Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lidl Satellite time again.

• 13-11-2003 9:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭

Lidl have there analogue sat system on sale next thursday, surely its about time they sold the digital system here, there is a freephone number for product requests 1800347447, ring up and ask nicely for a digital sat system and stop selling of an outdated system they can't sell anywhere else, to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Well even without the reciever £40 for an 80cm dish and LNB is quite good. You can always add a digital reciever yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Any one got a link to LIDI stores, would'ent mind getting my hands on a analogue system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭Genghis

Rang the customer help line, all stores will have stock on the 20th of nov but be quick because stocks ran out very quickly last time they ran that promotion,

Anyone hear get one last time, and hows the quality, I want one for the spanish channels and I'm sure theres something else worth watching and at €59.99 its worth taking the chance

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Last time the offer was on, in my local Lidl, there were quite a few sat sytems left but no satellite meters! :(

So I hope to get my hands on the meter on Thursday! ;)

Also good value is the Video Sender at €49.99 very cheap i reckon! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭spanner_head

Just thought I'd let ye know that it is cheapo lidl analogue satellite time again........€59.99 of the finest yo yo's

Details from www.lidl.ie

Satellite System
    The complete Satellite System!
    Includes: 1 receiver, 1 antenna, 1 single LNB, 1 cable set, 2 F-plugs
    Unlimited parameter selection
    999 programs, 2 Scart connections
    Remote control
    Parental lock
    Direct frequency input
    Receiver size (cm): 25 x 17 x 6.5
    Colour: receiver: black, LNB: white/grey, antenna: white
    Audio-chinch output stereo
    Analog Sat System
    3 year guarantee
    Price per item

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Cal

NOTE: - It is an analog sat system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 alan101

Can you pick up many channels with this. I thought almost everything was digital now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Ros Man

Have a look at the following website www.analoguesat.co.uk ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭ShaneOC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭vigos

is it possible to use this system for internet access such as european online?

http://www.europeonline.com/en/index.shtml

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 FLINNO

Does anyone have any more info on these as in what channels you would get ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

No...

1) Internet by Satellite only works sensibly in Push/broadcast mode like teletext

2) The dish and LNB are OK, but you need a PC! Also a Digital Satellite PCI card in the PC, which connects direct to LNB.

Casablanca works and is free. The Pay providers are for people with no phone line at all..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Cal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

Threads merged.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Originally posted by vigos

You need Satellite Card that fits into your PC - bit like a cross between a network card and a TV tuner Card.

You should be able to use the LNB, Dish and Cable though.

According to the EOL site you need a "To receive our services transmitted on the digital frequency range you need a satellite dish with a Universal (digital) LNB Universal (digital) LNB, which can receive signals up to 12.75 GHz"

Does the lidl dish have a Universal (digital) LNB?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Eurorunner

Does the lidl dish have a Universal (digital) LNB?
    Yes. Manufactured by Acer.
    Can you pick up many channels with this. I thought almost everything was digital now.

All the German fta channels, CNN & CNBC on Astra 19.2 - If you speak german, then its worthwhile. If you interested in experimenting with Sat TV, then its a good starting point for €60.

The Dish itself covers analog/digital and is 80cm of reasonable quality. Since buying first time round, my receiver is now redundant ( now using digital receiver & skystar2 pci card). However, for the lnb and dish, its probably still worth the €60 - think i will get another one!

The coax cable is of very poor quality. You can purchase good quality coax at B&Q, Liffey Valley Retail Park, Lucan.

***Question: Can anyone who got their hands on the Sat-Meter last time let us know how useful they turned out to be??***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭digitaldr

I got a lidl box and dish for a friend of mine who lives in Kerry - his wife's French and was anxious to get French TV (he managed to get all the main channels in PAL). He's very pleased with it - better recption than his in-laws get in France! Says it's a bit prone to loosing signal in the wind though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Spoonman

whats the deal with the sat-meters, can you only purchase one if you got a ticket for the sat-system & is there more sat-systems than meters :< Really want one of those meters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

i got the dish in lidl in august and there was only tickets for the dish so everyone was racing around looking for the sat meters as they were just stocked with all the normal junk they sell each week.

ah thx for clearing that up for me kaiser

Picked up a copy of the Lidl flyer..the dish as shown on the flyer is different from that offered last time round - the lnb and its holder are different.

i hope that the lnb is still good for digital use??
    And the dish is of similar (or better) quality - and again - good for digital use??

byte

Originally posted by LurkingIcon

Casablanca works and is free. The Pay providers are for people with no phone line at all..

Sorry for going OT, but what good is Casablanca? I have it installed but don't use it anymore as all it seemed to download was silly websites :eek:

The Sat@Once/Casablanca service is free but doesnt give you the freedom to surf any old web page..you can only d/l pages from sites that sat@once users accross europe have voted for...

so its very limited in what it offers (as with most things that are 'free')

Sorry for going OT
    A MOD going OT:eek: (:D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

it also downloads a good selection of Newsgroups

You can turn off Italy and Germany content now too.

It gets better ... Think of it as a superior Web based "Teletext"

Handy ones it downloads:
    CNN, Dilbert, Scientific American, News.com, Lyngsat, film trailers

There are also a bunch of email broadcast lists you can subscribe to.

Setting up the Newsgroup reception/browsing and Email is a combination of ticking boxes in Casablanca Favorites and setting up a newsreader and/or email client(s).

If I'm not watching or recording Satellite TV and PC is on it costs nothing to have it downloading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

I have the Lidl sat system from the first offer (about a year ago).

Basically you get a load of German chanels and a few english speaking channels i.e.

CNN International,
    CNBC (Business news, NBC Nightly News + Jay Leno Show and Conan O Brien Show at weekends),
    MTV Germany (Pop Music, Osbournes, Jackass, Dismissed etc with german subtitles)
    MTV 2 (Pop Music)
    VIVA (Pop Music)
    VIVA PLUS (Pop Music)
    Bloomberg (Business news, daytime only).

And the sat finders is handy but not essential.

Hope this helps.
    Any more questions, just ask.

Silvera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

If you like radio some of the stations on Astra 19 degrees are great, especially classical, Klassik FM on 11273 H 7.74 7.92 is really great. For best results consider connecting your receiver to your hi fi. :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭DannyD

Anyone know where I can get a satellite usb of firewire card in europe ?

I got my lidl dish today there was 20 people waiting for the doors to open and more behind me. So if any of you are thinking of getting one you better hurry to your nearest lidl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭DannyD

A queue of 60 people in Cork before 9am opening.Everyone in line got a ticket.

DannyD wrote
    Anyone know where I can get a satellite usb of firewire card in europe?
    This company is known as a leader in PCTV cards http://www.hauppauge.com Have one myself very happy. Not sure on USB sat receiver!!!

Is it possible to get live soccer on a Saturday with this dish ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Smeagol

I guess you mean PL footie?
    With the dish, yes. (with the right box) ;)
    With the analogue receiver, no.

sorry to dug you but is it as simple as getting one of those boxes and plugging it into my 80cm dish or do i need to get cards ?

Is it possible to pick up the Hotbird Satallite using the equipment purchased from Lidl??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭ShaneOC

Yes there should be no problem picking up the satellite, but you need to check what you'll be able to receive with an analogue box.

See this site for channels.

The sat finder i picked up the other day seems to be a tad faulty. When i hook it up and turn the 'sensitivity' knob, the volume increases and the LED indicator lights up:(

Back to the shop it goes although i dont suppos theres going to be any more to exchange it with seeing as they're probably all sold - nor will i get a refund as the threw the sat finder & bracket in with the dish/receiver/lnb for no extra charge....bugger!

Anyone else get faulty finderz?

Originally posted by Eurorunner
    The sat finder i picked up the other day seems to be a tad faulty. When i hook it up and turn the 'sensitivity' knob, the volume increases and the LED indicator lights up:(

Back to the shop it goes although i dont suppos theres going to be any more to exchange it with seeing as they're probably all sold - nor will i get a refund as the threw the sat finder & bracket in with the dish/receiver/lnb for no extra charge....bugger!

Anyone else get faulty finderz?

I thought that about mine was faulty too, but its not!!. If you turn the Knob all the way to the right the all the lights will light up and the horrible squealing noise will be there, but if you connect to the lnb are the instructions say then slowly turn the knob until you hear that squealing noise then turn it back untill it stops, you should have just barely one bar lit up or maybee only half a bar.
    Then slowly adjust your dish moving from south to west or east, as the dish starts to pick up a signal the noise will get louder and the lights will get stronger.

It took me fecking ages to work it out last night and I was cursing LIDL and the stupid instructions but in the end it works fine, I presume its the same with yours.

Astra is the easiest satellite to get if your standing behind the dish its about south east

The lidl sat-tracker works grand with 19.2E for me but I'm having difficulty trying to tune 28.2E in. Has anyone else used the lidl tracker for 28.2E? I am begining to think its "hard-coded" in to 19.2E only (its so easy to find 19.2 with the tracker, very stong signal).

I don't seem to be getting a signal at 28.2E when I try turning the dish slowly left.However there is a big hill in the way with random trees here and there starting from about 5000m away that could be blocking the signal (also some nearby phone lines :< ). Anyone else manage to tune 28.2E in with it?

btw I;m using a PCI skystar2 card receiver in case anyone thinks the lidl analog receiver might be the problem :o

As far as I know theres no channels still broadcasting there bbc prime and discovery channel were there when they were analogue there possible still there digital.

Astra 28.2 and Eurobird 28.5 have no analogue signals.:( :(:(

What do you mean exactly by no analog signals, I'm not using lidl's analog reciever but my own digital one... Do you mean the sat-tracker is capable of only tuning in satellites that are currently transmitting analog signals? Dont some analog signals lie at the lower end of the digital signal spectrum? :<

byte

At the moment there seems to be 16 analogue channels on Hotbird, including BBC World and Deutche Welle TV (English/German languages)

For lists and frequencies of analogue channels, I highly recommend
    www.analoguesat.co.uk ;)

Greenman wrote:
    Astra 28.2 and Eurobird 28.5 have no analogue signals

Spoonman wrote:
    What do you mean exactly by no analog signals,

Well I mean exactly what I saw here.

Spoonman wrote:
    Dont some analog signals lie at the lower end of the digital signal spectrum?

Well I think the answer to that is for the Tonys of this world.:confused::confused::confused:

It took me fecking ages to work it out last night and I was cursing LIDL and the stupid instructions but in the end it works fine, I presume its the same with yours.

You were right Tipptop, i just didnt know what i was doing! It works fine.

Didnt realise that it will only 'find' analog signals only though?

yeah the sat finder for me anyway seems to only be detecting astra 19.2E, very easy setup the dish with that. But when trying extra satellites like 28.2E I dont get a whimper out of it.

Maybe its just me tho becuase my location is surounded by hills maybe theres a tree/telephone pole obstructing 28.2E and just missing 19.2E.

I'd love to hear from anyone whos sucessfully used the lidl satellite reciever to tune in another satellite other than 19.2E

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Possible reasons

1) Some meters are not as responsive to digital signals as analouge
    2) as you move away from 8 deg west (aprox average longtitude for Ireland) satellites appear lower in the sky so by the time you hit 28deg your dish elevation may need tweaking by a couple of degrees
    the difference becomes more pronounced the further eastwards youre looking which is why you dont notice any difference between 13 and 19 deg but by the time you hit 28 your elevation needs to be brought down a bit

I'd love to hear from anyone whos sucessfully used the lidl satellite reciever to tune in another satellite other than 19.2E

Just tuned in Hispasat without any probs using the SatFinder. Have to say that its the best €10 i never spent (..seeing as they never actually charged us the 10 yoyo and threw in the satfinder & wall bracket with the sat system:) ).

Now, anyone in the market for these two analog receivers that are gathering dust!