Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's got teh worst job/who hates thier job most?!

• 20-08-2003 12:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭

Ive done worse jobs than Im doing now (abbitors,gutting fish,e
    tc) and I though I'd be a smart boy and learn bout these computer thingys and get me an office job.
    1st year wa sh!te, but in tech support ya gotta expect it to get the exp.

Then I get a 2nd level job doing support for a big phone co. thats not called O2.

Grand , nice environ, treated wid respect, learning stuff.
    New boss now.

Every minuite of my day is analysed and measured my ignorant
    statistic obsessed gits that seem to have forgotten we are human as opposed to Stat generating commodities.

I have to ask and explain evey time i need a p!ss ffs, god forbid you need to go to jacks for longer than 5 mins, litreally threatend with sack.

nothing ya do is good enuff for these no life morons, our group is performing better than ever and no thanks, just more and more petty sh!te to deal with every day and more and more anal about ' you were away from your desk for 32 seconds yesterday, please explain'

I like I.T., but me looks to Febuary and all of a sudden it looks a long way away(when my contract ends)
    I can picture me going marxsist gurilla in front of the whole office any moment and fekking blowning the CV telling these crettins what I feel !!!!!!!!

me grinds teeth typeing this. work is one thing but putting up with this petty stazi stat whores on top may break this donkeys back.

and the money sux:(

SO come on, how bad is your boss /job??

are they all arse munching gits cause I cant remember anything else at this stage.

krakatoa is simmering

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

Sorry can't help you, i think my job is great! i almost like going into work in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭juno75

Sorry can't help you, i think my job is great! i almost like going into work in the morning.

god, thats a fantasy for me.

wollowing in self pity:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

My job is so mind numbingly boring... I do nothing all day and get paid for it... heaven it might seem but i cant even play games any more as its all so boring. Im about to watch a movie, maybe that will help.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Originally posted by Tyrrial

My feelings towards my job are pretty much the same, love my job and the work is interesting, learning lots and the guys I work with are sound and good craic.. couldnt ask for much more..

Well maybe somewhere other than dublin... :rolleyes:

Im about to watch a movie, maybe that will help.

gawd, that sound's like hardship

well your all succeding in makeing me more depressive-
    should have posted: who got the cushiest job in the world,ever.

BTW, any jobs going lads?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Originally posted by Saruman
    My job is so mind numbingly boring... I do nothing all day and get paid for it... heaven it might seem but i cant even play games any more as its all so boring. Im about to watch a movie, maybe that will help.

juno, this might sound good, but in reality boring jobs are much worse than busy jobs - your motivation goes through the floor and extreme apathy is the order of the day. Not good at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,616 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I love my job too.... I enjoy coming in each morning. (Sorry!)

I always thought the most boring job in the world would be to work in a Meteor store. :o

- Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 The Preacher

So all you lucky people who are in great jobs that yiz can't wait to get into in the morning.......what do yiz do ? And how do we join you ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

f u c k i n g dunnes,
    ridiculous hours, eg working today from 4:30 to 8:30.
    stacking shelves and what not, the boredom levels are high and the job satisfaction is low.

but they do pay pretty well, €7.42 start off and time and a half for sundays.

and it does motivate you to work harder in college.

I always thought the most boring job in the world would be to work in a Meteor store

that does sound a bit of a drag, i work for ,ya know,the other one,not in a store either.
    Must not say lest the ISOPS team start poking round my 'puter.

My job its self is grand, its just these little Hitlers making life unbearable.sniff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by juno75
    Ive done worse jobs than Im doing now (abbitors,gutting fish,e
    tc) and I though I'd be a smart boy and learn bout these computer thingys and get me an office job.
    1st year wa sh!te, but in tech support ya gotta expect it to get the exp.

Then I get a 2nd level job doing support for a big phone co. thats not called O2.

Grand , nice environ, treated wid respect, learning stuff.
    New boss now.

Every minuite of my day is analysed and measured my ignorant
    statistic obsessed gits that seem to have forgotten we are human as opposed to Stat generating commodities.

I have to ask and explain evey time i need a p!ss ffs, god forbid you need to go to jacks for longer than 5 mins, litreally threatend with sack.

nothing ya do is good enuff for these no life morons, our group is performing better than ever and no thanks, just more and more petty sh!te to deal with every day and more and more anal about ' you were away from your desk for 32 seconds yesterday, please explain'

I like I.T., but me looks to Febuary and all of a sudden it looks a long way away(when my contract ends)
    I can picture me going marxsist gurilla in front of the whole office any moment and fekking blowning the CV telling these crettins what I feel !!!!!!!!

me grinds teeth typeing this. work is one thing but putting up with this petty stazi stat whores on top may break this donkeys back.

and the money sux:(

SO come on, how bad is your boss /job??

are they all arse munching gits cause I cant remember anything else at this stage.

krakatoa is simmering

:mad:

from your post, you dont deserve the respect that you are looking for.
    there is nothing positive in it. all i see is some whining, attitude totting illiterate who likes to blame their own short comings on others.

and if you dont like it, then why are you there?
    and if you give the petty excuse that there is nothing else, then look at yourself and ask why isnt there anything else you can do, and if thats the case, then why arent you making more of an effort in the one area you currently have a job.
    instad of moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

i work in a post room in a solicitors office. i hate it. boards is my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

I'm sick of getting out of bed in the mornings.
    I'm going to take 6 months off to lie in bed til 2pm every day.
    ahhhhhh the thoughts.
    Whitewashman, you're not one of yer mans little hitlers following him into cyberpace by any chance are you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by DaithiSurfer

Whitewashman, you're not one of yer mans little hitlers following him into cyberpace by any chance are you :)

no. i just dont like people who moan about their job, but arent willing to make any changes.

in fact, move this to the work forum and we can turn it into a thread about 'who is laziest bástard aruond here who wont do anything except moan'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

My last job in IT sounded just like the one your describing to me now. i worked for an IT company that treated all its slaves.....(cough) sorry employees like dirt. your a number to them a number on a paycheck nothing more,

Im guessing you just need to vent as the ammount of 5H*t that you have to put up with in work is melting your head at the minute, the same thing happened to me and the last job i had i hated every second being there but it payed the bills and allowed me to have a pint ot three at the weekend so what more can i say, thankfully i got sense and quit my job that i hated and now the job im in i love if you have the experience then you should think about moving on,

you say your on contract which is probally a good thing if you dont like your job there then there isnt much point in staying there the IT indusry has taken a nose dive in the last two years
    so there arent alot of it jobs going,

stay or go either way is up to you course you could probably take an AK to the whole place just as you leave if it makes you feel any better!!

G'luck mate hope it works out for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

Working in Dunnes for about 6 months now. God. Time flies when yer enjoying yourself.

Finishing up there in about a month. During which i'm taking my holidays. Staying for about two week's after that to gather a bit of money.

Drapery Stockroom,.. handiest job in the place, €7.42 per hour (best pay in town for coming on Leaving Cert.)

Working 5 day week's (~4 - 8 hour days) for the last three weeks. Before that, it was pushing on one or two days a week. The week they gave me no hours at all, I had a chat with the manager. Since then, ~30 hour weeks. It's a bitch trying to get used to no time on your hands.

Work there is'int that bad. Start no earlier than 12 noon, finish no later than 10pm. Manager's are practically all dead on. Work is'int the hardest. Cant complain.

Only time I have now is at like 10pm onwards when I'm working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 sunburned

I've never had a job till this week(its only for a week but its muladh in me pockeT!).
    Working in a Yacht Club in the Kitchen.Everyone is really nice and we get free food.Worse thing is washing about 400 forks and knives.I shall have to get a job when I go to college,my dad told me his protecting me from myself by not giving me a a big allowance.I think he thinks Im an alcohlic....
    Anyway........when I "grow up" I'd love to just run a little cafe out by the beach.Dont want no office job or manager or stress,or responsibility...Ekkk im a bit of a bum:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭weemcd

6 ur name isnt killian is it???
    its a long shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭stormin

There are worse things........

Remote Server Admin, 12 hour nightshifts with no break cover, bad pay, no pension, no benefits, deteriorating eyesight, stats driven management and all with severe sla's to meet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Work in IT myself and I have to say that sometimes I just hate it. I step out of the car in the company car park and immediately I'm on a downer for the rest of the day until 5.

But, sometimes I really do like work and the company I work for. They're not all that bad - free access to the web, lots of opportunities to learn new stuff, good salary and benefits, and they have helped to provided me with a life I could only dream about while on a dole queue all those years ago.

But I hear what you're saying Juno. There are fu####s at everybody's job who are just ball breakers, whip swingers, and downright ßastards. And the important thing to remember is not to let these morons grind you down. And sooner or later these fools are found out and they'll be out of your hair

So don't despair. This recession/economic won't last for long and soon there will be plenty of firms out there ready and more than willing hire new people.
    So, just put your current situation down to experience and don't do anything stupid. And finally, don't panic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Well like a lot of people I too hate my job (spite, bitter, twisted, all good...). My job treats all its workers like dirt, again like a lot of 19th century mills, I mean workplaces, in Ireland. But for the five years I have been there I knew I'd get out, my fiancee and I were taking turns going through college (we have a child, not much more than children ourselves when we had her) and finally, I'm six weeks away from starting comp sci in UCC, something I've wanted since I was 12. But after reading all the previous posts regarding working it the IT biz I have to wonder.... I always thought that you would be at least given a bit of respect for being educated. Or am I picking all of you up wrong?

ahhh, thanks people for your thoughts, at least I know i aint
    mental!!!

I just feel like I work a lot harder now for a lot less.

Thanks to all exept whitewashman, you aint my supervisior are ya, you sound like her:p

Please elaborate, why dont I deserve the respect?
    I am qualified, experianced, very punctual and never sick. On those grounds I feel that it is not unreasonable to expect a small amount of decency from my employer instead of being seen as a commodity.
    This view of staff is driven by the current and ongoing craze on IT (and elsewhere?) of outsourceing support contracts from inhouse to other companys (IBM/HP etc) who provide thier own force of non unionised workers who are not allowed to have a voice and are dropped like hot rocks when the economic climate changes.

there is nothing positive in it.

duh,see above, thats why its called a rant.

all i see is some whining, attitude totting illiterate who likes to blame their own short comings on others.

Whineing? voiceing my frustrations, there is a difference you see.
    I would comment on 'totting illiterate' but as it make's no sense I will have to refrain.

My own short comings, I will be the very first to admit that I have many shortcomings, some private and some very public. Is not that the way of the human animal? I am in the early stages of my career and I have to go through the lower ranks and this is all part and parcell of it. I like my actuall job it's the recent change of managerment culture from basically a Clinton style to a Bush style.

Who exactly am I blameing BTW man?

So I can build up a solid base on my CV so I dont have to do this sh!t agian.
    The first 6 months here were cool, I have 6 more months to go on my contract. I want a good refrence and a good chunk to put on said CV.
    If I leave now I will blow it. Its called a rock and a hard place, not that a little rich boy like you would know.

and if you give the petty excuse that there is nothing else

You obviously dont work in the same area I do. There is a shed load of work if you have a second language but apart from that you are talking about a 3-4 month search going on my past experiance.
    There is work if you have 5+ years exp (I have 2) and are specialised. I am studying as well as working (as you say, I am dealing with my 'short comings') I hope to attain my MCSA by Feb.
    This will give me the leverage neccassary to move to a smaller
    environment where the chances of being treated like a human being are slighty higher.
    Agian this is why I am in current sh!tty job, experiance.
    Employers dont like 3 months here and 6 months there etc.
    , then look at yourself and ask why isnt there anything else you can do,

Like I said originally, Ive had about every job you could name -in about as many countries.

I dont have to ask my self anything cause I already been there and done it job wise. This is what I want to do bar none.
    Its the current managerial enviornment that is makeing me feel like this , if you read the post properly you would see this.

I have the skills, I like the work, I hate the management cause it feels like they hate us.

from your retort it sounds like you have minimal exp of this kind of thing in the outside world.
    then why arent you making more of an effort in the one area you currently have a job.

How do you make out from my post that I am not putting affort in?
    You could not be more wrong, my stats are perfect and I know my job inside out. My work is always done to the highest standard, this is told to me in my monthly reviews, they have no problem with my work, they think I m great (the management I see once a month) while the trolls I work with on the front lines think nothing is good enough.

That leads to a slight cause of demoralised confusion.
    instad of moaning.

See above.

Whitewash man, you are very brave with your childish seven and a half line retorts.
    Please refrain from replying to my post with more of this juvinile common denominator paff.

Peace ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Um work in Tesco Have to admit its ****ign great crack their.Only thing that is annoying is the work can become quite monotonous sitting on a checkout or else stacking.But the money is excelent and will get me through college with loads to spare.As it is im a student who just spent over 2000 euro on a comp and also 109 per month on broadband :)

Have to say the managers are ****ing sound there all relativly young and we all go on the piss up most of the staff that is including the managers.we dont get annoyed if were back late from brakes give or take 5 mins.toilet brakes are given when you want them as long as you dont abuse them.

Work about 30-40 hours a week all depends.Just asked for this weekend off and they gave it to me with only 3 days notice so you can imagine it aint all that bad.well just another 3 years of tesco and I will have my masters :) then im gone

Jeebus sReq | uTeK, I gonna apply right now!! lol

I have not even had a beer with anyone I work with in 6 months now.
    No comradeship and the like here.no fun:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    there is nothing positive in it. all i see is some whining, attitude totting illiterate who likes to blame their own short comings on others.

and if you give the petty excuse that there is nothing else, then look at yourself and ask why isnt there anything else you can do, and if thats the case, then why arent you making more of an effort in the one area you currently have a job.
    instad of moaning.

Dunno if I'd go that harsh on the poor chappie WWM. If he works in a callcentre, then I deffo know what he means. I worked in a callcentre for 4 years (left to go back to Uni) and I have to say that most of what he's saying is pretty spot on. Where I used to work, the managers and team leaders only gave a $hit about stats - PERIOD. They failed to see the people generating them. And if anything went wrong, we were blamed, not them.
    And don't get me started on the whole clique thing that goes on in these callcentres too!!! Only getting a job cuz you're friends with the manager etc. Load of bollix IMO.
    Thankfully I'm out of all that now, but I sincerely have pity for anyone working in a callcentre these days. They are the epitome of a living hell.
    As for all of ye who say that you enjoy your jobs - fair fecks to ya, long may it continue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

Don't worry about whitewashman. He does that sometimes (a lot actually).
    He's one guy on these boards who wants to tell everyone how fantastic he is compared to you at every oppertunity. Only he does it in sneaky ways to.
    Puts others down so he can feel like the man.
    People like that feel are so great telling people how well they have done because they have some get up and go and all that bollox.
    Newsflash whitewash:
    People, depending on social standing, education, experience etc work at different levels of the work and management ladder.
    Most of my friends are directors of companies by now, but they go out away from there jobs, (some even post here) and none will ever mention how *ucking fantastic they are.
    They understand that you get a job, you work your way up if your lucky you dont get *ucked on the way or made redundant.
    They realise everyone is at ther own stage on this ladder and has the potential to reach the top.
    So don't take you're i'm so mighty atitude and flaunt it to others.
    You just might be polishing their shoes some day.
    Juno75's story is typical of many here no matter what they are doing now.
    I have a brother that was washing dishes 4 years ago. He now owns a chain of Sports centers in Ireland and has a few million in the bank.
    If you met him you wouldn't know whether he still washed dishes or not. And he wouldn't let you know.
    Thats a succesful person not someone who talks about it non-stop.
    Juno75 has a typical and sensible attitude to his current situation and will most likely do really well when given the chance.

Thanks XX/DaithiSurfer for the wise/kind words.

to quote Nietzsche - '

'If it does not kill you it will make you stronger'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Man U babe

At the moment im working in game, tis €8.29/hr, i do about 30 hours a week, hopefully cutting down to bout 15 when i go back to college. Tis not too bad, although one of my managers is an absolute asshole. oh and the 30% discount on games kicks ass. i can imagine how it must feel to be stuck in a hellhole of a job though *hugs to anyone who has to put up with that *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by juno75

A team leader I had when I worked in <snip> was such a prick he timed people who he saw going to the toilet. He threatened me with disciplinary action because I was in the toilet for 'almost four minutes'. <snip> is his name, if anyone knows him, give him a kick in the balls, lord knows he deserves it.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by Man U babe
    At the moment im working in game, tis €8.29/hr, i do about 30 hours a week, hopefully cutting down to bout 15 when i go back to college. Tis not too bad, although one of my managers is an absolute asshole. oh and the 30% discount on games kicks ass. i can imagine how it must feel to be stuck in a hellhole of a job though *hugs to anyone who has to put up with that *****

I think my ethics would stop me from working in Game or any other games shop (unless they only stocked good games). I’d be like “Who are you buying that for? Listen, I don’t care, just put it back”.

BTW I have the worst job!!!
    I’m not going into it, but any one who really knows me will know that I do.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Juno man, quit. Just quit. Focus on your craft. Go and play jazz for a living. Might be ****e money but you're doing what you want to do. And you can claim the dole too. </student ethics>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Worst Job Four Seasons in Chapelizoid making coleslaw ,got a pay cut of 10% and walked out soon after but place was a filth infested hole.

Best Job Davenham Eng in D 22 ,great bunch of guys in electrical engineering i was skivvy only a kid but great job would have went somewhere well pai,d left for the above oh what a fool......

Present Team Lead in CD/DVD Rep plant decent money ,work 3 days a week is very boring ,boss is cool only problem is im not busy enough but they sent me abroad a few times so has it benifits but tis a multi national so has the downsides that come with them.
    Have IT certs but cba to work 5 days a week 10 hours a day and then having something i like (PCs ) becoming a chore where i am is 3 12 hour days a week and thats it.

Kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

I work from home doing video production and graphic/web design. I'm very grateful that I'm able to do what I enjoy without any stress, boss, travelling, and I work my own hours. It pays the rent & the bills and a nice bit left over. I certainly don't take it for granted- I love what I do. It also gives me time to record and write music at home too (I have a small studio), and watch plenty of wrestling- and surf the net on peak hours with adsl (written off as a nice "business expense").

I've worked a lot of sh*tty jobs too though. I'm a qualified Mech. engineer from DIT, and used to work for Mercury Engineering in Sandyford as an estimator. Okay job, but too far away (I live in Sutton) and worked with a TOTAL COW called Mod snip (part of my reason for leaving)- if anyone knows her, please smack her in her sterile mooface.

The worst job would have to be somewhere like McDonalds or a chipper. I think working in a bar is also pretty crap. Being stuck in a dark smokey room listening to drunken idiots talk sh*te- and the long hours wouldn't help.
    Most places where you have to deal with customers wreck my head- retail shops. I used to work in Superquinn when I was 16, and Chapters Music Store when I was 18. Some people are so ignorant and stupid you just want to punch them.

^ herbie747, what do graphic designers do?, i was told i would be good at it

They, eh, design graphics- like this poster I did a few months back:

iww.jpg

cool, id kida like that, what subjects do u need?

None are necessary, really. Just a bit of Quark, Photoshop, Illustrator and some Flash always comes in handy...

Mainly good ideas are the key- which is the hard part. Once you know how you want it to look, the software only acts as the tools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

I make sandwiches and coffee.

There, I said it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

I used to make burgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭Matfinn

Jesus christ will some of you stop whinhing. If you feel like your about to top yourself because you have a ****ty life or job or whatever, stop whining and moaning and go out there yourself and make a change. Only you can do that. Do something about it.

Matt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

I work in a shop as a lot of you know.

On a hourly baisis i have to deal with the following.
    • Scumbags trying to rob stuff.
    • 12 Year olds trying to buy "Johnny Blues"
    • Stoners and junkies walking around looking for "Kitchen Foil" and begging us to open the deli [if its closed], or telling the person on the deli how great they are are praising them for making them some food.
    • 8 Year olds coming in with no money trying to rob stuff, they come in packs so you gotta watch them good
    • Foreigners who cant speak english and you dont know what the hell there asking for and they dont know what you are saying. Its like a common bond :)
    • Major smokers who ALL talk with a very huskey voice. No matter what age they are.
    • People who throw out their hands with a **** laod of coins in it and ask you to count it and take what you need from it :rolleyes:
    • Old folk who just wish to make annoying conversation and hold up the growing que
    • More junkies leaving there stuff around and slowly walking around the shop and general area, talking to themselves or their dirty smelly friends.
    • Drunk children [10 and upwards] lookign for food, smokes and what not. Thet get abusive at anything, most of all when you ask them for ID for the cigs.
    • When the drunk children begin to abuse passer-by's outside the shop and you have to try and move them on.
    • Even more junkies asking customers for a "lend" of €X so they can get their what not.

I could go on but i wont.

Still, its fun work :)

Juno man, quit. Just quit. Focus on your craft. Go and play jazz for a living

once agian Mr.F you hit the awul nail on the head;)

Thats the plan for Feb, I'd like something solid behind me seperate from music just as a cushion so I dont end up flippin burgers when I'm 30+
    That why I 'm sticking out the job, just focus on what I m gonna do after Feb.
    The band I'm in is off the ground now (out cherry popping gig in Voodoo Lounge on Sun) but as you know I need another guitar and a few bits and bobs, then I gotta go to amsterdam for a bit , then pay of a *ahem* slight bit of debit, then me mam's 50th then xmas, blah blah blah!
    So what ever happens I gotta stick this place out, I'd be doing myself more harm by leaving now than by doing a bit of preperation and taking the plunge into music full time (depending how it goes in the next few months)

Saying that though everytime someone gives me **** here I feel like just walikn out the door:mad:

Its bloody knackering playing and rehersing a few times a week and getting up at 6.15 every morning.

Gives me good fuel to play 'dem blues though:)

As for Mattfin
    Jesus christ will some of you stop whinhing

That just reminds me of Denis Leary ( sorry if I misquote):

'I'm just not happy, I'm just not happy-

Shut the Fuk up, life sucks ,get a fukking helmet!

He just told me to shut the fuk up, no one ever told me that before, I feel so much better

Whineing fukking maggots'

Ya gotta love dennis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Yeah i also hate my job- playing games 8 hours a day is real hell :rolleyes:

CombatCow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Data Entry in an office in town for a company Mark HATES!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭swiss

Data Entry in an office in town for a company Mark HATES!!!
    Hmm, wonder what company that might be ;).

/me pokes Mark``

I've worked in a few jobs over the years, first was in McDonalds as a summer job. God I hated that. Flipping burgers, mopping, cleaning. I usually didn't have to deal with customers, I just cleaned up after them. Toilets were predictably the worst :rolleyes:.

Then I worked in a Tannery, firstly doing some basic cleaning of tanks, stuff like that, then moving onto production. Nothing like hauling hides into a 'sammer' (basically a big rolling machine) 8 and a half hours a day. Again, it didn't take long for the monotony and the tedium to set in.

My last job was working in technical support in a call centre, for a well known ISP. Compared to the last two jobs it was fairly cushy, plus I learned a lot about IT and information technology (not over the phones though). Still though, it could get extremely frustrating... I can still remember those 20mins reboots, those win95 systems running on 16megs of ram, etc. I can also remember the mind crushing stupidity of some of our client base.

That kind of work was also stats based, you had stats for call times (it had to be under 7 and a half minutes or so), stats for timeout, productive time, schedule adherance etc. Like the original poster many of the supervisors and managers were only really interested in the stats, although if you were good at your job you were afforded a little leeway for the sake of customer service. My call times were invariably high for example, but my quality scores were exemplary :).

I got on well with the other workers though, many of them shared similar interests with myself, and I met a lot of people through work. I left there about a week or two ago to return to college, but I wouldn't be above going back there next summer unless something better presents itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭UbahOne

Yeah i also hate my job- playing games 8 hours a day is real hell

So you should...what a ****en diabolocal job.

Btw i was being sarcastic - it's prob the best job ever,but thats not wot this thread is about so i'll just leave now.

CombatCow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭UbahOne

Your arse must be as big as a mountain playing games 8 hrs a day.

Who pays you to play games all day?

Man, I can only play a game for maximum 1 hr at a time or else I feel guilty for wasting my time on soomething thats non-productive. I get kinda bored of games pretty quick- except UT2003 online with ADSL- sweeeet.
    But I haven't played my PS2 in 7 months, even though I keep buying new games for it- haven't even touched Madden 2003 yet. :rolleyes:

Tiz in my profile,actually we play BF1942 during lunch so thats 9 hours a day.:D