Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GMIT intervarsity

• 18-03-2004 2:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭

Does anyone have any idea what time the Dublin people have to be there at?

Note that it is physically impossible for Maynooth people to get to galway before 11:30 / 12:00.

If anyone finds out can they give me a call.
    Dermot

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

How was it?

Who won what etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭toxof

DIT won Best Team - 2520
    DIT won Best Male - 537 - Madrab
    DIT won Best Female - 507 - Sinead
    DIT won Best Beginner
    DIT won Hot Shot

We won it all

Heh... Feel better not having been there so.

BORING.

Well done of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

bling-blong bling-blong bling-blong bling-blong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Aryzel

Maynooth bet DCU, it took 3 of us, but we did it :P

If only one more person from DCU had come ye would have bet us :P

How do ye know DIT won best beginner, i haven't got to look at the results yet, the disk paul gave me didn't actually have the results on it :(

Once i get the results they will be up the next day.

Oh, i did a little check, DIT can still lose the League!!
    All it requires is for DIT to come 8th and GMIT to get 2521. So everyone better send full teams this time, we can do this people!

oh, DIT didn't win Best Barebow, that honour fell to NUIG, and that is obviously the most important cathegory, the rest are mearly after thoughts.

give us time we will win everything sooon...

oh yeah i dont think i will be shooting at limerick, but we have a secret weapon.........

how did the nationals go on sunday, ye didn't win that too, did ye?

no unfortunately i got through to the second elimination round but i got a 6 & 5 with my first 2 arrows and i couldnt make up the difference so i was beaten by 1 point i felt sorry for ewan he lost due to a fletch going awol during flight

if your not at limerick, that will make the Best Male for the year really open, Noel, Paul and Ewan are within one point of each other.

i have my maths final on the tuesday i think that might be a bit more important

and anyway i know i am the best (wath my head grow) :-)

best of luck in the exams then, if you do stay on for a masters then you can always win it next year :P

i still have a year in grace thing so i can still shoot next year

oh and if any college wants me to give me a masters i might shoot for them :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Blind man

ah but we did have sum1 shootin n de barebow category which covers everything nd along wit our secret weapon world domination wil soon be ours (evil cackle ensues)

Penis penis penis penis penis penis.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭trig

Well it’s not all sown up. DCU should have best female in the bag, we can't win the barebow and the mens category is still wide open. That only leaves the team section (assuming we don't come 8th).
    But don't worry, we'll try and do better next year :)

Where the hell were the rest of DCU, leaving poor Máire on her own? Was there a LAN party that weekend or something???

Also, congratulations to Emmanuel and Sinéad for their silver medals in the gents and ladies recurve in the nationals.

Originally posted by trig
    Where the hell were the rest of DCU, leaving poor Máire on her own? Was there a LAN party that weekend or something???

manipulating i think

Was Kevin French at the Manipulation, sorry LAN party??

Bling-Blong , Penis etc

GMIT Results are up, usual place: www.ucd.ie/archery

Daniel Walsh and Joe Duggan were both on 504 so i gave them joint 5th place, so ye both got 6 points, they aren't in the running anyways, but if they want it fixxed just show my the two score cards at UL. The same with Karen Kelly and Martine Achard in the ladies.

None of the beginners broke 400 so all still beginners for UL, the best of which turned out to be Michael Barrett from DIT.

oh, and put up team records on the intervarsity records page, Ciaran jumped to 2nd highest score, and there were a few new barebow records.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭mhairesa

congrats to the DIT lads(that includes you sinéad) on their (almost) clean sweep in every caterogy!! it was well deserved. maybe in limerick yez will break the reccord,(providing you dont get another 1 john!!!!!!! ;), what with your secret weapon and all!!

Thanks GMIT the shoot was very well run....... but next time it would be nice if the dublin teams would make more of an effort to come cause the boggers(no offence, im only tellin it like it is!!) always come to our intervarsities!

anyway talk 2 ya all soon what with the take over and all!!!!

Slán
    Moy

Originally posted by mhairesa
    but next time it would be nice if the dublin teams would make more of an effort to come cause the boggers(no offence, im only tellin it like it is!!)

damn straight
    what with all the penis and bling and joint manipulation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

I would like to publically state that Bolger has been the better archer this year - looking at the scores will tell you that, and even if he is a funny haired bastard, he deserves the title.

But hey, if I manage to win Im not going to complain now am I :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭trig

With all the commotion, I forgot to say thanks to Paul and GMIT, good job on both the Saturday and the Sunday.

Also, I find myself in the scary position of agreeing with Ewan, Madrab's had a great year, but Noel and Paul have every chance 2.

It should be an interesting finale, the UCD/GMIT battle is ongoing and there's always that record.......
    I just hope everyone shows up this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭mr potato head

as above!!!

Unfortunately this was project season for us.

This ruled out a number of people.

We hope to be back to a decent strength for UL. We'll have a team at least.

Bling-Blong Bling-Blong Bling-Blong Bling-Blong

All the other archers had projects but they made it to Galway.
    Why is your team so different.

Madrab for Penis penis penis, sorry President

Yeah but if the project determines half of your grade for the entire year then you put archery aside and do your damn project. Or if it happens to be your final year project.

Both cases were applicable.

It wasn't intentional. We were very disappointed that we would not be sending a team.

Hopefully it wont happen again but it may... :(

Bling Blong Bling Blong Bling Blong Bling Blong

Your team did very well.
    Moy beat 95% of the archers there.
    Its just a pity shy was on her own

MAD Madrab for President

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭shock

Its been awhile but i'm back! (evil laugh)
    Hope we do have a team for UL but i'm not making any promises myself.
    Twas a dismal turnout from us in GMIT. Oh well, I have plans for next year(see brackets above).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

We (DCU) had 3 members out due to projects, one due to severe technique problems he doesn't want to worsen by shooting an IV with, and that left one newbie who didn't want to go with such a small showing (who can blame him?!) and one experienced archer who didn't want to celebrate his birthday alone in Galway (again, who can blame him?!), so considering we only have three other regulars, of which two are adament they'll never enter a competition I think you can quit complaining about us, we had our reasons for bailing out!

I am of course glad that Máire (she's not a regular since she trains elsewhere, and quite frankly, considering her scores, I think it's clear that she doesn't need to take extra time to do training with us) could put in a showing to represent us and apologuise to her that none of the rest of us showed.

its not that i dont want to train with you( i could do with all the training and coaching i can get to improve my pityful scores) but with college finishing late on a wed it would be a waste of time going up there for 30 mins, and ive got comittments in Dublin Archers and what with sinéad having an injury which makes her unable to attend practice i- as the only other senior member who shows up to training- have to be there due to insurance reasons. and your training is practically at the same time as ours on fridays so thats ruled out too.

Máire

and there is no need to apologise if you couldnt come. it would have been nice to do some team bonding thas all cause the only time i get to see you guys is at IV's!

As I said, I wasn't complaining that you don't, far as I'm concerned with the scores you're getting you're obviously getting enough training done anyway, you're shooting is fine and if it's not broke don't fix it! Only if you feel you're capable of more should you ever worry about showing up to the training (or if you have an old mobile you want to shoot or something! :p ).

Best of luck with the rest of the year's shooting since I won't be there, hope you manage to set a new PB. And I certain that there're others at the intervarsities that you could spend time with, afterall if you waste time bonding with us you neglect you chances to get to know others better.

thanks, fingers crossed my scores will go up.
    Team bonding is a very important part of the process, if you dont know your team well and arnt tuned itno their style of shooting almost as well as your own you cant help each other out. ive learned this through being on the junior team for 4 years.
    Máire

What happened to Sinead?

Same as before or something new? Either way... Ouch.

She gonna be ok?

My style is too different to allow me to be much help to others (other than taking note of a premature release or if their draw is off), other than feeble attempts to cheer them up I just shoot, that is my purpose for being there.

no its the same as before but she jist doesnt want to make it worse by shooting untill its completly healed

one of the mort important things is to boost the teams moral and cheering them up is the best way to do it. you dont have to be a techinical archery genius to keep the team shooting well, every member has their part to play!!

Yeah, but I think paying any attention to my shooting could only encourage bad habits!

Ah but you teach a valuable lesson too! :p

Well dedication is one... But the other is quite important too. You teach that in the end of the day how you do it is up to you and what works for you works for you.

People can tell you do it this way, do it that way etc but do what works for you. I'm not saying ignore advice but just don't take every bit of advice to heart.

Sure the same would apply to almost everything I've ever turned my hand to, always had my own way of doing it and just find it best not to pay too much attention to how everyone else is doing it. Maybe we should try encourage some more instinctive shooting techniques, see if we hold on to more newbies next year by letting them shoot the way that best suits them (within the confies of safety and reason).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭mr potato head

For beginners to develop you need to give them a good grounding to work from this means showing them a good form... for example that which is shown in the FITA handbook. The archer is then free to develop their own style, speed and stance.
    instinctive shooting is good once the archer has a good style...
    your mind corrects mistake made by one hand by moving the other...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 NUI Vixen

Hey i just found out i'm 3rd.
    And that's all without cheating sticks.Next year will be NUI Maynooths year.If not we will spit in your sandwichs.See you all in Limerick.Anyone getting the train???Oh and hopefully i will have a full team even if it is with one or two certain popular people. BLING BLONG BLING BLONG
    Oh how i miss frenchie and all that other lark

as soon as i had it worked it out of mt system u had to go nd start ut again. now il never ger to sleep. bling nblong bling blong bling blong...........

Oh how i miss frenchie and all that other lark
    Hey Vixen

Frenchie was VERY load - Even McBarebow's Humping could not shut him up

hey vixen toxoff was sayn dat der was no trainin dis fri. dat rite.

i almost couldn't read what you said blind man, but ya, no training in maynooth this friday,

vicky and james won't be around and i have too much to do with my thesis, i be at UL, but i wont be training again till August at the earlyist. so there probably wont be archery on most fridays from now on

tanx for letn me know. i won,t be at limerick ne how so il prob c ya at the intervarites nxt year. can u still shoot nxt year. unless ur goin to ne field shoots this summer.

damn it speak english blind man!

fibbley plop!

i've already got a load of PM's slaggin off my english. wats wrong wit u ppl if i can read it den by d laws of logic u can read it nd if we can all read it den it must be english.

Is it really dat hard. it's nt like im feckin talkin in eastern arabic wit a scothish accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 kuback

Say what??????????????

something hard to understand.