Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin descrimination

• 28-11-2003 4:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22

Does anybody agree that there seems to be a growing discrimination against country-people by Jackeens in recent times. It's about time Dublin people realise that without the country folk that Ireland would not survive. 99 per cent of all
    famous people in Ireland come from the countryside and I can't think of one person
    from Dublin who has greatly contributed anything positive to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Tails

Hear Hear! well said!
    Nah it hasnt grown in recent times its always been there maybe youve just become more aware of it recently. Anyway if you dont like them why do you care?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

You're use of the word 'Jackeens' is discriminatory.

Brendan Behan
    James Joyce
    both off the top of my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 989 ✭✭✭MrNuked

Can't think of one country person who has anything positive to contribute.
    More discrimination against dublin people than by dublin people in Ireland.
    Robbie Keane Bono Joseph O'Connor Roddy Doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 mean mr mustard

who let that redneck on?
    how can he type.. are his fingers not sore from breaking turf all day, or whatever those boggers do?

oh yeah... i forgot he was in dublin. welcome to dublin, bogger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭rocco

Is there no bogger room that he can vent his anger in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 bomberuski

Typical Mr nuked you mentioned Robbie Keane when the best soccer player was of course Roy Keane, a cork man. Now go back and eat your humble pie Mr nuked.

yeah he was class the way he walked out on his country , pure class

Originally posted by bomberuski
    Typical Mr nuked you mentioned Robbie Keane when the best soccer player was of course Roy Keane, a cork man. Now go back and eat your humble pie Mr nuked.

How can you say it's 'typical' of Mr. Nuked seeing as that was you're 3rd post ever?

Using the same, it's typical of you not to reply to my post about how you were discriminating by using the word Jackeen to describe Dubliners.

And why did he walk out on his country, because he was stabbed in the back by two dubs, Niall Quinn and Alan Kelly. More Discrimination by Dubs, I rest my case.

I am not arguing this its not the place for it ill agree to disagree .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

In my experience almost all boggers have a chip on their sholders against dublni people. They feel inferior, rightly so. And therefre have developed an inferiority complex. ITs not our fault, Dubliners aren't to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I think the issue at the heart of the matter is that many country people, including bomberuski have a huge chip on their shoulder about Dublin people, where as most Dubs (myself included) are just pretty much ambivolent towads them. I don't even need to point out the irony in his 'Jackeens' insult.

Your right super_furry, I do have a chip on my shoulder, that's because I work as a
    carpenter so I have wood chips on my shoulder every day. So don't be trying to change the topic and address the issue on descrimination.

trolling..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 mean mr mustard

i think bomberuski's last comment shows the type of culchie we are dealing with here. i think he has woodchips between his ears, as well as on his shoulders.

what a stupid muck savage.

Listen there is no problem here if you dont like Dublin stay out of it . No one wants to have an argument with you so just go back to the small backward village u came from and there will be no problem, because you can gurantee there wont be any Dubs going job hunting down there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Damien Duff > Roy Keane

FLAME!!!

Do you honestly think that Dublin people give country fold even a moments consideration during the day, even when we're eating the food you gave us, we still forget and/or ignore you.

Its best not to think about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Sorry muck savage but the best soccer players of all time from ireland were Liam Brady and Paul McGrath. Dubs.

Back to your bog now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Is it just me or does the title's spelling say it all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭DArcy

Who the hell cares about the silly footballers anyway? It doesn't matter where they're from. They all play/played for the same country.

If it's not a "bogger -vs- dub"argument, it's a "D4 -vs- skanger" argument. & eventually it turns into an "irish citizen -vs- asylum seeker" fight or something to that extent. It's stupid!! & it won't get anyone anywhere. Live in peace and harmony people!! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by Sangre
    Is it just me or does the title's spelling say it all?
    :D Be fair to them though - how much writing is involved in the general day-to-day managing of turf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Does anybody agree that there seems to be a growing discrimination against country-people by Jackeens in recent times.
    No, not really.
    We've got asylum seekers to discriminate against now, we're no longer impressed by mullahs.
    So if anything, it's the exact opposite.
    I can't think of one person
    That'll be the inbreeding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

dragons.jpg

extend the blacked out area to include all of the country and not just Dublins worst suburbs and youll get any sensible persons view

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

Should it not be "Jackín" as opposed to "Jackeen".
    Do we need to bastardise every Irish word by Anglicising it?

Anyways, Jackíns have always hated Culchies, probably because Culchie women are hotter....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Originally posted by richindub2
    dragons.jpg

extend the blacked out area to include all of the country and not just Dublins worst suburbs and youll get any sensible persons view

ROTFLMAO ..nice map :)

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Ryo Hazuki

lol, funny map.

Actually, I find that the people where I live, like to make dublin migrants feel very unwelcome.

"Ah another Blow in, f*ck off"

"Hey you with the funny accent, shut up ah your face"

etc etc.

The whole situation can be very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

yeah i find dublin people do get a fair bit of discrimination. .well from what iv seen anyway. .

e.g. being the only dub on the school bus when the entire bus was singing "id rather be a packie than a dub". .

and in general the attitude some people give dublin people (not me)..

and roy keane is hardly a "Bogger" being from north cork>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

Do we all know where the term Jackeen came from ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Originally posted by richindub2
    dragons.jpg

Howth Head? I live just south of that and youve got it blacked out....

Just goes to show...a Dubliners concept of geography is virtually non-existent....

But what else is new???

GWAN THE BOGGERS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by embee
    Just south of Howth Head is well, the middle of Dublin Bay .....
    Just goes to show...a Dubliners concept of geography is virtually non-existent....
    Exactly :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

But what else is new???

GWAN THE BOGGERS

notice my comment about the suburbs, i think youll find that i view any area outside of South-East Dublin to be indian country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

that map is the best thing ever! i can see my gaf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

Originally posted by DMT
    Should it not be "Jackín" as opposed to "Jackeen"

[pedantic]There's no "k" in the Irish language so no, it shouldn't[/pedantic]:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

The greatest Irish footballer has to have been Paul McGrath. I'm certain that when he was younger he received more discrimination in a week, than most country folk do in a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

Before I start I feel I should say that I consider myself, neither a "Jackeen" or a "Culchie" to use the parlance of the boards, I have however lived for an equal amount of time in both situations, and could justifiably refer to myself as either.

This flaming, although humorous is without point and is indicative of the kind of prejudice that I experienced inside and outside of the “Pale”. This blatant attempt to remove any kind of grounding between the seemingly dipolar bases of society was almost the natural reaction to revealing my heritage.

The culprits (for that is what I would refer to them as) were not the middle rungs of society that you might think but the extreme examples of each people. By saying this I mean of course the inner Dublin City Dwellers and the more rural of those presiding in the country in particular landowners, whose income rested not in the hospitality sector. These are the two extremes of society in Ireland and one cannot help but think of them as divergent since the establishment of the city walls, which encased one and locked out the other.

The remainder of the Irish population could be summed up as the children of the two encased in a suburban nightmare of no man lands. Indeed I have lived in this environment too and found no prejudice to my upbringing from any angle.

This silent war is ridiculous and merely a throw back from times of ignorance, times which spun phrases such as the “big smoke” and the “middle of no where”, it should be halted at all points of emergence before the self loathing aspect of Irish Society such as “The Peoples Republic of Cork” become more than just words.

I would have great difficulty in choosing between living in the City or the Country, and as a result I find it difficult to understand why certain sections of Ireland regard each other with such contempt, it worries me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

Jackeen = Union Jackeen fron queen victoria's visit when a large proportion of Dublins finest turned out to wave union jacks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by fenris
    Jackeen = Union Jackeen fron queen victoria's visit when a large proportion of Dublins finest turned out to wave union jacks !
    The term is a little older than that. Seehere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

To be quite honest, I dont like Dublin.

The only reason I go there is because all the best gigs are on there usually.

But it's high concentration of Skangers, and other undesirables makes it about as appealing as Limerick. And if it wasn't for the gigs, and possibly boards events, I wouldn't set foot in the wretched place. It's an utter tip. A giant urinal for skangers.

Granted, it is Irelands biggest city, so there's obviously a notion of pomposity on the hands of the average dub, who actually beleives because its bigger, it must be better. But the idea that some of these dub-skangers harbour that it's the only city in Ireland, is utterly laughable. I dislike the idea of farms, and large areas of countyside as much as everyone else here, so the idea that to some of you less cultured skangers on this thread, I must be some kind of farm-hand tending to sheep, is sickening to me.

But at the end of the day, you're the ones living in a dense hive of human filth and garbage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭spooiirt!!

ive lived in the country for 12 years and in dublin for three.
    dublin is about a million times better. In the country the people are seriously backwards!
    the bog is crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Faust

I cannot even believe that this discussion is going on.I cannot believe you are all discriminating like this. With your People form the country are like this and people from dublin are like that. Why don't yez all go back to Alabama!! Last time i checked we are all the same nationality. (Excapt for those damn blacks!!<--joke)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

OMG someone call adrian kennedy!! teh boggers and dubs are at it again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

And why did he walk out on his country, because he was stabbed in the back by two dubs, Niall Quinn and Alan Kelly. More Discrimination by Dubs, I rest my case.
    Alan Kelly isn't from Dublin. Do your research mucksavage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    who actually beleives because its bigger, it must be better.

well, It is. Its just that your a thick mucker that you cant accept this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Dustaz, you understand the concept of a city, don't you? Then if so, you should realise that I'm far from any 'mucker'...

Quite frankly I've lived, and worked in cities much larger than Dublin, and they're all far better than that hive of filth you call a home. Galway is far better a city than Dublin... Personally I like it's laid-back feel, and lesser (Much much, lesser) ratio of knackers.

But hey, if that's the kind thing you enjoy, then by all means, who am I to argue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

Does anybody agree that there seems to be a growing discrimination against country-people by Jackeens in recent times. It's about time Dublin people realise that without the country folk that Ireland would not survive. 99 per cent of all
    famous people in Ireland come from the countryside and I can't think of one person

Well I disagree. Its been going on forever. Its that whole far away hills are greener scenerio. Buts as for people from Dublin. Off the top of my head how about U2. (well 3 of them).

"What have the Romans ever done for us..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Ireland would be so boring if we all got along.

The arguing that goes on between mullas and civilised Dubs is GREAT!!!

A nice bit of banter, such as the morning verbal slaps between me and a muck savage from west Cork;

Me, "Hey, you trying to better yourself .. . . . you wanna work in a REAL city, where there are so many people who are not related. . .blah blah"

Corkie, "Yeah, whatever, (wipes nose in sleeve), you're just a stupid head!" (picks dirt from finger nails and proceeds to ingest it)

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    To be quite honest, I dont like Dublin.

The only reason I go there is because all the best gigs are on there usually.

But it's high concentration of Skangers, and other undesirables makes it about as appealing as Limerick. And if it wasn't for the gigs, and possibly boards events, I wouldn't set foot in the wretched place. It's an utter tip. A giant urinal for skangers.

Granted, it is Irelands biggest city, so there's obviously a notion of pomposity on the hands of the average dub, who actually beleives because its bigger, it must be better. But the idea that some of these dub-skangers harbour that it's the only city in Ireland, is utterly laughable. I dislike the idea of farms, and large areas of countyside as much as everyone else here, so the idea that to some of you less cultured skangers on this thread, I must be some kind of farm-hand tending to sheep, is sickening to me.

But at the end of the day, you're the ones living in a dense hive of human filth and garbage.

*rises from his seat and applauds*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Yeah when will those Jackeens learn.

What with their City the size of LA.
    1/4 of the Island's population and roughly 50% of the Irish economy coming just from Dublin.

Who exactly do they think they are, having all the amenities, services, skyscrapers, money and the attitude to match.

Clearly, it's totally biased .....

no really.

I mean all these sheep molesters from the bog, must have it sussed right?

Let's relocate the capital to umm.... Tralee or Lexlip.
    That'd show them.

/

it wouldnt be so over populated if the filth like you stayed at home with the rest of your knobber inbread mates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by rocco
    it wouldnt be so over populated if the filth like you stayed at home with the rest of your knobber inbread mates

What an argument... well done on that well thought out post.