Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dunphy Show is cancelled

• 05-12-2003 3:59pm
    Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭

TV3 has announced it is cancelling The Dunphy Show saying commercially it had been impossible to keep the show going.

The station paid tribute to what it called the 'extraordinary talents of Eamon and the entire production' saying the programme had achieved everything the 'station could have wished for'.

TV3 said the 'enormous licence fee increases in the last two years have had a massive negative impact on the opportunity to invest in Irish programming'.

It said in the current marketplace it has 'proved impossible for TV3 to continue The Dunphy Show beyond December 12 2003.

The station said, 'It is sad that ambitious productions like The Dunphy Show and the talented people involved can be affected by the manner in which broadcast competition is regulated in Ireland'.

Speaking after the announcement, Eamon Dunphy said, 'I would like to thank TV3 for their support for the show. I would particularly like to thank our viewers. I was privileged to work with a brilliant team all of whom I'm certain will go on to enjoy successful careers in the business'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Genghis

TV3 cancels the Dunphy Show

Kenny wins, Gay wins, Irish TV loses out. Wonder what TV3 will replace it with?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,551 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Well that did'ent take long....did it :D
    Shame really as RTE need a good beating for showing such ****e on a Friday night.

I've given up on watching tv altogether now, last time I sat down and watched something was 3-4 weeks ago.

Not even any decent films on anymore..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

he deserved it for the puppet alone
    muppet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Originally posted by parasite
    he deserved it for the puppet alone
    muppet

That was one of the most embarassing, cringe-worthy, downright desperate moments of television I've seen in years. I think Dunphy's problem was he just didn't know how to ask hard or questions - anyone that lick's Ben Dunne's arse and calls him a great Irishman has no interview skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Might be an idea to reference your source for this story...

in this case, here's a report from RTÉ News...

http://www.rte.ie/ace/2003/1205/dunphye.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

those films are sickening "a mothers love is torn between her disabled son and her lover brett"

what will happen to the uncle gaybo puppet before the ads, he should get his own 10minute show

hallo my friends, hallo. ye wha gay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Genghis

ah, but lads remember - the failure of the show had nothing to do with Dunphy, or the puppet, or the guests, or the content. Instead TV3 blame 'the licence fee' and the 'regulatory environment' which are preventing them making Irish TV.

I actually liked the show, and thought it was much better than the Late Late. I also think that the spirit in which it was offered - 'competition is good for all' was also very positive - it may not have attracted as many viewers as Kenny, but for one night of the week at least, we could say that a huge majority of Irish people were watching an Irish channel.

If you can't mourn for Dunphy, mourn instead the passing major Irish-made TV projects outside conservative RTE.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

Duplicate threads.

ATTN: Threads Merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

I blame TV3 totally, and its outrageous that they should blame RTÉ.

The problem was they went to compete with the Late Late Show on Friday nights, and not run beside it, like on a Saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

It was ****e, and is no loss whatsoever. Wonder what Eammo is going to do now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Thank God.

TV3 should not blame the Licence Fee on this, they should blame themself. why?

On the Two occations RTE One put "Up For The Match" on they had 450,000 viewers.

If TV3 had not been so arrogant about going againist The Late Late Show and had put The Dunphy show up againist RTE's Weepy movies they would have had 450,000 viewers.

Also if the had gone with new talent rather then the old old people of Ireland and actually gone after their target audience of 15 - 45 then prehaps they would have kept this show alive.

Are TV3 afaid of making good cheap TV cosuil le TG4?

Again TV3 do I have look are your budget and TG4 budget and continue to shame you. Grainne Seoige go back to TG4 all is forgiven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Good stuff, the guy is a gobshìte anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Just heard! Not much I can add except that I heard that ESAT are relived to be shot of thier association with the Dunphy Show....it never caught fire and thats the fault of Dunphy and his producers.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

Originally posted by Genghis
    Wonder what TV3 will replace it with?
    Perhaps hot burning dirth filthy sex, which is what Dunphy promised in the first place and failed to deliver.

Also, remember that it may have been cancelled but its still scheduled to be on tonight and next Friday.

My sig says it all...

ww) :ninja: ww)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by rubadub
    "a mothers love is torn between her disabled son and her lover brett"

any promo that begins with "a mothers" is a crap made for tv film to avoid IMO

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

this seems abit strange to me.
    according to the RTE report linked above, the show had an average of over 300,000 viewers (which is great for tv3, especially against the 'institution' of the late late show). it was low budget, as are most chat shows and it had only started out and should have had more growing time.
    -what kind of figures did they expect?
    -if it isnt viable on a friday, why not move it an hour or two ahead/behind so it isnt in competition anymore?
    -why not move it to a saturday?

are tv3 saying that they have to pay too much money to run an Irish made show? Arent the government giving incentives to encourage this (and if not, why not?)

what annoys me the most is now that useless sh*itehawk Kenny will think hes the bees knees, when infact he is a useless pile of donkey-piss. I can see him now rubbing his palms calling himself the king of chat.
    yes well kenny, today you had a nomark actress/richkid who had a good cause to promote but nothing of worth to say about it and cliff richard...... Id rather watch Dunphy masterbate for 2 hours on tv3 than watch Kenny ever again. and one day soon, once the 90% of late late audiences die of old age (give it a month or so) you'll be history. Jesus christ, even gerry Kelly is better than Kenny, at least he has some emotion.

Flogen

Originally posted by flogen
    Jesus christ, even gerry Kelly is better than Kenny, at least he has some emotion.
    Where's that picture of Pat Kenny with the word "Plank" written underneath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,469 ✭✭✭embraer170

Quite dissapointing. Competition is always good.

Would probably have done well on a Saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

-what kind of figures did they expect?
    Half a million plus. That's how they sold it to the advertisers. And they wanted to finance the news department with the profits.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

ha!
    thats rediculous! how on earth do a reletively small station (ratingswise) plan to rake in over half a million when going head-to-head against a big RTE show like the late late. saying that it is at its weakest ever now, and i can only see it getting worse.
    I think tv3 should have been more than happy with what they were getting, I mean, what are they going to put on now that will do any better? i cant remember what their friday night line-up was before, and i doubt i'll care what it will be next year

Flogen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

how on earth do a reletively small station (ratingswise) plan to rake in over half a million when going head-to-head against a big RTE show like the late late

they would have improved their chances if they were available to everyone but TV3 the tight bastards wont pay the fee :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dampsquid

The figures we see for the Dunphy show(around 250,000), do they include the figures for the repeat on Saturday night?

According to the tabs today, 200,000-250,000 was the norm on Friday, 100,000 on the repeat on Saturday nights.

Which just goes to show, he had the makings of an audience on Saturday nights, which makes TV3's decision to schedule it on Friday nights so naive and stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by DMT
    Where's that picture of Pat Kenny with the word "Plank" written underneath?

Will this one do?! :)

patkenny.jpg

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

Heres a copy of the statement from TV3

THE DUNPHY SHOW

Since its launch The Dunphy Show has had an average weekly audience of over
    300,000. The programme generates record viewing figures for Friday nights
    on TV3 (up by 300%). TV3 is the second most popular channel across all
    adult demographics in Ireland. TV3's market share has increased by almost
    20% in recent months achieving record ratings for the channel.

Recognising the extraordinary talents of Eamon and the entire production
    team, the programme delivers everything the station could have wished for -
    issues, debate, entertainment and the best Friday audience the channel has
    ever had. Its performance has illustrated that more and more viewers are
    tuning back to Irish television when there is choice. TV3 is very grateful
    for the commitment, dedication, and effort of everybody involved.

The enormous licence fee increases in the last two years have had a massive
    negative impact on the opportunity to invest in Irish programming by
    independent broadcasters like TV3. TV3 has long sought a fair, competitive
    and regulated environment that will be attractive to private investment in
    indigenous programming. That has not occurred. In the current marketplace,
    it has proved impossible for TV3 to continue The Dunphy Show beyond December
    12 2003. TV3 has always invested the majority of its programming budget in
    Irish produced programming and will continue to do so. Unfortunately,
    financial reality must prevail in the private sector. It is sad that
    ambitious productions like The Dunphy Show and the talented people involved
    can be affected by the manner in which broadcast competition is regulated in
    Ireland.

Eamon Dunphy said:

"I would like to thank TV3 for their support for the show.
    Also our sponsors Esat BT. Over 300,000 people watched the show every
    weekend. I would particularly like to thank our viewers. I was privileged
    to work with a brilliant team all of whom I'm certain will go on to enjoy
    successful careers in the business. Like me, they have learned much from
    the experience working on the show."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

I think that the Dunphy show was a fine production. But RTE are getting €150 from everybody with a TV. RTE also has advertising.

TV3 should have picked another night. But where does the RTE licence money go?

TG4 do an excellet job - they deserve licence money.

What public service broadcasting does either Network 2 or 2FM provide?

I think the licence fee should be distributed fairly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭bus77

Stuck with ****in Kenny again:mad:

Why did he ask the Lord Mayor to come back on the show in the future when he already knew (as did everyone else) that he'd neen axed?

:ninja:

Originally posted by Cork
    But RTE are getting €150 from everybody with a TV. RTE also has advertising.
    Learn to read /through/ a press release willya? The licence fee moan is the red herring in there.

TV3 launched a chatshow and sold it to advertisers on the basis that they'd get the guts of the 15-34 age group to watch the show, taking that group from RTE. The advertisers bought into it on a trial run for a few months. TV3 failed to deliver the audience they were looking for - most of them stayed with RTE or the foreign channels. The major advertisers walked as soon as they knew the show was a flop. If the show hadn't been a flop and pulled the target group with it it would still be on the air. It was, it didn't and it isn't.

If TV3 can put together some public service broadcasting a little more advanced than one political talk show a week and a few news bulletins a night (I trust I don't need to spell out what public service broadcasting is?) then they might be entitled to a reasonable cut of the licence fee they pretend they don't want in public. TV3 are a business venture solely - their entire purpose is to return a dividend to their investors using broadcasting as an investment base. RTE has its faults (and there are many many faults) but its primary purpose is broadcasting to the public. There lies the difference in why the licence fee is there in the first place.

I think that the Dunphy show was a fine production.

I'm used to disagreeing with what you have to say Cork, but even by your standards this is unbelievable. It was an abysmal production. Pat Kenny may be a plank, but Dunphy is pure wooden on TV. He CANNOT conduct a TV interview (one would assume this is a prerequisite for a TALK SHOW HOST!!!)

Eamonn Dunphy needs to realise that a procession of his mates answering inane questions about their grannies will not win viewers. He failed miserably to inform, excite or entertain.

And I do not want to see TV3 receive a penny of license payers money as long as they are broadcasting drivel like "Not Without My Anus" and Judge Judy. Other than their news coverage, TV3 has been an abject failure *edit* forgot Agenda, sorry *edit*. Their football coverage is pure crap for a start.

I was in the Virgin Megastore last night & I picked up the "Late late Show" cd. Who was on it? Girls Aloud, Anastasia, Manic Street Preachers etc.

Mundy, David Kitt, Shane McGowen, Paul Brady, Dave Course etc were all on Dunphy.

Judge Judy is a fine programme. More people watch it than Enda Kennys address last week. Judge Judy is a fountain of knowlege. She is better than any mandrians out in Mountrose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Originally posted by therecklessone
    I'm used to disagreeing with what you have to say Cork, but even by your standards this is unbelievable. It was an abysmal production. Pat Kenny may be a plank, but Dunphy is pure wooden on TV. He CANNOT conduct a TV interview (one would assume this is a prerequisite for a TALK SHOW HOST!!!)

Eamonn Dunphy needs to realise that a procession of his mates answering inane questions about their grannies will not win viewers. He failed miserably to inform, excite or entertain.

And I do not want to see TV3 receive a penny of license payers money as long as they are broadcasting drivel like "Not Without My Anus" and Judge Judy. Other than their news coverage, TV3 has been an abject failure *edit* forgot Agenda, sorry *edit*. Their football coverage is pure crap for a start.

As a production, it aimed a lot higher than the Late Late and I respected it a lot for that. It was only on air for 3 months, and was beginning to find it's place.

TV shows never start perfectly, RTE have had decades to tweak the late late and have stuck to the same formula, and as a result it generally goes off without a hitch.

Presenter aside, The Dunphy Show was a far slicker (occasionally touching on tacky, but not usually) production by a younger production team who were aiming as high as they could aim. In retrospect, they should have toned it down slightly... Maybe pre recorded instead of going live, and most definitely gone out on the Saturday.

One thing going out on the Friday did for them was to give them instant controversy, and therefore substantial initial viewing figures. The gamble didn't pay off.

I'm sad that it's gone, it represented one of the only elements of competition in Irish television. And if nothing else, The Dunphy Show forced RTE to up their game and as a result the last two months have seen some of the best Late Lates in years. It's almost guaranteed the quality will go to **** after Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

Originally posted by DMT
    Why did he ask the Lord Mayor to come back on the show in the future when he already knew (as did everyone else) that he'd neen axed?

:ninja:

apparently, it was recorded during the week because of a prior booking in the helix

Judge Judy is a fine programme. More people watch it than Enda Kennys address last week. Judge Judy is a fountain of knowlege. She is better than any mandrians out in Mountrose.

Cork wheres your point?
    1. Judge Judy prob gets more grannies like herself watching
    2. Judge Judy does not have Winning Streak on N2 which gets 400,000 viewers.

As for the production standards of The Dunphy show, I have to agree with you the production standards were good. Pity about the presenter.

It is time for TV3 to stop crawling under the Licence fee, they have not made substantial TV to give out about the Licence Fee.

Dunphy going out HEAD TO HEAD with Ireland's No. 1 TV show was stupid.
    Thats like RTE putting out there top irish drama againist Coronation Street.

TV3 have plenty of veiwers. Coro St. has a range of 400,000 to 600,000 viewer
    Emmerdale has a range of 190,000 to 300,000 viewers.
    Heartbeat has 250,000 viewers.
    And are TV3 going to complain that it is the fault of RTE for lack of home produced TV when they make a packet on such shows. How much did RTE loss when the lost Coro St. 5,000,000 EURO maybe thats not to mention how much TV3 get for Emmerdale and Heartbeat.

TV3 are doing well with there Brit and US TV. But if they start small with some Irish Prime time TV then they would get more viewers for there shows.

Dunphy not only had to put up with Kenny on One but also the fact that unlike Kenny Dunphy could only rely on Coro St. to bring him viewers, while kenny had all of rte's home produced shows plus EastEnders.

Its time for TV3 to start acting like an IRISH TV station or else **** of back to britian and canada.

Just look at TG4 TV3. Your a disgrase TV3, you promise so much, but at the end of the day it came down to making your Irish backers RICH ****ers.:mad:

Article from today's Sunday Times.

Blames the drop in audience numbers (surprise surprise, it's what all the sane people have been saying here). Note that while the article mentions the target figure of 300k (which they were totally sure they were going to get), the advertising department in TV3 were pushing the 500k figure about with the old "get in at the ground floor and you'll get taken care of later" pitch. The bottom line is that advertisers don't want free space when shows fail to hit targets. They want to reach the actual market and market share that they were aiming for when they agreed to take out the adverts. And Esat are pissed (hence I've included the whole article as it makes for funny reading (or potentially unfortunate if you work for TV3))
    THE decision to drop Eamon Dunphy’s chat show was taken at a meeting of TV3 executives on Thursday, station sources have said. The programme was axed because it failed to meet advertisers’ expectations.

Dunphy informed his staff of the decision at a meeting in his office at Windmill Lane at 11.30am on Friday. He told the team of 12 that it had been a board decision.

“It was a very calm thank-you to the staff. I was surprised at how well he was taking it,” one executive on the show said. “He said he was sorry we had lost our jobs. Looking back over the run of programmes he thought everyone had done as well as they could.”

“The buck stops here,” Dunphy told them. Staff have denied reports in another Sunday newspaper that the journalist gave an embittered farewell speech, or accused the media of being out to get him.

But the end of the controverisal chat show was appropriately shambolic. A TV3 executive was supposed to contact Esat, the show’s sponsors, to brief them on the decision. But instead the telephone company, who provided €500,000 in sponsorship, heard about TV3’s decision from the media.

Esat BT executives are furious at the manner in which the announcement was made. Relations between the phone company and TV3 have been strained since October, when Dunphy told viewers that he smoked cannabis. On that occasion Esat sent a warning letter to TV3.

One Esat executive described its treatment by TV3 as “shoddy”. “We were not part of the decision to end the show and we have not had any discussions with TV3 for the last couple of weeks,” said a spokeswoman for the firm. “We were as surprised as anyone to hear the news.

“They are the facts. Half a million euro later — not consulted, not involved, not informed.” Esat executives are expected to meet the independent television company to review their relationship.

The decision to axe the show was taken by TV3 executives and not by Granada, which owns 45% of the station. Susan Donovan, a spokeswoman for Granada, said: “I wish to make it absolutely clear that all the decisions relating to programming and scheduling are dealt with and managed by TV3 in Dublin and we don’t get involved in any way at all. It is entirely down to the team there.”

Asked why senior Granada executives visited Dublin last week, she said: “There are executives over and back all the time but they are just routine meetings.”

The rest of the TV3 staff were told about the decision 10 minutes before it was announced at 3.30pm on Friday. One said: “We knew it was in trouble but everybody expected the show to run the full year, no matter what the commercial difficulties. Everyone was in shock, it was obviously a very late decision.”

Industry insiders say the show’s demise was related to its inability to attract the viewing figures TV3 advertising executives had promised in advertisers’ contracts. The channel had confidently predicted audiences of more than 300,000. Last Friday week’s show attracted just 152,000.

Failure to meet these targets left the broadcaster having to provide extra advertising space to disgruntled companies, a financial burden TV3 decided it could not afford.

News of its competitor’s demise was met with a muted response at the Late Late Show office in RTE. One RTE source said: “There was a sense that the edge was going to go out of Friday night. Even though it was Dunphy who personalised the whole thing, there was a feeling of success. But there was no elation, and bubbly certainly wasn’t brought out.”

Yesterday Dunphy was reclining in front of the television at his Ranelagh home and refused to comment. Jane Gogan, his partner and a TV3 executive, said Dunphy would be making no statements.

This is the former football player’s third television flop. He presented a series of The Weakest Link, which also failed to reach audience targets. He had a short stint as presenter of RTE’s Premiership programme on Saturday night, but the experiment was unsatisfactory and short-lived.

He will now have time to finish an unauthorised biography of Paul Gascoigne, the footballer. His publishers, Penguin, have previously expressed an interest in another great story of a footballer living life to the maximum and beyond — Dunphy’s own autobiography.

Originally posted by sceptre
    Blames the drop in audience numbers (surprise surprise, it's what all the sane people have been saying here). Note that while the article mentions the target figure of 300k (which they were totally sure they were going to get), the advertising department in TV3 were pushing the 500k figure about with the old "get in at the ground floor and you'll get taken care of later" pitch.

sceptre, do you not think that it was scheduling it against the Late Late and not eating into RTÉ's share that provided its demise quicker than if it was on a Saturday night with no competition?

I do agree that the ad men in TV3 pitched it at the wrong audience. The show had lots of flaws.

TROLL.

I accept I was a bit quick to criticise the production on Dunphy's show. The show itself was well produced, but they made one fundamental flaw. For somebody who has been working in television for years, Eamonn Dunphy is incredibly uncomfortable talking to a camera. It was clear to see when he presented an episode of The Premiership last year (or was that the year before). I cringed every time Dunphy had to introduce a guest, it really was painful to watch.

Originally posted by DMC
    sceptre, do you not think that it was scheduling it against the Late Late and not eating into RTÉ's share that provided its demise quicker than if it was on a Saturday night with no competition?
    Yeah I do. Re-reading what I said above, when I used the phrase "drop in audience numbers" I should have said "non-arrival of audience numbers" or something similar. The audience was never there.

Originally posted by Elmo

Its time for TV3 to start acting like an IRISH TV station or else **** of back to britian and canada.

Just look at TG4 TV3.

Network 2 is not really known for its level of Irish programming. RTE needs to become more of a public service broadcaster. (like PBS in the US). Does it even off educational programmes anymore? When I was young - we had Sesamee Street.

TG4 is a fine TV station. It is a pity RTE & TV3 don't try and produce interesting & intelligent programmes. We need more than "Eura Star", "House Of Love" & "Celeb Farm" from RTE.

We need to know - how our licence money is being spent (every last cent).

Is it being spent on "Home & Away", "ER", "Friends" etc?? Is it being spent ofn RTE's "stars"?

I watched Dunphy last night - It was a good programme that was about homelessness and the Kerry Babies story.

But it needed to go out either mid week or on a Saturday night.

Irish singers and bands were often on Dunphy - Mundy, David Kitt, Dave Course, 4 of us etc.

This is on aspect of the show that I tought was great.

These bands don't get enough publicity or time on TV.

When I was young - we had Sesamee Street.
    I think its time there was a "Re-instate Sesame Street" campaign - imagine, there's going to be a whole generation of kids who have no idea who, Big Bird, Grover, Oscar the Grouch or Elmo are....!

Madness...

They have picked this up over in London.... from the Granada angle as reported in the Sindo yesterday....

http://media.guardian.co.uk/broadcast/story/0,7493,1102460,00.html

Granada in row over Dunphy axing

Chris Tryhorn
    Monday December 8, 2003

ITV giant Granada has become embroiled in a row over the departure from Irish TV screens of one of the country's top media personalities, the controversial sports commentator Eamon Dunphy.

Dunphy, the man who ghosted Roy Keane's autobiography and coaxed Alastair Campbell on to the chat show sofa, has seen his show taken off air after just three months.

The axing of The Dunphy Show by broadcaster TV3 is a major blow for the veteran journalist, who had boasted how he was going to take on the long-running Late Late Show on RTE with his own blend of chat and entertainment.

In the summer he bragged he was going to be so successful he would force his rival off the Friday night schedules.

But in the end it was RTE that won the battle for viewers, with 647,000 for the Late Late Show compared with 300,000 viewers for Dunphy.

TV3 said it was pulling the plug on the show because of "financial reality".

But a report in Ireland's Sunday Independent claimed Dunphy had gone at the behest of Granada executives who flew in to Dublin last week, concerned about his image.

Gay Byrne, who presented The Late Late Show for decades, said he believed The Dunphy Show had fallen victim to Granada's conservatism.

"The people who run TV3 - I don't mean the people in Dublin, I mean their masters elsewhere - are very conservative people indeed, and the minute the dread word 'drugs' crept up on them, linked to their star presenter, they were bound to start getting jittery," he wrote in the Sunday Independent.

He said viewers would be the losers and TV3 had made a mistake pitching its chat show against an institution that has been on air for nearly 40 years.

In one of the early showdowns Dunphy had Roy Keane on the couch while Kenny had George Best, splitting the audience.

The former Millwall footballer and biographer of U2 has admitted on air to taking recreational drugs and was involved in a verbal assault on his neighbour, the editor of the Irish version of the Sunday Times.

"TV3 wanted the show to continue, but Granada had had enough," a source told the Sunday Independent. "It was his behaviour that concerned them."

A Granada spokesman denied the British company had any effect on programming decisions at the Irish broadcaster.

"These decisions are made by TV3 in Dublin and not by Granada executives," the spokesman said today.

The culling of the Dunphy show brings the curtain down on a bitter ratings war with The Late Late Show, an Irish TV institution now fronted by the smart-suited Pat Kenny, a presenter not given to controversy. Calling time on The Dunphy Show, TV3 took a sideswipe at Irish media regulators, arguing that "enormous" increases in broadcasters' licence fees had made it harder to invest in Irish programming.

"It is sad that ambitious productions like The Dunphy Show and the talented people involved can be affected by the manner in which broadcast competition is regulated in Ireland," it said.

In his brief career as a TV chat show host, Dunphy interviewed a number of big British names such as Peter Mandelson, the journalist Robert Fisk and the novelist Robert Harris.

Campbell appeared on the show in October, soon after the end of the Hutton inquiry, and was joined on the sofa by Roy Keane and Bob Geldof.

During last year's football World Cup Dunphy worked as an RTE pundit, until he left in controversial circumstances.

He then became embroiled in the controversy over Roy Keane's autobiography, which he helped to write.

Keane was fined and served a five-match ban for bringing the game into disrepute over remarks he made in the bestselling book about planning to injure Manchester City's Alf Inge Haaland.

Before fronting his TV show, Dunphy presented a current affairs programme, the Last Word, on commercial radio station Today FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

But in the end it was RTE that won the battle for viewers, with 647,000 for the Late Late Show compared with 300,000 viewers for Dunphy.

They say that as if it was a miserable failure... They're some good ratings considering what he was up against.

When I was young - we had Sesamee Street.

Cork let it go, let me just point out that Sesame Street was not on RTE for much of the late 80's and Early 90's, I know I rarely got to see that show as I only had 1 and 2 up to 1996 when I got 4.

The Dunphy Show Proved:-

1. That there is plenty of Room for Both RTE stations, TG4 and TV3 plus what ever else comes from Digital if we ever get it.
    2. That TV3 should have started small
    3. That no matter what you think about chat shows they are hard to present and you should never look a gift horse (pat) in the mouth (eamonn!!!!)
    4. That TV3/ITV have no interest in making TV and that they will always give out about the TV licence no matter what.
    5. That no matter what TV3 say TG4 have produce 3 chat shows this Autume on less of a budget than what TV3 have, Ardan, Comhra agus Fir and Mna Na Eireann.

So TV3 its time to start small and make a small TV chat show (pre recorded) for saturday nights (1hr in duration).

In relation to the Rating figures Dunphy did even get an average of 300,000 viewers on Fridays more like 200,000 viewers. He and TV3 shouldn't expect much more, we have not got a big population.

I think RTE should be more like the BBC rather then PBS in the states.
    RTE should allow N2 and 2fm bring in much of the Bread and Butter, ie hand both of them over to their commercial leg, and prehaps give N2's prime time schedule over to there IPU. (Indo. Prod. Unit)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

What this I hear that Dunphy owes €50K to the helix

Originally posted by Elmo

RTE should allow N2 and 2fm bring in much of the Bread and Butter, ie hand both of them over to their commercial leg, and prehaps give N2's prime time schedule over to there IPU. (Indo. Prod. Unit)

If RTE were allow 2fm & Network 2 to become (as if they were providing public service broadcasting already) to subsidise a Public Service Broadcasting - I would duly abolish the licence fee.

Commercial Radio Stations thru out this country and providing more public service broadcasting than RTE Radio.

RTE gives us lyric FM? Who listens to classical music?

Why can't we have a Rock Station, 80's station etc??

I think TV3 will bounce back. RTE's audiences for its radio and TV have been sliding.

Unless - RTE gives us quality programmes and not US imports - their audiences will continue to decline.

I think TG4 are doing a brillant job on a shoestring. They are offering home produced programmes for an Irish Audience not "House Of Love" & "Your a Star".

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

I think you'd be surprised at the amount of people who would listen to Lyric/classical music.

I would really like a Rock station, but unless PhantomFM get a nationwide license (I wish :rolleyes: ) there will hardly be one

3% listnership Cork.

You will find cork that PBS tends not to be Lowest Common Denominator CRAP which MTV put out. But are generally programmes and stations that provided different sections of our society with access to what they want to watch/listen to. Thus you have Lyric FM how many Local Radio Stations have a dedicated Classical Music Show, I would say very many.

FM104 and 98FM both use there responsiblity as local Dublin Broadcasters to give us Late Night Chat, trust me cork these show are not PBS much more LCD.
    If RTE were allow 2fm & Network 2 to become (as if they were providing public service broadcasting already) to subsidise a Public Service Broadcasting - I would duly abolish the licence fee.

No perhaps they are not, but cork what ever you say about The Den (And its lack of Sessame Street) it is PBS and is going to become more PBS as Advertising to children becomes abloished. You have to remember cork that RTE have 3HRS free adverstising during shows aim at under 6s plus they do not show adds during 30min shows from 6am to 5:30pm. And the make The Den and other children's shows.

The Abolishion of the licence fee would be the worst thing to happen to Irish TV. We would see RTE go down the same uninteresting road as TV3. TV3 policy of "it's easier to make a buck by buying then by doing" does not sit with me.

I understand the RTE need to change and they must change rapidly.
    I think TV3 will bounce back.

I don't think that TV3 care to or want to. Lets be realist N2 hasn't lost many viewers in the 6 years that TV3 has been on, it has stayed static with a 10% viewer share. RTE One has certainly lost viewers but then it lost coronation street, easy money for TV3.
    I hope when TV3 do bounce back that they do it with Irish TV and not imports, we have enough imports.
    Unless - RTE gives us quality programmes and not US imports - their audiences will continue to decline.

The same must be said for TV3 too, cork.

Why can't we have a Rock Station, 80's station etc??

ROFL.

Just shot yourself in the foot there Cork. You criticise RTE for showing US imports (shows like Friends for instance...sure who watches that aul muck?:rolleyes: ) then start whinging when they broadcast something that you claim there is no demand for.

What should they do? Respond to their customers demands (and go with the lowest common denominator...Scottish football instead of National League for instance)? Or provide programming which doesn't get the punters folloding in, but actually fulfills the aim of public service broadcasting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭bus77

Hey, Its back on tonight "Live from the Helix",
    Is this the last show or what?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

Originally posted by bus77
    Hey, Its back on tonight "Live from the Helix",
    Is this the last show or what?

It's not that it's "back."

Tonight's show was decided to be the last.