Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Drink Laws

• 29-09-2003 2:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭

The new drink laws come in to action this week,

No children aloud in pubs after 9pm even if accompanied by parents.
    All pubs close an hour earlier n thursdays so they'll all close at 11.30pm

Wat u guys think of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭rocco

its pointless it wont change a thing . Alot of pubs dont stick to the proper hours anyway so these wont really affect anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭kegan5

There's a few more too...

Happy Hour has now gone! :(

And there's something about if you come out of a place drunk you'll get arrested and the pub/club you were in regardless of whether you bought drink in there will be fined etc.

Its a pile of $%^$%£ if you ask me!

However the smoking ban is ok...maybe they should change it to designated smoking areas rather than no smoking though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭rocco

I think the smoking one is going to cause murder in pubs there going to need alot more guards around because 4 or 5 bouncers will not take on a load of smokers when there all puffing away when they get a few drinks in them you know it will happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭bpm

i cant go out and drink and not smoke, so i think if it does come out, from a smokers point of view, pubs are gonna be dead, mite as well just stay home an drink

It wont happen no way:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭XbLaDe

Originally posted by Fighting Irish
    The new drink laws come in to action this week,

No children aloud in pubs after 9pm even if accompanied by parents.
    All pubs close an hour earlier n thursdays so they'll all close at 11.30pm

Wat u guys think of this?

I happen to agree with the 11.30 closing. It was pointless, pubs were empty and it was costing Irish businesses a fortune in lost labour due to people calling in sick on fridays.

Even though the new law states that children should be out by 9pm a pub can have them in if they are being served a meal so theres a loophole like always.

I bet the cops will be down within 30 seconds if there is a smoking violation. 30 minutes if some guy is smashing a pub up.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭kegan5

It will come in, I'm sure but I think that the pub landlords etc will turn a blind eye to smokers.

I dont care to be honest...dont smoke so it doesnt affect me

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

I happen to agree with the 11.30 closing. It was pointless, pubs were empty and it was costing Irish businesses a fortune in lost labour due to people calling in sick on fridays.
    where do you live?

Pubs are packed on Thursday night:)

The no smoking ban is Great idea in theory but tis going a bit too far,and jobs will be lost
    Its not breaking the law smokin on the street after all its many peoples workplace but apparently it is in a beer garden.
    More people wll also give up smoking and the government willbe down in revenue,

As for reverting to normal hours on a Thrusday theres no need for it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

you go girl

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

I agree with kicking the kids out, tis a great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭seanos

Kids out yes - noisey little rodents
    smoking ban urgh .... retarded [esp in beer gardens etc...]
    Thurs night drinkin' is essential ... nothin' better ... bastards, gonna just have to turn up to college less to make up for earlier drinking time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Kazu

If the smoking laws come in people will come out of the pubs and clubs to smoke which could be a dangerous thing like standing outside a chiper after a disco is over that is when the most trouble happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

i think the ban is a good thing but they should provide an area for smokers instead of just making them leave the pub!!!

ye they are providing an area for smokers, i think its called the crapper! thats where a lot of ppl will go anyway!!

anyway, i'd say there will be some sort of a change to the no smokin law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Yaay, screamin bastids plus fag smokers out, leaves more room for hot chicks!!!!

well, chicks anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

what about the hot chicks that smoke??

Smoke what? /me slaps myself. Behave!!! They can smoke in the jax like every one else!! Then come back to me at the bar. eeeeeeeh etc.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Getting rid of the happy hours, closing at 11.30 on thursday and the drunk thing is a load of bollox, people can look drunker than they are, and some people look drunk but be grand and others, like stevenk, well ya get the idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Originally posted by kegan5
    Happy Hour has now gone! :(

But now there's Happy Happy Monday's, in Sheriffs!

Its a good way around it :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Theres plenty of ways around the happy hour thing,
    Like everytime u buy a drink you getta stamp 5 stamps for example = 1 free pint

Or open up a Boots pub. They always have three for two, or buy one get one free offers on!

just as well boards doesnt have trouts!

mmmmm though now that u say it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭seanos

...yes but boots would make their own beer
    and it would smell nice, and make breath smell like roses and other such crap
    evil ;/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

Let me start of by saying I think I’m going to explode.

Today I saw a saw a sign posted on a bar door saying that 18-21's require ID. Seriously though, this is more than ridiculous, why don't I just say I’m 22 and I don't need ID, let me in?

Now really if an under 18 year old wants to get alcohol and go on a binge that bad isn’t' going to go to a pub, but an off-licence or get someone who has id/fake id to buy them alcohol and then they go off to a ditch and drink it.

Is keeping 17 year olds out of a pub really necessary? It’s more likely that they will be more controlled if not better behaved than drinking in a ditch. I've noticed that there's not much to do in the world if you're under 18, besides stay at home and watch television, perhaps maybe go to a leisure centre that's inhabited by skangers. Personally I'm 17 and drink in moderation although I do get drunk I still know how to control myself and have the ability to walk and get myself home, as do most my friends both under and over 18.

The government seems to be too occupied with "Teenage Binging" that they seem to overlook one thing, this being that it seems to be the 20 - 30 year olds that seem to be doing the most binging and that teenage binging is a smaller percentage compared to this. Perhaps they should focus more on Alco-pops, maybe they focusing more on perhaps reducing they're sale or advertising?

As pointed out many times elsewhere if people want to drink there's not much others can do to stop them. Also on a side note regarding no children after 9pm even with parents, is this not a bad idea for tourism? Living in Athlone we get quite a few tourists that like to bring their kids to pubs to listen to music (traditional/folkish). In my view this is a bad move as it gives even less entertainment for younger people that visit, even with their parents!!!

Now consider this, you live in a smallish town, it has 1/2 pool tables, which are located in pubs. This town also has quite a few children. Once you pass the age of 16 you get bored with discos :P and other childish events and they're is nothing else to do but perhaps play pool on a friday/saturday night. You perhaps go out with your parents these nights while they drink you play pool, not even drinking yourself and you've being doing this for the past year and a half. You're having a great time, now the new laws are introduced, no minors after 9pm, what do you do? Well the answer is sweet **** all!! There are no other major outlets for a person around your age.
    Hey why not get drunk to get rid of your misery, get some drink and find a bush, mission accomplished :p.

Back to my original complaint, the ID thing, is it just me or are we becoming more Americanised? Soon enough it will be no persons in bars under 21. Well maybe I’m being a bit over dramatic but it's ridiculous, there was a time where saying that you have to be 21 to enter was against the law.
    Anywho I'm finished with my stupid rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

**** these new drink laws, now i have to get myself a ****ing id, or bring out my assport everynight. **** that. i dont drink a whole lot anymore but its still ****ing annoying

Originally posted by stevenk
    **** these new drink laws, now i have to get myself a ****ing id, or bring out my assport everynight. **** that.

Assport eh? Are you trying to tell us something Steven?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

no but if you wanna find out more pm me

Errrr...no, i already know too much:ninja:

Bob_Bot by anychance is your name Eoin?? or Owen??

oddly enough it isn't, it's Rob :)

Wow that is amazing!
    Really!!!

No just the age and where you lived thought you might of been Owen but i guess not!

Hey Rob how's things??
    Now get back to the topic!

I reckon we all go out with out id and get pissed and see what happens,

I prob wont get into the pub to begin with so should be fun:)

yeah we'll get a load of cans or bottles or Whiskey or Vodka and go knacker drinking!

Like the good old days of last week!!!

Originally posted by Moonbeam
    I reckon we all go out with out id and get pissed and see what happens,

I prob wont get into the pub to begin with so should be fun:)

did that Saturday (friends 18th) it was fun :D

Thursday night so?

Can drink in the play ground and play on the swings!!

Thought you weren't comin down this Thursday? If you do we can put my free house which happens to have central heating(!!!!!) to good use! ;)

/me doesn't comment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

I work in a pub, and last thursday i was very grateful for the early closing, Thank you Taoiseach. It's a bastard sitting around waiting for your five or six customers to go home so you can.
    But i can see how it would affect dublin, cities etc.

And i'm going to be killed for this but.........
    I agree with the whole id thing. i can now ask for id with out looking like a plonker, and getting the usual ignorant reply of '**** off, im twenty'. It means that now anyone that you'r not quite sure off can be asked. And don't forget that it is now the bar staff who get fined for serving underage drinkers. And believe me gentlepeople i cannot afford 1500 euro.

The smoking thing is a load of bull****, they could of had no smoking areas and introduced it that way, but it will go ahead reagardless.

blah, blah sick of writing this.

gogo

Originally posted by BoB_BoT

Today I saw a saw a sign posted on a bar door saying that 18-21's require ID. Seriously though, this is more than ridiculous, why don't I just say I’m 22 and I don't need ID, let me in?

The young fella has a good point there gogo???

Thought you weren't comin down this Thursday? If you do we can put my free house which happens to have central heating(!!!!!) to good use!

No no I am not coming down Thursday definately not:D

pm to everyone cept Don1-
    anyone got a spare bed tonight?:p

ooh didnt see this one before :f33r:

Oh, hah hah, very funny indeed. Oops, I think I've gone and given myself a hernia from laughing so hard!:rolleyes:

dude are you being sarcastic?? cause i don't even know anymore!

Me? Sarcastic? Never.

By never I mean hell yeah, always!

hehe:rolleyes:

just checkin

Sarcasm is allegedly the lowest form of wit. Well whoever said that must not have been very good at it then!!! I love it. Almost as much as I love the Dunphy Show. It really is an excellent program TV3 is really comin on. I reckon in a few years it'll rival Sky1.

Jesus i do hate repeating myself........... BUT......
    Originally posted by ShayK1
    dude are you being sarcastic?? cause i don't even know anymore!

We shall bring this to google fight!!!

Donal versus sarcasm
    ( 488 000 results ( 182 000 results)

wit versus sarcasm
    (8 530 000 results) ( 629 000 results)

Shay- I htink its safer if we take everyhting he says as sarcasm,

And as for it being the lowest form of wit,it would go with the Dunphy show well:)

Originally posted by Moonbeam
    We shall bring this to google fight!!!

Donal versus sarcasm
    ( 488 000 results ( 182 000 results)

wit versus sarcasm
    (8 530 000 results) ( 629 000 results)

Shay- I htink its safer if we take everyhting he says as sarcasm,

And as for it being the lowest form of wit,it would go with the Dunphy show well:)

I agree........ Don perpare Not to be taken seriously!! EVER AGAIN!

HAHAHAHAhAHahahaha

Don1 shayk1
    ( 3 400 results) versus (47 results)

hehehehehe

donal shay
    ( 182 000 results) versus ( 655 000 results)

hehehehehehehehehe