Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's happened again

• 10-11-2003 10:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭

It's that time of year again (it's an annual thing.. like easter, it's not a set date, it happens sometime during window of time), the time that comes when i realise what a **** college this place is in comparison with REAL colleges like Waterford or UCD.. I mean i hate this place! The societies are a joke, the food is ****, no student bar, sub standard lecturers - Eamon Cass - I'm talking to you...ah and Carlow's depressing as well!!!... anyone agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

if you don't like it then LEAVE!!!

I agree that we have some **** lecturer's and Poisonous Food but you gonna get that in most placs if not everywhere you find Campell's Catering!

but we do have some great women right??

Ref: She's UNREAL Thread!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Go getta transfer so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

god that's surely a stupid attitude.. "Just leave then" i've done a year here what's the point in leaving to go back to year one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

laguna trhink you hurt some feelins!

the grass looks greener on the other side and all that!

this is a grand college if you actually want to learn something!

it think casse was planeted by some evil irish government agency to see how we handle the stress of listening to him!

Its not stressful listening to Eamon Cass,

His voice is so Monotonal he simply puts you to sleep.
    Theres no Stress involved in sleeping is there??

Just the still obstacle of Learning and Snoring at the same time!

your bout the sleep i mean the stress that he hasnt clue what he s doin so how the hell are we meant to learn anything and as for that aine something his partner in crime reminds me of a under educated potatoe!

you have Bernadette Power or Margaret Power for anything??

Bernadette:
    "Can anyone name an interface between the User and the Computer?"
    StevenK:
    "the keyboard or the Monitar"
    Bernadette:
    "No, the answer is the Desktop"

fair enough the desktop is a GUI but to say that steves answers are incorrect is just stupidity!

Since then i don't go to her classes very often!

Well i've done VB for a few years and the Cass man is o bad i'm having difficulty with the most elementary of Visual basic properties.. so now i don't go to his classes.... seriously though why are peoples feelings hurt? lets be honest if all of us students had a choice(money/wealthy parents) who wouldn't be at Trinity/UCD/DCU... most of us are here cos' it's handy, or we live nearby.. whatever.. it's not cause it's like we set our hearts on coming here

I did. I never wanted to go anywhere else!

I only had Carlow on my CAO form..........if i didn't get my degree course here i was doing a cert and if i didn't get that then i was doing Programming!

This place has one of the highest rated computer sections in Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭loismustdie

if tis is only your second year you really shouldn't introduce this as a nostalgic thread ya know, it's misleading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭UnrealQueen

Well Laguna! Im shocked! When you were sitting beside me this morning i believed you were working hard on your project, but NO, instead your bitching about this lovely college of ours with it's dumb but cute tekkies.
    I'm sitting in lab A307 now and all the floppy drives on this row are banjaxed, and most pc's in the lab are ****ed as well. In waterford and everywhere else for that matter, they use those beautiful black dell ones and they all use XP as well. This place must be way way way way way behind in the IT stakes.:(

argh Help..............Someone said XP..............

I'm scared!

Mordeth hold me! PLEASE??????

go to DIT in Mount Joy square then come back here and see what you have to bitch about!

The colllege is about the size of our Library, if not smaller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

We don't have XP because you can't upgrade from 2k to XP. Well so my pc told me anyway.
    Anyway, XP smokes c**k.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

and thats why u use it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

eh no laguna: i came here cause i wanted, how many computer networking courses are there in the country?
    i think its 3 main ones.... carlow has two of them, cork has another one which is computer applications and networking.
    also: computer hardware can be pretty **** and pretty great in other colleges. i dunno why but all around we have pretty decent machines that run really really slowly. the way i see it is, it could be a lot worse. we could have all this software loading up on p2 300's or something **** like that. XP == gay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

*slap*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭seanos

*gets out drugs of calmness*

however, on that note, agree with ya completely ...
    I had option of DCU [comp apps], or UCD [comp sci]
    This college is only one that does degree in computer networking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭kegan5

I was in uni in London for a year and... we were warned on the first day not to eat in the canteen, the lecurers bored us to sleep with their lack of knowledge and ability to use the fancy projectors...most lecutres we just sat their watching lights go on and off and the screen going up and down!

As for a student bar, we had one there too but it was just ****e...like scraggs...u get bored of it really quickly because it's there and u miss loadsa classes coz its like "Eamonn Cass/Drink...hmmm".

Carlow's not half as bad! ...Oh and to add to the whole Thames Valley is ****e...there was a bombing in the cafe we ate in taking away the only good part of going to that uni

K:ninja:

well that put things in perspective, the canteen here is bad but at least theres no c-4 inthe soup or sausages made out of semtex!

Originally posted by Farlo
    well that put things in perspective, the canteen here is bad but at least theres no c-4 inthe soup or sausages made out of semtex!

Yet...

Well i do believe i'm entitled to my own dissatisfaction with this college. Bollocks, this place could be a lot better and what are you on about 'the only place that offers a networking degree'? does that qualify this place into being 'good'?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

well if you think it could be better, how about trying to do something about it instead of sitting on your arse and talking ****e on boards.

how am i supposed to do that then? hold the canteen to ransom? kidnap eamon cass?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

protest, join the SU, campaign and raise awareness about how ****e it is.

I really don't care.

syco message seemed like he had a plan on the way which is scaring the crap out of me!

"me imagines sittin down to eat when i spot syco hidden behind a bush, staring at eagerly to take that first bite"

this a great college, food is edible lecturers can be ok sometimes and there s mighty crack with these fine people!

what more do ya want!

A walk in humador!!! :D

ok ok a walk in humador!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Headcase

this is by far one of the better colleges in the country.
    i've eaten in most of them and i'm sorry to say, they were all Campells and the same prices, roughly!

as for lectures:
    are you really trying to say that carlow is the only college with a few bad lecturers.
    i've Eamon Cass, its not that he doesn't know what he is doin, its just that he can't get his point across.
    Pete Lowe is a terrible lecturer, but very helpful for project labs.

so i think you have generalise a bit too much in saying that the college is bad.

and if you are complaining so much and feel strongly about it, Mordeth is right, do something about it.
    join the union, get on the acadamic council, get on your course board or something

my fingers hurt now, hope your happy.

long live I.T. Carlow!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

I was in carlow for a few years and although we had problems with food, lecturers facilities. I loved it, Cus of the people.
    No where on earth have I met so many friendly nice genuine people that made going to college in carlow a pleasure. And yes I mean you people.

If i'm included there...... thanks TomTom,
    we love you too!

I agree with Headcase, you have generalised alot! We do have some **** lecturers but we also have great lecturers!
    Anyone got Keith Smith........ he's a god sent! he really is the best teacher i've ever had!

Yes you are and dave denieff is a class lecturer i think.

Laguna stop moanin and if the college is that bad why dont u just go somewhere else,
    seriously likes its ur education and if ur not satidfied with it theres enough other colleges in the country,
    Bollocks, this place could be a lot better

College is what u make it,
    U have everything avialable to you there that you could need, its smaller then the majority of other colelges thus more personal and u get a chance to get to know the lectures and they can give u more time if u need it,

Also I agree with Tom the people are what makes life in Carlow It so nice,
    I spend a few years there I met the nicest friendliest most genuine people that I am prob bound to meet anywhere ever,
    The fact that nearly everyone lives in the town and the majority away from home prob has a part to play in that,

But I really cant say Carlow it was a bad experience and I really do love to complain about stuff:)

Stop moaning? i only made two posts on here. I've lost interest in the subject and finally realised what a lovely wonderful place this is.

Me senses a light whiff of lying?

Lying b**tard!!! Kill it aaaaaaaaaaaaahhhh!

Or not.

I don't particularly like it here either but you don't hear me bitchin, cos I know I have to put up with it and get qualified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭i_am_dogboy

Originally posted by Laguna
    i only made two posts on here. I've lost interest in the subject

thats what these people do to threads, have your opinion on the place if you want, obviously everyone's not gonna love the place like some of us, thats why there are so many drop outs, but dont just whinge here on boards because(as the campbells catering threads proved) people who do whinge on boards generally dont have the slightest intention of changing anything

by the way-if you dont see what i mean about the campbells threads, read the ones from last year-people still have the exact complaints about the canteen food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Vulture

Everyone is entitled to their opnion and i am entitled to disagree with them. I ended up in carlow by applying for computer type stuff on the cao thingy and i got carlow so of to carlow i went. Have never been anywhere else so can't compare but it's fairly enjoyable here. The people that i know are strange in good ways mostly. Also Carlow has some good points that no one ever mentions like.
    The breakfasts(sometimes thats the only reason you come in), tesco, bosco's, a trip to the 24 at 2:00am with a list of munchies written on two rizla's, Switching film's half way through at the cinema, Spending an hour trying to pick a film you havent seen at xtra vision, Ordering food from rocca's then calling them back an hour later to find out it's "On the way", Hanging out of the rafters in The Tower, Fry packs (say no more), coffee like tar that leaves you thirsty, a 30 min bitch fest about the techies, Talking about that wierd girl who was wearing the grey tracksuit bottoms at the start of the year, Big bite bacon and mushroom pizza's, Wakeing up in the evening and finding half the people in your house are still in bed or just going to bed, Trying to figure out who the hell knows the person sleeping on your couch, and their are lots more, but i want food, might continue this some other month.
    By the way laguna people who teach are a bit strange to begin with they trained all their lives to do a job then instead of doing it they teach other people how to do it. Your bound to get a few boring one's and some good one's.
    PS note i did not give you one pice of advice or complain because i just don't care about anyone's problems i have a hard enough time getting together enough effort not to caring about my own.

"a trip to the 24 at 2:00am with a list of munchies written on two rizla's"

LOL thats my favourite!

memories, oh so many memories.....lalalalala

Dam u have me reminesing now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Originally posted by ShayK1
    I agree with Headcase, you have generalised alot! We do have some **** lecturers but we also have great lecturers!
    Anyone got Keith Smith........ he's a god sent! he really is the best teacher i've ever had!

Keith Smyth is quite good alright, what do you have him for?

Communication Science!

and sure if anyone has Norman he will tell u how great he is himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

is he the bloke whos "required reading" invlolves u spendin €40 on HIS book?

Originally posted by Moonbeam
    and sure if anyone has Norman he will tell u how great he is himself

Norman McMillan?

thats the fu**er, alright

Al chant now,
    Here comes Marrgret Power, she's an effin bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Bicky

I like Marrgret Power.
    That is all.

Everyone note the time of the post.....
    Bicky, were you just after coming out of the pub?

Hatchet:D

Margaret is gone off to drop out a kid as far as I know!

All chant now
    There goes Margaret Power, she's an effin bitch.

I wonder what impregnates her