Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old Health and safety RTE Ads

• 11-03-2004 9:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,196 ✭✭✭

There were 2 ads that crack me up whenever I think of them now:

(1) A Nun (I think) shouting "Baw" into a babies ear (to see if the baby was deaf)

and

(2) The old "water is dangerous" ad : "Where's grandad?"

Yeah I know I'm sick..

Anybody remember theses ads ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭dloob

Ohh yes, classics.

I think the Baw was about mumps and deafness or something.
    I thought it was a kid bouncing a ball with a nurse going "baw"

I remember Grandad very well.
    Close up on Grandad.
    Close up on riverbank and loud radio.
    Grandad stumbles towards radio.
    Cut away.
    "Where's Grandad"

Those were the best two.

There was another about barrels of water and one where the kid drowns in a paddling pool.
    "Did you know you can drown in a few inches of water"

But they weren't a patch on Grandad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

its amazing the ads RTE have shown us over the years. My current g/f is from finland and when she sees those safety ads (where a guy in a car mows down a mother & child etc...) she mutes the tv, puts her hands over her ears, closes her eyes and starts making noises to get the scene out of her head. It seems that Irish ppl have become desensitised (or is it desensitized??) to these ads.

anyone remember the old ads for power lines where some muppet drives his jcb in power cables. Or the kids that play with kytes under high voltage lines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Seamie

Wasn't there an ad about some kid falling into aslurry pit? Or is my memory making things up again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

nono, that rings bells alright, i think it was fairly recent too. i remember thinking "EWWWWwwww!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

that sounds like it could be a sport in some parts of this country :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭telecinesk

Yeah remember them all too,but remember the wanderly wagon green cross code ad with "Judge" patronising you about looking for a safe place etc.....
    Bet someone has this on betamax or V2000???? Retro safety is great.
    The Kite flying one was great, yerman had a chopper bicycle I think,could be wrong but the clothes were dangerous in themselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Seamie

Apparently the guy who played Darth Vader did safe cross code ads in Britain. I don't think we ever got them over here though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭okee

"Brian ? Did you hear Brian ?"
    I think that was the slurry pit one.

Also there was the:
    "If I had the only car in the world, I could drive as I want.. but I
    haven't and I can't."

and the kids on the Bikes "After him ?"

and Big John who never gave a thought about his backbone "Ohh me achin' back"

and the guy who doesn't wear his earmuffs at work and then finds himself an socially isolated because all his friends are laughing at the comedian in the pub but all he hears is "whahwawa wu wah wawawa wah etc."

okee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

DON'T TAKE CHANCES WITH ELECTRICITY!
    As for the incredible animation- wow! Showed what a progressive nation we truely were. RIGHT EARTH! RIGHT FUSE...

I've said it before and I'll say it again- why didn't the government just let those dumbasses die? I know I'll fly my kite beside an electric pylon- anyone that stupid...<sigh>

The one that cracked me up was the (skanger on a bike)"Downt taahk ta me aboh mowtarists! Dey tink dey own de rowad..."

And the other guy, "don't talk to me about cyclists..."
    etc, etc.

Personally I think it's the reason that road safety ads were always so terrible they only appealed on a slapstick level, or on the sheer tackiness of the actors- "yes there is a serial killer in Ireland..." - cue "evil" expression...oh how I roffled.

I remember going to see Jurassic Park in the cinema and they had one of those drink driving ads- the entire cinema exploded in laughter. Obviously they copped on, ads now have a larger budjet, although I still laugh at the kid going through the windshield- I wanna walk you home... and that gimp dribbling the basketball- hahahahahahhahahahaha. But that's because I'm a complete bastard.

Oh well, least they don't show that half an hour or more long ad about physical fitness, "have you the fitness to catch that bus!- cue fatass cow huffing and puffing after a bus...man that ad went on FOREVER!

(sorry, I've only just discovered the joys of this forum, so I'm gonna be blitzing it for a while...")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Originally posted by telecinesk
    Yeah remember them all too,but remember the wanderly wagon green cross code ad with "Judge" patronising you about looking for a safe place etc.....
    Bet someone has this on betamax or V2000???? Retro safety is great.
    The Kite flying one was great, yerman had a chopper bicycle I think,could be wrong but the clothes were dangerous in themselves!

I have the Safe Cross Code in full on VHS - taped from @last tv in 1997

best ESB ads were the Play Safe ones - 7 mins approx in length
    show twice - in the summer of 1979 and 1980
    saw them both times when holidaying in West Cork both years

guy throws frisbee into power station and climbs up pylon etc

also Water Safety ones - like the trilogy with the child drowning in pond/child drowning in oil drum/where's grandad - radio blaring - lake being fenced off

also family going to beach - one drowns - lifeguard shakes head - voiceover "some trips often end in tragedy"

or Health Education Bureau ones - like the dangers of alcohol one
    or that video we used see in school - Dying For A Drink - [middle class housewife/delinquent girl/newly married husband]

release them on DaViD

##(1) A Nun (I think) shouting "Baw" into a babies ear (to see if the baby was deaf)

Im sorry, I just have to add my sister and I used to demonstrate this unannounced at home to the amusement of our folks and their guests.. Yes, we really took notice.
    The other one was the crap GiveBlood ad with SueBarker doing the tennis thing in the 70s, somewhere TomOConnor and the spinners blurs my vision but he did one too.

Bad eh??

BAH! Must try the Nun trick on my missus...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Yes, I must admit I was rather fond of the one with guy who throws a frisbee into an ESB power-station and then rather cleverly fries himself by touching a pylon whilst attempting to retrieve his 10p plastic toy.

//

This has been killing me tho :

Does anyone remember an 'ad' RTE used to just before shutdown (remeber shutdown? :) ) warning people to plug out all their appliances before going to bed.

To visualise it just mmagine a poor-mans fred astaire & ginger rogers living in a semi-detached and wearing smoking jackets. They did a song & dance routine which helped remind them to switch off / plug out all their appliances before they headed off to bed.

Did this ad even exist or did I just dream it because anyone I describe it to can't recall it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Belle Ende

Originally posted by Pigman II

Does anyone remember an 'ad' RTE used to just before shutdown (remeber shutdown? :) ) warning people to plug out all their appliances before going to bed.

To visualise it just mmagine a poor-mans fred astaire & ginger rogers living in a semi-detached and wearing smoking jackets. They did a song & dance routine which helped remind them to switch off / plug out all their appliances before they headed off to bed.

Did this ad even exist or did I just dream it because anyone I describe it to can't recall it.
    Yes, it did exist. RTE certainly used it up until, say, 1989 or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭musician.ie

Another fire safety ad, I think.

"Jooohhhhhnnnnnnn? Did ya put da cat out".

That woman's voice used to go through me. Anybody remember that?

yeah that woman was going on about her little girl's nightdress and the likelihood of it catching fire

I felt sorry for John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Sesudra

Anyone remember the one about not letting your dog out at night?It was animated and featured a lovable golden retriever being let out late at night by his owners.As soon as it got outside,it joined a huge roving pack of bloodthirsty dogs that were shown killing sheep.The dog comes home and the owners fuss over him.It was v bloody,freaked me out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

Originally posted by Pigman II

This has been killing me tho :

LOL - I remember that one (and one like it).

[1] The Fred Astaire one went something like
    "Before you go to bed at night, the evenings not yet through, blah blah blah blah blah - here's what you've got to do....

The TV set should be unplugged last thing every night...
    Fires can start in oh-so-many ways"

[2] The second one was a really dub guy (as musician.ie mentioned), and you see him going up to bed, and his wife shouts out "John, did ya put the ca(t) ou(t)".

So he goes down stairs and finds the TV (or tele) on fire, and panics. I remember something about him pulling out the plug (I hope :eek:) and taking flowers out of a vase and pours the water down the back of his tele - this could of course be corrupted in my mind.

So after the great panic, when everything is made safe, he goes back upstairs and just as he gets to the bedroom door his wife says "John, did ya put the ca(t) ou(t)", and in a big moany face he goes "Oh no, not again". It was the funniest thing I ever saw.

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭pete

*ahem*

Picture the scene:

The Place: An atypical 1920's style british suburban middle class living room setting.

The Time: Night:

Peter Bowles to wife: "Darling, is it time for our Bedtime Routine?"

Cue much singing and charlstoning antics

"Get a routine
    Show your intention
    Fire prevention, fire prevention.
    Check and make sure
    You've locked every door...."

etc etc etc

Ah, the bedtime routine.

Actually i've just been informed that it wasn't Peter Bowles. Just someone that looked like him. Ah well.

http://www.meldrum.co.uk/cgi/play.asp?file=pifs/bedtime.ra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

Anyone remember the one about not letting your dog out at night?

That was fantastic stuff in fairness- the look of sheer terror on those sheep -classic.

although the Gerry Ryan, "hey stupah! leave dem phones alone"- now that was sheer hilarity even back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Originally posted by pete
    Actually i've just been informed that it wasn't Peter Bowles. Just someone that looked like him. Ah well.

http://www.meldrum.co.uk/cgi/play.asp?file=pifs/bedtime.ra

god bless you and curse you for that link! I'm like someone with a sore tooth but can't stop touching it. I've watched that clip about 15 times already since I d/l'd it :dunno:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Originally posted by nlgbbbblth
    yeah that woman was going on about her little girl's nightdress and the likelihood of it catching fire

I felt sorry for John

I remember this, weren't you supposed to look at the clothes label for a fire safety code like C3PO or R2D2 or some other robot name.
    Wasn't the woman on that ad the Whirligig Witch (spelling?) from Forty Coats, or maybe she was just the nurse shouting Baw at babies. I seem to remember recognising her from somehwhere, but I was 5 so maybe not.

Originally posted by jor el
    I remember this, weren't you supposed to look at the clothes label for a fire safety code like C3PO or R2D2 or some other robot name.
    Wasn't the woman on that ad the Whirligig Witch (spelling?) from Forty Coats, or maybe she was just the nurse shouting Baw at babies. I seem to remember recognising her from somehwhere, but I was 5 so maybe not.

she could have been the Whirligig Witch - certainly there is a resemblance

she turned up in the odd RTE drama from the 70s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Ryvita

Didn't she (fire lady) say something like "kids these days ... but wouldn't you die if anything ever happened to them". She then grabbed the girl from the firplace and started brushing her hair.

Do you remember the one where the kid falls in the barrell of water? And the one where the toddler falls into the paddling pool?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Do you all know yer safe cross code

cant quite remember the whole song so ye can fill in the blanks

1. Look for a safe place
    2 dont hurry stop and wait
    3 look all around you before you cross the road remember
    4 let all the traffic pass you

thats the safe cross code

what ever you do dont ask me to help your old granny accross the road

then there was the high speet talking one about rabies

rabies kills agonizingly. How do we prevent it reaching ireland when going abroad leave family pets with friends...

Originally posted by fcddunne
    1. Look for a safe place
    2 dont hurry stop and wait
    3 look all around you before you cross the road remember
    4 let all the traffic pass you

I think that should be
    1, look for a safe place
    2, don't hurry, stop and wait
    3, look all around and listen, before you cross the road remember
    4, let all the traffic pass you
    5, then walking straight across, you
    6, keep watching... that's the safe cross code...keep watching, that's the safe cross code.

Know. The. Safe. Cross. Code.

KNOW THE CODE!

Yeah, that was the safe cross code alright. Anyone remember the one about the safe driving ad, what was it "Think once,think twice,think Bike!" followed by a a fist banging on the table or some oddity. There was a fire safety one with a hanging question from Mr Fire officer "Do you know what bothers me......" < Think both were UK ads tho..

Originally posted by telecinesk
    Yeah, that was the safe cross code alright. Anyone remember the one about the safe driving ad, what was it "Think once,think twice,think Bike!" followed by a a fist banging on the table or some oddity. There was a fire safety one with a hanging question from Mr Fire officer "Do you know what bothers me......" < Think both were UK ads tho..

bike2.jpg

http://tv.cream.org/specialassignments/thecore/adroad.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

yeah those routines are no joke, my mom always :

1 - makes sure the cooker is off when leaving the house, even if its not being used!
    2 - used to plug the telly out at bedtime in case of fire
    3 - check that the toilet window is closed
    4 - checks the house alarm set

she must of got them from the ad's cause my gran is far more easy goin about security at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

Originally posted by pete
    I think that should be

1, look for a safe place
    2, don't hurry, stop and wait
    3, look all around and listen, before you cross the road remember
    4, let all the traffic pass you
    5, then walking straight across, you
    6, keep watching... that's the safe cross code...keep watching, that's the safe cross code.

Know. The. Safe. Cross. Code.

KNOW THE CODE!

Wasn't there one with characters from Wanderly Wagon? It had Eugene Lambert and that dog puppet, I think it was in the early 70s so it's a very vague early childhood memory, or maybe I just dreamt it :dunno:

Originally posted by pork99
    Wasn't there one with characters from Wanderly Wagon? It had Eugene Lambert and that dog puppet, I think it was in the early 70s so it's a very vague early childhood memory, or maybe I just dreamt it :dunno:

yes Judge from Wanderly Wagon appeared in the Safe Cross Code ad - originally broadcast in 1975

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

Originally posted by nlgbbbblth
    yes Judge from Wanderly Wagon appeared in the Safe Cross Code ad - originally broadcast in 1975

that's a relief - not going mental after all :)

I have a horrible feeling that safecross code ad is somewhere on a philips N1500 tape in a box in my house, pity Ive no machine for these tapes. Or it could be on a betamax too....
    Anyone out there got it on VHS???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭PBC_1966

It sounds as though you may have imported quite a few of the British films that I grew up with as a kid in England. I would think that almost every Brit of my age group can recall Tufty explaining road safety, and Charley saying "Never go with men or ladies you don't know."
    best ESB ads were the Play Safe ones - 7 mins approx in length
    show twice - in the summer of 1979 and 1980
    saw them both times when holidaying in West Cork both years
    There was a whole series of these on British TV in the 1970s, all ending with the image of a huge arc over the words "Play Safe."
    guy throws frisbee into power station and climbs up pylon etc
    Really threatening-sounding background music if that's the same British version. You can find the frisbee film along with many others here:

http://www.tv-ark.org.uk/pifs/pif_a-f.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭aerialhead

Jesuz,

The electricity ad with the kid with the frizbie scared the hell out of me.

There was him (all in his dodgy 70's flares and anorak) and his little sister, and one of them (probably the sister cause girls can't throw) threw it into the electricity sub-station with pylons and towers and stuff.

And the plonker goes in and climbs up a tower trying to reach his frizbie which is jammed between two other red frizbie looking discs, but actually carry thousands of volts........and they fry him.

Cut away shot to his flared jeans and shoots of flame, and his sister screaming!
    She was a big help. Though I hated the ad as a kid.

Must have worked - I stayed away from sub-stations...still do, and I'm 32 now!

Three others that I remember from the "Play Safe" series were:

1. Some people pushing a boat down to a river on a trailer. The tall mast hits overhead lines.

2. Somebody sitting by the river (probably the same one!) with a very long fishing pole. He casts back, then looks up just in time to see the tip of the rod nearly onto the lines. As I recall, in this one he pulls it back just in time, disaster averted.

3. Kids flying a kite near to HV lines (there was a big kite craze here around 1976/77). Somebody calls out to watch the lines, one of them tries to pull it away but a gust of wind takes the string onto a line -- Cut to a shot of the child laying on the ground with the grass in flames all around him.
    Must have worked - I stayed away from sub-stations...still do, and I'm 32 now!
    Hasn't kept me from playing around with high voltages. But then I became an electronics engineer..... :D

so has anyone got any of the Charley Says DVDs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭alienhead

how about the rolf harris teach your kids to swim add, gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 kirb78

hi, yes i remember both adds. ive been trying to find them! you have any luck?
    in the "where grandad" advert was there a young boy with a stick hitting an tin can and then looks in a big barrel of water and there is a radio on in the background?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,196 ✭✭✭deadl0ck

No - I never found them. They are probably on an old RTE archive somewhere...

RTE don't own the rights to those adverts - the Health Education Bureau do. I imagine they are held in either the archives of the IFI or TCD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Remember the ad of a woman putting her child into a bath and the phone rings and she goes downstairs to answer it and the child gets into difficulty and drowns that used to freak me out

I remember always calling my mam when I was in the bath just to make sure I wasn't going to drown
    I remember the pylon ad too and the kids getting electrocuted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Thanks Bluesberry - not seen that for a while. The UK PIF re-dubbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

I clearly remember the 'bedtime routine' one 'check and make sure, you close every door, we mean..your life could depend on your bedtime routiiiine!'.
    I also remember one where it warns folk not to put plastic bags over their heads....it shows a kindly (creepy) man handing a doll to a child and discarding a plastic bag carelessly..
    I also remember one were a doll sinks into some sort of grain. That really disturbed me.
    Anyone remember the scary Uk one where the little lad is trying to reach something on a tree branch hanging over a river? He tries to reach it but falls in and drowns:(. During the ad a cloaked figure warns of danger and at the end he says 'I will be back, back, back' (Donald Pleasant's voice btw)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Does anyone remember these safety ad's that featured liftforks crashing ?No one ive spoken to remembers them but i vivedly recall them .They were all set on docks and warehouses and showed guys driving liftforks crashing through walls ,driving off a pier etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

The lady combing her daughter's hair and warning us all to make sure we always used a 'spark guard' was Laurie Morton, wife of David Kelly, the well-loved actor.

56736510.jpg?Width=170&Height=143

By the way, well done Kirb78 on resurrecting a thread from 2004... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

There was a whole series of UK ones invloved with a farm place where the actors/kids got killed off episiode after episode acting like Cowboys and Indians style on the farm.
    I watched the whole series on youtube about a month or two ago but cant remember where I got the links.

The Irish Ad with the Kid that got fried retrieving the frisbie was called "Daren" there was a long and short version of the ad. The short version you had a Kid that watched Daren break past some chain link/chicken wire trying to retrieve a frisbie with him shoutinging Daren, Daren! Darennnnnn!!!!!! as he fried.

The longer version of the ad tried to give a flash scare where you see this Daren character fiddle with a spark plug on his motor bike but lives! before he goes into the ESB station and foolishly gets killed.

~B