Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone here go to trinity

• 08-02-2004 8:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 26

im a leaving cert student and i have applied to science in tcd.
    but im having 2nd thoughts.How expensive is it?
    im a catholic is that a problem to some people, in a predominarly protestant college?
    are you happy that you picked your course in tcd as opposed to another college.
    thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Nike_Dude

Im doing law in tcd (1st year) and im delighted I got in I love the course. I dont find it that expensive (in what way do you mean? accommodation, food:confused:) Trinity Halls is a pretty nice place from what I hear and I dont think its too expensive compared to other colleges on campus accommodation (not sure about this I'll try to find the info they sent out to me and give you exact prices)

I cant say I ever found the religion thing a big issue, i'm catholic and havent come across any problems. There are facilities for all types of religions not just catholic and protestant.

some of the advantages it has over UCD are that its in the city centre, classes tend to be a bit smaller and the campus a lot smaller than UCD's so its easier to meet people from different courses.

The disadvantages are there tends to be a group of D4's in every class that wont mix with everyone else (not all D4's only a percentage of them), The majority of non-teaching staff e.g Security Guards, Libriarians, and especially the people in the grant office are really rude and unhelpful. The points are higher. Most of your friends from school will probably go to UCD. The small campus size means that classes can get cancelled from time to time because they dont have the space and the librarys are f**cking freezing at the best of times.
    I probably left out loads of stuff, but I hope this helps anyway:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Originally posted by Nike_Dude
    The majority of non-teaching staff e.g Security Guards, Libriarians, and especially the people in the grant office are really rude and unhelpful.

Don't know about trinners but in DIT the porters are the most important people to get along with.

If you need the key to a room for whatever reason or you need to contact a lecturer or a whole host of other things the porter's are your men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 uary

I mean expensive as in college supplies books etc.
    Im from limerick so if i do go
    to trinity i will know no one.
    thats why i was asking.
    Because i heard of those d4s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

The reason D4 people dont mix with others is because they are better then you.
    First of all you have to ask yourself is Trinity the only college offering your course, what about UL which is a well respected college, there is no point going to college in Trinity for the sake of it, its all about the course and how the college provides it.
    Basically living in Dublin will be expensive but since I live at home and cycle to UCD I cant give you any information on that.
    As for supplies you could ring up the faculty in question and ask them what is needed for next year and then check out prices.
    Every college has D4 people in them because it can be human nature to act snobbish and elitist.

On a final note people in UCD are inherently cooler and more laid back. It's a proven FACT.

Im not going to trinity for the sake of it.
    im actually very intersted in the course.
    As for D4s being better,NO THEY ARENT.
    So what their parents had enough money to buy a house in a nice area of dublin
    thats all.
    I know dublin is expensive and i have bugeted for that.Its just i wanted to know if book etc would run up to hundreds of euro.

Take a chillaxing pill please, if you dont accept D4 people's superiority then you will never survive in Dublin.

I told you what to do about the supplies.

Go Go Go!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭PhoenixRising

Originally posted by uary
    im a catholic is that a problem to some people, in a predominarly protestant college?

If you're concerned about that then why not do science in UCD or any other college for that matter. I presume the courses will be almost identical.

I've got a few friends who are in Trinity and I don't think the Catholic/Protestant thing is an issue at all. They just have a few customs which might be a bit alien to you.

Regarding books, they can be pretty dear. I'm doing engineering and most of my books cost around the €60 mark. Generally you don't need to buy that many books, as most lecturers will provide notes and the books can usually be borrowed from the library.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

D4s are easy to avoid, the blokes always have a rugby ball in hand and the girls are oompa loompas.

I have never heard anyone say anything about the Catholic/Protestant thing in either UCD or Trinity, we know they were originally established that way but it has no relevence now, anyone who choses a uni because of his religion is a moron and avoiding Trinity because you're Catholic is idiotic. This isn't the fúcking North, no one gives a shít about your religion.

Unless you're not Christian ;)

The religion thing isnt an issue at all, the only real effect of it is that you dont need irish to get into trinity.
    Regarding the books and stuff, I cant see trinity being any different than other colleges. There are three big book shops just beside the college and they offer decent reductions for students. Plus the libraries are really good too, I know students in my class who havent bought any books, yet I've spent €300+.
    Dublin is expensive for accommodation, but as I said Trinity halls isnt too bad price wise and most students stay there.
    I was the same not knowing anyone when I came here, most people are in the same boat, but you will make new friends pretty easily
    As I said about the D4's only a minority are stuck up little pr**ks, most are dead sound. Its the guys with rugby jerseys and big rugby bags walking across campus that you want to avoid and they are NOT better than everyone else, they only think they are e.g Sangre;)

hey, if you avoid someone because he has a rugby jersey and a rugby ball then you're as big a snob as them you hypocrit. Judging someone as a snob because they are D4 is a sickening practise which needs to be stamped out now!!

Hush now, I could totally take you Nike_Dude :p

the reason i was asking about the whole relgion thing.
    Is that i heard about these really snobby people and i thought it was due to the relgion thing.As for me i could not give a sh*t what relgion some one is.

As for sangre,its a bit ironic you calling nike-dude a snob when you just said a few posts before that d4s are better than everyone else.

No, its not ironic at ALL.
    Also ignore Nike's prices on books, he does law so his books will be much more expensive.

You won't be slagged for being Catholic, maybe for being from Stab City though, Dublin people dont take kindly to hoodlums, ruffians or muck savages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Atreides

Religion is not an issue, you will be amazed just how accepting people will be, however if you try to force your believes on someone, they will tell you to piss off. General Science in TCD is pretty hard, I know I wouldn't want to be doing it, but its not much easier anywhere else. The D4 types tend to stick to Bess courses so you won't have many in science, and **** the ones that you do meet, you don't need them. Question are you a male or a Female, cause general science has its fair pick of nice birds.

Trinity can be expensive, I mean the social element is excellent, there's a society for what ever you can imagine. And always a party to go to. enjoy yourself and take it easy.

uary: ignore Sangre, he used to be sound enough and then he went and got 580 or something and proceeded to insert his head up his rectum,.

My head wouldnt fit up my ass, its too big fyi.
    Stop trying to start a flame war Skanger, its very unbecoming.

Trinity is expensive but so is anywhere else in Dublin, no college will be necessarily cheaper then another. As I said, ring the college for the book list. Also a lot of books dont have to be bought, most can be taken from the library in Trinity, although I heard the library in TCD can be very competive when trying to get the popular books.

I heard the library in TCD can be very competive when trying to get the popular books
    Competitive!!! F*ck sake some selfish bas**rds even rip pages out of books.
    Yeah sorry I meant to say my books do be more expensive than everyone elses. In trinity there is a counter reserve (not sure about the other colleges) which means that there are extra copies of the most popular books which can only be taken out for 5 hours at a time.
    Dont worry about being slagged for religion or even where you come from people generally dont care about any of that stuff.
    As Sangre said all colleges in Dublin are pretty expensive for accommodation, but the on-campus stuff isnt too bad

Originally posted by Nike_Dude
    Competitive!!! F*ck sake some selfish bas**rds even rip pages out of books.

Yeah, ffs thats what I heard but didn't really want to say without proof.
    I also heard they hide books and highlight unimportant bits to confuse people.

Originally posted by Sangre

Now you're just making **** up

I also heard they hide books and highlight unimportant bits to confuse people
    Yep this goes on too but thank god these practises arent too widespread. Still its really annoying when people delibrately put books back in the wrong place:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Trinity isn't at all full of prods...not that it's an issue but i'm sure of the Irish students at least, the majority are going to be from a catholic background, same as any other uni in Ireland.

Trinity was founded by protestants, that doesn't mean it's a protestant enclave :)
    There'll be 'D4 types' in any college, you'll make friends, don't worry.
    Also, I think a lot of people confuse well spoken, intelligent trinity students for D4 types. Sure there are D4 types there but they're everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

How do you know when a trinity student sits beside you on the bus?
    They tell you :D

Soz, i know it has no relevance to the topic, but *shrug*

You won't be slagged for being Catholic, maybe for being from Stab City though, Dublin people dont take kindly to hoodlums, ruffians or muck savages
    muck savenges wow your orginal.As for being from stab city ,im not.

As for hoodslums and ruffians,did you see that Prime time document on young dublin thugs...........

Question are you a male or a Female, cause general science has its fair pick of nice birds.
    Im male :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭revelate

well i'm doing law in trinity as well and i can vouch for the hiding of books and the ripping out of pages..very annoying.

i know some lads doing science and books generally cost about €40 each which is reasonable enough.

i'm from the wilds of the country and thought i'd stick out like a sore thumb in my class but there are loads of people from outside dublin, especially in science courses for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭b20uvkft6m5xwg

Lads and lassies lets keep the discussion civil, and focus on some of the practicalties of going to TCD and people who might GENUINELY benefit from the answers can do so.

Some of the comments so far are borderline for moderation.

TY
    David

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

I'm in 2nd year in psychology in the big trin.Sure its grand here really, once you get used to peoples little 'idiosyncracies'. Great college. About the worst people you'll incur are the staff in the buttery and the security guards. After that its plain sailing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭arac

D4's occupy every college, Im in UCG and they even have a contingent here. Whoever said they are better than anyone, I think that they were being tongue in cheek..college is soo expensive wherever you go and unless you still have your communion money get used to living on 10 euro a day if you are lucky!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Conorisco

Hey dude i go science in Trinrity (first year).. **** lecture post later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by Sangre
    This is true. I think Law is the worst for this, its apparently so competitive that people run to the library after getting their booklists for their course and "hide" all the best course books in a random section of the library. Happened a couple of times in the Science course I was in too.

And D4 types are your betters, make way for them in the corridors and be sure to bow your head. Foxrock rules roight!

Originally posted by lafortezza
    This is true. I think Law is the worst for this,

How do you know this is true, maybe people are just stupid and highlight the wrong stuff. Have to say, by the sounds of it I'm glad I'm not doing law.... actually now that I think about it I know quiet afew dicks doign law in trinity, so it doesn't surprise me anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭b20uvkft6m5xwg

Skanger,
    bit of a generalisation there.

Fact:
    people from law hide books
    people from ALL faculties hide books

The very relevant and in demand books are always in the Short Loans Collection so its not that much of a problem. Plus alot of people will buy the important core book for a course and/or photocopy stuff that is necessary

Highlighting Irrelevant parts of books is absurd. If someone is taking the time to mis-highlight parts of books then they are idiots and if you are someone who relies on what other people highlight then you are a bigger idiot!

Havent Noticed it at all tbh, maybe because i use the ham. They get pretty pissed if you put the books back yourself.

apparently so competitive that people run to the library after getting their booklists for their course and "hide" all the best course books in a random section of the library.
    Its not as bad as this and plus as 80project said the short loans collection has loads of copies of the core textbooks. Highlighting unimportant stuff doesnt happen that often but I have seen wasters who will highlight every line of a case for some reason:dunno: Generally the library is good though and you can get a copy of ANY book that was published in Ireland or England.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭pseudonym

Am in 1st year in trinity and can say that religion is not a problem at all, i mean how are you going to know someone's religion unless they tell you?? And noonnes come up to me with a baseball bat yet and asked me. As for expenses, its not AS bad as you think its goin to be if youre sensible (& stick to bavaria a lot of the time). The science library is a bit iffy, but if youre determined you can probably find the book youre looking for (or very similar, or a previous edition). I live in halls this year and its fairly good, but it is a bit of a distance from the college (40 min walk, 15 min cycle, bus depends on traffic).

Anyway, hope that helped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Unshelved

Religion/Demographics
    Like the population of the republic, the VAST majority of TCD students and staff are Catholic - don't know why this matters, but I thought I'd point it out. It's a very peculiar question, if you don't mind me saying so - you obviously have a very 1950's type mindset if you think that Trinity is such a protestant institution.

I've heard Trinity referred to as the "Culchie College" - because there's such a wide-ranging geographical cross-section of people there - it has a much lower percentage of Dubliners than UCD for example. If you're worried about D4 heads then stay at home forever and never leave your house ever, that way you'll never have to meet any. If you're interested in going to college, ANY college, they're there - if you don't like them, ignore them. That's what most adults do with people they don't like

Library
    Hiding books/highlighting/tearing out pages of Library happens in every university library in Ireland - and I've worked in four of them. It's just a fact of life - unfortunately there are selfish people out there and some of them will be in your class, no matter which college you go to. Bring it to the Library staff's attention and they'll do something about it.

Whatever college you do end up going to, you'll find good and bad points. Take the advice on the boards of people who have done the course you're interested in and ignore those who deal only in generalities. You're taking the right step by trying to get informed before you make any decision - that's all you can do. Remember though that nothing is set in stone, and if you do end up in a course or college you don't like, you can always change. Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭stoopidkid

uary-what subjects dya wanna study? il be startin science in tcd this year myself after takin a year out..can anyone tell me what the workload is gonna be like coz im a bit rusty on the whole studyin front after sittin on my ass all year at work..i wanna do geography n biology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭strawberry

Trinity isn't that expensive if you can resist the temptation to spend all your money on drink. Science books seem to be 60 euro max, and you won't need to buu that many of them. I'm also pretty sure you can get quit a few of them second hand from people the year before, or the inevitable drop-outs.

The Catholic, Protestant thing doesnt matter at all. I'd say the attitude is more of 'who gives a ****, get your ass into this century' than 'i'm going to shoot you with a cross-bow from the campanile'.

I love my course in trinity, but as I'm doing law and french that doesn't count. i know a few ppl in science, they all seem to enjoy what they're doing. I think the lectures can be a bit slow in the beginning because not everyone has the same level from the leaving cert. You should make sure you actually like science and math though because otherwise going down that route will be a pain in the ass. If you want to go on erasmus or to the states, you should check which colleges have the best programmes for that.

Trinity is great for societies too, especially if you're majorly into debating, sport, or if you have a ranting tendency that you wish to work out with a policitical party. The fact that its in the centre of town means that there's always somethiig to do, and you start bumping into ppl you know all the time after a few months (or so my culchie friends say).

All the comments from law people really dont apply in the case of science. The levels of D4 ppl in science are lower than in law,and they'e probably of a lower profile in science too, because they're prolly not as 'ambitious' (read 'in your face') as in law. Also, law students are far more prone to nicking books than any other I do believe, and I think that a lot of the stuff you need for science, you can find on the web, so unless they've learnt how to steal webpages you're alright there :)

And a lot of the time, it's your attitude that counts when it comes to how well you fit in, so whereve you go, make sure you want to go there, and can be optimistic about it!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

*shrug*

i think everywhere has their percentage of D4's and various other tosser categories. the religion thing won't be a problem in trinners, most of the lecturers there are catholic anyway. reason i didn't go there: none apart from the fact my mates were going to UCD, but there's the in-city advantage with trinity (especially if you want accoommodation) - the rooms in UCD are rank i'm told.