Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clicksilver Down for anyone else ???

• 31-01-2004 10:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭

omg back on dialup . I'm typing slowly to compensate .

Anyways , as the topic says , is clicksilver gone for anyone else , mine is gone since about 7 o clock , almost eleven now and still down .

Thank god I held onto the 56k modem .

John .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭radiospan

Beat me to it! :D I was just about to post.

It's down for me too for the past few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Yup back on 56k modem here too :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Dawg

Back in the slow lane here too :mad:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,450 Mod ✭✭✭✭dub45

I phoned them about 9.30pm and they said a router had gone down and that the engineers were working frantically on it (do engineers ever work in any other way?) They said it was due back in an hour - yeah!

I heard it was also down for a considerable time on a weekend about a fortnight ago I was away so did not experiece it - is it true that it was down and for how long?

Is it possible to connect to the UTV support newsgroup without being connected to UTV?

Yeah, I remember Clicksilver being on and off intermittently on a Saturday night a few weeks ago.

IIRC, UTVipXL went down at the same time, anyone know if that's the case tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Iol bb seem to be haveing problums as well .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭raster

Originally posted by bizmark

I concur, took 11 attempts, over 10 mins, errors given were usual user/pass rejected, but also for the first time, remote response timeout.

BTW disconnected at midnight, is that normal, hope it is, as prevents last months usage entereing this months quota if you know what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭jonski

anyone know the phone no. to connect to the UTV non subscription service . I used to have it but didn't hold onto it , connected to elive atm .

it would be handy to connect to UTV so I could check the newsgroup .

even a link to the page its on would be most helpful .

John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

im having the same problem (Clicksilver completely dead since 7:45PM with a nice mixture of 691, 718 and 734 errors :rolleyes: )... i posted on the UTV newsgroups about it... seems to be happening to alot of people

the UTV normal dialup number is 1890927171 btw.... for my username/password i just took my ADSL username and removed the "@adsl.utvinternet.ie" bit.. seems to be working, altho ive got a hideous feeling im doing something wrong :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭ozmo

Your not alone Irish Broadband at my work (Tallaght Mast) has been down since last Sunday.

“Roll it back”

Clicksilver's back up for me now anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Back up for me now too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭rash

Back this morning for me, but getting upto 20% packet loss on pings. Also the PPPoE link is resetting on a regular basis, could stayup for 30min but then goes down.

anybody having similar issues....rang tech support but no ans.

I've just reconnected so I'm not sure about the disconnections (i'll tell you in about half an hour :))

I pinged boards.ie and got 5% packet loss...

Sent = 34, Received = 32, Lost = 2 (5% loss),

fairly normal ping times (47ms mostly, with about 2 of them at 110ms)

edit: just checked the UTV newsgroups, alot of people are having these problems. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭rash

Cheers
    Has improved a bit. PPPoE has been up for 30min, if was bad before that - would stay up only a matter of mins.

Ping statistics for 195.218.116.25:
    Packets: Sent = 730, Received = 656, Lost = 74 (10% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 571ms, Average = 43ms

10% loss seems high, is this average/normal on DSL....would have thought that there would be little contention on a Sunday morning....with people gone to mass and all that!!!

Will keep an eye on it.

Just made a phone call to utv , the guy was just after starting his shift , so he hadn't heard any other complaints but was aware of a problem .

He said the chief tech guy person thingy was working on it now , but they still didn't know the exact nature of the problem . Asked if they could make a post in newsgroup about it , so we'll see what happens

John.

Well it's still not letting me connect :mad:

It's completely dead for me again :rolleyes:

Dead for me again for the last hour. Back on 56k:mad:

Yep, me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Nyum Nyum

Knackered here again too.

It was off all evening yesterday for me. Worked ok(-ish) this morning, now can't get on it at all.

Going back to dialup is awful :ninja:

Gone for me too , phoned support , kept on hold for just short of 20 minutes then disconnected .

Not a happy camper

John.

PS: a bit of interaction from UTV wouldn't go astray , anyone able to connect to newsgroup ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 847 ✭✭✭mickger

Yeah its the same for me here. Was down last night and only went up around 10am this morning but its down again now. Whats happening?

quote from newsgroup

"A router has failed in the South and is currently being replaced. The Clicksilver service should return early this evening. Many apologies for the downtime.

--
    Regards,
    Paul
    UTV Internet Technical Support "

:(
    John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ando

and ppl laughed at me when I said I was going to eircom!!! :ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

My clicksilvers just come back up within the last 2 or 3 mins aswell after over a day of downtime. It's just bloody ridiculous now, if I'd known there was going to be this level of downtime I'd have just spent the extra fiver and subscribed to Eircom. Perhaps their new marketing slogan could be

"Clicksilver - a fiesta of downtime"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭silent

going up and down all the time today
    it's up now

btw anyone else has lots of 'atacks' on their connection?
    I get loads of these today:

WAN Type: PPP over Ethernet (R1.93s1)
    Display time: Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:54:43 PM

Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:36 PM Unrecognized access from 81.167.7.133:3961 to TCP port 2410
    Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:38 PM Unrecognized access from 81.167.7.133:3961 to TCP port 2410
    Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:39 PM Unrecognized access from 217.17.119.21:3540 to TCP port 2410
    Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:42 PM Unrecognized access from 81.167.7.133:3961 to TCP port 2410
    Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:46 PM Unrecognized access from 82.34.146.97:3779 to TCP port 2410
    Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:48 PM Unrecognized access from 80.161.13.25:3672 to TCP port 2410
    Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:49 PM Unrecognized access from 82.34.146.97:3779 to TCP port 2410
    Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:52 PM Unrecognized access from 80.161.13.25:3672 to TCP port 2410
    Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:53 PM Unrecognized access from 213.93.79.50:3699 to TCP port 2410
    Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:55 PM Unrecognized access from 82.34.146.97:3779 to TCP port 2410
    Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:56 PM Unrecognized access from 217.121.108.139:1531 to TCP port 2410
    Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:56 PM Unrecognized access from 213.93.79.50:3699 to TCP port 2410
    Sunday, February 01, 2004 4:50:58 PM Unrecognized access from 80.161.13.25:3672 to TCP port 2410

in the morning, it was port 4666 tcp
    strange, I guess they having some serious routing issues or similar

I,m still down , Anyone else?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, RicherSounds.ie Moderator Posts: 2,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Ritz

Been off since this morning...... came back for a few mins (literally) at 6pm.. then dropped again.

Grumble grumble... Mumble mumble.... feckin' 56k......

The Ritzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

going up and down like crazy. I am logged in at the moment :D but it keeps going down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

back on now and its crawling along, modem was faster then this and something else bad happened to me today, i deleted all my feckin .exe files so have nothing left on the comp !

yeah its back here , but its crap .

any of ye that can migh post in newsgroup about it plz

John.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\John>cd\

C:\>ping 213.253.57.22

Pinging 213.253.57.22 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 213.253.57.22: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=118
    Reply from 213.253.57.22: bytes=32 time=83ms TTL=118

Ping statistics for 213.253.57.22:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Minimum = 82ms, Maximum = 83ms, Average = 82ms

Reply from 213.253.57.22: bytes=32 time=130ms TTL=118
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 213.253.57.22: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=118

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Minimum = 80ms, Maximum = 130ms, Average = 97ms

Reply from 213.253.57.22: bytes=32 time=194ms TTL=118

Minimum = 82ms, Maximum = 194ms, Average = 110ms

Reply from 213.253.57.22: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=118
    Request timed out.

Minimum = 81ms, Maximum = 83ms, Average = 82ms

C:\>ping clarity.jolt.co.uk

Pinging clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=55
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=55
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=55
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=55

Ping statistics for 195.149.21.11:
    Minimum = 79ms, Maximum = 116ms, Average = 89ms

Request timed out.
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=55
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=78ms TTL=55
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=55

Minimum = 78ms, Maximum = 81ms, Average = 79ms

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=55
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=84ms TTL=55
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=86ms TTL=55

Minimum = 78ms, Maximum = 88ms, Average = 84ms

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=55
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=83ms TTL=55
    Request timed out.

Minimum = 78ms, Maximum = 83ms, Average = 81ms

C:\>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

woohoo gettting 80 BYTES a sec dl speeds ! glad to see were my money is going, btw are clicksilver still charging for your ph calls ?

Originally posted by RasTa
    , btw are clicksilver still charging for your ph calls ?

yup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

All day on Clicksilver I'm finding that

1) It takes hours to get a connection

2) When eventually a connection is got it progressively slows down until;

3) theres no connection

4) back to step 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

back up again now for the second time today. If its anything like the last time it'll only last about 5 mins. Currently running at about quarter the speed of a 56k modem, boards.ie took about a minute to load.

I'll be having a scream at someone in the admin team tomorrow methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

given that IOL BB seems to be fubar at the same time it looks like the problem is with a third party

The internet; designed to survive a nuclear war but no match for Eircom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Aepos

This is not good I have had the service for 40 Days now and have had 7 full days when it has been off for me. Not good . I'm going to look for a reduction in the cost for the days with no service.....So far not impressed.....BTW I'm in D16

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Zion

My current broadband average speed is 23kbits/sec.....great.....

C:\Documents and Settings\Admin>ping clarity.jolt.co.uk

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=348ms TTL=55
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=55
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=251ms TTL=55

Minimum = 82ms, Maximum = 348ms, Average = 227ms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Ripwave

Originally posted by Zion
    C:\Documents and Settings\Admin>ping clarity.jolt.co.uk
    Forget pings, what does a traceroute look like? That'll show you where the problem is happening.

Apart from the annoyance of it being down for so long this weekend UTV actually make more money out of us because we have to dial in to even find out whats happening. Its a great position to be in dont provide any service and make even more money!!!!

What ever happend to UTV and their wonderful customer service that make us all want to sign up to clicksilver?

'tis beyond a joke now, has to be something more severe than a dodgy router.

it more likely to be something on Eircoms side seeming both esat and utv are haveing the same problums

Surely it would not be expecting too much from UTV to put a post on boards to let us know what is happening or not happening as the case may be particularly as it is not possible to access the support group if you dial up another ISP to get on the net? Also a taped message on the support line would surely save their customers and their staff a lot of hassle?

A guy from Utvi does come here from time to time...he doesnt seem to post much when things are bad though so dont hold your breath
    Also a taped message on the support line would surely save their customers and their staff a lot of hassle?

aye it would

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Malcolm

For Information
    UTV Internet experienced a hardware failure on Saturday evening and during the night we replaced the faulty equipment and resumed service for DSL customers. However, from Sunday morning we have experienced further problems and have been trying to troubleshoot on the new hardware and on the service throughout the day and this evening. It now seems, as shown on this thread, that the problem is not limited to UTV Internet and may be a more widespread DSL problem.
    Please be assured that we are doing everything we can to identify and resolve any problems as quickly as possible with the equipment and infrastructure within our network.

Malcolm Thompson
    UTV Internet

hmm i was wrong Fair play utv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭ozmo

Just tried and both Netsource and Eircom are unaffected.

“Roll it back”

It now seems, as shown on this thread, that the problem is not limited to UTV Internet and may be a more widespread DSL problem.

Does this suggest that UTV themselves dont know whats going on/wrong? It would not exactly inspire confidence!

However, from Sunday morning we have experienced further problems and have been trying to troubleshoot on the new hardware and on the service throughout the day and this evening. /QUOTE]

Firstly would it not be possible to give some idea of whats going on at a much earlier stage with an approximation of how long things are liable to take? I know its not that easy sometimes but a post at 10pm after a full day and evening out leaves a lot to be desired.

And how can you troubleshoot equipment if you are not sure that everything else is ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭ArthurG

From UTV newsgroup:

'Everything should be back to normal at the minute, and if not would you
    please post to this group asap detailing what issues you are having. As
    mentioned by myself in an earlier post we had a router power down on us - not that
    serious but we think there were also problems somewhere in Esats network that didn't help us :-(

So all should be back up to par and speed issues should be back to their
    blistering 40-50kpbs ranges. I'll post more info on the detail of the last few days
    issues when we have spoken with Esat.'

All seems fine now (with me at least....) Getting 410kbps on Giganews (62 sec d/l) and 20.5 sec download in bandwidthplace.com (407 kbps)