Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slane: Verdicts

• 24-08-2003 12:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭

My first Slane and I thought it was very good. Made it in for PJ Harvey's set. Thought she was good. QOTSA bloody rocked the whole county! Stole the show in my opinion. I like the Foos but there was something I didn't like about their performance can't put my finger on it. Chilis were on top form, you will never see a band so in tune and at one with each other for a long time. Great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

did they play "You think I ain't worth a dollar"

their best song in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Pj Harvey was clearly the best act at Slane.

Her set meant you had over an hour to get something to eat, go to the bar, buy a t-shirt (mind you the selection was a bit sh'ite) and sit down for a bit confident in the knowledge you weren't missing a thing on stage. I particularly liked the mad special effect during her set where the text scrolling shut down for about 20 minutes due to the obvious overload of "Harvey is sh'ite get her off" messages.

Seriously though, QOTSA blew everyone else off the bill. When most of the audience didn't know their tunes and they still managed to play around with the audience's timing you know you're seeing a good band in action. I remember seeing two little girls who were very obviously there to see Dave Grohl and had never seen a mosh before bouncing up and down and getting into it with gleeful grins on their faces. Ah, the corruption of youth.

All together now.... We're Queens of the Fuc.kin Stone Age...... (raar)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Yeah, first Slane for me, and t'was good. Queens were the best, no doubt. Foos were ok, but like last years Witnness, could have been better. Chillis were a vast improvement on their last appearance (Lansdowne), mightily impressed. Perfect headliners.

Any chance Metallica for next year???:cool: They'd f*ck that place up good and proper.

The Foo's and the Chilis were my fav.

I was one of the lucky few who got a pit band(well 2;)) so I was at the very front at the centre. Flea was hilarious :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

Bah, some **** knocked my glasses off in the crowd. Bam, bye bye 300euro's.

I thought PJ Harvey wasn't bad. And don't accuse me being biased by those fantastic legs, because i couldn't see anything.

Mocheeva(sp?) was atrocious though. she absolutely bombed and then started to try and save Rome Wasn't Built in A Day by asking everytbody to throw their hands in the air, and wave them round like they just didn't care..... yeeeeee-eah.

I don't think much of Feeder but they were nice and loud and built things up nicely for the next act.

Queens of the Stone Age ruled. The crowd reacted really well and there was great atmosphere. Things up at the front got really rough, but in a good way.

Foo Fighters weren't bad. All the 5 minute over the top jazzy finishes for songs was a bit dull though.

And the Chilli's were cool. There were some really funny high pitched covers and silly banter between songs. Music was good but I don't think it works truly satisfactorily in such a big outdoor venue. The last two albums are my favourites to listen to but they don't have the raw energy of the stuff QOTSA played earlier in the day. That said, Flea was brilliant. He did all kinds of interesting stuff. I'd like to get a recording of the concert to listen to in my own time.

I think they were kind of embarassed when they tried to lead us in our national anthem though, the crowd definately needed auto queues.

I met a load of people I hadn't seen in years and lots of new people as well. Definately a good day out. I'll definately go again if they get a line up as good as this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

I wasn't there, but I had to post about this somewhere, and it's almost relevant.

There is a picture of possibly the best looking girl I've seen in a long time on the front of the Sunday Indo today. A Lithuanian who was at Slane..my god she is stunning. Did anyone else see it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭innisfree

I haven't seen it mentioned yet, but I presumed everyone knew... The Chilli's set was being recorded majorly for a future DVD. You must have noticed all the film rigs, cranes and dolly's eveywhere swooping around the crowd?

I was looking most forward to the Foo's and QOTSA. Queens were on par with what I expected, got stuck in one of those mosh circles (with those fúckheads there just to ram people over) during the Foo's, and though I was fine, I couldn't pay as much attention to the set as I liked and felt I missed out on something I could have gotten more enjoyment out of :( So their last Ambassador show still steals it for me.
    Chilli's absoltely blew me away... I'd no good they were that good live. I'm one of those who asses who studies every musician on stage, so Flea and John's solo's and battles made me in heaven. Chad's drums too. Pity his solo, which led into Flea's trumpet playing, was ruined by the crowd's olé's.... I mean, it's fine once (though still annoying), but give up the fifth time.. especially when Chad is trying to do something on stage that doesn't involve listening to you put him out of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

Originally posted by bugler
    I wasn't there, but I had to post about this somewhere, and it's almost relevant.

There is a picture of possibly the best looking girl I've seen in a long time on the front of the Sunday Indo today. A Lithuanian who was at Slane..my god she is stunning. Did anyone else see it?

she was on the front of the sunday times too ...nyom

tell us more about national anthem, why ?
    what ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭JJSolutions

Twas a good gig, was interested to see the chili's after the sh!t@ gig in Lansdowne. There were good this time :)

Really liked the Foos - hadnt seen them before.

I couldnt figure out why PJ Harvey was playing slane has she released anything in the last 5 years? and if she did has anyon ein Ireland every bought it? I guess Slutmonkey57b is right in saying she was there to let ppl have a walk around.

Any Ideas who it will be next year - cant think who the current band of the moment is!? Would be nice to see metallica at it:)

anyone understand the marshalls logic in loading the busses from the back? WTF - especially after one of them tells a gang of us to go up the front - then the bus drivers up there say to get on the back busses.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I was there for every act including Hailite (I was trying to get apit pass ... missed it by a few minutes :( )
    Here's my take on the bands.

Hailite: Oh god would that guy ever shut up. Average band, not great music, couple of good tunes, nothing to write home about.

Morcheba: Wow. Great voice, got the crowd going a bit and sang some great tunes. Not a rock band but still had the hard core rockers clapping. I was looking forward to her set and she didnt dissappoint me.

Feeder: Holy fnck, these guys think they are headlining and from the sounds of it... they could! Feeder put on a show and were polished professional and sounded tight together. Great tunes. Must get more of these guys. "Surprise of the gig".

PJ Harvey: Professional, talented, great voice but wrong venue. I listened attentively but wasnt really pushed about her music.

QOTSA: Here's where I will (on personal grounds) differ from most people. I didnt think they stole the show. I thought they were good, but a bit too something for my tastes. I dunno, too much noise not enough tune maybe. Noone Knows owned but it was their best tune imho. Good solid rock band, good set but didnt beat the Foos or Chillis for my money.

The Foos: Ok, I have to admit I mostly went to see the Foos. I grew up with Nirvana and Dave Grohl is god. So, with my alliegances in the open, The Foos rocked. Would have liked to see them play more from the latest album (like Disenchanted Lullabies maybe) but what they did play they played well. Is Grohl a little energy bunny or what?! We should hook him up to the ESB and harness that energy source. Lots of crowd interaction good tunes, excellent set.

The Chillis: I like them a lot but people told me that they werent that great live last year. People were wrong. They owned. Ok they had everything going for them and I think if you had swapped the Foos and the Chillis as headliners it would have been as good a gig but wow, the chillis put on a show.
    Kickin tune selection, every member of the band putting on a show and putting everything into it. Some weird stuff for flavour (like the trumpet solo, the national anthem and the Ramones tune, which owned!).

The worst thing about the whole thing was the crowds, queing up to get out was SUCH a pain.

Oh yeah, anyone catch my text giving shouts out to Boardsters? I saw one text back from Crash!

Great gig all told, great line up too.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I wandered in during PJ Harvey's set. She was really good, but as DeVore said, perhaps wrong gig?

QotSA were good, and I like them, but I have to agree with DeVore here. They were a bit, well, boring. A bit samey-samey or some such.

The Foo Fighters kicked ass big time, and to be honest, I think they just had that little extra spark and might have just stolen the show.

The Chilli Peppers were phenomonal. Great performance. I've heard so many people say they're not good live. If only those people had been there yesterday to eat their words - with guatamaulan insantiy peppers on top ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Slane was brillaint. I was lucky enough to get in for the first act a well (Halite?).
    They weren't bad as the the opening act. Decent enough but they were fairly ignored which i don't think they deserved.

Morcheeba wasn't a rock bad (as she herself said) but weren't bad as a relax and talk to your friends about whats coming up kinda thing.

Feeder were class. Absolutely loved em. (them and chillis were main reason i went). Not many in the crowds knew the songs but they still got the people that were there going. ( the place really filled up just before the foo's. One minute there was loads of space. Then u try and fine ur friends and theres just no room. Kinda annoyed me)

PJ Harvey was ok i guess. I was sittin down tho talkin to ppl. Feeder were a bigger success than her tho imo'

QOTSA were unreal, huge moshing going on for them. Really knew how to get the crowd going. I didn't know most of their stuff before but i'm gonna get it now :D

Was told that the Foo's were **** live and although they were better than i thought they'd be there was something missing as someone said. Still delighted to have seen em.

Chilli's well what can i say, absolutely brilliant, i don't knwo what more to say except that i wish i wasn't so tired. Was afraid they
    weren't gonna play Californication for a while but i needn't have worried :p I gotta agree that the ole ole ole during chads solo pissed me off. Was really good tho set up californication perfectly. After trumpet solo it led into californication (iirc) and people just went wild :D

There were a few things that annoyed me. I got seperated from my m8's during the Foo's and cos it was so full at that stage i never found em again. The mobile phone network was overloaded (not surprisingly) so was impossible to ring em and find out where theyw ere. Text arrived about 45mins after they were sent to useless too.
    Also it took ****in ages to get outta the place. I know there's 80,000 odd people there but it took like am hour to get outta the place (i mean the grassy area, not even the walk through slane to the busses). Hate to see what would happen in a panic and people having to leave the palce in a hurry.

Overall a great day out although i was glad to get into bed by the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭²°°³webkev²°°³

Great Gig..really enjoyed the human pyramids too!!

Foo Fighter were great, Dave really got the crowd going and was funny too ("either somethings on fire or somebodys smoking a huge irish joint" - when the generator caught fire), but something was missing.. maybe because it was still bright out

QOTSA rocked.. that is my type of music really.. but I can only listen to it for a few minutes.. also it wasnt loud enough for me being in a massive outdoor venue in the day time..

Chilly Willy were amazing, I taught it was a bit of an anti climax though, apart from that they were really together and put on a brilliant show...

Feeder were great.. PJ Harvey had nothing going on for them with the crowd (as one text put it "could security please come to the stage to remove PJ Harvey this is not a drill")

Had a great time..will always remember it..
    does anyone know oif it is going to be on TV? and what time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

I'm so glad that almost everyone here thinks that QOTSA were the best band of the day. They were simply amazing. And plenty of classic moments during their set from the 'No-One knows' and 'Lost art of keeping a secret' crowd singalongs and the whole 'Nicotine, valium, vicadin, marijuana, ecstasy, alcohol, GUINNESS' thing!!!!
    Has anyone read the Sunday Independent today though? If you have the paper, go to page 2 of the main section and read the review. There is not a single mention of the QOTSA in it. Un-f'ing-believable. Dion Fanning (the 'journalist' who wrote it) has absolutely no musical taste whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

Originally posted by DeVore
    Oh yeah, anyone catch my text giving shouts out to Boardsters? I saw one text back from Crash!

Missed your text but saw crash's. I laughed my head off cuz it was such an unexpected thing to see my boards nick going across the screen!

Anyone else think Foo's were a bit crap? I dont really like their music all that much anyway and was completly wrecked after qotsa. I was walking around for ages looking for my friends and finally found them, collapsed on the ground, lay there for about 2 minutes then the foo's came on.... ffs.... I'm not particularly found of Dave Grohl either. I *was* a huge fan of nirvana about a year ago and slowly came to realise they're not as good as i always believed. As result i think i have less patient for the foo fighters. I think thats reason enough for why i didnt enjoy them.

Morcheeba came at a perfect time. I sat around and had a few pints, very good i thought.

Thought qotsa was just fantastic. I got this massive bruise on my shoulder from moshing :) If ya didnt like moshing, get the hell away from the mosh pits!!

Chilli's were very good, best act, even better then they were at lansdowne(which they were very good!).

Best bit: When Chad, the chilli's drumer, came back out and did a drum solo ::D

From worst to best Halite, PJ Harvey, Foo fighters, Morcheeba, qotsa, RHCP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Dev: If Grohl is your god you should have a look at the DVD on the sp. edition of Songs for the Deaf where your God can be seen drumming live with the Queens. PM me and I'll lend you it if you can't be bothered spending some of your millions on the CD.

I really didn't have high expectations of the Chilis from hearing other people and their TV show from Red Square (no atmosphere coming over and 500k people there?) but they suprised me. Still not the best, and in some ways due to the fact that the whole audience knew the songs off by heart, but still a cool show. Note to bands: We don't know our own national anthem. Don't bother.

I'd LOVE to see what Queens headlining a gig like that with the full stage to play with would be like. God that'd rule. I saw part of the boards text but then, I almost missed my own text about monkeys so there you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

Don't like the Chilli Peppers all that much, but I thought they were very good all the same. It's far easier for a headlining band to be good because the whole crowd are behind them.

I went to see Foo Fighters, but it was probably the worst gig I've ever seen them play. Still good. But they can be so much better than that. Not nearly enough old stuff. And pretty much all the new stuff you'd expect them to play. "Tired of You" was somewhat unexpected and good. Too much sh*t "music" in between the songs like BLITZ_Molloy said. Although what they did do, they did well. Just would have been better if they had done more.

Hardly know QOTSA at all, but I thought they were excellent.

PJ Harvey wasn't as bad as y'all are sayin'. I wasn't paying too much attention to the crowd there. But even if they weren't into her, she was still brilliant. Loads of really short loud songs... I thought splendid!

Feeder though. They should have been on later in the day. They were just as good as ever, and the croud loved them. They deserved better than a half empty pit.

Didn't like Morcheeba at all. Felt sorry for them though. Like when she asked did they suck... And everyone started to cheer.

Halite were good. Nothing special but just the kind of band you'd expect to open for Slane.

[Anyone else get a chicken burger from that place on the left of the stage beside all the toilets? Real spicy ones. They were the real headline for me. Wish I brought more money...]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

ahh twas great....:) I was there near the front for the whole thing.... feeder, foos and chilis..... really were good. the chilis had everything going....john's solos....wow....flea's trumpet rocked...he was great when he stood on the bass drum playing.
    they really rocked. foos were good. the queens were ok... but the worst thing was the crowd.... there were some moshing assholes...but it was entertaining to see the pyramids and people falling over. well worth it.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Originally posted by BLITZ_Molloy
    Bah, some **** knocked my glasses off in the crowd. Bam, bye bye 300euro's.

Man, I know that feeling...

Almost happened again yesterday, except some kind soul saw it happen and picked 'em up for me. Whoever you are, if you are reading, thank you!!!:cool:

Also saw the pic of Lithuanian girl, Agne somethingorother...truly stunning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Mongo

My first slane and it kicked ass.

Feeder-Good happy festival music
    Pj harvey-Good music(even better legs!)wrong gig
    QOTSA-Stole the show
    Foos-Great
    Chilis-Could have been a better setlist(too much new stuff)but they were great.Metallica were better

Cant wait for next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭-ADREN-

gc wp by all :D

See u again ... next year

..Under the bridge just doesnt get old does it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Worst gig I've been to in a very long time.

Slane shouldn't have 80,000 people in the crowd. I spent most of the day doing my best impression of some piece of fubeeping livestock, even though I purposely avoided the front (I was well more than half-way back, sitting down for most of it) and still the pushing, shoving and whatnot was unbelievable. And then when you had to use the portaloo, buy a t-shirt or get some water? Forget about it! And, as seems to be a prerequisite of a big concert these days, the crowd was absolutely littered with scum. The amont of abuse I witnessed was incredible - my girlfriend was on the receiving end of more than one drunken plankton's abuse, and I seen others getting drenched in beer by some clowns who think it's hilariously clever to throw things at people for no reason.

But hey, the music!

I arrived just in time for the end of Morcheeba's(sp?) set, which I'm not really in a position to comment on.

Feeder died on stage, playing to a crowd that seemed to have absolutely no interest in any song that hadn't been played on the radio.

I'm not really into PJ Harvey but she was very entertaining, lots of good songs to get the crowd going.

QOTSA were a huge disappointment, especially after their show last October. Little audience interaction, they played their set, badly, and left.

Foo Fighters also disappointed, again when compared to their show in the Point, and was I going crazy or did the sound system go arse-up early into it?

I left early into the Chili's set, absolutely fed up and utterly disappointed. And I wasn't alone, as outside the venue were many other people who shared my feelings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Shilo

My first Slane and my first time seeing anyone who played there. Completely agree with NekkidBibleMan that there was a frightening amount of scumbags there - but then, as I heard someone say, 'aah, it was a good day out and it's all about the drink anyway, right?' Er, no...but maybe that's just me.

I was really surprised by Feeder, I thought they sounded damn good, considering no one seemed to know who they were or what they were doing there! They're one of those bands where, if you're not a specific fan of theirs, you still know more of their songs than you realise! I was really pleased I got to see them.

PJ Harvey should have been drowned at birth - would have saved many of us the longing of wanting to strangle her yesterday. Dear god, woman, SHUT UP and go home. When people cheer when you say it's your last song, please at least reassure me that you've taken the hint and won't be coming back.

QOTSA - not bothered. Unlike my 'Better Half', I thought it all sounded pretty much the same. Luckily, I'd brought a book. But, as you can tell, he enjoyed it so it's all good!

Never having seen the Foo's before, I thought maybe it was just me thinking that there was 'something missing' from their set... Still, it was an excellent opportunity to ogle Dave Grohl and marvel at his sideburns - always a fun thing to do! :)

RHCP's were amazing - and I can die happy now that I've seen John play live. Loved all of it and came very close to tears of sheer happiness - I tend to come over a bit odd when there's really good guitar playing going on, despite being as musical as a brick myself. Loved John's rendition of 'I Feel Love' (or whatever it's called) too! Flea's trumpet playing and Chad's drumming kicked ass and A.K. had rather fetching red trousers so, yep, all good there! Fantasic music and some happy eye candy as well.... Mmmm!

The suckiest part of the day was getting out of the damn place - getting hot and sweaty and uncomfortable just when you think you've cooled down for the first time that day is not fun. However, once we'd got back to town, we only had to wait about 10 or 15 minutes for a taxi and so the day ended very well for me.

I've just spend today feeling abject pity for all those people involved in cleaning up Slane. It really was a beautiful day though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭sillisome fiend

My first slane yesterday...overall it was good...

I was surprised at how good feeder were,really got everyone going crazy!It was the only band I got 2 go up the front for and mosh 2....The reason I went 2 slane was 2 see queens of the stone age,I have 2 say I was expecting them 2 be better..but maybe it was ruined for me because my friend who was moshing with me when they played fainted and I had 2 try get her through hundreds of people without getting trampled on,cos she kept falling 2 the ground...f*cking people wouldn't even move when it was obvious she needed 2 get out!!!!
    As for the foo fighters...I saw them in november and I thought yesterday wasn't half as good....
    and the rhcp..who I don't really like were alot better then i expected,but I hate the new stuff,but great band overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

I agree with NekkidBibleMan about the crowd. 80,000 people in that field doesn't leave room to do anything but get squashed and pushed about.
    The music was great, though - best Slane I've been too by a long shot.

Arrived in time for PJ Harvey, and thought she was very good (the legs helped ;) ).

QOTSA rocked the house.. was up the front for them, trying desperately to avoid one motherf*cker of a moshpit... thought I had found a nice space to stand during a quite section, the distortion pedal kicked in and I went flying several foot in an unexpected direction. Crazy stuff, but great craic all the same. Best act of the night imo.

I sat / stood at the beginning of the slope for the Foo Fighters. Good band, but I've seen them basically every other time they've played in this country, so I wasn't too fussed about paying attention. All the same, I thought they did a good set. They seemed a lot more energetic than I've seen them before, and all the new extra bits were good seen as I know the music so well.

Chilli's were far better than I thought they would be. I'd heard Anthony Kletis (sp?) can't sing to well live.. sounded good on the night though. Wouldn't be a huge fan, but definitely an excellent show... the old stuff rocked, and there was enough of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

To those who were annoyed with the size of the crowd and amount of drunked scumbags : WTF did u expect ??? Half of Cork was there. ;)

I got there just b4 QOTSA came on, there's no friggin way would I have survived if I'd been there from 12 bells. I'm way too old for them shenanigans ! QOTSA were bloody good, the Foo's were very good, but there were too many drawn-out fiddly jibbly bits after half the tunes. The Chili's were feckin amazing I thought. "Any of you guys from Inis Mór ?" :p Them jelly shots were sweet too, nyom nyom.

Getting out of the kip was a bleedin nightmare though, but hey, it was worth it for the FREE ticket that I won. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 greenday chick

was a massive improvement on last years line up.

feeder were excellent. qotsa kicked ass. foo's wasnt overly impressed thought they were better at witnness last yr. chilis...definately their best performance ive seen yet!!

as for the other bands none really rocked my boat.

saw some load of funky ppl about up there....respect!

all in all it was great day but wasnt as good as slane 01.

hmmm....next years line up. greenday and metalica would be a start, but thats only wishful thinking on my part:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

greenday and metalica? sounds like my idea of hell.

Give me Radiohead, backed up by The Flaming Lips, The Polyphonic Spree and Calexico :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 greenday chick

radiohead and flaming lips are good.

enjoyed flaming lips at witness....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Originally posted by Goodshape

Give me Radiohead, backed up by The Flaming Lips, The Polyphonic Spree and Calexico :D

Been there seen that (glasto) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

anyone got any setlist for foos/qotsa???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭sirpsycho

Wot a gig, it totally rocked. Glad the rain stayed away for most of it though, would have ruined it.

Anyways, the best in my opion are: QOTSA, Feeder, Foos, RHCP in ascending order. The others were at the wrong concert but they came in handy when you wanted to grab some beer and have a wander.

The fireworks at the end were class too, must have lasted nearly 10 mins! Great song they played when the fireworks were on(Redemption Song).

Btw, I seen the messages to Dev and the one he sent back:) Was weird seeing it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭boogie man

Originally posted by therecklessone
    Also saw the pic of Lithuanian girl, Agne somethingorother...truly stunning.
    For gods sake, will someone post a pic of her??? I ain't seen her yet!

Boog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

Having seen the Chilis for the first time in Lansdowne, their last gig here I was hoping for a huge improvement and was pleasantly surprised. If and when a DVD of it comes out I think it will defiinitely be on my shopping list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

Originally posted by boogie man
    For gods sake, will someone post a pic of her??? I ain't seen her yet!

Boog.

Agne Motiejunaite..I have the paper here in front of me. I think I'm in love. And yes I know it's sad, but I don't care :)

I don't have a scanner boogie, so I'm afraid I can't help you. In fact I don't think you'll ever get to see the beauty I am currently beholding :P Unbelievable body, stunning face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭jimmeh

"anyone from the mouth of the shannon?"

Dony facking gal half the pit replied :P

Crowd control was terrible especially when getting out.

chilis rawk :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭boogie man

Originally posted by bugler
    Agne Motiejunaite..I have the paper here in front of me. I think I'm in love. And yes I know it's sad, but I don't care :)

I don't have a scanner boogie, so I'm afraid I can't help you. In fact I don't think you'll ever get to see the beauty I am currently beholding :P Unbelievable body, stunning face.
    Post her to me :ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

Originally posted by s8n

I was trying to work out the QOTSA setlist and this is what I came up with. Its not great, but I hope it'll do ya.

1. A song by the dwarves (nick Oliveri's other band).
    2. Go with the flow
    3. I Forget what this was!!!
    4. Regular John (replete with thundering bassline)
    5. Feel Good hit for the summer (Nicotine, valium, vicadin, marijuana, ecstasy, alcohol.......GUINNESS!!!!)
    6. The lost art of keeping a secret
    7. Monster in a parasol
    8. A song for the dead
    9. No-one knows.

There might have been one more, I can't be sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭MrBigglesworth

I remember Hanging Tree being played.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

Anyone got any good, funny or entertaining photos from Slane?? Or know a website with them?? I damn well should have brought a camera.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Vader

hummf Slain Im sure it was all right but the biggest and therefor best music event this year was the fleadh ceoil.
    Sure for fock sake it was focking, fan-fockin tastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

I was there early at the gate beside the bridge. There were about 250-300 people ahead of me. It was my first but my mate said he'd got into da pit from this position before by sprinting the mile through the wood. So we ran...and ran...got through the wood...got stopped for ages...came to the hill...and saw hundreds of people casually walking around. The pit passes were given away and we were shattered. They must have opened the other entrance first. So naturally I blame the gimps in half empty pit for not providing a bit more atmosphere to the gig. I saw one or two people I knew and they didn't deserve the pit! Ah well.

I thought the music was great but the place was overcrowded. I spent ages trying to get up to the barrier and then realised I needed to piss. So I spent the next 4-5hrs fighting back 80,000 people pushing forward and 8 litres of urine.

Halite - crap
    Moesha(or something) - alright
    Feeder - annoying bcoz of all the teen pop rockers that appeared up the front.
    PJ Harvey - ok. Good bits. Went on too long.
    QOTSA - Didn't go on long enough! I knew all their songs so I didn't notice the bad sound.
    Foo Fighters - good as usual. Bad sound though. Interesting drums duo.
    Chillie Willie - Excellent. Good sound. Nice stage effects. Great energy. Definitely made up for Landsdown.

After standing for 14hrs I finally got to piss and sat while the crowds dispearsed.

"Those going to <i>Coirk</i> or the Wesht, go left. Those goin to Doblin Bus or Naaavan go right".

By the way, the fireworks were a distraction for the crowd to allow the band to slip away unoticed. And we all fell for it!

Originally posted by cregser
    So naturally I blame the gimps in half empty pit for not providing a bit more atmosphere to the gig.

Agreed. There were quite a few people in there who didn't have a clue what was going on. Some spa actually said "so when are the food fighters coming on?". I thought it was more sad then funny :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭kamobe

I saw devs message on the screen thing - made me laugh :D

Foo's rocked and so did the chilli's. Feeder and QOTSA were good aswell. Other guys we pretty poor and best ignored :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

and she was a good one...

QOTSA, Foo Fighters and Chilli peppers - pure brillant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭froodie

Originally posted by xx
    I was trying to work out the QOTSA setlist and this is what I came up with. Its not great, but I hope it'll do ya.

2. Go with the flow
    5. Feel Good hit for the summer (Nicotine, valium, vicadin, marijuana, ecstasy, alcohol.......GUINNESS!!!!)
    7. Monster in a parasol
    8. A song for the dead
    9. No-one knows.

Number three was Quick and To the Pointless

a touching song about old guys leching on young wans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭violent*sky

Originally posted by xx

2. Go with the flow
    7. Monster in a parasol
    8. A song for the dead
    9. No-one knows.

There might have been one more, I can't be sure.

they opened up with "you think i aint worth a dollar but i feel like a millionaire"

and "feel good hit for the summer" was second last!!

and yes they were absolutely amazing!!!!

halite were were very bad...sound was terrible for them aswelll

morcheeba were pretty damn tight and sounded cool but the y were the odd ones out in the lineup...didnt fit in at all!!!

feeder were brilliant...nice mix of the new and old stuff...played excellently and sound was brilliant

pj harvey was alrite...bit monotonous at times and the crowd didnt really get into it but it was a rest before wot was to come next...and the skirt was nice aswell!!!!

queens of the ****ing stone age were unbelieveable...excellent set and a nice mix of songs too!!

foo fighters were the ones i was there to see mainly and as usual lord grohl and his band off rawkstars didnt disappoint!!! i didnt compare to their gig in the olympia in 2000...(jaw droppingly good!) but it was still an excellent set

this was my 6th time in slane and the chillis were in my opinion the best headlines out of all 6 years!!! im nowhere near a big fan of their stuff and wasnt all that pushed after their excuse for a "gig" in landsdowne road but they were brilliant on saturday!!! extremely tight and a very very pleasant surprise!!!! if there were a few weak songs their stage presence made up for it...and i want a skeleton suit where can i get one??????????
    C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

Originally posted by s8n
    Not at all in the right order but...

Monkey Wrench
    My Hero
    Everlong
    Stacked Actors
    Breakout
    Learn To Fly
    All My Life
    Low
    Have It All
    Times Like These
    Tired Of You

All My Life was first. Everlong was last. That's all I remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭kanurocks

slane was bloody amazing best gig ever.it was like having three headliners and oh god did the chillis rock.people became chilli fans at slane.they played at there peak best performance ive ever seen them give!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Originally posted by Goodshape

dude, green day rule.