Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do after school, Help

• 13-01-2004 7:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭

Ok guys you gotta help me decide what career to do when I leave skool. I have practically no idea so i'm open to ALL suggestions and ideas. I have two areas I might like to work in alright so in your suggestions I would like courses i could do etc.

The two main interests are computers and science, but i would also like info on other possible careers too which i can do with my chosen subjects. My subjects for the leaving cert are English, Irish, Maths, French, Physics, Chemistry, and History.

It would be good if people who already choose the career could give me info too as it would be first hand experience.

I made out guidelines to follow when answering the questions to get as much info as possible:

The Career Name
    Describe the type of work a person in this career would be doing:
    List 5 qualitys and skills needed for the job.

Qualifications and Trainings:
    The path to take to get the career,
    The length of the course,
    The location of the course
    Entry Requirements
    Admission procedure
    Qualifications you receive when finished.

Thanks a million guys for any advice you can offer,
    Denis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Err im out of college 3 years and I still haven't a clue what I'm going to be doing... just choose any degree that interests you... you shouldn't be thinking about careers yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭sci0x

Thats what i am looking for....possible degrees that are available to me that i might like to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

A 3 year degree in Motorsport Engineering in the University of Lancashire.

Originally posted by sci0x
    The two main interests are computers and science

computer science in trinners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Adrian

If you don't mind me asking, how much points do you plan on getting for the leaving cert. Do you want a job that you would enjoy or a job that would bring in good money. Give more details!

Originally posted by utility_
    One thing, id rather go to UCC than anywhere else.
    Please answer the questions about this course. Look at my first post for the questions.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

I was taking to people at lunch today, and quite a few, as well as my
    self, did a course other than computers, even though we are employed in that sector.
    Best bet is to get a course which has mixture of IT and some other element such as Business, which would give a broad range to choose future careers from.

Originally posted by Adrian
    If you don't mind me asking, how much points do you plan on getting for the leaving cert. Do you want a job that you would enjoy or a job that would bring in good money. Give more details!

I plan on getting 400 points at the very least. A job I would be happy in and that brings in lotsa money would be good. If i had to choose between them it would be a job that i would be happy in.

Originally posted by Manach
    I was taking to people at lunch today, and quite a few, as well as my
    self, did a course other than computers, even though we are employed in that sector.
    Best bet is to get a course which has mixture of IT and some other element such as Business, which would give a broad range to choose future careers from.

A good idea. It just so happens i came across this course - BIS. I am also very much interested in business even though i cant do business for the leaving in my skool and i dont do accounting. What was the name of the course you done? Please answer a few other of my questions in my 1st post.

Originally posted by utility_

What exactly does Computer Science involve? and what career can you get out of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

The question is: What do YOU want to do with computers and science...?

Originally posted by Funky
    The question is: What do YOU want to do with computers and science...?

Thats the problem, i dont have a clue. Thats why i am here looking for guidance asking what are the best courses i could do, and career choices i could get out of the course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

Do computer science, get all As. Stay doing the course for as long as possible, and then become a computer science professor at the college.

[edit: really ? cut the crap. << Fio >>]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

Looks we have another arts undergrad on our hands.

*guffaw*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Faust

Originally posted by Moriarty
    Looks we have another arts undergrad on our hands.

*guffaw*
    Arts rules im not back to collge till february!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

How is mcd's pay nowadays?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Faust

Originally posted by Moriarty
    How is mcd's pay nowadays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

Originally posted by Faust
    Arts rules im not back to collge till february!

not being back in college til febuary is nothing to do with arts but more so how the college runs its semester and exams and what not, i know people who don't do arts and arent' back in college until febuary namely people in DCU and maynooth.

sci0x for a start you don't want to go to trinity.

what about science in ucd? (i don't know anything about the ucc course) but you said you doing chemistry and physics.

in ucd you could do chemistry, physics, maths and computer science in first year or mathmatical physics instead of chemistry and physics (you have to do maths in first year in ucd). points aren't that high either they've dropped a lot due to a general lack of interest in science in the country and also due to the fact that ucd increased the number of places i think.

anywho that aside after first year you'd probably have some idea what your where interested in and then you could decide which subject to drop in your second year?

any questions feel free to ask

data

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I wouldn't advise anyone to do a science degree. As in a chemistry, biology, or physics degree. Not talking about computer science, don't know enough about it.

There's an awful lot of hype about science these days from various sources e.g. Mary Harney, IBEC, biased career supplements in the national newspapers, Enterprise Ireland, the Dept of Education, websites such as www.science.ie Most of what you hear about science being interesting, stimulating, and exciting with loads of well paid jobs is total BS. The truth is that many many science graduates find it extremely difficult to get jobs and even the jobs that are out there are generally boring, menial and poorly paid (example of such a job- Quality Control analyst in the pharmaceutical industry - a hateful, hateful job)

You have been warned.

BrianD3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

The more important question is .... if you are interesting in doing a science based degree - how are you at Chem, Physics & Maths? If you were doing quite well, then that's good, but if you're only barely scraping by, then the Chem & Physics side would be prolly worse when you go onto third level.

What you really need to do is ring all the various colleges that you might like to go to, and get them to send you out the prospectus with a description of what courses are taught for each degree, the points requirement, entry requirements, etc, and what possible jobs you're looking for. Tiz prolly your best bet if you have no idea, because at the end of the day, only you can decide what you should do or not do. If you go on someone else's advice, and don't like it, and you want to change, then you'll have to do another year, and pay the fees, so try make an informed decision first time 'round :)

That said, you have til July anyway, isn't it, to change your CAO form? So no need to majorly panic jus yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

What exactly does Computer Science involve? and what career can you get out of it?

i dont mean to be a prick here, but why dont ya get off your ass and go to the college open days instead of askin a bunch of strangers wot u should do..

if u went to open days, they'll tell u EVERYTHIN u need to know,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Ok guys you gotta help me decide what career to do when I leave skool.

Read DeVore's journal entry on random emails and looking for life advise.

We do not know you.

We cannot tell you what to do with your life.
    The two main interests are computers and science

Maybe thats your answer.

<< Fio >>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

What is it about computers and science that interests you?
    Is it games, programming or building a computer that interests you about computing? Is it physics, chemistry, biology or maths that interests you in science? Can you define it more specifically than physics or chemistry, say astrophysics or whatever for example?

If it's a general interest you have then look for a general course in one or more of these areas. Most science courses have a large dose of computing in them. If your interests are more specific then try and find this specific thing in a course. Ideally a course which starts off general and then specialises in later years might be good if you're not entirely sure of a specific direction within a subject.

Get prospectus's and get reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Sci0x, I did the exact same subjects as you for my Leaving, except replace chemistry with applied maths and biology. I never thought about a career, but instead did what I wanted to do, which was Chem/Phys/Math in UCC. (That particular course is gone now, it's been split up into more specific courses). I started UCC with the intention of a joint Physics/Maths degree, but after a year I went with a single honours physics degree. I graduated in 2000, and started a PhD in Electrical Engineering afterwards. When I finished my physics degree, I was uncertain what to do and I did some job interviews. Companies like Eircom, Meteor, Eircell and Ericsson offered me jobs, but they weren't great and I wasn't ready to stop learning, so I went back and signed up for the PhD.

8 people made it to final year physics in my class in UCC, we all had over 500-550 points. It's the kind of standard that's required to do well. If that doesn't appeal to you, consider engineering. Things aren't as belak as they are made out to be and what the scaremongers in the paper don't tell you is that on an engineering course you'll learn an awful lot of different subjects, including a lot of programming (in fact after the ElecEng course here in UCC you'll be as proficient as any computer scientist), mathematics.

I personally don't have much respect for the BIS course. I know people from ElecEng who teach on that course without having done anything like it. It's a fashion course, engineered to fit the market as a "sexy" course.

If you have any questions about UCC let me know, and I'll do my best to get you information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

We do not know you.

We cannot tell you what to do with your life.

Probably the best advice you'll get on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭embraer170

I am doing Commerce (European) in UCC so if you have any particular questions about that, just ask.
    A good idea. It just so happens i came across this course - BIS. I am also very much interested in business even though i cant do business for the leaving in my skool and i dont do accounting. What was the name of the course you done? Please answer a few other of my questions in my 1st post.

I don't think you missed anything by not doing business in the leaving. At University level, the core management section it is so different to anything thought at secondary. Accounting/Economics probably is probably handy however (I didn't have either).

I'd would recommend that you just walk around UCC some day and perhaps even attend a few 1st Year lectures.

BTW have heard a lot of not so great stuff about BIS.

Originally posted by newband
    i dont mean to be a prick here, but why dont ya get off your ass and go to the college open days instead of askin a bunch of strangers wot u should do..

if u went to open days, they'll tell u EVERYTHIN u need to know,,
    I went to loads of open days. They were quite interesting really. The main place i wanted to find out about was UCC though and their open day consisted on spending the day in the Mardike jumping on a trampoline :rolleyes:. Im serious. We did go to a leacture hall alright, where she exaplined some of the courses.

The thing is, I have work experience next week. I'm from Kerry. Id really like to choose somewhere that would help me decide if i liked the job. Is there any place in this area you would advise so I could really see if I would like a job in computers. Or any place i could go to let me see if I would like a job in science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Atreides

Best advice I can give, is Find a field, find someone qualitified in it and get the low down from them not random strangers. Also if you know someone in ucc try going to afew lectures and the like to get a fell of the place. Science Degrees are very though, and have one of the highest drop out rates in trinity, something like 20 percent, however certain art's degrees go up to 33% and above

Originally posted by Skanger
    Best advice I can give, is Find a field, find someone qualitified in it and get the low down from them not random strangers. Also if you know someone in ucc try going to afew lectures and the like to get a fell of the place. Science Degrees are very though, and have one of the highest drop out rates in trinity, something like 20 percent, however certain art's degrees go up to 33% and above

Ok so computers. What are the jobs like in that field?
    And what exactly does computer science involve.

computers isn't a field, what do you want to do with computers> Make them, design them, program for them, use them for computer graphics, telecoms what exactly. Computer Science Degrees arn't worth what they used to be, I know several CA degree holders from DCU who still don't have a job. However computer engineering is a different story, epecially the electronics end of it.

What does computer engineering involve?

Are you good at maths? Do you like computer hardware? have you a good head for the elctronics part of your physics course, do you think you would like to work with architecture programming languages? are you a code junky, Really your not telling me much here. ITs extremely difficult to tel lyou what computer engineering is like, because each degree is somewhat different depending on what the person doing the degree is interested in. Its quiet possible to look at a computer engineering degree and never touch the hardware end of things. To me you sound like someone who should be looking at a general degree. I wasn't to sure which engineering stream i wanted, so i did a general course, but at least I knew i wanted an engieering degree. Your kinda half hearted "well i like science" approach wont wash in third level, first thing they will tell you is that the leaving cert is a pile of steamy hot piss as far as science goes, prepare for things you thought whre facts to be completely disreguarded. If you don't have to determination you won't stick a practical course, try an arts course, easier to change around in, don't mean much anyway.

Ok at the mo i'm looking into Computer Science. I like the variety of jobs that are available and the course in general. I am wondering what personal skills/qualitys are needed for a job such as a software engineer / web design / systems engineer?

Ok at the mo i'm looking into Computer Science. I like the variety of jobs that are available and the course in general.

u are sayin this but obviously from all the questions u are askin ya haven't a clue at wot is REALLY involved.. you should really contact colleges, find out bout their courses, ask wot previous students are doing now etc etc blah blah blah...

doesn't ur school have a guidance councelor??

Or else go to the careers professor in Trinity - can't remember his name, but maybe someone here will know who I'm talkin about. You have to do these tests for him, and at the end, it basically tells you what you should and shouldn't do. He's out in Blackrock (I think).

I went to him, and it cost about £100 at the time. It was well worth the money because at the time, I didn't really know what I wanted to do - went once in Transition Year, and then again in sixth year, jus to make sure. Jus as well I had gone again, as my interests had changed and he guided me to do the course I'm doin now, and I love it.

I know some people would prolly say tiz bull but the tests were really accurate, he even matched my personality 100%, n stuff. Anyways, jus in case you don't know what you wanna do, it would prolly be worth your while goin up.

One last thing - we did these other career tests in secondary school, but they were absolutely useless in comparisson (prolly coz you didn't have to pay for them).

www.careerdirections.ie

these do aptitude tests and its FREE, it was pretty accurate for me.. but there is pretty much every kind of career that is possible to do, and it gives details like, pay opportunities, how ya can get into that career etc

tis gud ya:D

Ok guys, i've broken down my career choices to either journalism or something in the computer field. I was wondering if a person in each field could talk to me, i just have a couple of questions to make sure which career i want to choose. Talking on MSN messenger would be best so if you want to help me and are either doing some from of journalism or in the computer field PM me.

try and get a journalist to visit your school or visit the irish times. Strange you said journalism, you never mentioned a fondness for the english language and creative writing.

RING THE COLLEGES :D

try and get a journalist to visit your school or visit the irish times. Strange you said journalism, you never mentioned a fondness for the english language and creative writing.

Thats coz i thought i really wanted a job in computers. After doing some research i decided to check out journalism too so im keeping that option open anyway.

You want a job in computers, what type of computing, why don't you talk to some programmers over on the programming forum. Why do you want a job in computing, are you a nerd/geek (nothing wrong with that, but lets cut the crap here) or do you just like what ocmputers do for you

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I plan on getting 400 points at the very least. A job I would be happy in and that brings in lotsa money would be good..

sadly we cant all get what we want can we?

i'm in the same boat. am following your thread with intrest

You want a job in computers, what type of computing, why don't you talk to some programmers over on the programming forum. Why do you want a job in computing, are you a nerd/geek (nothing wrong with that, but lets cut the crap here) or do you just like what ocmputers do for you

Ok, i've work experience coming up in Easter. So i'll go somewhere to see what its like to work as a software engineer or computer hardware designer or something. Wondering... is it necessary to be a computer geek to go for a job in computers. Also wondering why the points for computer science is only 300? Is it coz the course is easy or coz nobody does it or whats the story?

Any programmers here that i could talk to? just got a few questions

Points for Computer Science goes up and down depending on the amount of places for it. That's how the CAO works. Hence why points for actuary & medicine are so high (because there are only a small number of places) - there are always loads of places for computer courses, so points aren't as high.

Ok, lets summerise here:

a) You think people online can tell you what to do
    b) You haven't bothered ringing colleges / looking at prospectuses
    c) You haven't a clue how the points system works.

Right kido, get off your ass and look up some stuff for yourself.

<< Fio >>

Originally posted by smiles
    Ok, lets summerise here:

a) You think people online can tell you what to do
    b) You haven't bothered ringing colleges / looking at prospectuses
    c) You haven't a clue how the points system works.

Right kido, get off your ass and look up some stuff for yourself.

<< Fio >>

Ok, lets set you straight here:

a) I think people online could help give me advice on a career. I'm just discussing the matter.

b)No i didnt ring, instead I went to the colleges to view their open days / I have been looking at my prospectuses, looking over careers I would like to do and discussing it here.

c) Yes I do.

I have been up off my ass doing stuff for myself. Now I am here discussing the research on different careers that i got up off my ass to do.

<<Deno>>

c) Yes I do.
    Also wondering why the points for computer science is only 300? Is it coz the course is easy or coz nobody does it or whats the story?

Sorry, seems your posts don't convey any of your great research.

<< Fio >>

question are you in forth year, question does your school have a career guidance person, go talk to him/her. Warning my career guidance teacher was a stupid bitch (sorry for the language but she was). Basically asking people questions will only work if you have questions to ask. the two fields you mentioned for summer work experience are very very difficult to get into for work experience. I work ofr three months in a web design and programming company in dublin during my forth year summer holidays. It was enough to show me, that despite the fact i like computers and the job was extremely good craic, I didn't want to sit in a 4x4 cubical all my life programming away or designing some websites, i needed to do something that had a pratical application to it, thats when i started to look at engineering, that and hte fact that your average graphic designer or programming monkey (no offence to anyone) isn't on great money, where as 48 grand a year is pretty common for an engineer just out of college. I needed a career that interested me, would challange me, give me to oppertunity to travel, and would also pay me well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

48 grand a year is pretty common for an engineer just out of college.

On what planet?

In my experience, graduate civil engineers can expect to start at around 27-30k in the public sector and around 27-35k in the private sector. Of course some private sector employers will pay more for the right person but 48k straight out of college? I think not. As for Electronic engineering, graduates are lucky if they can get a job at all. Jobs are quite scarce and the principles of supply and demand dictate that graduates have to take what they can get and are in no position to demand 50k straight out of college. Job prospects in Chemical engineering are a bit better but the money is similar. Don't know about Mechanical engineering but I presume it's also similar.

BrianD3

Top graduate from civil engineering with a maters degree from trinity last year was offered a job at 48 grand a year. Never claimed that was the propect for every one but i did look from afew sites offering jobs for civil engineers and thats about what one seems to be able to expect with afew years experience. Interesting you mentioned electronic engineering, Some of my relatives are electronic/electrical engineers and i hadn't thought the situation was that bad.