Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mobiles in the Cinema

• 18-08-2003 10:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭

I have had it up to here (points to temple). Why do people insist on using their mobiles in the cinema, can't people last just 2 hours without it. Will the world come to and end if the phone is off, or if the text message doesn't receive a reply?

I can leave my phone off well before the movie starts just incase i forget. People even get warned again just before the movie starts. But either these people are ignorant or blind as they can't read the message that comes up asking them to switch off the phone.

I am not sure which is more annoying, when people continue to text message during the film, or when people start taking calls during the movie, ever see the dumbasses covering their mouth, like that makes any difference.

Then there was the Savoy in Dublin that installed a anti-mobile system, but of course it had to be taken out.

I think people who use their phones during a movie should have the phone taken off them until the end of the movie or they should hand the phone in until the movie is over.

Just a message to people who use the phone in the cinema, DONT! Also WHY do you use the phone, if you are going to see a movie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Carnate

I would agree with all you say, But i have a child and if we have a babysitter looking after our child, i would like to be able to take a call if something was wrong, i dont agree with the taking of the phone from people as they go in, as its not always easy to control the ownage of the phone, say if people have to leave or make a emergency phone call.

That said measures should be put in place to at least help both sides of the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

yeah but for pete's sake' people who insist on having their mobiles on during films could at least put it on silent or whatever. and if it ring go outside or something..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭sci0x

I completely agree. Answering a phone in the cinema is complete bull. And then listening to their ringtone as they rummage around in their bag in search of their phones is so irritating.

If its that urgent they could just put their phones on silent and then walk outside and answer it outside. However this also has a problem. I have a friend who goes outside to have a fag and then when he returns he talks to us as if there is no one else in the cinema asking what he has missed in the movie.

Oh and Carnate why did they take the mobile blocking system out of the Savoy? Thats a good idea! A mobile Blocking system.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I believe they were forced to remove it as it was blocking 999 or 911 calls or whatever. But I agree with the OP. Why can't people put it on silent or vibrate so they'll SEE or FEEL it when it rings.

[Rant]
    Sometimes I have to wonder at the kids who spend 9€ on getting into the damn place just to spend 2 hours sending text messages? Can these people be stopped? Reminds me of that scene in the cinema in Scream 2 when everyone is killing the women for talking so much :)[/Rant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Delphi91

Originally posted by Carnate
    I would agree with all you say, But i have a child and if we have a babysitter looking after our child, i would like to be able to take a call if something was wrong...

So set it to vibrate or flash or whatever and then go outside to answer it!!

No offence, but when I go to the cinema, I don't pay €7 to listen to someone chat on their mobile.

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭bloggs

Sorry i got a bit heated when i started the topic, yip if people would put it on vibrate and then leave to answer it, that wouldn't be so bad.

Why people have to send text messages during the movie is just wrong.

Oh, a friend of mine was in the cinema once, where he heard this girl behind him talking, he looked around to see that she was telling the movie scene by scene on her mobile.

I usually throw M&Ms at people who use their phones, so if you get hit by an M&M the next time you are in the cinema, it's probably me ;)

They took it out of the Savoy as far as i read , it was interfering with businesses outside of the savoys boundry, and it also interfered with some of the emergency frequencies, So i read, a while back.

I know that the Phone blocking is illegal in some countries unless your part of the police or defence forces, again read that somewhere.

But it would make sense.

As to the vibrate function, dont have one of those type of phones, and im VERY sorry about that, anyone care to buy me one!

Btw that was Sarcasm.

*G*

Originally posted by Delphi91
    So set it to vibrate or flash or whatever and then go outside to answer it!!

No offence, but when I go to the cinema, I don't pay €7 to listen to someone chat on their mobile.

Mike

Obvious Not a Parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

bloggs, throwing M&Ms?

So it was you that threw those yellow pieces that brightened my hairdo? LOL!

Agree completely with your rant. Maybe you should call out before the film, "Alright people, get out your mobiles. Wave them high in the air! Now, put the ringer on Silent or Vibrate. The management appreciates your cooperation. Right then. Let's enjoy the show!" Amen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭crowbar

Originally posted by bloggs
    Why people have to send text messages during the movie is just wrong.
    from enn.ie, about four paragraphs from the top:
    The Irish Independent also reports that the failure of Hollywood blockbusters at the box-office is being attributed to texting teens. The problem, industry players say, is teenagers instant-texting their friends with their verdict on new films -- sometimes while they are still in the cinema watching them -- and so ruining marketing campaigns designed to lure audiences out to a big movie.
    out of interest, is it the click-click of writing a message that's annoying about texting in a movie, or is it the light-saber stream of light radiating from the screen? i'll sometimes text back people who call me to ask if it's important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Delphi91

Obvious Not a Parent.

And by what form of logical reasoning do you draw that conclusion????

Maybe I have regard for other people and their right to watch a film without having to listen to me telling a babysitter where the extra Pampers are!

I happen to think that answering a mobile phone in a situation where people don't like/want/expect to be disturbed is actually quiet ignorant. There's nothing as bad as sitting in a restaurant and hearing someone converse on a mobile phone - usually loud enough for the whole restaurant to hear.

Mike

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

It's illegal to use phone jammers heres as it contravents the communications act (dating from, I believe, somewhere around 1946). It's why the Savoy had to uninstall it. It's presumably related to accessing 911 services....

Anyhow, people who text during a movie have 0 excuse. People who answer a phone? 0 excuse. Place it on silent. If you must answer, then take it outside. No excuses. I think anyone contravening these rules should be kicked out of the cinema. Answering it is so damn ignorant that it beggars belief. Like all the posters here, I've seen people have a conversation during a movie. These people then ignore the beaming glares of hate emitting from all those around until some brave soul tells them to be quiet... Which I'd never do for fear of seeing the business end of a fist :mad: The only time I was ever happy with talking in the cinema was when these three cows were chatting near me (during Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring) and nobody said anything for ages until one guy, about five rows down, turned around and said, "Would you ever shut the fu*k up!" And they did....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Originally posted by ixoy
    It's illegal to use phone jammers heres as it contravents the communications act (dating from, I believe, somewhere around 1946). It's why the Savoy had to uninstall it. It's presumably related to accessing 911 services....

I was under the impression ireland used 999 (never actually have checked the golden pages so..) ?

thank god nothing serious has came up that i have had to use it before or the person dying in front of me would be screwed :p

Originally posted by crowbar
    from enn.ie, about four paragraphs from the top:

out of interest, is it the click-click of writing a message that's annoying about texting in a movie, or is it the light-saber stream of light radiating from the screen? i'll sometimes text back people who call me to ask if it's important.

Both actually, perhaps the green light-sabre effect is the worst as the hole place is dark and then you see this stupid green light! If peole want to let their friends know how good the movie is why can't they just do it at the end, surely you can't judge a movie correctly until it's over ;)

I think i might get on of those portable jammers, teach those text freaks a lesson :ninja:

Actually remember when you are on a plane they tell you to turn off your phone, i saw some halfwit sending text messages, i told the guy that it can interfere with the systems on the plane, he just shrugged his shoulders. He turned it off when i called over a steward.

Why some people can't live without their phones for 2 hours shocks me!

Originally posted by athena 2000
    bloggs, throwing M&Ms?

So it was you that threw those yellow pieces that brightened my hairdo? LOL!

Agree completely with your rant. Maybe you should call out before the film, "Alright people, get out your mobiles. Wave them high in the air! Now, put the ringer on Silent or Vibrate. The management appreciates your cooperation. Right then. Let's enjoy the show!" Amen.

Of course you would get a response like:

'Im nut turnen off me bleeden phone ya bleeden muppa' ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

i rember reading about a way where u could get enough chicken wire and have the holes small enough the frequency of the mobile would be blocked ? true this dose mean wire eveywhere but it could still work ? ( btw is that true ? )

i do agree with parents with kids that it is a comfort to have a way of contacting the baby sitter to see if everything is ok as it only takes 2 seconds for somthing to go wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Before mobile phones were around, were these parents sitting in the cinema super stressed and sweating that their child was dead. Or did they just deal with it, and make a phone call from a public phone if they were so inclined? Can no parent be away from their child for more than ten minutes before breaking out the mobile to find out where they are? What happened in emergencies before the great mobile?

I'm happy to say, I've never experienced eejits on their phones in the cinema, but then again I'm not a regular visitor to the cinema. People talking too loud get a death stare and I've found that they shut up.

If I do come across someone chatting away on their mobile... god help them :D

I love mobiles, but I also hate them. They're fúckin society up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

I was in UCG last week and the guy beside me answered the phone so i gave him a dirty look.
    Then i told him to shut up.
    He ignored me so i hit him .
    Then he gets off the phone and gives me a dirty look and everyone behind clapped. This is the approach i'll use in future.
    Tellimg ignorant ****s to shut up doesn't work anymore.
    I don't care if he had a babysitter.
    If you want to check on your children, walk out of the cinema and call.
    Don't take calls and wave a bright light around when other peoiple are trying to watch a movie.
    There is new fireproof and soundproof lining for walls which mobiles can't penetrate.
    It hangs on the walls like curtains in the cinema.
    In a couple of years all cinemas will have this, so you'll just have to go outside to call your babysitters etc.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I'll try not to get to started on it, but it pisses me off SOOO much, feel like catching anyone who doesn't have there phone on vibrate and beating the crap out of them.

Sounds abit much, but its not like there not asked to turn of there phones (that 11850 advert)

I think cinema's just need to get serious with all of this and if anyoen does ahve a mobile on and it rings etc they should be thrown out and even fined.

All they got to do is make an example of one or two people and it should sort it.

Frankly its gone beyond a joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

He ignored me so i hit him.
    You HIT him?

Smack in the face? Dead arm? Slap on the head?

Define 'hit'. :)
    I think cinema's just need to get serious with all of this and if anyoen does ahve a mobile on and it rings etc they should be thrown out and even fined.
    You would need an usher per screen. Its not really practical.....

- Dave.

VERY HARD in the arm.
    And if he didn't shut up the next one would have been in the jaw.

I'm a reasonable person but i have zero tolerance for ignorant people.

Its definitely my number one hate.
    I think they should be switched OFF not just onto vibrate.
    When they know they have a call they take the phone out to look who it is and the light takes your attention off of the movie.
    Also if they are off then people won't get up and walk past everyone to get out to take their call.
    One guy did this 3 times at the hulk.
    It was a **** movie anyway but the thirdtime he was coming back i told him if he wanted out again i'ld lamp him.
    He didn't come out but igf he did i was so pissed off i'ld have taken his phone and thrown it away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Serbian

Originally posted by Big Chief
    I was under the impression ireland used 999 (never actually have checked the golden pages so..) ?

thank god nothing serious has came up that i have had to use it before or the person dying in front of me would be screwed :p
    I'm pretty sure that the emergency number here is 112. As far as I know, 112 is the European standard, so in any country in Europe you can dial 112 to get the Police etc.

As a test, lock your phone, then dial 112 on the keypad and press call. It should say: Attempting Emergency Call :)

As for people using their mobile phone in the cinema, I guess people just don't listen to Dano.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

I don't see what the problem is with people texting, when i text in general the keys don't make any sound and what are yous people doing staring at there green little screens when there is the film going on in the first place?

I do wonder though why they don't just turn it off or leave to answer the call as other people suggested.

In the warner village cinemas in england at least anyway there is these quite cool ads from orange using somewhat famous actors trying to promote films scripts, however the orange guys keep changing the movie to suit the mobile phone.

The catchphrase it don't let a mobile phone ruin your movie, its quite good imo.

Originally posted by Dataisgod
    I don't see what the problem is with people texting, when i text in general the keys don't make any sound and what are yous people doing staring at there green little screens when there is the film going on in the first place?

I don't stare at the little green screen, it is distracting, like if someone was waying their hand in front of you, you can see the movie, but it takes you eye of it.

Also why do you feel the need to send a text message, you are in the cinema, if you don't want to watch the movie, just leave, ifyou do want to watch the movie switch off you phone.

I remember during LOTR: Two Towers, there was the great battle scene and some fools were sending text message, why go to to the cinema in the first place :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭ObeyGiant

Obvious Not a Parent.
    The guy was suggesting that people switch to using vibrate or flashing mobile phones when they're in the cinema, and you're saying he's "obviously not a parent".

So tell me, what is it about being a parent that means you're exempt from this suggestion? I don't see why being a parent means you have to keep your phone on full ringing volume when you're in a cinema? I keep my phone on vibrate, and never miss a call when in the cinema.

Frankly, keeping a phone on ringer is one of the rudest, most discourteous things a person can do.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

This is a real pet hate of mine. Every time we go to the cinema I tell my friends to turn off their phones or I will kill them. It just really spoils the effect when you are engrossed in a film and heart an annoying beep, annoying ringtone or the lightsabre green screen rising in front of you. But people who answer there phones and have a huge conversation during a film are some of the most ignorant people in the world. Even more ignoran than smokers.

I've done lifesaving sourses and while 112 is the official emergency number 999 and 911 still work since some people haven't got used to 112 and for stupid non-metric americans :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭skipn_easy

i'm a bit off-topic here:
    Originally posted by Retr0gamer
    Even more ignoran than smokers.

in what way are smokers ignorant? i'd call that a sweeping generalisation...

back on-topic:

totally agree that people who answer phones in the cinema are ignorant, i don't mind if its an emergency or an important call that can't be missed and they leave their phone on silent and leave the theatre to answer. apart from that there's no excuse imo. People come to the cinema to escape and enjoy movies, they shouldn't have to be distracted by bright green lights or muppets having conversations.

Why can't they just switch off for 2 hours. Surely it wont kill them.
    I've decided to stop going to the cinema since the events of the past few weeks.
    I usually go once a week at least but every time i've been for the last 2 years i've been interupted by someone with a mobile.
    Until this new mobile screening comes into use i'm sticking to dvds.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Originally posted by Wyvern
    i'm a bit off-topic here:

in what way are smokers ignorant? i'd call that a sweeping generalisation...

back on-topic:

Please who smoke in the cinema are Ignorant I think is the meaning of that statement.

Originally posted by Ponster
    Please who smoke in the cinema are Ignorant I think is the meaning of that statement.

Or people who smoke on buses, they are the worse kind of scum!

See, I'd be willing to pay one euro extra for a quiet movie. This money goes towards a man in the projection booth equipped with night vision goggles and a sniper rifle. Any phone rings and - BAM!

... is this a little bit extreme? It's not like I wouldn't have warnings before the movie. Oh and the bullets would be tranquilisers so other patrons wouldn't have their movie ruined by spattered gore/loosening of bowls....And of course the strength would be enough to ensure they didn't snore....

Phone ringing in cinemas makes me see red :mad: I can't stand out and, as others pointed out, how the hell did people cope ten years ago?! Stupid needy people. Your friends will still love you if you make them wait a bit, you plonkers!

Now then, everyone cough up a euro and I'll go the UGC with my proposal...

See, I'd be willing to pay one euro extra for a quiet movie. This money goes towards a man in the projection booth equipped with night vision goggles and a sniper rifle. Any phone rings and - BAM!

... is this a little bit extreme? It's not like I wouldn't have warnings before the movie. Oh and the bullets would be tranquilisers so other patrons wouldn't have their movie ruined by spattered gore/loosening of bowls....And of course the strength would be enough to ensure they didn't snore....

Phone ringing in cinemas makes me see red :mad: I can't stand out and, as others pointed out, how the hell did people cope ten years ago?! Stupid needy people. Your friends will still love you if you make them wait a bit, you plonkers!

Now then, everyone cough up a euro and I'll go the UGC with my proposal...

I have a yearly ticket with UGC, and i have to say it's worse there, than it is anywhere else (used to go to the Savoy all the time). People don't seem to be happy enough with green lightsabres, but now with white lights from colour screens :mad:

Went to see 'Veronica Guiern' the other week, and there was this stupid shanger shouting 'there's my uncle on the screen', and then shouting on her phone. She had her b/f with her, and he was just as bad. She spent have the movie going outside to answer her phone, but spent have the convo on the way out of the cinema. I wasn't so bloody pi**ed off in all my life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

I'm a regular cinema goer in Galway. Last week myself and Patch69 went to see Pirates of the Carribean. Worst ****íng experience of my life. Firstly some cúnt and his stupid girlfriend sat down beside and me and began having a row about why he didn't buy the popcorn. Then he went on to try and make up with her for the rest of the film. We then had 5/6 ****íng kids behind us (WITH THEIR PARENTS) who proceeded to kick our seats for the remainder of the film. Then a ****íng cúnt in front of us answers his phone and has a full blown conversation. I could have spat blood at the bastárd.

Originally posted by daveg
    I'm a regular cinema goer in Galway. Last week myself and Patch69 went to see Pirates of the Carribean. Worst ****íng experience of my life. Firstly some cúnt and his stupid girlfriend sat down beside and me and began having a row about why he didn't buy the popcorn. Then he went on to try and make up with her for the rest of the film. We then had 5/6 ****íng kids behind us (WITH THEIR PARENTS) who proceeded to kick our seats for the remainder of the film. Then a ****íng cúnt in front of us answers his phone and has a full blown conversation. I could have spat blood at the bastárd.

blood hell that is really bad! Never witnessed anything like that. Did you say anthing to the halfwits who were fighting? Or to the parents of the kids behind?

I have one of those ucg membership cards as well and because of the whole mobile thing and knackers talking during the movie i wont be using it anymore.
    I just noticed tho, seems you have to write to an address that i no longer have to cancel it.
    Anyone know what this address is by any chance?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

in what way are smokers ignorant? i'd call that a sweeping generalisation

Sorry, was on a rant. I meant was smokers smoking in non-smoking places such as buses. Also I hate smoke in pubs. Kill yourselves but don't take me with you.

The Omniplex and UCI Santry are worse than UGC. Once had some druggy behind us in UCI santry talking about how crap the film was to his girlfriend for the whole film. Pissed me off big time. Loads of full blown conversations on phones in Omniplex. Also during Harry Potter 1 some kid after 1 hour into the film shouted out 'I did read this, he's the bad guy'. Luckily I had read the book but I could see a lot of murderous glances in his direction.

I don't stare at the little green screen, it is distracting, like if someone was waying their hand in front of you, you can see the movie, but it takes you eye of it.

Also why do you feel the need to send a text message, you are in the cinema, if you don't want to watch the movie, just leave, ifyou do want to watch the movie switch off you phone.

I remember during LOTR: Two Towers, there was the great battle scene and some fools were sending text message, why go to to the cinema in the first place :mad:

its hardly someone waving a hand in front of you and its not like its making any noise, perhaps you should be more considerate of other people also, they could be waiting to obtain some important information, perhaps they want someone to meet them after the film etc. while i'd admit theres a load of muppets answering fones etc. talking, kids kicking seats etc and thats wrong, if someone said anything to me because my phone was lit up and i'd decided that the message needed answering i'd tell them where to go i can text and listen at the same time, surely it would be more distracting if i had to push out by a load of people trapse down the stairs and walk in front of the screen just to go and answer it.

Jesus i'ld love for you to be texting beside me you ignorant ****er.

Originally posted by Dataisgod
    its hardly someone waving a hand in front of you and its not like its making any noise, perhaps you should be more considerate of other people also, they could be waiting to obtain some important information, perhaps they want someone to meet them after the film etc. while i'd admit theres a load of muppets answering fones etc. talking, kids kicking seats etc and thats wrong, if someone said anything to me because my phone was lit up and i'd decided that the message needed answering i'd tell them where to go i can text and listen at the same time, surely it would be more distracting if i had to push out by a load of people trapse down the stairs and walk in front of the screen just to go and answer it.

LOL, i should be more considerate of people who decide to use there mobiles in the cinema ;)

Ah come on, if having the phone is a matter of life/death, why bother going to the cinema.

Hmm sounds a bit like T3/the Matrix, machines rule our lives :p

Can i was you this, if you were flying to Paris or somewhere, would you turn off your mobile, or during the flight would you HAVE to turn it on just to check ;)

Hmm due to flight safety im not sure i want to hear your answer :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

A lot of phones make noise when people use them to text. That annoying little clicky noise drives me ****ing nuts tbh. The light from a phone is very distracting in a dark cinema too.

Cinemas ask people to turn their phones off (well my local one does anyway). Have some consideration for everyone else ffs! And if you're waiting on information that's so important it requires an immediate reply why the hell are you in a cinema in the first place?
    ixoy:
    Stupid needy people. Your friends will still love you if you make them wait a bit, you plonkers!
    Couldn't have put it better myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

i threw a slush puppy over someone i knew who used his fone in the cinema, which got me kicked out.

i also hate girsl walking out to the ****ing toilets every 10 minutes, and meat heads behind you talking ****, and people asking what happened, and children, and ****s throwing popcorn for no reason, and fat people chewing with their mouth opened and slurping on their 2 litre pepsi. so i conclude only i and other intelligent civilised people should be ALLOWED to go to the cinema.

you can buy mobile phone blockers in japan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

i admit i am guilty of the eating too loud or drinking too loud but thats usually cause i forget being engrossed in the film. But Mobiles have no excuse.

Funny thing none of this ever happens much in my local cinema its a small 3 screen cinema in thurles. the fact that its small allows richie (scary security lad) to keep a close eye on all the messers and fone users. I admit when younger i would try my best to piss him off (my dad knew him and stopped him from banning me) but never during the film only before or after.

But i guess thats impossible in big cinemas. Small cinemas tend to have a better luck in keeping annoying people cotrolled...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭athena 2000

Of course you would get a response like:

'Im nut turnen off me bleeden phone ya bleeden muppa' ;)

Ha! Yeah bloggs, you're right about that.

I guess that's why they have pre-film trailers that tell you to be quiet, only they should expand them to include everyone that can't live without their Electronic Leash for 2 hours.

I wonder if that would work? Probably not. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

blood hell that is really bad! Never witnessed anything like that. Did you say anthing to the halfwits who were fighting? Or to the parents of the kids behind?

No... I wish I had.

I'm also with the UGC Annual membership card and often I wish to demember fellow card holders. Certain groups of people (can't make sweeping generalisations but regulars will know whom I mean!) love to keep their damn mobiles on and exit often halway during a movie. Apparently they spend whole days inside the cinema complex...

To those who say they might be waiting on important message, I ask again: How would you have coped ten years ago? Would you have arranged a personal assistant outside to stand by a payphone and, when your oh-so-important message arrived, have them come in to you, locate you, and hand you the message? No, you say? Then it can still wait now! If you're waiting on something, inform the sender that you'll be unavailable because you're at a movie! How about that? Isn't that an interesting alternative! The only possibly justifiable scenario for having to answer that message now is that you're expecting the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse to arrive and pass judgement on humanity, and even then it's still debatable as to whether it should be allowed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭crowbar

i'm regularly on call for my work. i have to respond to a call within 15 minutes, and be onsite within one hour of getting called - no matter where i am in the city. my phone allows me to go to the cinema when i am on call, and have a semi-normal life while i am on call - because i don't have to stay at home waiting for a phone call that might never come. the phone is always on silent in the cinema, and yes i have gotten calls there before and walked outside to take them (often missing the rest of the movie trying to solve some stupid problem that the caller should have been able to solve themselves in the first place.)

times have changed, it's not valid to compare what people do now with what they used to do 10 years ago! hell, as long as we are talking about practices in the dark age we may as well all go back to using pen and paper instead of e-mails, or tin cans and string instead of telephones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Would you have arranged a personal assistant outside to stand by a payphone and, when your oh-so-important message arrived, have them come in to you.
    o so instead of one guy leaving the cinema you want someone extra toi come in and speak to that person. Life has sped up a lot on 10yrs ago, people need a more immedate response these days. 10years ago u were waiting by snail mail for most stuff, now its email and u have an answer in 2 minutes.

i think your over reacting about people leaving the cinema but i do hate people that are loud/ distracting in some way.

i go to cinema late at night now to avoid this muppetry.

How would you have coped ten years ago? Would you have arranged a personal assistant outside to stand by a payphone and, when your oh-so-important message arrived, have them come in to you, locate you, and hand you the message? No, you say? Then it can still wait now! If you're waiting on something, inform the sender that you'll be unavailable because you're at a movie! How about that? Isn't that an interesting alternative! The only possibly justifiable scenario for having to answer that message now is that you're expecting the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse to arrive and pass judgement on humanity, and even then it's still debatable as to whether it should be allowed..

At the end of the day its not ten years ago its and if i recieve a message that i think is important enough to respond to i will, its not my fault people feel distracted by the glow from a 1.5 inch lcd display when there is a screen orders of magnitude greater in size right in front of them with sound. it doesn't particularly bother me if someone is texting on silent. I think you mistake essential for important, if something was essential someone would come into the cinema and get you, if it is important they can just contact you on your mobile, perhaps if i ever recieve a text i feel the need to respond to next time i will bound joyfully down the stair to respond to it and i hope the noise of that is distracting after i have pushed out past half a row of people there a quick response in my seat.

hey next up lets not let people got to the toilets in the cinema it would be terrible if i missed two seconds of the on screen action of the such high quaity films that are released these days because some one had to brush by me and wait what if they had to say excuse me also perhaps that wold distract people from the decibels louder surround sound system that is pounding there ears

At the end of the day i typically turn my phone off in the cinema, or put it on silent and don't respond, however you can't define it in such terms of black and white and i think less people are distacted by a quick text response then leaving you seat to get to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭jongore

To those who say they might be waiting on important message, I ask again: How would you have coped ten years ago? Would you have arranged a personal assistant outside to stand by a payphone and, when your oh-so-important message arrived, have them come in to you, locate you, and hand you the message? No, you say? Then it can still wait now! If you're waiting on something, inform the sender that you'll be unavailable because you're at a movie! How about that? Isn't that an interesting alternative! The only possibly justifiable scenario for having to answer that message now is that you're expecting the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse to arrive and pass judgement on humanity, and even then it's still debatable as to whether it should be allowed..

I also have a pager/mobile for work(I've to reply within 10mins) but if I'm in the Cinema I'll have them on vibration alert, and if they go off I get up and leave. It's not 10 years ago it's now and we live in a society that is very communication intensive.

If I get paged and miss the film I'm not annoying anyone but myself.

However people that use mobiles in the cinema should be taken out put in the stocks and as people leave they should be able to chuck their leftover food/drinks on them:mad:

Working or wanting an important message is no excuse for being ignorant to the others who have paid to go to the cinema.
    There is a message before the movie that says 'Turn off your ****ing phone'.
    If you are in any way not sure what this means ask one of the security guards or whoever 'please can i keep my phone on' and see what he does to you.

Follow the ****ing rules.

Others paid to watch a movie without interuption from phones. Respect this.

If you are on call, your tuf.
    Its your decision or your bosses who cares? Not my problem.
    Again, follow the ****ing rules.