Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

White Socks!

• 13-07-2003 12:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭

Does anybody remember the 80's craze of wearing white sports socks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Given that it was a "craze", most people who were alive in the 1980s will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Sandi

ARGH! White socks! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooo!!!

Unless the socks are part of a sports kit then they shouldn't be worn. Does anyone remember when they first started secondary school? A friend of mine used to wear little white ankle socks with a frill around the top! Then she copped on. As we got older, we used to laugh at the first years whose trousers were too short and wore white socks. Mean I know, but kids are cruel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

White socks and sandals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Originally posted by Sandi
    As we got older, we used to laugh at the first years whose trousers were too short and wore white socks.

I hated people like you.
    Made my life hell.
    :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

I don't see a problem in wearing white socks as long as their with the right clothes i.e. not black trousers, like a tracksuit or gym wear,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Senor_Fudge

the blues brothers
    jake and elwood great moment for white socks + black suits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i have loads of white socks, i seem to be able to wear them without being slagged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

Originally posted by ferdi
    i have loads of white socks, i seem to be able to wear them without being slagged.

PHUCKING GAY 80'S MIAMI VICE WHITE SOCK WEARING WANKER!!!!!!!!!

not any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

In the words of Colm Meaney in "The Van".....

"Jaysus, sure only **** wear white socks!" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I like white socks.
    They dont leave scummy looking black lint on your feet.

Mind you, I'm wearing black socks now, so what can I say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

White socks and black pants. Its ****ing horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

There was one guy in my class who used wear girle white socks.

But white socks + slip on shoes would probably be a case for the Fashion Police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

Originally posted by Cork
    There was one guy in my class who used wear girle white socks.

But white socks + slip on shoes would probably be a case for the Fashion Police.

Funny you should say that.....in my day it was white socks with black slipons. Better still if they were a mixture of suede and patent leather. With tassles. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

my brother used to wear the fonze thing so thats how i got the nickname little fonze :p. Ugh white socks and slip on shoes with the turned up jeans funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

From earlier than that remember the what we called Kool Aid Socks.

They were the tall white socks with the two or three wide colored bands right below the knee. God I loved those socks. I must set out in search for more of those socks, as goofy looking as they were and still are I love them...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

I've been living in America for the last 5 or 6 months and at my gym all the lads wear white ankle socks! You see these huge gimps strutting around in a pair of socks that a 6 year old girl would turn her nose to. I asked one of em what the story was with the socks and he said it made your calf look bigger :rolleyes: .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

I've been living in America for the last 5 or 6 months and at my gym all the lads wear white ankle socks! You see these huge gimps strutting around in a pair of socks that a 6 year old girl would turn her nose to. I asked one of em what the story was with the socks and he said it made your calf look bigger

HEHEHEHE I live in the U.S. that dumb guy just couldn't think of anything better to say. My brother wears them ulgy socks...They are just in style right now. As I stick to soft white cotton crews :D
    Who knows???:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Those white socks that are barely visible above the line of a runner/basketball boot are big in a the moment with basktball players and very comfortable to.. bought a few pairs when in Canada last year..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Zaphod B

Originally posted by aidan_dunne
    In the words of Colm Meaney in "The Van".....

"Jaysus, sure only **** wear white socks!" :D

So the Blues Brothers are ****?! :eek: kill the blasphemer!
    Rise up my white sock-wearing brothers and sisters, seize emancipation for we who are devoid of taste!

.....tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭GRAHAM2002

Allways thought of them as the last resort when the sock drawer becomes empty:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

Never got into that craze, thank goodness. Although I often wear white socks now. I have about 10 black socks and every single one is an odd sock :rolleyes: Actually, they're not really black, they range from charcoal grey to dark dark navy, each a shade apart.

At least my nice white socks don't do stupid things like that :)

Well, except when mother went and washed 5 pairs of fairly new snow white socks with a blood red tee :mad:

I'd never wear white socks with shoes or jeans though. Sheesh, even I know better than that! (OK, so it was pointed out to me several years back in work :p)

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭telecinesk

Remember in school the "fashion" victims with the combo of white socks, stonewashed denim or was it the "grey" trousers pinstriped denim and orrible blocky doc shoes red I gather..
    Nooooo Noooo not again ever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭one-angry-dwarf

if youre ever planning on streaking, wear white socks. black socks will just look stupid.... well ...stupider.:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

RE: Actually, they're not really black, they range from charcoal grey to dark dark navy, each a shade apart

So they're not Priest's socks then....
    - suggest you pay a visit to HabitHat :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Zaphod B

I.... really.... don't.... get.... this.... :confused:

I wear white socks. Normal white socks. Not tiny ankle socks, plain white cotton socks. OK so I wouldn't wear them with formal shoes, but I always wear em with my Vans and Gravis shoes. And jeans. No one has ever suggested I was doing anything embarrassing or 'retro' by wearing white socks :/ until now...

This is fascinating. I think a dissertation on international sock culture is in order. This could be the key to world peace... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭ozpass

So in the grand scheme of things are white socks more or less naff than 'novelty' socks (Homer eating a doughnut etc.) or those putrid luminous socks that did the rounds for several minutes in the mid-80's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

Never, ever wear them outside the gym.

White socks are taboo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

A few years ago - I saw a video of a band wearing flares. I tought people could never wear flares again. They are back.

So, white socks - be afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Billy Turdhed

I used to have seven pairs of white socks and I wore them with black slip on shoes with tassles....one at a time...I thought I was the bees knees,till I heard a girl say at a disco.Heres that w****r
    Billy Turdhed,I wouldn't be caught dead with him in gear like that
    Don't know why,but I went off the white socks shortly after that...changed over to yellow. Still couldnt pull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭evie

I have one word for the White socks craze - nnnnnnooooooooooooooooooo!
    That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Eppie

why, what's wrong with white socks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

Here's a fact:

The official term for people who wear white socks with black pants and shoes is - "A Pleb".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭JessieG

im wearing white sox balck pants and red shoes personally i think its an achievement that they actually match today as opposed to my usual green and blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

White socks are fine as long as they're concealed by your trousers. Obviously if your trousers are too short, then you just look silly.