Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Male Grooming

• 27-01-2004 8:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭

This is one for the guys.

Have you ever considered the idea of never having to shave again and never growing a beard?

Maybe stubble or a beard doesn't suit and you will probably never grow one in your life time.

Are u sick of shaving every day, maybe even twice a day if your going out that night.

Would you get laser hair removal and never look back?

Or no way, you want that hair there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Are u sick of shaving every day, maybe even twice a day if your going out that night

Personally, I don't shave every day. A bit of stubble doesn't bother me. Wouldn't bother me if it stopped growing completely either ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

I don't shave everyday. I don't have to because I'm still pretty baby-faced and it takes a few days before stubble and whiskers get noticable to others.

I don't plan on growing a beard but then again I didn't plan on shaving my head and I did that (it was a Sunday, I was bored) so who knows? I like to mess around with my appearance sometimes and I'd like to have the option of growing a beard in case I ever changed my mind, so I don't think I'd get laser hair removal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

I can't stand shaving every day, my solution - designer stubble.

smooth....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Owenw

Ahh designer stubble - the best male fashion accessory to come out of the 80's :D

AFAIR laser hair removal isn't completely permenant, you're hair follicles regenerate after about 5 years or so, then you'd be need more laser treatment.

What about guys with hairy chests - would you consider having it removed?

I've toyed with the idea but there are several downsides:
    1. It costs about €1500
    2. Some women still find "manly" chest sexy.
    3. Er.. it costs about €1500

Upsides
    1. Dosen't involve pain like waxing / electrolysis
    2. Longer lasting result
    3. No rashes/razor burn (as with shaving)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

Shaving everyday is a feck, really hurts after a few days but id never get it removed!!!

As for the hairy chest i shved it once, bad idea, went around for a month hiding it, you are who you are!!! Unless you have big pecs and tight abs i wouldn t bother, anyway most women like it!!!

If you suffer from sensitive skin and get a rash on your neck after shaving I recommend Clinique Post-Shave Healer. It costs alot but it's got lots of aloe-vera and works wonders. Better than King of Shaves or any other things I've tried so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

"Clinique Post-Shave", where and how much please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

No of course not. You need to be able to tailor yourself to suit your, eh, prospective partner's needs.

Some women like stubble, some don't. Some women like hairy chests some don't. By removing the hair, you'll be cutting out an entire chunk of prospective ladies.....

Of course this doesn't apply to gay men. Do gay men like hairy men?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

My chest is staying hairy..it's my pride and joy.

"it's like a carpet"

Damn right baby.

Originally posted by Praetorian
    "Clinique Post-Shave", where and how much please?

"Clinique Skin Supplies for Men
    post-shave healer"

Comes in grey packaging. It's available in some Boots chemists (eg. Liffey Valley). I think it's around €23-€25.

Might be cheaper if you buy online

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I'd be happy to have a smooth face and never shave again. Is not liking the feel or look of stubble on my visage. The laser beams could happily sear my flesh for me in the pursuit of a greater cause. Beards and moustaches are something I don't find attractive, remotely, in a man so I doubt those I'd end up with would mind it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Typedef

Shaving is one of those man-things.

It's not a question of 'have-to' ... it's a question of 'want-to'.

I enjoy shaving and aside from some of the culchie women I've run into, it's something only men get to do.

Which is good.

Nah, I'd never lazer my face, shaving is too much fun... plus, you get to put on aftershave and smell like one of those pages from Mens Health, with Angre Agassi (or similar) plastered all over it, and make the femmes or (lads, if that is your cup of cha) drool with the good apres razer smell.

It's all good when it comes to shaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

Personally I don't mind. I had let my hair grow for the last couple of months, and I haven't shaved in about 2 weeks, so i'm already looking much like grizzley adams.

Considering just letting the beard grow to see how long it can get (goatee was about 8 inches last time before I shaved). I feel a hippy state coming on :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭dictatorcat

I don't want to, but i have to! It's a case of scraping the hair off your face everyday so your boss doesn't think you're a bum (so i hear from people with "real" jobs), it's the male period, except it doesn't come once a month it's everyday!!!

Women begin retaliatory posts now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭[CrimsonGhost]

What about having your ass lasered! Personally I hate a hairy ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,137 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Originally posted by Typedef
    Shaving is one of those man-things.

I enjoy shaving and aside from some of the culchie women I've run into, it's something only men get to do.

Which is good.

Nah, I'd never lazer my face, shaving is too much fun... plus, you get to put on aftershave and smell like one of those pages from Mens Health, with Angre Agassi (or similar) plastered all over it, and make the femmes or (lads, if that is your cup of cha) drool with the good apres razer smell.

It's all good when it comes to shaving.

You could still pretend to shave and then splash on aftershave :)

Don't mind shaving, but never get a close shave even with these fancy mach 3 turbos etc. It's always a little rough afterwards. And the stubble always comes back really quickly (even though I can't grown an actual beard for the life of me).

Would definitely get body hair permanently removed in various places. (but not everywhere because I think totally hairless guys are freaky looking).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

I hate shaving, but I only have to do it once a week or so. I just le t it grow, though all I can manage is a goatee anyway.

I'd never get any of my body hair removed, in fact I'd rather have more of it in some places.

If I had a majorly hairy back though... :dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,137 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I'd never get any of my body hair removed, in fact I'd rather have more of it in some places.

If I had a majorly hairy back though...

"Pwhooah!! The women would be all over me!!" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by k.oriordan
    "Pwhooah!! The women would be all over me!!" :p
    You'd be surprised. Seriously :) (Note: I don't have a hairy back, but know women who actually like it....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Rock Climber

I grow stubble sometimes, but just stubble-no beard!
    I'm told the stubble suits me.
    Sometimes it's liked when I'm kissed and somtimes it's not.
    If the person I'm kissing doesn't like the stubble, I shave it off ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Skud

i got this stuff before called surgi hair stop. slowed down growth of facial hair. wouldn't ever get rid of it. As for the chest saga, i'd get it thinned maybe but not completely gone. Lots of girls like it and if they don't there are plenty that do... grrrr manly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,336 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Skud tell me more!!! how much and were?, any bad side-effects?. The idea of totally removing my facial hair doesn't appeal to me (cept for me Uni-Brow I hate that) but slowing the growth sounds good - less shaving:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Every now and then i go through phases of being completely clean shaven. otherwise i dont shave, i merely shorten the stubble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

I also tend to go through phases of having a full-blown beard, being clean(ish) shaven and having a goatee as well as sideburns... I'm very rarely smooth as I don't like the feeling and my skin gets irritated if I shave too close. I recently invested in a cordless beard trimmer type thing and it's the mutts nuts - all I have to choose a length and trim away! Also depends on my hairstyle as well as I tend to change that quite alot, at the moment I'm a peroxide blonde so I'm keeping my facial hair at the "designer stubble" phase of growth most of the time. :cool:

Giles what do you use to get ure peroxide blonde hair cause my black hair kicks the crap out of my hair lightner - I suppose I should check chemists and get proper Bleach?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 820 ✭✭✭qBot

Originally posted by [CrimsonGhost]
    What about having your ass lasered! Personally I hate a hairy ass.

ha ha, i second that. damn stuff annoys the crap out of me:D
    Woudn't mind getting my chest done either. Not up 4 getting rid of my facial hair though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

The stuff I used last was called Jerome Russell Hair Lightener for men. It's actually a proper bleach kit and you can get it in most chemists I'm sure. Good stuff, especially for under a tenner and when you consider the price of going to a salon! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

personality i have to shave every 2 days, but ideally it should be every day.Have a brother who might not shave for a week and he will have a tiny bit of stubble, lucky sod!!! as sometimes shaving is a apin especially if u have mild acne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

I like both actually, a cute baby face can be great but can get boring, stubble is dead sexeh ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

/me rather hairy.

I don't intend changing for anyone. In fact, I'm going to plait my goatee and attach googly eyes to the ends as soon as it's long enough (I'm serious. There may well be photographic proof by the end of the week).

If that means cutting out a massive chunk of women who would otherwise be interested in me, so be it. I'd rather feel good about myself than try to conform to someone else's desires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 820 ✭✭✭qBot

Originally posted by Sarky
    /me rather hairy.

I don't intend changing for anyone. In fact, I'm going to plait my goatee and attach googly eyes to the ends as soon as it's long enough (I'm serious. There may well be photographic proof by the end of the week).

If that means cutting out a massive chunk of women who would otherwise be interested in me, so be it. I'd rather feel good about myself than try to conform to someone else's desires.

the bitter words of a man..... who doesn't get any:D

Originally posted by cuan
    the bitter words of a man..... who doesn't get any:D

You seem familiar with his sentiment. A little too familiar... :D

Originally posted by Sarky
    /me rather hairy.

Been there, done that, going to do it again now :)

Generally great but i'll say a couple of things about it...when tied up it can tug at your skin a bit and leave it itchy at times, and when you wash and the goatee's long but just stringy (like all facial hair generally is) it just gets weird :)

Worst thing I had with it was that I wash my hair every day, goatee as well, so when I tied it up, it was still wet and left the band wet.

Also unless as you say, plait it, it tends to curl up. Not much fun really when that happens. I'll put up a pic sometime, but you have to put up with the fact that i'd just gone peroxide blonde at the time as well :D

On the topic of bleaching hair - how did you guys do it?
    Did you enlist some help to make sure the gunk is spread evenly through your hair? Did you do your eyebrows? (I think there's nothing worse than bleach blonde hair with dark eyebrows.)

I asked the hairdresser and she refused basically said it'd look sh**

What things can go wrong?

Depends what type of hair and hair colour you have. If too dark it doesn't always turn out right. My m8 had really dark hair, and when he dyed it, the colour came out orange!!

Some people who leave the dye in too long have it come out green. Personally I have dark brown/red hair and I leave it in 1 hour to bring it out an almost white/yellow shade (which is what I want).

Check the packet to get an idea. Usually they don't recommend anything darker than dark brown.

Cheers ][ceman**.

My hair is dark brown with a bit of red too.
    If it went orange/green I'd shave the lot off. It grows quick enough anyway.
    How long 'til the roots show through? Couple of weeks?

great sig BTW :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Skud

Surgi hair stop was EUR15 in boots. I'm sure you would be able to get similar products elsewhere or even that (elsewhere). If you use it for 10 days x2 apparently your hair doesn't grow back. You must also use it twice a week from then on... But like me i just used after i shaved for grads and debs and stuff. Next day I had less facial hair then i usually do. Very handy if you shave every day... Can see here:

http://www.boots.com/newsearch/search.jsp?searchArea=1&searchQuery=surgi+hair+stop&uri=%2Fhome.jsp&classificationId=&contentId=&articleId=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

also, if you do shave and find you get irratated and post around your neck as a result, there is an alternative

http://www.makeup4brides.co.uk/ingrow_go.htm

Apperently its not a good idea to die your eyebrows cause.....you look stupid, I did it and everyone seem to think it was bad. Ye my dark hair just turns to orange if I dont do it twice (what a bore!), your roots come back pretty quickly (1 week - 1.5 week if you are lucky) but they dont really start to stick out for a while (1 month).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭raster

Originally posted by Typedef
    ...you get to put on aftershave...

I have never seen the point to aftershave, is it just for the smell
    or does it feel good, I thought it was alcoholic and stung (the last
    thing you would want) is aftershave popular?

You can get aftershave in liquid form or cream form. It only stings if you have cut yourself or you shave TOO close. It shouldn't sting. If you have sensetive skin this might also cause it, but in that case I would recommend using a cream.

I often found due to hardwater in my area (have to see about getting a filter somewhere) my skin dried up when I used water from the tap. I started using an aftershave in creame form. It acted like a moisturiser as well and left me looking and smalling great. Sometimes liquid aftershave can add to dry patches of skin when it dries in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

I have to shave at least once a day. I've rather light coloured stubble when its short but it turns black as it grows. Its like wire though. Some women love it others hate it.
    I enjoy shaving, it wakes me up in the morning, nothing refreshs faster than having to hold an open blade near a jugular. Plus the cold water is good for the skin.

I look evil with any stubble, beard or facial hair. but i aslo look evil without.

This all depends on how fast your beard grows and whether you have sensitive skin or not:

Shaving is supposedly better done in the evening, rather than first thing in the AM when you're skin is waking up.

Also if you shave the night before you're skin will have time to recover instead of walking around all morning with a rash.

Aftershave is bad for your skin because it is astringent (drying).
    Lash some after shave balm instead to cool the skin & moisturise.

IMO you're better off using an Eau de Toilette spray instead of aftershave and don't put it on your face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭tommycahir

personally there are some times that i just cant be ar*sed shaving and just let it grow for a couple of weeks and then there are other times that i mite shave once or even twice a day.
    it doesnt really bother me that much and some women just love the sight of a man with stubble.. eg current gf..
    when i do shave i use the nivea for men sensitive aftershave balm it works wonders i think anyways never get any rashes after putting it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭tommycahir

personally there are some times that i just cant be ar*sed shaving and just let it grow for a couple of weeks and then there are other times that i mite shave once or even twice a day.
    it doesnt really bother me that much and some women just love the sight of a man with stubble.. eg current gf..
    when i do shave i use the nivea for men sensitive aftershave balm it works wonders i think anyways never get any rashes after putting it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭sutty

I have to say I dont mind shaving since I found a oil called "King Of Shavers" Comes in a little bottle that looks like it will last one shave (I get at least 15 shaves out of it) Its very good, I can even shave agenst the grain and not get red raw skin.

As for getting rid of it altogether, I think for my-self I look better with stubble/Goatee. I had my Goatee for over two years, shaved it off there the other week.... man I looked strange with out it. So I've let it grow back now. I find that a lot of women prefair it... er... and a few guys to :eek: :dunno: ;) :ninja: :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Originally posted by sutty
    . and a few guys to :eek: :dunno: ;) :ninja: :D

:blush:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Would it cost much to get the bit between the eyebrows laserred?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

Surgi hair stop was EUR15 in boots. I'm sure you would be able to get similar products elsewhere or even that (elsewhere). If you use it for 10 days x2 apparently your hair doesn't grow back. You must also use it twice a week from then on... But like me i just used after i shaved for grads and debs and stuff. Next day I had less facial hair then i usually do. Very handy if you shave every day... Can see here

if i use lots of this ****, then i am beard free ? :dunno:
    hmmmmmmmmmmmmm, must try, hate shaving in morning, oh the pain !
    also, how long have u been using it ? ne side effects. Says its made with natural food enzymes so i guess not many chemicals and if so, slow reults ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Down with hairy faces.

Theyre not nice.