Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anyone been watching the Excellent Oz on TG4 from the start

• 18-08-2003 4:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭

Just want to know if anyone here shares the same interest in HBO's OZ, currently been shown on TG4? General Discussion etc...It is a ritual for my mates and I on a Thursday night.

HBO rocks.

I would do a search for "OZ" in the search section but It has a 4 character minimum.

Thanks.

P.S. Anyone know where I can get the HBO jingle at? The one shown at the start of every HBO episode?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

that's a brilliant programme! I wish I could see it more often but can only watch it when I see it.
    It's so brutally honest and in your face, great stuff. Dunno where you'd get the jingle tho....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Jokah

Yours your favourite character? My is Schillinger. I think thats how you spell it.

I have to go now. I'll reply at 9 am tomorrow morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 The Preacher

Yeah I watch it as well, brilliant stuff. Having problems at the momnet though cause it clashes with NYPD Blue which I must videotape.

You can get information on Oz ( and just about every single Amreican TV show there is ) at www.televisionwithoutpity.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by XPThink
    Yours your favourite character? My is Schillinger

Saiid (sp?) he is a crafty bastard and looks good to set up Adibese (sp?) real good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

My favourite is Ryan O`Reilly because of the crafty way he always manages to get others to do his dirty work leaving him untouchable to the law.
    Adebisi gets the funnier lines/scenes whenever there is a rare bit of comedy i think though. Like the time he went for his medical and did a Groundskeeper Willy style trouser ripping:D Or his"all about sex"news tip off about McManus. He was a good character,its a shame they
    killed him off

Anyway I caught the repeats of it last summer and caught the episodes i hadnt seen earlier this year. Ive only missed one in the whole series thanks to a bloody electricity blackout on Thursday of all weeknights. And apparently it was a briilliant episode:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Yes i have watched them all

O'Reilly is great. He can get [nearly] anyone to kill somebody for him without it going back to him. He goes about things the long way and does it right.

Pity its over.

isn't ther still one series that hasn't been seen here yet

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

'Oz' is class. Seen all the episodes that they've aired here so far. My favourite characters are Adebisi (the hat! How does it stay on!!!) and Ryan (because, as others have mentioned, he just lets everyone else do his dirty work. Crafty Irish bugger). Some great characters in there - who wouldn't want to run to the other side of the city if they saw Vern Schillinger approach them?!

It's a bit unfortunate the storylines got a bit dumb in the latter seasons but I've hopes that the final season will be good and give some closure to the characters. Of course closure in 'Oz' normally means a body bag. The number of people who've successfully left prison so far is:
    one. The gay guy who Beecher got off left and never had to return. Anyone else who left, such as Said, or whom escaped - Busmaili or Alvarez - returned
    . Everyone else - usually the character who came in last week - leaves in a body bag :p

And I maintain the Season one finale - the prison riot - is one of the All Time Greatest Hours of Television.

Ixoy, you should try and experiment with the hat thing. It works, and its quite fun.

But what a hard hitting drama. I mean so real and powerful.

Schillinger is the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Yep, I started watching it during the last run on TG4 at around episode 25. The current run is up to 31 now (32 is on tommorow) so I've FINALLY got round to seeing everything from season 1-5. Heres hoping the get straight into season 6 once they've done getting thru this current run.

Beecher was my favorite at the begining because it was facinating to see how the 'regular' guy adapted to this prison enviornment (esp his run ins with Schillinger). But by about the end of season 2 Beecher had just turned into a caracature of himself and I couldn't really care for his exagerated (even by oz standards) storylines.

Current favorite is definetly Ryan O'Reilly. Schillinger is up there too as a man who admittedly is a complete bastard that you wouldn't want to know for love or money (but who also has elements of good inside him - esp when it comes to his family and perception of justice).

will Oz ever be released on region 2 DVD

Originally posted by Mossy Monk
    Saiid (sp?) he is a crafty bastard and looks good to set up Adibese (sp?) real good

i stand by what i said

with McManus back will this mean the return of Schillinger and co to emerald city

Great episode on Thursday night. So good, fast moving and interesting.

I'm not going to read the episode guides now on the OZ website.

I want to see what happens.

Go Schillinger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

i'm just pissed that i didnt catch it any sooner, but in fairness to the show it only takes a few episodes before you're hooked

it makes prisoner cell block h look like my little pony

is there anywhere you can get the first season on ddv/vhs?

i tried ringing laser video library on georges street they dont do it

Originally posted by giftgrub
    is there anywhere you can get the first season on ddv/vhs?

R1 only, so it's to places like Amazon for you.... They also have season two on DVD now. No signs of a European release though :(

"is there anywhere you can get the first season on
    ddv/vhs?"

Amazon is good. Having a muti region dvd helps though. I use my xbox and it is only region 2 at the moment. A new piece of software for the xbox is out soon(early september). This will change the xbox settings into a multi region dvd player. This piece of software is all ready available for the PS2. It is all legal and above board to. Available on Amazon. Forgot what its name is.

If you have a broadband connection guys download the episodes. That's what ill be doing in a months time - then putting the episodes on DVD for my OWN use......

How cool is Officer Howell. She has no morals, nothing. Also the videos/interviews on the Oz website are pretty cool. I didn't know that Said was a british actor and he hides his accent very well in Oz.

This piece of software is all ready available for the PS2. It is all legal and above board to. Available on Amazon. Forgot what its name is.

Region X. it is about €20 too. cheap cheap

[
    How cool is Officer Howell. She has no morals, nothing.

She's great - she should teach in primary schools.....
    However Officer Howell losing her clothes or having sex is bad bad bad :eek:

:(:(

I just watched the last ever 'Oz' there! On the plus side, the sixth season is a nice improvement on the last season. Knowing it's the last season ALL the gloves are off (even more so!) and you'll get wrap up. Plus the final episode clocks in at a heft 100 minutes long - that's WITHOUT ads.

On the down-side... I've just watched the last EVER EVER Oz :(

I won't say anything about it.. WAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. Ahem...

ioxy you should do what I am doing and going back over all the old episodes. I'm starting at number one and going thru them all.

There is so much the second time around....Great great episode....

Does any storyline in OZ have a silver lining?

did that auld lad get married. can't remember and it was only a few days ago :rolleyes: that would be the only silver lining i can think of. he didn't because of snow storms

Originally posted by Mossy Monk
    did that auld lad get married. can't remember and it was only a few days ago :rolleyes: that would be the only silver lining i can think of. he didn't because of snow storms

Well - spoilers for Season 6 here people, so only if you can't wait for TG4 or E4 -
    Yup! Your woman came back, with a baby she conceived on the night of the wedding. She eventually married Busmalis although, it being Oz, it maybe doesn't go entirely smoothly. But that storyline is NOTHING compared to what they do to everyone else!

The last episode of Series 4 was a piece of programming magnificance...

I mean what a great episode......I wish I had set the recorder for it so I could watch it again...

Brilliant.

Series 5 now and things are starting to look good again. I wonder if TG4 have the rights to show the last series, 6.???

Channel 4 have still yet to show it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Quatre Mains

- I got into this while I was in the US this year, you can rent HBO shows in the video shops seeingas its a pay channel so I've seen the 1st 2 seasons now, and its amazing.

Anyways, the reaosn I'm writing is to mention that sometimes on Ebay you can buy pirate VCD copies of all 6 series. I'm in the middle of buying a gaff but will be investing once thats out of the way...

BTW HBO has another cool show not airing over here yet (I think isn;t anyway,I haven't been back long) called The Wire, which is set mostly in a docks in NYC where the workers are importing drugs, immigrants etc.

Neil

Editing by the Think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

Did anybody else notice last weeks episode where the guy in the wheelchairs's mother was dead?
    His mother was played by the new Oracle in Revolutions, where he plays Link.
    Just a bit of trivia.....

Oh yeah......

Watched new matrix last night.....Didn't live up to much..got very boring in the middle of the film.....

Interesting bit of trivia though...

could someone tell me what happened at the end last Thursday. i got cut off when the nazis were starting to slit the muslim open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

Did ya all like Season 5 (currently showing)? Good new - Season 6 (the new one) is better :) I soooo wanna say what happens but I MUST keep mum for a bit longer

Getting all the series on vcd is not only illegal - evil woman! - but also a difficult task. Season 6 is - allegedly - relatively easy to find but the other one are probably more sketchy. If you WERE to look, I'd think maybe about a tool like KazaLite or accessing relevant channels in IRC. If. But I wouldn't.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

Lads, no more talk about downloading/buying shows illegally please or the thread will be closed.

Back on the original topic please.

C4 aren't showing it currently. I'd say E4 will show it before C4 but TG4 will probably beat them both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

Out of curiosty I emailed TG4 the other day and they replied to me confirming that they will begin showing season 6 of Oz on December 18th!

Nice one! :D

Originally posted by smiaras
    how long since the series finished up in the states?

Last episode was the 23rd of February of this year :)

Originally posted by Oswald Osbourne
    Out of curiosty I emailed TG4 the other day and they replied to me confirming that they will begin showing season 6 of Oz on December 18th!

Assuming they show it weekly, then it'll make a great night's family viewing on Christmas Day :D

Originally posted by ixoy
    Assuming they show it weekly, then it'll make a great night's family viewing on Christmas Day :D

:D:D:D

i cant wait for series 6. it is must see tv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

I wish they'd hurry up with the DVD Sets. They are only on to Season 2 of Oz. I want more !

Oz was bizzarre tonight with all the singing instead of Augustus doing his talking bits

but Beecher and Schillinger doing a duet :D i know it wasnt part of the story line but still :D

I had seen that episode of OZ last year when it was on E4. I remember I taped it cos it was on to late and watching it then on the Friday. I fast forwarded through the singing bits....Don't know why.

Then when I watched it last night it was excellent...Its one of my favourite episodes.

Beecher delivering Gunzel to Schillinger...Again Oz is quite moving, quite disturbing but that is why it is such a great program....

I think Augustus was filming The Matrix Reloaded when series 5 was on so they had to re script.

Bring on tomorrow night.....Double Episode of series 6......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

It was a fantastic episode last night again. The bit where
    Beecher comes across the raped Gunzel was heartbreaking
    , Beecher and Schillinger signing a duet was stylishly funny.

Another reason why it's one of the best things on TV.

It was heartbreaking DapperGent, but I mean Gunzel was being such a pr!ck to Beecher I'm glad he delivered Gunzel to Schillinger...That part where Gunzel ends up in Unit B....

Again its only acting but still the way they act is superb....They are excellent actors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Yeah you were thinking along with Beecher than Gunzel was such a little prick and a rapist himself to boot that he deserved whatever he got.

When Beecher finds him in the gym and Beecher realises that nobody deserves that, your kinda ashamed for yourself as well as Beecher.

As I said just fantastic television. Can't wait to get a multi-region player so I can start picking up the seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

that episode of oz was one of the best ive seen yet, im heading to the states in anout 2 weeks im sooooo buying the boxed sets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

The first two series here, 32yoyo's delivered.

https://www.dvdsoon.com/show-title-details.xml?uid=42812

For all that are interested.

TG4 are showing Series 6 of Oz tonight at 10:55 pm.

I just saw it in the TV listings, so for all who missed it on E4, it starts all over again on TG4.

I have only seen 4 episodes of Series 6, so It will be nice to see the rest.

Jokah...:D

indeed. i have the Sky box all set up to record. can't wait for it