Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats sorest thing you've ever been through

• 20-08-2003 05:19PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭

It think it's about time the boards.ie community owns up to what's hurt them the most over the past few years, whether it's getting your hand stuck in a snooker pocket and breaking your fingers or breaking your leg after slipping on ice, we promise not to larf...

Personally, the sorest thing that's happened to me is breaking my wrist while trying to impress my friends by jumping of a swing (while it was going backwards).

So whats yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

Removal of ingrown toe nail! And being attacked by a dog in the face was nasty too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

hmm for me twas probably cutting the tendon in my wrist. hurt like a bitch. nothin serious though, short operation and its as good as new. breaking 2 ribs hurt like hell aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭BKtje

That **** i did there last night was pretty damn sore....
    but i think getting a nail stuck into my head was probably the sorest thing thats ever happened to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    but i think getting a nail stuck into my head was probably the sorest thing thats ever happened to me.

How the f£ck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭weemcd

i was acting the lig on a climbing frame, and then fell smacking my ribs on a bar- that hurt. wen i was younger than that i fell on a steel comb, which cut through half of my tounge, then it had to be sown back together. evern before that when i was like 2, i undone a cord holding up a tractor's link box, the box then fell on my wee leg and broke it in three places, but i dont remember thatt.
    oh yeah i cut my lip open playing with my das razor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Slipped a disc in my back when I was 17.

Severe sciatica sucks cock. As does spending a month in traction.

The morphine was nice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

Breaking both my ankles and going through surgery for them both.

Having the metal screw removed from my right ankle after it healed.

Hitting the pins still in my left ankle on occasion :eek: (open dishwashers beware!)

A tooth that rotted from the inside out that I refused to have seen to as I wanted to complete a scuba course (my dentist the butcher, I go to a private clinic for peace of mind these days..)

Standing on a weaver fish in Brittas bay.

Having a skateboard wheel flick my right testicle as it was spinning between my legs.

Having my leg get caught in the bike spokes while my dad thought I was screaming for joy as we went down a hill when I was 7.

And finally (worst ever experience) Concussion and internal bleeding to the front of my brain after a severe head trauma because some tosser decided it's fun to punch people on dame street and watch their heads bounce off the pavement while pissed at 3am before running off to the nitelink - no hangover headache compares :(

and how could I forget, learning double backwards somersaults on a trampoline and landing on my head :D - goodbye rest of holiday that could have been (although very painful, very comical, everytime I think back to it I laugh my ass off)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭SoundWave

Originally posted by DapperGent
    sciatica sucks cock. As does spending a month in traction

will you introduce me to these Sciatica and Traction ladies (strange names but im willing to let it go)... they sound like they are up for a good time... are they some of those freaky east european chicks i keep hearing about?

I did fall once when drunk and forgot to put my arms out to stop me... hurt quite a bit. but no major damage done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

Originally posted by TacT

Having my leg get caught in the bike spokes while my dad thought I was screaming for joy as we went down a hill when I was 7.

Sorry I'm a evil bastard. I couldnt stop laughing at that :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I once stepped on a rusty nail. It went right into that tendon attached to the big toe. That was incredibly painful.

I also broke my left index finger playing basketball. Agony. Nearly ten years on and it's still not back to normal. Grr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭Duffman

Kicking a sea urchin was not pleasant..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭taby

Hmmm painful stuff that happened to me?

when i was a toddler i managed to pull white spirits down on top of mysefl tho i can't rmemeber it and almost killed mysefl. i'd say that was more painful for my mum tho and my dad whose had left the stuff der in first place!

I got my finger caugfht in door when i was a bit older and managed to chop top off it almost and had t get stitches. All i can remember of that is BLOOD MORE BLOOD and screaming my head off all the way to hospital.

I was rather accident prone and still amange to whack my head off door frames and tables every so often.
    I walked smack bang into a bar thing in a kids playground wiht my niece one day cos my hat was over my eyes.

THAT was sore!

Tho not as bad as sum of the stuff above..;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

When I was a young fellah (maybe 5 or 6) my older brothers thought we should chase a rat we saw running down the road. I followed them as they chased it across waste ground but couldn't make the jump from one big rock to the next and so I split my forehead open. Very very sore - had the scar for years.

When I was going on 19, cycling around a roundabout too fast, skidded, hit the kerb and went over the handlebars, landing on my face. Don't remember anything after that until I was being wheeled into the emergency room with the skin ripped off one half on my face. When the morphine hit I thought I was grand and demanded I be sent home even though I looked like Harvey Dent.

Spent a few days in hospital with an excruciatingly sore face. Luckily I heal like some sort of magic healing bastard and my face was back to its original ugly state in about 5 or 6 weeks.

(Of course with all these tales of pain I'm just waiting for a mother to come on, call us all wimps and then finish her post with one simple word - childbirth. Can't top that.)

Being hit full force in the mouth with a croquet mallette(spelling) when I was 4/5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

frcturing my ankle !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

No pian no gain guys.

I broke me finger when I was about 8 or so. Dropped a building bloke down on it.

When I was in 2nd class I broke my arm. That was sore.

Then at 19 I decided to get a 3 inch dragon tattoo done, wasn't as sore as I'd expected it to be, but there was still some pain.

Then last summer I got my eyebrow peirced, tears started rolling from my eyes, I was trying to show no pain but couldn't. It hurt then for about a week (guess it wasn't done correctly).

Cheers,
    memphis

i wnt down a drive way at full speed on a skate board, and my head was introduced to the cattle grid at the bottom, man i fell asleep and my cousins and all nearly died, they thought i was unconcious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

I broke me finger when I was about 8 or so. Dropped a building bloke down on it.

you know how well built some of those builders are...:p

i fell into a wee fire when i was about 9, my right hand was burned all to f**kery. the strangest thing was the pain kept coming and going, it would be ok for a minute then next thing id be screaming my head off.

also, youd think after living in our house for about 10 years, i would learn my way around, but no, i still bang into doors, door frames, tables, stairs etc....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 sunburned

Ah I'm a bit accident prone.

Think I was about 7 and i fell head over heels off my bike.Went to hospital and vomited all over the reception and they wouldnt accept me so had to drive all the way over to Crumlin.6 weeks later fell of my bike and broke wrist.Thought parents would kill me so went home and said I hurt my knee.Couple o days later mother realised my wrist was a tad swollen.
    Corner of TV fell on my foot and was infected for months.Had to go to hospital nearly every day to have it dressed.
    Got out of the shower last year and slipped on tiles,put hand down to stop and broke other wrist.
    Most painful thing though was having 2 teeth removed in an operation.I woke up and mouth was full of blood.I'm sure I looked pretty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭avatar

ok, don't laugh....

When I got braces (proper traintracks), when I was about fourteen, I was in FOOKiNG AGONY.... :eek:
    It's not funny, anything that has you on painkillers for a week and completely incapable of eating solid food is just WRONG.
    Oh yeah, before that I fell over and chipped a tooth, which also hurt like a bitch, so the braces i can live with....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭avatar

oh yeah. And this guy broke my nose once. That's not a pleasant experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Squall

Does anyone else find themselves laughing hysterically when reading this? or am i just an evil bastard?

Had a few bad experiences

When i was 5 i think got bitten in the face by a Jack Russell. Still have the scars. about 5 of them. The dog actually jumped up and hung off my face. Quite painful as you can imagine.

When i was seven my older sister was chasing me through the house. I ran towards the closed door of the kitchen and went to grab the handle and kick it open with my foot at the same time. Missed the handle put my foot through a pane of glass and damn near cut off my big toe :)

When i was 8 i got got knocked down by a van and split open my head at the back. Ran home and lost about 2 pints of blood on the way.

When i was 10 i was on one of those home made swings yunno tied toa tree branch. I was swinging away going way higher than i should have. The rope snapped i fell about 10 feet onto a tree stump back first. Lucky i didnt shatter my spine.

Avoided serious injury for a few years until last week when one of my friends ran into me and badly sprained my pointer on my left hand. The whole palm and around my pointer and thumb went purple and swelled to like 3 times its size.

Thats pretty much it i think
    When I got braces (proper traintracks), when I was about fourteen, I was in FOOKiNG AGONY....

Actually i quite enjoyed the week after i got my braces. Im telling ya man Jimi Hendrix and Ponstin :) what a combination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Didnt happen to me, but happened to one of my friends... he had braces for about 4 months, and she just had her tongue peirced. They went to snog, and they got tangled up in each other. They were both absolutly terrified, but I couldnt stop laughing. There were tears streaming down my face with the laughter by the time I had to get both their fathers up.

What made this even funnier for me is that they werent meant to be seeing eachother, because my mate wasnt good enough for her posh family ect, and a bit of a row started up, "You werent meant to be seeing this boy any more! I've warned you about this!" "Hey now, whats wrong with *myfriendsname*"...

I was in absolute hysterics. If I didnt stop laughing soon, It'd be fatal. Im pretty sure blood was coming out in my tears of laughter. The two fathers were taking goes at eachother at this stage, and were telling me to **** off home for myself, but I couldnt even walk with the laughter. Eventually, I got moving, but fell right into a bush with the laughter.

Turns out it was a ****ing thorn bush, and I knew what pain was all about then.

Friends were soon seperated while in hospital.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Bone marrow biopsis where they hit the Sciatic nerve on the way in.

Quite without doubt the single most painful thing I've ever had done to me. Went on for minutes.

I've broken a number of bones, compressed my spine, been on morpheine for pain (snowboarding crash), busted my front tooth splintered my index knuckle on my right hand (punching a concrete wall... dont ask) etc etc but *nothing* comes close to that pain.
    You SO dont want to know what they do during it but it involves pushing needles into the center of your hip bone.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 PeterODonnell

Nearly getting top of my left-hand second finger chopped off. I was around 10 or 12 and i was being chased by some friends. I hid in a garage, and closed the doors, with my finfer in this sortof hole where presumably the locking bar was supposed to go. They tugged to open the doors and ever since then, I have this inescapable zigzag pattern on that fingernail, which refuses to go away. I had to get stitches and boy was it excruciatingly painful. I screamed like I was being poked with hot iron spokes or having nails driven through my hands and legs. The top of my finger was about 90% off.

Also, breaking my arm about SEVEN times. First time was in primary school. I was out in this green grassy area and my female cousin, who was I think in 6th class where I may have been in third class, was playing with a basketball with her friends. She reached over her head to catch the ball that had been thrown....and landed on me lol. In tears afterwards. Happened again when I was running around a slippery Supervalu store floor and i slipped and fell so hard. Then a few more times, such as someone hitting it when it was only shortly out of the sling.

Being beaten up by about TEN lads when I was 14 or 15, in the college hall. I collapsed onto the floor and I couldn't move as much as a finger. I thought I was going to be paralysed. Then, all a sudden, I recovered all my movements but I kind of got a feel for what it would be like if I was paralysed and it's scary.

When I was around 12, someone put a robe between my legs and pulled upwards, causing agony. Since then, every now and then I kindof relive it via pains down there near my testicles. Anyone else have this experience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

when i was in first class i went over to a friends house after school. it was may and it was a beautiful day. but we went up to the attic to clear it out, major spring clean.

so my friend and myself were up there just messing around. (this is where my memory goes, i personally have no idea what happened next, my next memory is of waking up in hospital 2 days later)

apparently, i was moving a big refuse sack and i was standing quite close to the attic door. somehow i slipped and fell head first out of the door straight toward the toilet bowl. my head went smack of the side of the toilet bowl and then smack off the ground. there was blood everywhere. i cant remember any of it but my friends parents lifted me into the bath (so as not to get blood all over the bathroom, never mind any possible neck injury). they were going to call an ambulance but living in the back end of asres nowhere they decided to drive me to hospital.

i was fully conscious all of the time but i cant remember any of it. it turned out i had fractured my skull, i can still feel the lump where the stitches were put in, and i never get a tight haircut as you can see the scar, it goes across most of my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

the sorest thing ive been through i have to say was 1st degree burns on my left arm and chest im sure that hurt ALOT, i was a baby at the time, im sure i screamed the house down when it happened, i was a year old and decided to make myself a cup of tea (you know how it is when you a kid you see a big shiny kettle and you have to go have a look)

Ive split my knee (right on the kneecap) open when i was 10
    fell over a concrete block the wound was so far open you could see right down to the bone!!!

i know of a guy that went sunbathing in the nip rolled over and fell alseep got sun burn on his sack!! i think that would be the most painfull thing EVER!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭BKtje

I know its not suposed to be funny but this thread is hilarious :p
    Sorry
    How the f£ck?
    Was doing a bit of DIY in the house. Was going out one day and realised if forgottne something (can't recall what) so ran back into the house. I fell over the newly placed door thingy (err comes up to meet the door so that no cold air gets in..) and landed right on a nail. This 2 inch nail went about 50% of the way into the top of my head (or so i was told, never actually saw it sticking in me thank ****). Got it removed at the doctors with a load of stitches, i wonder why i didn't go to hospital tho. Guess doctor was closer.

No scars or anything today which im quite pleased about :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

I went to bed drunk one night and somehow split my lip, blood was dripping away, i thought just leave it there to dry up by itself.
    Next morning i could hardly talk and my trhoat was filled with dried up blood, thirsty as hell and feeling really strange.

Hell i didnt know that alcohol stopped my blood from drying up and forming a crust !?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

I was on a bike and went right into a pole.
    broke my arm and concused myself.

i also broke 2 bones in my leg in a game if soccer... on my own with the balll.... no one is quite sure how that happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,141 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Playing on a roundabout in the playground, getting my leg caught in something on the ground and ripping ligaments in my groin. Then having to go to hospital, having a nurse tell me to sit with your legs spread open while they x-ray my testicles, I couldn't stand the pain of moving them even a millimeter.

Burning my leg on the exhaust pipe of a motorbike was really painful too (although I was about 3 at the time so I could be overrating the experience).

A friend of mine when in 5th year of school got stabbed in the eye, and had part of his thumb snapped off between the hinges of a massive iron gate. There were other incidents as well, but those are the two I can remember. It was a really bad year for the guy. I nearly fainted when he told me about the thumb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭LA_girl

Having one of my wisdom teeth cut out *without general anesthesia* Normally you have to be knocked out to have it done.

Was supposed to have it pulled, but the dentist realised after he'd got started on it that he wouldn't be able to pull it as it was too deep (hadn't yet grown through the gums) so he took his little dentist drill and sawed it in half and removed it in two pieces. All done under a bit of novocaine applied on the spot. Massive pain. Nightmarish pain. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭LA_girl

Oh, and the time I had 2nd degree sunburns covering my legs. That was pretty bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Dislocated knee (twice) now THAT was painful.

Fell out of a tree onto my head (and i mean straight down onto it) when I was a kid and had a headache for two weeks.
    ("oooh ee was never the same boy after that fall")

Was sitting on a skateboard with my mate pushing me along as fast as he could.
    Board developed a wobble so I put my hands on the ground to stabilize myself, which my friend promptly stood on and skated a few feet on.
    The skin on the back of my thumb was worn away down to the bone. Dunno how much blood I lost. Still have the scar.

Breaking my tailbone doing a wheelie, couldn't move for 3 weeks. That doesn't heal and still hurts when cramped into an aeroplane or cinema seat (being 6' 4" doesn't help)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

I've never been to any hospital, only been to the doctor's once for something wasn't that important anyway.

Heh heh heh...
    *touches wood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

this is fun allright!

my personal best was dislocating my shoulder, breaking my collar bone and 3 ribs after a "debate" in a pub toilet with a junkie loon who decided that a punch to the back of my head while i was taking a pish would be err disarming. I flew acroos the jacks and went shoulder first into another urinal doing all that damage to my right side. Then after a few whiskeys failed to make the pain go away a friend decided that moving my arm would help, it didn't and i passed out. eventually went to A&E where i was left for 6 hours , x-rayed given a few aspirin and sent home. After 24-36 hours of agony i went ot my GP who told me i had definately dislocated my shoulder, went back to hospital where they were a little bit embarassed a failing to spot it , mucho oucho!

As a young fella I decided to take a bumble bee to show my sister, the bee seemed to have disliked the inside of my fist and stung me on the palm, now that bloody hurts !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

janey there's a lot of pain on boards.
    I feel the most painful experience of my life is yet to come, well in the far distant future (childbirth)!

When I was 10 I stood on a darning needle(yes it was sticking right up in the air), even now when thinking about it, I squish up my foot, yeeooowww.

When I was 4 I stood beside the superser(those gas fire things), well not beside as in my leg was touching the firey bit, was in so much pain it didn't register until my mum saw me and started to scream. oh I can imagine the singed sking still stuck to the superser, lovely. Spend months in gauze, and still have a delightful mark on my leg to go with the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

I used to cycle alot...dont anymore for fear of bad drivers, have been clobbered by cars on more than one occasion(once by a drunk driver)...never broke a bone tho...Each quite painful but what was most painful would have been skidding on black ice and going face first into the curb, ended up with a few cuts and scrapes on my face, and 2 chipped teeth...in saying that it probably would have been alot worse had I not been wearing a helmet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

This so funny, I'm sorry, but reading over this I can't but help laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,415 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Think it must be breaking my nose in a rugby match, bagman coming on and saying "You can't break it twice", and playing on for another 30 minutes...

Woman can cause quite a lot of pain too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭kensutz

I got my nose broken in 2 places while playing a soccer match. Went for a header and this fella comes out of no where and leading with the elbow, smacks me straight across the face. I fell on the ground unconcious, woke up to notice my lip and nose were twice as big as it should be. Went to A & E the following day to find out it was broken.

And now you wonder why they outlaw use of the elbows in soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭padraigmyers

Worst pain I ever went through:
    Kidney Stones - male equivilant of child-birth supposedly!
    Nuff said......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Tiesto

i broke my finger last week playing football and wrecked the tendons but it wasnt a bit soar.Just felt like a sprain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,141 ✭✭✭✭Stark

oh god there's a thought. Ping!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

why are all these people apologising for laughing? These events happened so we could look back on them and laugh :)

i was beind dragged down some stairs, on a chair with no legs when i fell off at the bottom and whacked my ass, its still sore over a week later, cant imagine what a broken tailbone feels like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

15 brawny punches to my balls in the space of three hours. After the first seven I kind of built up an immunity to the yelping out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    15 brawny punches to my balls in the space of three hours. After the first seven I kind of built up an immunity to the yelping out.

so so curious about that one caesar?

me myself, while this one is up there with most embarrsing as well, but i fell down a man hole and tried to stop myself with my ankles going down, basically i dislocated my ankle bone by allowing to to completely break through the socket, when they pulled me out of the man hole, i tried to stand on it (grateful thanks to thoses who caught me when i passed out). I will never the forget the agony i was in.

Also broke wrist last christmas trying to do the karate kid. (lots of beer involved with this one, so not much pain).

When i was younger i swallowed a bee which had landed on my ice pop, it stung me down my throat, my mother said that she though i was dying, my throat swelled so much that they were doing the tube in the throat thing (the hospital, not my parents).
    But my parents stopped them (afraid of witchery medicine), and the swelling went down thankfully, allowing me to fall down a manhole fifteen years later.

gogo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

The appendix bursting is absolutely horrific.... Like a million daggers into ur abdomen...

Also...when I was little, I was in a pretty bad car smash.... car hit another car and I went head first through the windscreen (which surprisingly didnt really hurt) but having a car door land on top of ya and pinning ur broken legs to the ground is probably about the worst pain Ive ever experienced......

Tonsilitis is pretty nasty ...... I remember being in the hospital after finally getting them out and I was looking forward to the jelly and icecream for my poor poor throat, when I was presented with some dry toast and told to start eating. Apparently its better for ur scars ?!??!
    Agony trying to swallow sharp toast crusts with a sliced up throat.

DVT (Deep Vein Thrombosis) hurts like a demon too.......

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

"Tragedy is when I cut my finger. Comedy is when you fall down a manhole."

DeV.