda been like a publicity stunt cept for d feckin snowball factor that kinda mayb sorta offende sum certain individuals.

ps to taby wat ya do in d goldfish situation is get a ramdo arrow sit bk nd let reap d destruction. damage to everything surroundin d bowl can just b classed as collateral damage.

pps tanx for the answer madrab im glad u cleared dar up for me. waskinda wreckin d noggin.

ppps now dat i tink bout it does nebody else see a slight similarity between TOXOFF and andy french ( sorry for returnin to d in joke again won't let it hapn it again.)

madrab 4 President

Muffin for god!!!

now can we get bk to de nice easy short posts dese1's r kinda takin it outa me

A simpler way to deal with the gold fish would be using a compound bow, broadhead arrows and the fishing reel attachment you can buy for compounds, though one broadhead and I don't know that there'd be much left of the fishie to reel in, or were you hoping to eat the little fishie (to taby)?? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Rizz0

Sry Muffin, but muffins cant run as candidates for god. The job does require a certain level of intelligence after all (Any level of intelligence!). The simplest way to deal with a goldfish is the ever-subtle sledgehammer (do make sure to wear safety goggles for that one, tends to sting the eyes a bit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭toxof

Hey Muffin/Blind Man

If I dyed my hair blue then maybe I do look like him
    andyon.gif

Ps this is Noel

madrab 4 President

Muffin for god!!! - No chance, maybe a little imp or something like that.

if u wer usin a fishin reel atachment wud u nt need to b cloud shootin to get it inside de bowl which if it was indoors as goldfish bowls suspiciously enuf usually are wud dat nt b kinda awkward. ( unless of course u cheat nd stand over the bowl but that just takes away from the hole ting)

so as of the moment im stickin wit my rambo style attack. unless ne body can come up wit a btr idea.

wat do ya mean muffins can't run for god. i tink wud make a great good. i may nt b d first black president but i sure as hell can be de first muffin god.

Heh toxoff do i look like a feckin imp to u. how many 6ft imps do u c usin computors. ( apart from a suspecious troll like charactor beside me i sure as hell don,t)

If nethin u shuda least downgraded me to the imp grand master r sumthin.

Think of the poundage of your average compound versus the thin glass/plastic most goldfish bowls are made out of, assuming you use a quite sharp broadhead and aim straight for the centre of the bowl, once the fish is in place, release and the arrow should go straight through. If you aim to either side of the centre though on a reasonable glass bowl you risk the arrow glancing off the bowl instead.

okay i kinda c ur point but still der is a flaw. ur method depends on de fish bein n de middle of the bowel otherwise ur just goin to burst the tank nd let all the water out. allowing ample time for the fish to be discovered /rescued. remember we want a single sweep assasination here. durin d gmit shoot we had sum fairly plausible theory<s for rambo style exploding arrows. but i give ya merit it does have potential. y an't people have canaries. a cage is so much eaisier to get around den a feckin fish bowl damn u taby.

why dont you just ring the goldfishes mobile and tell him that he is late for a meeting as soon as he leaves his bowl strategically place a pand(you will have to figure out how to keep his breathing mask on yourself) in the bowl, if you hypnotise the panda into thinking that a goldfish is just swimming bamboo sticks then whent the goldfish returns he will be eaten

see its that simple!

i had considered dat option already but my contact in d chinese zoo can't get his hands on a panda tho somethin bout only bein three of them left nd somebody mite notice i couldn,t really follow but he did say that he could get me mongolian flying three lizard but they only go for sweet nd sour pork nd i don,t no dat id b able to convince him dat the goldfish is sweet nd sour pork plus de final flaw wit that plan is dat i only have his pager number.

Or you could just swap the water in the bowl for Hydrochloric (or fluoric if you're feeling particularlly evil) acid or the likes, quick, simple and disposes of the body.