Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celebrity Farm

• 05-09-2003 12:59pm

Celbrity farm starts tonight on RTE and continues tomorrow and next week.

Who exactly are these celeb's and how are they going to cope with the muck and the slurry:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I know I should'nt watch it but with a title so alluring and a potentially desperate cast of c-list celebs trying to catch a line-producers eye it could be good degrading fun! :D

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

so this is definately going ahead :( i saw some ad about it :( what a waste of money this will be :(

i should apply for the creative department at RTÉ. they are obviously lacking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Brush Shiels and Nell Mc Cafferty would be my bets on a couple of participants, possibly some ex-glenroeites too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Yeah well yes okay so

Celeb Farm. while I agree with mossy.

Saddly I also agree with mike.

But mossy this is Celeb Reality TV there always Z list Celebs. Come on did you see CBB AND I am A celeb get me my name on TV again.

...I just want to see Twink and Bibi Baskin wrestling in pig muck! :eek: :

Mike.

Did I write that or just think it?
    :ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 KK

oh good idea pat kenny, revealing who the celebrity farmers are will get us watching your show.

no no no it won't.

who cares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭wolfman

Z Celebrities is right!

My God. Did you see who they picked?

Twink, Mary Kingston (annoying kids tv presenter), Mary Coughlan and Tamara somebody (seemingly last years Rose of Tralee)

Then the lads,

1st guy I don't know he is, then Gavin Lamb Murphy, who is a JOURNALIST, then Kevin Sharky (ex kids tv presenter from decades ago!) and lastly Paddy O'Gorman (the guy who does the documentaries on Radio 1)

Good ole RTE. That's all I have to say.
    :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

gavin friday ?
    it was gavin lambe-murphy
    :(

Sorry. Seemingly the first guy is off Fair City.

He's known as Mono? I didn't know because I don't watch it

Originally posted by parasite
    gavin friday ?
    it was gavin lambe-murphy

Ha ha ha.
    Excellent! That was a little experiment I tried. I bet my buddy here that if I posted it, left it for 60 seconds and edited it, that nobody would notice.

He won the bet

:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

when will the madness end......

there was cabin fever, i thought rte had hit an all time low with that one, but celebrity farm.... isn't really a good name for the show is it.... it should be just called 'farm', as i cant see any celebrities in that list of people.....

they should have put the money spent on this rubbish into employing some real actors for fair city.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

i feel used

they should have put the money spent on this rubbish into employing some real actors for fair city.....

Mondo is actually quite a good actor, in fairness.
    Gavin Lamb Murphy: Who the ****?
    Mary Cocklan: she a singer, quite well known?
    Mary Kingston: why?
    Twink: Its not like TV3 was renewing your dating show
    Kevin Sharky: Ah well nice to see him back on the telly
    Paddy Gorman: He has his own show after all, good one at that.
    The Rose of Tralee: You know the odd one from last year, not bad on the eye.

I mean its like any kind of Celeb Cookery/Reality/TV Show have the most famous of people, just kind of well know.

I don't think I new anyone on "I am a Celeb get me out of here?"

I think RTE do it all very well, they get people and news papers talking about it all, which is very hard in this country since everyone talks about British TV etc.

Anyway its for charity and its not the end of the world or anything

Originally posted by parasite
    i feel used

HA HA HA!!!

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

its not the end of the world or anything

no no my friend... its much worse.... its the end of tv as we know it....
    I think RTE do it all very well, they get people and news papers talking about it all

yeah.. because how poor it usually is....

irish viewers are very gullable when it comes to tv... they'd swallow anything that's put before them and think its good because they are told it is good....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭ElNino

By my count 5 of the 8 are either current or former RTE employees. Anyone think that they couldn't get any real celebrities so they ended up with this shower of non-celebrities?

Mondo - never heard of him
    Gavin Lamb Murphy - never heard of him
    Mary Cocklan - my mother is a fan
    Mary Kingston - pain in the arse
    Twink - same as Mary Kingston
    Kevin Sharky - never heard of him
    Paddy Gorman - heard his name mentioned. didn't know what he did
    The Rose of Tralee - scraping the bottom of the barrel. can anyone give her full name without looking it up?

By my count 5 of the 8 are either current or former RTE employees. Anyone think that they couldn't get any real celebrities so they ended up with this shower of non-celebrities?

Lets face it most of all our local celebs and international celebs have work with rte at one stage or another

Don't see my self watching this, past an episode or two for curiosity.
    For instance, theres no hope really of a decent roll in the hay between two of these people is there?

All you are going to see is some of them getting covered in slurry, and playing cards by the looks of things.
    And the phone voting lines aren't too likely to be engaged either.

That haunted house, bad and all as it was , seemed like a better effort than this.

mm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Paddy O Gormon is a very good docu maker and Jurnolist. HE does all the inner city stuff and the stuff on travlers in ireland, might be intresting to get to see him with out his hat .

But like wtf now ? a farm at this time of year, ok a running farm is always busy but the chores will be just tending to the live stock as most of the harvesting is done.

WHy could they have not set them up fot a stint in lambing season out in the feilds at all hours of the day and night :)

That haunted house, bad and all as it was , seemed like a better effort than this.

Ah now! Man come on you haven't even seen this show.

Come on stop throwing the slurry until you see the show.

"Get up the feild ye smell of Benjy!"
    Don't see my self watching this, past an episode or two for curiosity.

Sure thats all they want you to do. watch an episode or two, and then 4 years down the road its Celeb Farm 4. :D

The Stars
    Eamon Dunphy :D
    Ryan Turbirty
    Mickey Joe Heart :D
    Daimen McCaul
    Lorraine Keane
    Mary McEvoy
    Mary Kennedy
    You one Smurfit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

I think the list of celebs is poor. You could have had a few politicians, journalists, musicians etc.

Twink? The star of many a Dublin Panto?
    Gavin Lamb Murphy?
    Mondo??
    Mary Kingston??????

Are RTE so out of torch with it's viewers? The money is going to charity - but I think as viewers - it would be interesting to know - how much this programme is costing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

When they all walked out on the late late and you could hear some young dub saying something as he walked out a distance from the camera I thought it might be the one,the only,the legend himself............

kevomagic.jpg

"Oim nah goin dowen deh culchiesoyad ta royad sheep.Oim gonna play me pee seh teo instead cos deh graphics are bleedin rapih shoite"

Originally posted by Tha Gopher
    the legend himself............

how old was he when he first appeared on RTÉ. did RTÉ give him a contract the second the umbillical (sp?) cord was cut

Just seen it.
    Cringe:eek:

T'was a bit much after being away from them for less than 48 hours for Twink to be hugging and kissing, her family like she hadn't seen them in months.

What were they doing all week end?? there seemed to be very little work done on that farm by them...

mm

i watched it tonight, well 5 minutes of it. it is a load of toss. my mother watched the rest of it and has sworn to never look at it again

well done on another load of ****e RTÉ :mad:

i hope the Nielson families wont watch it and this sort of thing is bannished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Well at least they got rid of Twink -there is some justice in the world. :D

Saw about half of it tonight against my will. Really there seems to be very little challenge in the whole thing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭joey D

Another bucket of shi te from Tyrone Productions / RTE.

If you thought Cabin Fever was the lowest RTE could stumble since The Cassidys, then you aint seen nothing yet - stand up Celebrity Farm, the most dire misnomer for the most dire programme in RTE's recent history.

For a start, the so-called 'genre' of reality TV is so dead at this stage most sane TV viewers have been trying to get the stench of its rotting corpse out of their living rooms for years. But RTE have decided otherwise.

The format of this TV programme, like Cabin Fever, begs for some direction and structure. Phil Space must be the producer on Celebrity Farm because it's quite clear there's nothing going on, and certainly not enough to fill an hour of TV. This is most evident in the presenter (Mairead McGuinness) and her laughable, cringe-inducing attempts to create tension/hype. And couldn't they have got someone with a personality to present the show? She's so wooden and out of her depth she makes Derek Mooney look like Johnny Vaughan. The most hilarious bit was where she sprung a clearly-relieved Twink from the house, and then asked how she felt - as if this was one of the biggest moments in TV history - "You've had a great time though haven't you?" she kept insisting.

When the humourless McGuinness wasn't insisting that people had a good time, she was (to quote her) 'imploring' the viewers to text or call in their votes - well, you'd need to implore people wouldn't you? And even though the 'prize' of €10K at the end of the 'series' goes to charity, you'd need a lot of imploring to waste the energy and money it takes to send a text or make a phone call. Whichever charity the money goes to will probably feel a deep sense of embarrassment and shame at having received money from this awful abomination.

It's no surprise that people don't know who any of the contestants are - it's basically a collection of RTE nearly-rans. But then who in their right mind would agree to go on this bollox? An RTE nearly-ran of course.

The best thing that could happen to this programme is a few farmyard accidents. Kevin Sharkey, boring arty type and token black person, could accidentally fall into a slurry pit - taking the needlessly hyperactive Mary Kingston and her sh i t hair with him. Gavin Lambe-Murphy, supposed socialite and prime candidate for a good kicking, could be squashed against a wall by a tractor driven by right-wing knob Paddy O'Gorman - then the tractor could burst into flames. Has-been Mary Coughlan could be pitted against pain-in-the-arse Italian Rose of Tralee whats-her-name, in a fight-to-the-death wrestling match - with knives and pitch-forks. Mondo, token young person and Fair City superstar, could just fuk off back to Fair City and do his career a favour (I'm being sarcastic here by the way). And as for Twink.... what? she's been evicted? And I was just beginning to enjoy it...

Originally posted by joey D

The best thing that could happen to this programme is a few farmyard accidents. Kevin Sharkey, boring arty type and token black person, could accidentally fall into a slurry pit - taking the needlessly hyperactive Mary Kingston and her sh i t hair with him. Gavin Lambe-Murphy, supposed socialite and prime candidate for a good kicking, could be squashed against a wall by a tractor driven by right-wing knob Paddy O'Gorman - then the tractor could burst into flames. Has-been Mary Coughlan could be pitted against pain-in-the-arse Italian Rose of Tralee whats-her-name, in a fight-to-the-death wrestling match - with knives and pitch-forks. Mondo, token young person and Fair City superstar, could just fuk off back to Fair City and do his career a favour (I'm being sarcastic here by the way). And as for Twink.... what? she's been evicted? And I was just beginning to enjoy it...

Good review:D
    Honestly Mairéad McGuinness hosting the show:o
    And as for the wheelbarrows and the buckets of milk, how un interesting could you get.
    You are right in what you say, the whole thing could fit into 20 minutes.
    Drawing it out like they do, makes the whole thing look laboured and unprofessional.
    Celeb Farm probably looked like a reasonable idea on paper,but it could have been so much better with a bit more thought put into who the "Celebs" were and what mucky goings on they'd have to do.

mm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭anthonymcg

That Mondo chap does my head in. I see him the odd time down the local club and he always wants to be the centre of attention. He did a somersault down onto the dancefloor ffs!!! Clown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

Who the feck is Gavin Lamb Murphy?????

A proper Irish celebrity reality show would have:
    • Colin Farrell
    • Pierce Brosnan
    • Colm Meaney
    • Emma Ledden
    • Charlie Haughey
    • Gabriel Byrne
    • Brenda Fricka
    • Andrea Corr
    • Delores O'Riordan
    • Deidre O'Kane
    • Bono
    • Sharon Ní Bheoláin

i agree with most of what Louis Walshe said on Gerry Ryan this morning. i didn't agree with his views on Twink though

I had the programme on in the background tonight as I read the Sunday Tribune....(after hearing Twink sounding off on Pat Kennys prog and Liveline (the whole fecking hour was taken up with it!))

If it were a horse it would have been shot...

On the radio exposure today, I wonder are there any rules that govern the matter of cross-promotion?.

Mike.

Two Scary things occured to me tonight from that show.
    1. I've been on that farm
    and 2. I've met that guy who is organising the tasks/work for the "celebs".
    {start of trivial information}
    He's an Act tHor who as far as I can remember does own a farm in Wicklow but not the one in the show and he had a bit part in that BBC/RTE co production a few years back about the lady British embassador-he played her bodyguard.
    He also used be a part time investment broker which is how I met him.
    He's too nice to the "celebs" he should get them mucky!
    {end of trivial information}

mm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 KK

sorry now, who said paddy o'gorman was a good journalist?

"so pauline, since your husband died and your only son burnt the house down, are you feeling low at all? and why are you collecting the dole, could you not get a job?"

he's good in that he's so blindly condescending.

Another bucket of shi te from Tyrone Productions / RTE.

Ah now! They do Ros Na Run and made a fortune from RiverDance.
    The format of this TV programme, like Cabin Fever, begs for some direction and structure.

Yes! Agreed. to me it sounded like a good Idea. Then I saw it sink.

Sorry edit get rid of quote

M. McGuiness is a fine presenter she should just stick to Ear To The Ground, just this show isn't good. You could get Divana McCaul to do it and it still wouldn't be good, sorry sorry thats big brother isn't **** better example mmmm Parkinson?
    Colin Farrell

Pierce Brosnan

Colm Meaney

Emma Ledden

Charlie Haughey

Gabriel Byrne

Brenda Fricka

Andrea Corr

Delores O'Riordan

Deidre O'Kane

Bono

Sharon Ní Bheoláin

Yes and I am A celeb get me out of here will have

1. Micheal Parkinson
    2. Sean Cornroy
    3. Jonathan Ross
    4. Dame Judi Dench
    5. Margret Tatcher
    etc.

You just don't get STARS doing reality tv, they have enough money to give to charity.

Also Emma Leden (Sorry but she went to the UK and well is now on Spin FM NOT FAMOUS) i dont care how goodlooking she is. And Sharon Ni Bheolain (Well done with the sp) but she reads the news.
    Who the feck is Gavin Lamb Murphy?????

He's famous for being famous, you know like Tara Tom Pa whats her face. (She's in the tabloids alot)
    so pauline, since your husband died and your only son burnt the house down, are you feeling low at all? and why are you collecting the dole, could you not get a job?"

But I like his radio and TV shows.

I will say no more.

Just give the charity the money and have it over and done with.

They should have done SOS like TG4 now that was good.

I refuse to watch no career celebrity farm. RTE could have used the money to develop a decent drama like those Waking the Dead on BBC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭bloggs

I put it on for about 2 mins the other day. celeb's???? Who the f**k are these people, i have never seen them before.

Bloody hell RTE can't you hire someone decent to write programs. No TV licence for you this year (from me)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭padraigmyers

Sorry lads, I think ye are all taking it a bit seriously. Yes, it is ****, but have you
    failed to realiese how bloody funny it is, I have watched it every night since Monday
    and I have been in stich's laughing at it, its just such a badly done sham of a thing
    and the odd-ball list of "celebs" only adds to the humor of it. I'm sure RTE don't
    realise it but between Ryan Tuberdy on the Rose of Tralee and this Celebrity Farm
    I have never laughed so much at any RTE produced programme.

Seriously, try watching it keeping in mind that most of this may wind up on Chris
    Tarrents TV Clips show because its so cringe-worthy, maybe its just me but I find
    that damm funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

That dude from Fair City is a bit of a plank.
    Mary KIngston - I can remember her from telly when I was a bairn.
    She shouted and frightened the life outta me.
    Isnt that former Rose of Tralee the one that turned into a bulimic after she won it?

Make it stop...... PLEASE

Originally posted by padraigmyers

Seriously, try watching it keeping in mind that most of this may wind up on Chris
    Tarrents TV Clips show because its so cringe-worthy, maybe its just me but I find
    that damm funny.

Actually that is a very good point:D

Note to self:
    e-mail Chris Tarrant and his producers to bring their attention to this show.

mm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

I will think about this programme when I am paying my TV licence. RTE is a commericial station. This programme should knock RTEs notions of public service broadcasting on the head.

How much was spent producing this programme?

what % would the €50,000 represent of the total cost of this programme?

I really think the TV licence should be scrapped. This programme was probably one of the worst ever on TV. Charity - would be not inflicting it on the nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

I watched half of an episode tonight to see what the story was. The girl tamara had just been voted off, she was all glammed up in her little black dress and high heels and they made her get onto a trailer and be towed away by a JCB. How degrading is that!?! Only on RTE.
    Thank God it's over!

Kevin Sharkey had some things to say about this programme and it's contestants tonight on Eamonn Dunphys programme :D

ROFL :p

Originally posted by Man
    Note to self:
    e-mail Chris Tarrant and his producers to bring their attention to this show.

ITV would probably snap up the UK rights :D

Kevin Sharkey was in combative mood on Dunphys show, but so was Paddy Gorman on the Late Late, it seems no-one has a good word to say about the nature of Celeb Farm and its fakery.

Indoors for 22 hours a day, as Sharkey put it "I dont know many farms that get by on 1 and a half hours of work a day." He also critised the condition of some of the animals he saw on the Farm.

Tamara and Mary (?) seemed very friendly on the Late Late! :)

Mike.

Well thank god it is over.

At least RTE have shown us all that Reality TV is CRAP. (And that has to be a public Service)
    Now we have to put up with the salon, OH I Cann't wait, I do like to watch people work.

And one of the farmers ended up on Dunphy.

Just to say it again

I suppose it was my problem I was watching.

And RTE got the best midweek viewing ever. woo who!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Nike_Dude

The worst thing about the show......... It got high viewer ratings and now they are already talking about a second series!!!! I shudder to think what "celebrities" will be on it next year.

Originally posted by Nike_Dude
    they are already talking about a second series!!!!

proof that god doesn't exist and religion is mythical

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

Originally posted by Mossy Monk
    proof that god doesn't exist and religion is mythical
    God moves in mysterious ways....like the woman from that U2 song....