Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gold diggers

• 08-08-2003 2:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭

Any experience on dates with girls who were real gold diggers? Or simply with girls who would never put their hands on their wallet even to just pay you a drink?

I was listening to the "Adrian Kennedy show" a few nights ago (Radio 104) and "Gold diggers" was the topic of the conversation...... it looked like in Ireland there are quite a few gold diggers around, although on my personal experience I don't think Irish girls are diggers, not at all.

On my experience Russian and eastern european in general are real diggers (not a chance they pay you a drink!), and this is not referred to a single bad experience.... when you are out with one of them it looks like everything is due to them and they barely say "thank you".....
    On the other end I would put the German girls, who are usually very proud and you have to fight with them before being able to pay them a drink, I like that (but still think that they are too moody for me)......

I want to put clear that I (and I think guys in general) don't mind paying things to whomever I am dating, but at least would like to see her (my date) show a bit of good sense and pretend to take out the wallet from her purse for once and don't take for granted that "the guy has to pay...always"

So, any bad experience with diggers out there? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kell

Depends on where you go and if you are on the pull or not. It's my general experience that most of the fairer sex are quite happy to let you pay all night while you hope that your going to get your end away, and then once you've run out of cash, it's adios and onto the next willing muppet.

I learned my lesson. Never buy a drink for a femme that you are trying to chat up unless you have some level of commitment to a casual fúck.

K-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Never really had a bad expeirence with that as such,anyone i've ever gone out with i've been friends with first and so are always happy to pay half even when i insist. Call me old fashion but i think for the first few dates a man should pick up the tab,my current gf is still in college and only works part time so i dont expect her to pay for much althought alot of the time she insists in giving me half.
    Irish Women are certainly not a bad as the women on the continent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

The difference is between a gf who you know and knows/cares about you and some stranger you meet on a date.

Most of my girlfriends will allowed a little chivelry (just so in my head there was an illusion of manliness) but would always make sure things were pretty even.

I've met a few of the "A man has to treat me well to keep my interest" types and usually steer well clear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭retneil

Never had much of an issue with this apart from strangely enough american women chancing her arm looking for me to pay into a night club in dingle.. She picked the wrong paddy told her to sling her hook. One of these Ivy - League college ladies..

Eastern european women couldnt say a bad word about em they are great at cooking.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

An ex of mine started turning into one as well as a complete b*tch..

She changed a lot over the years from an easy going fun living girl in college to a spiteful ungrateful gold digger by the time I ended it..

Ive worked hard at my career and always worked hard in general whether it was in pubs during school and college and all of that but as time went on her ambition just disappeared and she settled into a job as a secretary in one of the health boards and slowly but surely adopted the attitude of all of the others in there... do as little as possible and milk the system for as much as psooible..

One girl who worked with her was dead sound, and I had met her a good few times out for meals and drinks etc was going out with a guy for years, and he had a serious accident in work, fecked up his back but got a huge amount of cash, then a relative of his died and he inherited a farm which he had spent most of his life working on during weekends and evening... so thoroughly deserved..

After that happened, this guy decided that his gf was the one for him, proposed, and then sold some of the land, built a nice house and bought her a nice car.. all that you would expect.. however neither of them changed a bit and were very willing to help anyone they could financially and otherwise

But my ex turned so sour against this girl just because she came into some money and decided that she would try and start milking me for every penny i had.. never saw anything like..

We would go for dinner, no sign of her even attempting to contribute unlike in the past, no hope of a round of drinks bought.. but yet expected me to buy both her and her friends drinks all night..

So after about 8 months of this, i had enuff and called it a day.. that was a few year ago.. and since then Ive heard some awful stories about how she's used guys and milked them for all they were worth and turned into an awful slapper too.. big difference from the girl I knew in college..

My advice is to avoid them at all costs as they are there just looking to get some sap to spend his money on them, its not hard to spot them either.. the will be the ones who have the same drink in front of them and make it kinda too obvious that they are trying to get your attention.

There are lots if Irish women out there who are just trying to land a man with money and to do that they have to go through quiet a few to see whos willing and whos not to spend their cash on them..

Ive worked in pubs and night clubs for years and until you see what ive seen then you wont believe me.. they are like leeches and its disgusting to see how far they will go to swindle a guy out of his hard earned cash..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭skipn_easy

Surely you could just say no to a gold-digger if you were uncomfortable with the situation? If the girl you're interested in doesn't show any signs of paying her own way or at least being grateful if you pay for her than you should just drop her.

The reason these girls are trying it on is because they know they will find some mug to pay for them into clubs and buy them drinks all night. Its time to stand up for yourselves.

Its nice and romantic to pay for a girl sometimes, but I would have thought it would be best to do that once you've known them a bit and can be sure they're not just interested in the size of your wallet. Genuine girls don't expect guys they've just met to pay for them, so you can easily tell if the girls a gold-digger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I have a simple rule about buying a girl a drink in a club - if she asks for it she's definitely not getting it (exception - if she buys me one first. Yes, I do ask.) :)

Recently happened me:

[scottish girl] Hey, I heard you talking to that guy. You're from here right? blah, blah. If you buy me a drink, I'll give you a dance!
    [me, in shock at the cheek] Eh, no. Hows abouts YOU buy ME a drink, and I'll give you the dance?
    [her] *sulks*

(btw this was 2003, not 1953 like you'd guess from the language)

I don't immediately offer to buy a drink, especially if I'm trying to chat her up. That's on the way to being prostitution, offering a girl material goods in order to obtain her company.

I can't tell you how many times I've seen this happen, but it's been lots (specially in US)

[some guy at bar] Uhh, hi! Can I buy you a drink?
    [good looking blonde] Sure, mine's a <insert expensive drink here>.
    [guy gets drinks]
    [good looking blonde] Well thanks! See ya around! *gone*

Idiot.

In a relationship things are different, and will depend on the circumstances of each party. E.g. my friend was living with his gf whilst in college and her working - she paid for a lot of stuff for him back then. Works both ways.

Simple rule is that if you invite someone on a first date somewhere, then you're obliged by normal rules of soceity to pay for it. After that, it's up to you to work it out.

One thing though, I know a guy who is paranoid about rounds and drinks - every day after he's been out the night before with us he complains that he spent more than everyone else, that so-and-so dodged the round, etc, etc. Don't be this guy, it's annoying.

Al.

Originally posted by Wyvern

bleh

Joe?!

I once went out with a lass who said openly" A mans job is to provide for her and that her idea of a dream relationship is being out on the lawn, eating strawberries and cream handed to her by the servants"
    Now..... She was Georgeous and her wicked smile was more than enough for any man to be going down to the credit union to take out a loan to pay the servants wages :D
    mm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

I went out with this girl for about 2 months who was nice and all but she just never paid for anything.
    After a couple of weeks she started booking resteraunts for us to eat in then she started inviting her friend too and ordering the most expensive stuff on the menu.
    Nevr did she even offer to pay for one.
    Now i like getting revenge, so i told her i got a huge raise and to book the most expensive resteraunt she could think of (the commons) and bring her friend. I phoned her on the day and said i had to work late but they should go on and i'ld meet them there.
    Then i phoned when they were there and said i'ld be a bit later still start without me and have some champagne to celebrate my raise.
    So i phone later again and say i'm on my way how was the champagne. Great she says.
    Then a few minutes later i called and said sorry i wont be there i have to work late and she went ****ing nuts.
    Said she didnt have the money to pay for the stuff.
    'You're ****ing dumped' i said and hung up.
    And got called about 3 times to come down and make it up.
    It cost me about a tenner in phone calls but probably cost her hundreds the bitch.
    Needless to say we never spoke again.
    Oh god it makes feel good telling that one again.

Originally posted by DaithiSurfer

Then a few minutes later i called and said sorry i wont be there i have to work late and she went ****ing nuts.

lol! Fscking nice one! Virtual handshake for that one!! :)

Hey, Man, you should have asked her how she'd have time away from cooking dinner and cleaning the house...

Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

Originally posted by DaithiSurfer
    I went out with this girl for about 2 months who was nice and all but she just never paid for anything.
    After a couple of weeks she started booking resteraunts for us to eat in then she started inviting her friend too and ordering the most expensive stuff on the menu.
    Nevr did she even offer to pay for one.
    Now i like getting revenge, so i told her i got a huge raise and to book the most expensive resteraunt she could think of (the commons) and bring her friend. I phoned her on the day and said i had to work late but they should go on and i'ld meet them there.
    Then i phoned when they were there and said i'ld be a bit later still start without me and have some champagne to celebrate my raise.
    So i phone later again and say i'm on my way how was the champagne. Great she says.
    It cost me about a tenner in phone calls but probably cost her hundreds the bitch.
    Needless to say we never spoke again.
    Oh god it makes feel good telling that one again.

Brilliant!! :D:D sounds like a scene from a Guy Richie movie.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Jesus DaithiSurfer - that's some dump!
    Originally posted by DUX
    On my experience Russian and eastern european in general are real diggers
    That's my experience, I nearly married one of those Russian women too until I came to my senses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Gold diggers

Come on guys, you know when your being taken for a ride (all possible permutations of the meaning here) and when you're not.

I can't say, I've had much experience of chicks after money from me...

Occasionally I'll spoil a girl, but, honestly, if you're dumb enough to throw your cash around random strangers in clubs, then it's probably your own fault anyway.

It has to be said though, the sort of low life who goes to clubs, to try and pull drinks out of men are novices.

The real sharks will locate a man/woman with money, a car, poperty or similar and exploit it to their own ends... usually with a random lovers to keep them entertained.
    When I say gold digger, that's what I mean... I don't think random slappers in bars constitue gold diggers.

That said... get me drunk enough... and I conslut with just about anybody.

Oh lord.

DaithiSurfer

You have issues really...

don't you?

That's my experience, I nearly married one of those Russian women too until I came to my senses.

I wouldn't say my previous Russian girlfriend was a gold digger, but, I think it would be quite fair to say, Iana was probably more interested in coming back to Ireland, then in coming back to me, specifically.

*sigh*... maybe that's just what "I" thought... due to paranoia[1]

[1]
    Paranoia :
    A healthy understand of how the world works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by Typedef
    Gold diggers

[1]
    Paranoia :
    A healthy understand of how the world works.

i think thats called cynacism actually......

im not sure are people taking about a girl you are dating for a while, or whether its someone you meet in a bar/club, but i went out with a girl for about 3 dates and not once did she buy anything. i have no problem going out and paying for everything once, becuase i think its a nice treat, and its not as if i would have had an expensive first type date anyway. i mean, cinema and a few beers aint gonna break the bank.
    but after 3 or 4 dates when you pay everything i mentioned it to her, and she said that it was the man's things to do, pay the beers etc, and i cant remember what the womens thing was. i certainly know it wasnt giving hand jobs in the cinema or inviting me home for record shagfests!
    so she was dumped.
    but i dont think anyone ever asked me to buy them a drink in a club. i have certainly bought drinks for people, but thats after starting to chat to them, and you buy drink to keep them talking to you a bit longer. its just a way of prolonging the intereaction and hopefully getting het to like you more :)
    mind you, ive also had some drinks bought for me like this, so what goes around etc. i dont think anyone has come up to me and asked what i was drinking either though.
    still, its much easier to have a partner, and all this then becomes obselete :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I think the whole of england are gold diggers. In UIreland, correct me if I'm wrong, Is it not the norm if you go out with friends etc, to ask "What are ya having?" as you walk into the bar with the automatic knowledge that you will get a drink bought back? Well I did this in England for a while, DON'T I never once was bought back a drink, it was kind of thanks..... and every time they went to the bar they'd never buy you one back. This was blokes and women..... I have only ever come across one woman, a lady friend of mine that would as never accept a drink from me, or if I just handed her one, would always buy me one back. Neeless to say I get on very well with her;)

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Originally posted by Trojan
    I have a simple rule about buying a girl a drink in a club - if she asks for it she's definitely not getting it (exception - if she buys me one first. Yes, I do ask.) :)

Recently happened me:

[scottish girl] Hey, I heard you talking to that guy. You're from here right? blah, blah. If you buy me a drink, I'll give you a dance!
    [me, in shock at the cheek] Eh, no. Hows abouts YOU buy ME a drink, and I'll give you the dance?
    [her] *sulks*

(btw this was 2003, not 1953 like you'd guess from the language)

I don't immediately offer to buy a drink, especially if I'm trying to chat her up. That's on the way to being prostitution, offering a girl material goods in order to obtain her company.

I can't tell you how many times I've seen this happen, but it's been lots (specially in US)

[some guy at bar] Uhh, hi! Can I buy you a drink?
    [good looking blonde] Sure, mine's a <insert expensive drink here>.
    [guy gets drinks]
    [good looking blonde] Well thanks! See ya around! *gone*

Idiot.

I was at the bar in the Bank the other night, (across from the Central Bank) and this guy comes over to me and says:

"Hi, you look amazing, will you buy me a drink?"

-- i was slightly flabbergasted :)

And no, I didn't buy him a drink! I was on my way home with bronchitis and just getting a water.

But in general I tend to do rounds with guys.

<< Fio >>

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

you know something lads
    ye are all a bunch of sad bastids

when you meet someone you cannot wait to buy them drink, why?
    cos you want a shag!
    the girl knows this, she's not stupid
    so you continue to buy the drink instead of waiting for her to get the next round/go dutch, before you know it, you're paying for everything, why? cos you want your shag and don't want to rock the boat
    you've all got mouths in your heads, you don't like the situation then open them instead of coming on here (again) to bitch about women
    suckers will always be taken advantage of

if some bloke treated me the way you let these girls treat you, he'd be dropped like a hot snot

oh and btw

I was out last night with a russian girl
    guess what?
    she bought me a drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Originally posted by Beruthiel
    you know something lads

Haha, good call there!

I mean fellas, c'mon, if you're the kinda person who's gonna let yourself get financially-walked-over by anything in a skirt then you deserve everything you get.

At least a couple of the guys here who got stuck with golddiggers had the common sence to kick them out the door once the behaviour started getting unacceptable.

As for buying drinks for women .... it's a mugs game. I won't even go up to the bar to pick up a womans round .... let alone pay for it and it hasn't done me any harm in the past.

Equality rocks yeah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

Originally posted by Pigman II
    Haha, good call there!

I mean fellas, c'mon, if you're the kinda person who's gonna let yourself get financially-walked-over by anything in a skirt then you deserve everything you get.

At least a couple of the guys here who got stuck with golddiggers had the common sence to kick them out the door once the behaviour started getting unacceptable.

As for buying drinks for women .... it's a mugs game. I won't even go up to the bar to pick up a womans round .... let alone pay for it and it hasn't done me any harm in the past.

Equality rocks yeah!

And with one word, Pigman has described the cure for anyone who's ever had a gold-digger make a mug of them. Yanno what that word is? Equality. They want a drink, yeah? Let them get it themselves. There's isn't just a fine line between courtesy and being a mug - there's a massive canyon.
    And what the hell does the word Gold-digger mean anyway??? No such thing. I'd call those women 'opportunists'. They see an opening and take it. Two sides to every story Dudes, she may be taking the pi$$, but you're the mug thats playing right into it.

<b>you know something lads
    ye are all a bunch of sad bastids</b>

Bit of a sweeping generalisation there B. I've never been suckered by these supposed gold-diggers (read: opportunists).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I was listening to the "Adrian Kennedy show" a few nights ago (Radio 104) and "Gold diggers" was the topic of the conversation...... it looked like in Ireland there are quite a few gold diggers around, although on my personal experience I don't think Irish girls are diggers, not at all.

The Adrian Kennedy phoneshow is the trashiest programme on Irish radio. I listen occasionally just for the laugh. The stupidity of the people who ring up that show is amazing. The majority of people who ring up are messers, scumbags, thick eejits, stupid kids, drunks etc. So I wouldn't pay any attention to their opinions on "gold diggers" or anything else for that matter.

BrianD3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

When I date guys. I expect the man to pay for the first date, espically if he askes me out. Now don't get me wrong. I have asked guys out before and I have even paid for entire dates. And yes we know most of the lot of you are thinking with what's under your pants anyhow! I agree Berutheil. When the girls and I usually go out a gruop of guys will usually end up buying our drinks for a bit but why????? They want the shag. They think were ewasy and if were out in a club then we must be easy....Guess what guys....We canhave our fun to. Maybe it is us out looking for the shag...So you should watch your pouty mouths and enjoy the conversation. If you chatted to us for a bit before getting us slammered you might learn a thing or two. Sorry if it sounds harsh but don't pout about buying us things when most of you know the point behind your buyings!

I think I may have gotten into a bad mood. EEEEPPPPP:eek:

My whole point is try another way to start conversation with us besides the whole can I buy you a drink. Swift, sweet words and a little attention will do you more good with a girl than your wallets. And if you feel the need to be nice and buy something sweet for your girl assuming you are boyfriend and girlfreind, and she don't act as if she appreciates it your not in a good relationship. GET OUT and don't continue to get pounced on!

Ending my rant now!
    DR

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

When I am out and talking with someone in a club or something
    I usually ask them if they're going to buy me a drink first
    Its just a way of seeing if they're out to skank you or not, I know by there responce to them buying me the first drink insteed,
    then after that I would buy them a couple, but in return they usually buy me them back because I can tell what they're like by them buying me a drink first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

I usually ask them if they're going to buy me a drink first
    That not only would make me laugh, but would get you a free drink off me. That is more the road to travel Lenny:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

Originally posted by DriftingRain
    My whole point is try another way to start conversation with us besides the whole can I buy you a drink. Swift, sweet words and a little attention will do you more good with a girl than your wallets.

You've obviously never been to dublin then!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭skittishkitten

Guess what guys....We canhave our fun to. Maybe it is us out looking for the shag...DR

SHHHHHH !!!!!!!! DON'T TELL THEM !! :eek: Then they will KNOW we're after something besides their money and it's going to make them SO much harder to hunt !!! ;):D

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

That not only would make me laugh, but would get you a free drink off me. That is more the road to travel Lenny:D

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

..... maybe some of us just have too much money and want to spend it all on women/firends.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

If you get taken for a ride by a woman its because you haven't learned the game yet. I actually enjoy seeing blokes getting taken for a ride (Barman for years) and I find it dead sexy when I see a woman being a predator in order to get what she wants, as long as she does it with finesse and retains her own femininity and dignity.

One time I was working in a bar and and this little ugly blonde comes up and I mean ugly....
    Dunno what she was thinking.

"Hi I have no money left will you give me a free drink?"

I laughed her out of the bar, a little while later I saw her saying it to punters.
    That was the final straw as this is akin to begging in my book.

I got security on my walkie talkie and had her thrown out.

Ladies,
    Theres no such thing as a free lunch, if you get something for free it's because the person you're with is the price, they're obviously sadcase bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

I'm fascinated that sex in Ireland now appears to be a commodity that can be purchased with alcohol.

If you want to buy someone a drink, buy them a drink. As long as you understand that all you are doing is purchasing a beverage that someone else is going to imbibe.

If you want to talk to someone, talk to them. If their drink runs out and you dont want them to head off to the bar and perhaps not come back, offer them a drink if you want to. If she says "yes, and my mates will have X Y and Z with a straw please" be straight up - "not out of my pocket they wont darlin, I was just over here for a chat, not a personal loan". Anyone who'd take advantage like that is most probably a stingy bitch anyhow.

Why would you buy someone two drinks in a row? In my opinion it's just rude for a girl to finish her drink and then sit waiting for you to get another. Why would you want to be around someone rude?

In addition if you're willing to shell out the price of five drinks in a Dublin nightclub in the hope of sex, why not keep your money in your pocket and conduct a cash-for-sex transaction later on with a woman who makes her living off that kind of thing?

If a bloke came up to me in a bar and asked me to buy him a drink, I'd tell him to shove it up his arse and get lost. Then again, that's the response I'd expect in the unlikely event that I approached someone in a bar and asked them to buy me a drink.

I love beer. It makes me sad to see it used as a middle-man in prostitution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Originally posted by Minesajackdaniels
    I'm fascinated that sex in Ireland now appears to be a commodity that can be purchased with alcohol.

that goes back to the old traditions of the leopner ,
    the leg opener, when a guy would ask to get a girl a drink and have the bar man heap alchol in it to get the young lady tipsy so that the guy would have some hope in talking her into misbehaving. Grand old tradiation here and well ryhipnoly is the just the next step up from that.

This does in fact assume that with out chemicals being introduced in such a fashion young ladies would not be intrested in sex.
    oh how things have changed in ireland but not enough apprently for to people to size each up in a bar and then descreetly enquire if the other person would fancy 50mins of the others undivided time to start with.

Being drunk is used to justify a lot of behaviour that people know they should feel ok about but find they are still far too instilled with what irish society , the church and thier parents sees as unacceptible. having unprotected sex while drunk is less of a sin then being careful and sober.

the end result is a lot of silly games and as majd pbut is drink being used as a middleman, pretense and excuse .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

Me to girl at the bar: "Can I buy you a drink, or do you just want the money?"

Tends to avoid any ambiguity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Originally posted by DUX
    Any experience on dates with girls who were real gold diggers? Or simply with girls who would never put their hands on their wallet even to just pay you a drink?
    The woman’s background plays a part. Some cultures define gender roles more traditionally than in Ireland, and even within Irish culture some families bring up daughters in a more traditional fashion than others.

Such women are not gold diggers in fairness. If you want to meet or even settle down with a girl who will cook and clean for you, then remember that your side of the bargain is you’re footing the bill. If you want to be with a peer or an equal, then learn to do your own ironing.

As for the gold diggers in clubs or even on dates, mentioned by many here, these are women/girls who have realized that men will happily fork over plenty of money trying to ply them with booze, in the hope of seducing them. A fool and his money is easily parted, tbh.

It’s said that the difference between sex for money and sex for free, is sex for money costs less. As such I’d tend to concur with Madj; if I wanted to pay for sex, I’d use a professional rather than one of these leeches (who seem to get very upset when you refuse to have anything to do with them).
    Originally posted by Minesajackdaniels
    I love beer. It makes me sad to see it used as a middle-man in prostitution.
    What’s always amused me is that if you were to ask a group of Irishmen and women when was the last time they kissed someone romantically for the first time stone cold sober, you’d be faced with an awkward silence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

Originally posted by The Corinthian
    What’s always amused me is that if you were to ask a group of Irishmen and women when was the last time they kissed someone romantically for the first time stone cold sober, you’d be faced with an awkward silence.

ah sorry, we dont all have your confidence :p

you know something lads

when you meet someone you cannot wait to buy them drink, why?
    cos you want a shag!
    the girl knows this, she's not stupid
    so you continue to buy the drink instead of waiting for her to get the next round/go dutch, before you know it, you're paying for everything, why? cos you want your shag and don't want to rock the boat

Don't make any gross assumptions or generalisations there.

My whole point is try another way to start conversation with us besides the whole can I buy you a drink. Swift, sweet words and a little attention will do you more good with a girl than your wallets.

I might go along with this, except we are talking about a country where the culture is based around drink.

When two people meet in this country, especially in Dublin, they generally meet for a drink, be they friends, relatives, gf/bfs or people dating.

Its a sad fact but its true. I don't think buying adrink here has the same implications taht it does in other countries, people will buy a drink for strangers cheering the same team in a pub for gods sake. So I think its a little presumtious to say that every person who buys a girl a drink is after a shag (I've often bought drinks for girls that I would never ever sleep with).

A drink or two is nothing, I have no problem buying around and not getting one in return. What I do think is wrong is when it is consistantly expected and when it evolves to meals, trips etc etc.

Originally posted by Seraphina
    ah sorry, we dont all have your confidence :p
    No, it’s a cultural rather than personality issue. In Ireland, amongst other countries, alcohol and the Dutch courage that it supplies is effectively instilled at an early age, resulting in a culture where never having had a first kiss sober is not unusual. This is not the case in all cultures or countries, where they can’t all be naturally confident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

i was just takin the pish really, fact is i'd say alot of people dont drink to be confident(altho of course there are people who do), but sometimes if they've been talking to a guy/girl all night or are out on the first date or whatever by the time they get around to kissing its the end of the evening and they just happen to be not so sober anyway. its not alway intentional
    /me shrugs
    i've had plenty of sober first kisses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

I personally don't like taking things/drinks from people unless I'm able to pay them back at some stage, preferably that same evening. I feel bad and it makes me uncomfortable. I like to pay my way. In a relationship I'd like things to be 50/50 on the spending front as I don't like to take advantage of someones generosity etc.

Ummm... dunno where I'm going with this really.

oh and btw

I was out last night with a russian girl
    guess what?
    she bought me a drink

Clearly

she was a spy!

Nah.

Honestly though, I think that most of the hostility to women you find in discussions like these comes from men, who, don't have much luck with women.

Which is an obvious statement, like
    "The last place you look for something, is where you find it"

lads

Yes, we are. Just like all the girls on this thread are feminazi dyke gold-diggers...

Al.

Originally posted by Typedef
    she was a spy!

is that right type?
    what info was she pumping me for?? :D

feminazi dyke gold-diggers...

feck!
    I've been sussed!

To all those comments on my ‘sweeping statements’

Obviously :rolleyes: it was aimed solely at the individuals who commented in agreement on this thread and not at the total male population – I am quite aware of the fact that there are men out there who have more intelligence than to be suckered in this manner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

Nobody bar the odd robber, scumbag e.t.c. *forces* anyone to part with their money.

If someone chooses to spend money on any person that is soley their own decision.

The best solution to all this b1tching is to just only pay for your own things. Finito.

If/when you are in a stable enough relationship then yes, if you so choose, spend some money on your partner.

Gold diggers, as they are being called, are there for a reason, there are people who will give them what they want. When you elimate the people giving, you'll eliminate the people taking. Seems pretty logical to me.

A.

Originally posted by b3t4
    Gold diggers, as they are being called, are there for a reason, there are people who will give them what they want. When you elimate the people giving, you'll eliminate the people taking. Seems pretty logical to me.
    This is true, but it should not be used as a justification. By your same logic, con men are only there because there are people who will give them what they want and if you elimate the people giving, you'll eliminate the people taking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Folks,

The rounds sytem must be honoured at all times....its sacred.

Anyone who bitches out of a round or tries to freeload has no honour, and yes...i'm including fit birds in this as well. Just because you're female doesn't mean you shouldn't be digging into your pocket and getting in a round....and yes...carry it back yourself. You are as physically able as anyone else.

In the past i have indeed made a point out of saying it to people "Its not you round is it???? Ah sure grand i'll have a cralsberg."

And don't start me on those f*ckers who drink vodka and reb bull in a round system......yeah sure you can have one, but pony up for the difference.!

At the end of the day, if these silly tarts are knocking us over the head with equality for wages and job positions then its fair play to turn around and expect them to get in a round when its their turn.....

Lads....get it sorted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

Oops never wanted to sound like I was justifying this gold digging lark.

Fair point Corinthian :)

A.

Originally posted by b3t4
    Fair point Corinthian :)
    Your point was understandable given that one generally has the overwhelming temptation to slap these chumps around when one sees them being taken in ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Originally posted by Peace
    And don't start me on those f*ckers who drink vodka and reb bull in a round system......yeah sure you can have one, but pony up for the difference.!
    I'd agree that the round system is sacrosanct but thats going it too far towards scabbiness for me.

I wouldn't expect anyone drinking a short and split to throw me the couple of euro differnce between it and my pint pint of Carlsberg. Thats just ... sad.

Whats next? Me giving a guinness drinker 50p everytime he goes and gets me a pint?

Drinkings supposed to be fun for christ sake.