Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would y'all like this ... ??

• 11-02-2000 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭

http://q3clanarena.webjump.com

[This message has been edited by Slosh (edited 11-02-2000).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭SickBoy

I'd rather not see a CA mod on the servers for a long time yet.

Jimmy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Nicky

definetly not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Not really, if the resources are they're would be nicer to have another q3 server, to run duels, wars, ffa, whatever on (using vote to change type)
    Quozl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

I agree keep it far away, since ca hit the qw servers...ppl have been playing less and less duels and wars to an extent that they no longer feature any more, and now no one plays qw any more..

www.csn.ul.ie/~osiris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Spoonman

A CTF server would be a lot better.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Yes, I agree, dont let people play what their preference is, they MUST play what I want and even if that means not putting up a server...

Slosh, you put up what you want. I vote for that mod, maybe it will attract me back to quake 3

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

Id love to play CA and so would newbies. Face it . Its easier and its more fun if ure crap. Like me. Muppets like moi (and we number greatly) would love a CA server slosh. T'would be GREATLY appreciated. Im too crap to enjoy war smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Predator

nonononononononn
    as every good quake player knows ca doesnt improve your skills at all , just imagine q3 bfg lots of cells oh the humnaity , u wouldnt bother to aim, just point and click(i know this is the fun of bfg, but id say others would rather have there skillz improved)
    Its sloshs decision thou so i expect hell dpo what he wants , but why take off the ffa server or the war for a ca one?
    G

Daddy or Chips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Steven

So y not just ban the bfg? It'd be mad craic with a load of full ammo plasma gun wielders running araound sunglasses.gif

Hang on. Ca don't improve ure skills??? WTF?? If it wasn't for CA I'd still be the ****ty player I was 6 months ago. It brought the world of quake alive for me. I prefer DM now, but if it wasn't for CA a lot of the players out there would have given up in frustration because they kept losing to more experienced players. Believe me, u don't get better lying on the cold concrete floor. CA mde me the Sh*te player I am today. If it wasn't for the great equaliser that lets any idiot get a frag (ie. me smile.gif) I'd still be out there lying on that dm3 bridge, the site of my 1st on-line death. So nyaaaa sunglasses.gif

Who said take off ffa?
    And there couldnt be a bfg innit.
    And so what if there is no skill.(different skill u mean. The good players still win).
    Its only for fun.A laff. Quake aint all blood and guts *training*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

put 1 up if the resources are there, set it for no bfg (as its a silly gun) and no plasmagun (as having everyone with it would cause no end of lag). if poeple want to play on it all day, thats up to themselves.

if u want to keep it skillfull, set the ammo levels for RL & GL low, while the RG ammo high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

haha q3 CA haha RG haha haha oh dear.
    i can see that would be fun when it comes down to two ppl on the servers.
    nobody move from your camp spot or youll get railed.

I fail to understand why anyone would bother camping in ca anyway. Its only a *for a laff* game anyway. Why take it so seriously? And of course lag & rail gun means its ez enough to dodge with right movement (provided the guy aint pinging 10). As for low rl ammo?? all I can say is "?"???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭FurY

ahh now, lets not c a ca server. I mean, it is totally up to u, but by the looks of things, the majority of q3ers would rather c the server put to better use. A ctf server wood be truly class. By taking 1 look at how bw ctf servers r always packed, u will get an inclination of just how much it rulez.
    [ps]SéaN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭El_Presidente

Im not really in favour of a CA server but do we really need a ctf server either? Remember all you need to do to play ctf on existing servers is call a vote.

I'd love to see this happen a few times btw.

Plus CTF will draw more ppl towards q3, just look at the other popular online games: UT, TFC, Tribes they all are baised on/around CTF.

Hmmmm. CTF eh? Im ez between CA and ctf. If there will be a new decent QW ca server that should do me tnx smile.gif Do what u want slosh. CA , CTF r both nice tho smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭H_K

ctf definitely, everyone loves it - it has the lighthearted fun of CA but its faster and actually requires that you apply your mind for more han 30 second bursts.

Pat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

I certainly wasn't that impressed with their web site so that put me off downloading it - I'd like to see the real Rocket Arena people doing a version TBH.

What about changing the FFA server to CTF some weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

CA is class ... and i could care less if it won't improve my "skillz".

JAK.

Just hope they do the CA mod well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭Zero

No way. Not a CA server. CA turned Irish quakers into muppets. It might be good for a laugh or for muppets to learn how to play or whatever, but it killed the clans here, nobody can disagree with that.
    The Q3 scene is just taking off, and there are already plenty of deadly players, don't fook it up by putting up a ca server. After a ton of hard work, we proved by winning the 4 nations that Ireland can be good. We want to do better in Q3, show them ****z how to play Quake. Keep the clan scene going while it's strong, dont ruin it already.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Um, we won the 4 nations ages after the CA server went up.

People stopped playing Clan wars for an entirely different reason imho. They just weren't that into clans and clan wars. Its not fun, its all serious and "we will 0wn j00" ****e. CA I dont have to wait 20 mins while all the fnck ups get their proxies running and then one of them disses and we have to wait on the server for him to reconnect and a muppet connects instead of him and wont leave etc.

You know, we should stop those HalfLife servers too, those players could be playing Quake 3 wars instead of wasting their time on HL. I mean ffs!!!

Put up the servers, let people take their choice. Thats my opinion.

Tom.

[This message has been edited by DeVore (edited 12-02-2000).]

And why are people so worried about irish players quake skills? Its up to to themselves what they want to do. Its like USA banning Thresh from playing Soltaire in case they look bad when he loses.

Stop worrying about irish being muppets. If I want to be a goddamn muppet i will. Dont tell me I cant cause the Irish community will suffer. Thats a crap claim.In fairness like. People can be as good or as bad as they want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Bunny

aahh, so we connect to the server computer through telephone lines from our computer...I am slowly beginning to understand all this..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭FurY

"Put up the servers, let people take their choice."
    From this thread, i'd think its quite obvious what ppl want, another form of DM/CTF server. Only ppl tryin to get a ca server is urself, paladin and a few others. Now how bout a dedicated CTF/Dool server. Or how bout 2 war servers, of which, 1 will be listed on the master server. Ok, its not the greatest of ideas, but anything is better than a CA server.
    [ps] SéaN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

CAN WE GET DM3 PORTED TO Q3 AND PUT ON THE Q3 CA SERVER AND HAVE IT THE ONLY MAP AS IT'D BE JUST KEWL?

Yes Fury, thats why the CA server is the only consistently busy server. Perhaps its because the people who play CA, actually PLAY the game rather then post politics here (yes I realise I'm the exception smile.gif )

I do take the point about CTF and it IS the granddaddie of all quake.

I say put up a CTF and CA server and take down the DM one... :p

DeV.

I put in MORE ON-LINE HOURS playing quake and posting on the boards than ANYONE else because I have no life, MUUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

No, wait... redface.gif
    sunglasses.gif

[This message has been edited by Steven (edited 13-02-2000).]

In view of the last post, I would like to issue a public apology for excessive use of capitals in order to stress important points (well, they were important to me smile.gif) and plead with the board moderators to spare me from a burning at the stake. Thank you.

Yours whateverly,
    Dr.Steven Spammer,
    Professor of Spammology,
    S.I.C. (Spamming Institute of Cork)
    sunglasses.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭H_K

i see all the pro-CA arguments, but in the end, i think Zero's arguement sums it all up like

What, that CA turns irish quakers into muppets?
    Well kiss my muppet ass!! CA server IS always popular. Who gives a <rap that most of the players on it dont post? Well you lot obviously. But stop being so arrogant. I love CA. Its more fun for me. And a lot of ppl feel that way. So they dont all post. Big deal. Stop saying they shouldnt have a place to play cause U dont want it. If slosh is good enough to put one up, and after a month or two its a total flop then try CTF maybe? See which is more popular. I personally like both but Im not gonna say give me a CA and FU<K the CTF'ers or DM'ers. Think about it and be fair lads. If you want a particular server then nobody minds you voicing ure opinion. But dont shove it down our throats as tho it were law!

Here here Dev btw. CTF and a CA server and take down DM? Hooooooooo YEAH! While Im dreaming tho Id like a jaguer. With a Liz hurley look alike. smile.gif

Grand so, I'll take the one with Liz Hurley in it...

DeV.

Damaged goods I say smile.gif
    *snigger*
    I mean like Hugh Grant?. HA!
    Where as the jaguar is just *Divine* heh smile.gif

On the other hand, she is rich, isn't she sunglasses.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

I'd poke her, uh, I mean, MORE Q3 SERVERS!!! CTF! PLEASE! CHEERS!

[This message has been edited by God Himself and the number 6 and 9]

Play GLminesweeper! Lunacy Abounds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

god, its just like ol times in here, isnt it
    qw muppetry = q3a muppetry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭Zero

Hate to agree with you Eamo, but I do. You get about 3 posts into a discussion before the onslaught of úbernerds flood without about 20 posts.

Dev, didn't think I'd need to point out to you how the whole Irish team, with the exception of Bunny, barely played CA if ever played it at all. It's all the one, put up one if ye like, but its a muppet game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭El_Presidente

I think that if a CA server was put up it would suck people away from the FFA server which would be a real shame as I consider FFA a hell of a lot more fun then CA ever was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭creative

I totally agree Pres. If there are new resources, then i reckon another war or duel server. Even CTF would be sooooo much better than a CA one.
    In terms of developing the Irish quake scene...or any scene...you want games with some thought.

No offence to the CA guys, but i dont rate it as a mod where there is any thought, you dont have to earn weapons, or items....hence there is nothing to control. Might be good for a 10 min warmup before you play wars or duels...but that hardly qualifies it?!?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭Guinnessman

ahh but its fun like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭creative

wha?....you want to have fun? tut tut tut!!

but aren't the servers laggy enough without an extra ca one. Your not taking away my beloved ffa server are you!

Creative (not specifically aimed at you but..)

You dont hear the CA lads saying
    "I dont rate wars, all that happens is 2-3 mins of scrambling about and then one team gets a lock down and you might as well get your coat."

You also dont see the CA lads saying
    "I think Wars are damaging our CA players, I think we should shut down the War server."

How ridiculous does that sound? But its exactly what you and the other war-only players are saying.

So how about we turn the tables, what if I decided to take a CA team abroad and get them to play Nethouse teams in the UK (as could happen if I wasnt up to my tonsils).

Would I then be justified in asking for the
    war servers to be taken down?

What about the HL servers, they are stealing our war players too, ruining their TP. Shut them down.

And the UT ones, think about how many Q3A players we've lost to that alone! Shut all UT servers down!

Just sit back and listen to yerselves lads, talk about arrogance.

The only reason to take down or not put up a server is because its last on the list when the list is ordered by popularity. For you to come along and say "I dont care if its popular, its detracting from MY preferred style of play" is arrogance beyond anything Chrome has ever accused me of smile.gif

Tom.

"There are more things in heaven and earth then are dreamt of in your philosophies."

[This message has been edited by DeVore (edited 15-02-2000).]

dev ure first point :
    if u had any skills ( ie not ca muppetry rljump cfgs etc) u can unlock a lev

wars dont damage yer ca players cos 90% have never bothered to play a war(regular caers ) bar yerself and a few others

if u want u could get a ca team going no one would be bothered cos half of them ca players ud take are war players neway or on team.ie

<Would I then be justified in asking for the
    war servers to be taken down?>

no u wouldnt be justified ud be just some knob
    were not demanding a ca server to be taken down were askin for one not to be put up straight away

theres nothing wrong wiuth a ca server if it attracts new players but do we have the rsources ? an ffa and a war are what ppl need
    ca isnt a must have. maybe we should take down some other servers which are never used and put up more q3 ones but not change the existing ones so soon
    ctf ffa dool and war can all be played on our two servers
    maybe a dedicated dool/ctf is needed. maybe even a ca one , but as ne one will tell u not right now.

last point dev
    ca isnt popular
    its just u and a few qworlders
    majority of posts have been against it.
    As for the other servers like tribes and hl and qw
    is there enough players playin on them for there to be a demand for them to stay up
    i think the ppl behind ign should look into this.
    G
    and lastly this my post will amke no difference whatsoever cos slosh has last say.
    and i reckon he should look at the whole arguement and not just the ppl who are high up in the community ladder givin him a sharp push.
    Influential ppl is what i mean

Daddy or Chips?

also maybe only the ppl who r actually playin q3 should bother arguin
    but as it turns out slosh is buyin his own server
    i think most pl were goin against the fact of taking an existing one down
    looks like we do have the resources r somewhat
    G

Daddy or Chips?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

well im for a ca server as the times i get free enough to play are so irregular that i cant be in a clan/practice/be there for wars etc.... I juat wanna quick blast without any hassle but then Im one of the minority in this. I dunno if i'd even like ca in q3a tbh...never played it like but sure i'll give it a go.

Predator, when you can form a coherent argument like an adult I'll debate. As far as I am concerned, any one can see the falsehood of what you are saying.

DeV.

Quote: "I think that if a CA server was put up it would suck people away from the FFA server which would be a real shame as I consider FFA a hell of a lot more fun then CA ever was."

Like duuuuuuuuuh.
    Obviously if they are being sucked away they find it more fun.

And I dont think DeV was being literal with his lock down on levels quote Pred, It was just an example.

Good point FreakBro. Exactly what I wanted to say. CA is just a bit of fun. No need to break your ass perfecting skillz. Its only for fun. As is war if any of you really admit it. But noooooo. "CA degrades war skill." Well *rasp* tongue.gif to that. Do ye not realise that lots of people dont care?
    At least Pred went to the trouble of making an argument instead of most of the arrogent statements why CA is bad for DM skill. Skill isnt the issue here. Fun is.

"hell hath no fury like a DM'ers scorn"-paraphrased smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,963 ✭✭✭Vexorg

Can I have more fun please..

A Q3 CA server would be much appreciated

G.