Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metallica last nite

• 21-08-2003 8:44am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 196 ✭✭

What a legendary performance....one of th ebest gigs i ever went(and i've been around).......Brilliant live no doubt about it and rightfully earn the legendary status....i didn't know what to expect last nite...but boy was i blown away. Metallica for slane next year, anyone!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭padraigmyers

I saw them back in 96 in the Piont, and up til now thats been the best gig I was ever
    at, after last night I might have to have a re-think. It was ****ing amazing, the sound,
    the crowd, the stage-show. Metallica are still well and truly alive.

Interesting that only 1 song was played of Load and Re-Load, and 2 off the new one,
    although St. Anger sounded good, I think they know themselves that the first 5
    albums where by far their best stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,156 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I am currently in a LOT of physical pain ..........

"I've been tenderised" to quote Homer :D
    Great gig. The darkness were ok, and whislt I don't like Linkin Park, I must say I thought what some of the crowd did to them was bang out of order - tossing bottles at them constantly.

Metallica were great. I was at the 1997 and 1999 gigs and that was by far the best in terms of atmosphere

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

My head hurts! Fooking unbelieveable gig. First time I've seen them. Only time I've ever heard of them being booed too!! Roll on January!!!

And I met Justin from The Darkness :-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

they were booed?... how did I miss this?

At the end when they didn't play Whiskey, Most of the right side of the pitch booed. I was up in the stands so maybe it couldn't be heard from the pitch.

hrm

/me raises a middle finger in the direction of anyone who booed

ungrateful ****es

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Mordeth's motion is seconded by reckless.

Cheeky fuc*ers.

Although in all fairness, Whiskey would have been the perfect finish to the perfect night.

And I still think Frantic is a savage song. Even more so live.

nah, I was glad they didn't play whiskey.. it's sad to say that a lot of people probably only *went* cos they heard whiskey on em tee bhee and thought it would be a "laff".

they have far better songs, whiskey ain't all dat.

Yeah, they do have better songs but considering it is THE only Irish song they play, it would have been cool. Still, it was an unbelieveable gig. Roll on next year!

yeah, would have been nice if someone other than lars made the announcement though :P

was torn between joy and hatred al lthe way

Yeah, blood Lars. And what was that about Hammett saying he was half Irish? Anyone notice that Hammett had to cover for Hetfield after Harvester because his ear piece wasn't working? He didn't look happy after his solo!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Ouch, Ouch pain !!!! Sorry Lemming had to retreat from the front after a few songs was getting battered and nearly lost me runners (****ing laces came undone!!!), plus my mate ended up having an issue with someone and heads met if you know what I mean.

Excellent Concert but not as good as the Black Album tour one in the point years ago (then again that was the 1st time I saw them live!). Played my favourite Creeping Death and One was excellent. The crowd were brilliant and it was nice to see all the new Metallica headsgetting into it.

Btw I reckon they played the old stuff to get the "newbies" to buy the albums.

Gandalf.

nope, i didnt notice that..

i think the irish thing was a bit of a joke heh, funny too cos of all the americans who come over saing "ah yeah, my grany was half irish..bleh bleh bleh"

notice the way he legged it off stage after saying it :p

Yeah I did. But ya have to love Hetfeilds "so what's the other half". It's true though, they are great musicians and amazing showmen!!

erm.. wasn't that ulrich?

the new bassist was great too imo, i loved the lil crab walk he kept doing.. and during harvester when he just stood till and marched on the spot.. farking brlliant

he gets a big thumbs up!

Na, I'm fairly sure it was Hetfeild. Trujillo was brilliant though. Although that crab walk and wearing shorts could be dodgy for anyone in the pit!!! One of my mates got a ticket signed by Lars and Kirk and I met Justin from The Darkness :-)

I'm pretty sure it was Lars who said that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭Señor Juárez

maybe he was referring to Linkin Park being booed. loads of people in the pit started chanting "**** YOU **** YOU" at them. the DJ guy (WTF??) got rather pissed, started chucking all the bottles back. they had to get him a towel to dry whatever the **** he was working on. he tried to throw a tennis ball at the crowd, somehow managed to miss, and hit it off the stage

Nope, Metallica were booed. I know Linkin Park were booed. It might have been because of where I was that I heard them. It was only a couple of hundred people but I know how they feel.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Twas Lard that said it.
    Amazing concert, they played a lot of the classics and put on a good show. Rob was cool on the base, the crab walking was class. There was a copule of moments where lars and hetfield seem to be bickering which was nice.
    Lars got up form the drum set and asked hetfield something, hetfield pointed to a pile of empth cups beside the drumset, lars then looked like a dissapointed child and told Hetfield to F off. Hetfield walked away laughing. Twas cool.
    Best Concert Ever.
    Why would you go to the stands in a concert like that?

Originally posted by TomTom
    Why would you go to the stands in a concert like that?

Because I like my nose the way it is :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Originally posted by padraigmyers
    I'm pretty sure it was Lars who said that.

Yep it was Lars.

Not sure about the New Bass player, prefered Jason tbh.

Gandalf.

Originally posted by gandalf
    Yep it was Lars.

My bad so. Damn eye sight....

Rob is great on stage, moves around a lot. Tis cool.
    The pit rules. you are so close to the stage and it is not as jammed as being out in the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭bikini widow

Fantastic gig but does anyone know why they closed the bar so damm early?

Originally posted by Mordeth

i think the irish thing was a bit of a joke heh, funny too cos of all the americans who come over saing "ah yeah, my grany was half irish..bleh bleh bleh"

One of Hammetts parents is Irish iirc. Think it was his mother. Possibly grand-parent, but I'm near certain it was his mother.

Originally posted by bikini widow
    Fantastic gig but does anyone know why they closed the bar so damm early?

They ran out of beer

Rob is great on stage, moves around a lot. Tis cool.
    The pit rules. you are so close to the stage and it is not as jammed as being out in the crowd.

T'was the first time in 3 gigs that I've not been up at the stage :(

The front of the main crowd was f*cked up in a major way, as Gandalf, Ronan, and Syxpax can confirm I'm sure ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

The Darkness were decent... Linkin Park were ****e... Metallica kicked 40 shades of ASS!

Good gods that was a stunning gig! I'm stiff, sore and hoarse this morning... and it was worth it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 196 ✭✭shed head

I'Ve been at all the metallica gigs over here and thought that this was the best one, they always put on a good show, but they are mighty outdoors, not many bands can put on such an intense show and get the crowd going like that....legendary. Playing all the old stuff nearly broght a tear to the eye, kept thinking about the gig in the Top Hat in Dun laoighre when they were at their peak of playing thrash metal. I salute themww)

Me mord and amz seemed to be sorrunded by the St anger fan club. They were pretty wuite for most of the gig apart from the odd mosh pit but went lunatic during the two songs from st anger.

The beer was muck.

i looked back at the front of the main crowd now and then, looked mental, like a feckin can of sardines.

supposedly the bar wasnt meant to open until 6, lol

did any of you look back in the darkness when all the lighters were lit? it was a sight to be seen...

It was amazing looking from the stands. Really pissed off that I ran out of film before that :-(

to be honest it would have turned out as a black foto with little pricks of light, thats all

will people post up these fotos anytime soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Me mord and amz seemed to be sorrunded by the St anger fan club. They were pretty wuite for most of the gig apart from the odd mosh pit but went lunatic during the two songs from st anger.

LOL... yeah, as Jaymz said the oldskoolers had to educate the younguns and show them how it was done.
    i looked back at the front of the main crowd now and then, looked mental, like a feckin can of sardines.

... and a heaving bouncing wildly thrashing moshing waving can of sardines at that... t'was the place to be, maaaaaannn :D

Dead right, I was at the barrier at the front of the main crowd, the whole crowd
    where just pushing and swaying behind me, and I was hanging on trying to keep mu
    place, all the time singing along, thats what its all about. One big sweaty mass of
    people all there to enjoy some great music. Spot on. I wouldn't have swapped my
    spot with anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Originally posted by feylya
    ... and I met Justin from The Darkness :-)
    Hey me too. I've already post on about 3 threads about this gig, but i thought it was ****ing fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

Although Linkin park were the band i went to see i thought metallica and Darkness were brilliant i was disgusted at the taunts made by Neo-rockers when linkin park came on stage to the extent that i got into a punch up with somebody over.
    All these "Linkin park are sell outs" taunts are hypocritical.

Metallica 80+ million albums
    Linkin park 30 million albums

whos the bigger sellouts. i have no problem with bands being successful. dont call me a teenybobber either ive been a fan of rock based music since 1997.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I don't really like Linkin Park, but yeah it was really unfair that everyone was booing them and throwing stuff.
    The reason Metallica didn't play whiskey in the jar was because they hadn't rehearsed it. Plus robert probebly doesnt even know it. James said they didn't want to f**k it up.
    Hope they come back next year like they said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

Missed the Darkness and Linkin (only got ticket 45mins b4hand), but 'tallica did what they do...more than a gig - an experience, whether you're a fan or not its undeniable that they're one of the best live acts around.
    When you consider they're going 22 years....how do you accomodate everyone? They were more than diplomatic last nite - strong setlist !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭MrBigglesworth

I thought the booing after James said they wouldn't play "whiskey.." was quite retarded. Best gig I've been to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

well, whiskey would have been great of course...but what's whiskey after Creeping Death, No Remorse, One, Battery, Puppets, Blackened, etc etc...no one can complain !
    and did anyone notice there were no medleys and nearly no improvisations, everything was true to the original.
    statement?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

amazing gig, turned up at 8pm just in time for metallica, i woz near centre back were a small moshpit erupted during most songs, best fun ive ever had at a concert, the crowd were amazing for the most part, except this stuck up cow who started given me ****e coz i *accidently* hit off her during one of those intense moshing moments, like what did she expect it woz a metallica concert afterall!!! i shuda told her she shuda bought seating tickets were she couldve sat and clapped her hands or sommet while varnishing her nails,lol.FEKIN AWESUM GIG, roll on December for Maiden and roll on January for more metallica:xD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭JJSolutions

Excellent gig - was at the very back for Metallica :( was in the pit the previous gig - managed to get a plec :) and on the balcony looking down on the stange (when it was in the middle of the floor) - definitly dont want to be at the back at the next one - what time did ppl start q'ing to get into the pit?

The darkness - never heard of them b4 thought they were s***e

Linkin Park were good didnt realise I would know all their songs.

Metallica were exactly what you would expect from the best

So are they comming back for reading next year or did lars just say that to keep people happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

they won't be playing reading next year, they are supposed to be coming back for a few nights at the point in january or febuary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Mongo

It was amazing i was on the left as you look at the stage but i was well back.There was a group of middle aged Italians behind me goin mental.Id say they didnt play whiskey cos Rob doesnt know it.I thought Linkin park were good even though i dont like em.The bottle throwing was well out of order.When the rapper guy asked for the irish flag a chant of "shove it up yur ass" broke out by me.Funny stuff.The darkness were a good laugh.Better than Korn last year by far.Roll om slane!

P.S Where did ye hear about the january gigs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Originally posted by JJSolutions

So are they comming back for reading next year or did lars just say that to keep people happy?

I have heard this before, from a guy who lives in Portlaoise. Apparently, the locals in Stradbally (Co. Laois), where the Reading weekend will be held, have been told that Metallica will be headlining the first festival held there. If it's held there next year, then it would seem to be the case all right.

Also heard the January rumour, but I think that might be a bit too soon after they played Euro festivals through the Summer, more likely a few more US dates then. Anyone agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

I slept through The Darkness.... so I can only assume they were crap.......

Were they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 dave mustaine

Hey recklessone, it's not being held in laois for at least two more years. metallica are playing the point in the new year. Start a new thread and find out, I did.