Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you hate?

• 25-06-2003 11:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭

I really hate when i go into the bathroom to find a book of mine on the floor cos i know my bro's been reading it......there.I feel like burning it in a ceremonial mass for dispelling evil.Why would someone do that!!! But anyway....what do YOU hate??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

I hate pointless threads that have been flogged to death on this forum :p

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭neohoki

i also hate cruel people on boards :'(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I hate these parents,more often than not snobby D4 types,who after their 3 year old has rammed their car door into yours the parent doesnt even give as much as an apologetic smile.They just dont give a fcuk.Its not the kids fault seeing they are only young but the parents could have a bit of cop on.
    I also hate telemarketers who call when you are in bed.Have had 3 this week.
    People who,even though they are generally sound,take out their phone constantly to let everyone see them using it.And then scroll down the numbers in order to let you see how many people they know.The types who put things like POLICE and HOSPITAL in their list just to make it longer.Really pisses me off.And the problem has gotten chronic what with picture phones.
    Politicians like Blair and Bertie who,no matter how many times they lie,have some fall guy waiting to take the flak when it looks as if they might finally be exposed.
    When a tv show is postponed because of tennis or snooker or something overunning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

i fecking hate slugs!

i just went outside in my socks to take a leak & i trod on one of the bastards!
    and i'm just too lazy to change my socks so i've got slug gibs all over my sock:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

eew....slug juice

i hate people asking for money...i always end up giving it to whoever i feel most intimidated by, so i don't have any change by the time someone who looks like they might actually need it comes along

ie: when they hit your pockets to indicate thats where your money is...or when theres a few of them....or they won't go away..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Like Asuka, i hate threads called "things you Hate?" :D:D

Anyway whats wrong with your bro reading in the jacks.. unless its maybe porn in which case i understand why...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

seeing as there are new ppl joining boards all the time, maybe an old post is one they haven't seen, so I don't see any harm in bringing it up again.

things I hate.....
    the huge traffic bottleneck coming into ashford,
    my paltry pay packet,
    the way one side of my hair sticks out and the other side is dead straight,
    they're just today's woes..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

RE: Slugs

why would you go outside for a leak??? do u live in a tent???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

not again....
    Originally posted by commuterised
    seeing as there are new ppl joining boards all the time, maybe an old post is one they haven't seen, so I don't see any harm in bringing it up again.

There was a thread similar to this 6 days ago

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=95674

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

I hate Irish public transport, namely Irish Rail. I don't think they know the meaning of the word 'competent'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

Organised Religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

1. [Most] Politicians
    2. Capitalism / Globalisation in recent forms
    3. Nazism
    4. Racism
    5. Belly Button Fluff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 trickster

im not too fond of old people, no real reason i just dont like them

I HATE!!!!!!

people who go on about the government when they decide to spend money upgrading our paltry meagre defence forces equipment, and then sit back while they order a shiny new f*ck off jet for themselves while cancelling our 5 badly needed new Search and Rescue helicopters, and cancelling plans for new trainer jet aircraft for the aircorps.

we have only 10,000 service men and women, we spend less than 0.2% GDP on defence and we should have an effective SAR capability which is sovereignly owned by the people of ireland not rented out like those 3 big red and white rescue choppers we are borrowing at the mo.

We should be able to defend our nation without depending on other countries to step in, we have no aircraft capable of intercepting anything faster than a seagul!!

we have no air defence missile or radar system capable of targetting and hitting anything above 10,000 feet,

we have not enough ships to defend the largest area of sea in europe owned by a single country

we have 8 naval vessels and no more.

we need more surveilance aircraft to catch illegal fishing and drugs smuggling,

we need more armoured vehicles and transport aircraft to fly people and equipment out to trouble spots in the world to support us when we are peacekeeping, as is we have to rent equipement from the UN armories of other countries.

I hate all of this and more, but im afraid most people here wont agree with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by neohoki
    I really hate when i go into the bathroom to find a book of mine on the floor cos i know my bro's been reading it......there.I feel like burning it in a ceremonial mass for dispelling evil.Why would someone do that!!! But anyway....what do YOU hate??
    Loose toilet seats that lurch sideways when you sit on them, trapping leg hair between seat and bowl.
    Originally posted by Saruman
    Anyway whats wrong with your bro reading in the jacks.. unless its maybe porn in which case i understand why...
    Ah, but whose porn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

Originally posted by Monty - the one and only
    not again....

There was a thread similar to this 6 days ago

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=95674

ok I musta missed it then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i hate Bertie and his ministers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

Morpheus,
    I agree with you 100% !!!

It's a disgrace that the government are going to spend c.€70 MILLION on two new jets which are NOT required !

The current jet has a service life of at least anothe 10 years.
    This jet, along with another jet (leased for six months), would be adequate for our EU Presidency term next year.

But, Oh no, Bertie wants 2 new jets to "swan around in" :mad:

And yet the contract for the 5 new Search and Rescue helicopters was cancelled last year due to "lack of funds" :confused:

I hate the way Bertie and his cronies are squandering our money !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:mad: :mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Vlad_Tepes

I love France, I studied there for 4 years, the frenchies are great..
    But I hate frenchies when they drive a car...it's f****dangerous to drive in Paris....
    What I also hate are false people, who play a different role with every person they meet. Liars. Be yourself and not a parody of yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Isn't Ireland neutral? Why spend money on defence when we can leech off other countries...... surely it would be a better idea to soend the money on roads, rail etc...... instead of on jets, tanks, big METAL FÚCKING DICKS in the middle of dublin etc.....

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

I hate sheep. They completely and utterly repulse me.
    And Im not so keen on parsnips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭BoobeR

I hate Hedgehogs as they hurt meh (grr!)
    I hate n00bs who call everyone n00bs ;):p

Originally posted by Morphéus
    RE: Slugs

why would you go outside for a leak??? do u live in a tent???

eh, no.
    i live in the arse end of nowhere, no neighbors, hedges & trees all around & a massive garden...

i just take a whizz in the garden to avoid making noise going up the stairs to the toilet

Lump,
    Yes, Ireland is neutral but so is Switzerland, Sweden and Finland and yet they have properly equipped defence forces.
    The Swedes even have Stealth Warships - something even the Yanks don't have !

Now I'm not suggesting that Ireland should be spending enormous amounts of money on military hardware, but we should at least have a minimum level of defence equipment.

If we are a "mature" nation then surely we should be standing up for ourselves and not be "leeching" off other countries.

We don't even have a squadron of jets to patrol our airspace at present !!!

About 8 jets would be adequate - cost c.€70 million i.e the amount Bertie wants to spend on his new "Bertie Air Corps One" VIP jets :mad:

And yet Air Corps pilots are flying about every day in 40 year old helicopters !

I'm talking about a small (c.45 aircraft), well equipped Air Corps with modern aircraft.
    (They currently have 35 aircraft of which 32 need replacement within the next few years).

It's all abou proper management.
    The money for hospitals, roads, schools etc. AND defence would be there if the taxpayers money was properly managed.

Silvera.

Well, I'm not disagreeing that Ireland need to get the finger out..... look at the bloody port tunnel for crying out loud. Made a nice balls up of that didnt they. I do agree that Ireland needs to spend money on rescue helicopters etc, I dont think it is a major concern to spend money on fighter jets and all that. Get the country sorted first roads hospitals and all the rest.

It has to be said though that it was the irish people that voted the government in. We have no-one to blame but the majority of the people. Its not like this is the first term of the government. And I'm sure it could be dissolved if people really wanted it to happen.

My two cent.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭therannu

What I hate the most is dozy people who walk too slowly in towns. Some of us have work to go to. Also, boring music by boys with guitars i.e. Travis.

Lump,

Agree on Rescue helis being the priority for the Air Corps.

I think it was more a case of -

"The Opposition lost the election" rather than
    "The Government won". :(

Regards,
    Silvera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭oneweb

There's only one thing I hate about summer - flies. Dirty bast*rds. Hate them. They land on dogsh!t/other such nasty stuff and later find their way into the house and land on everything. And the noise they make too. And it's just flies - wasps and bees I have no problem with 'cos they only land on jam and flowers and they won't sting unless you rile them.

Charlie McCreevy. The word incompetent just isn't strong enough. For example, Drop the VAT rate by a percent - OMG Charlie, what a genuinely good idea. But then the man copped that most shops didn't reduce their prices by anything, let alone 1%. So what did he do? He restored the VAT to its original rate, the net effect being that prices actually went up by another percent as shops that never reduced their prices then upped them. :mad:

Those gypsies with the baby that come up to you in town and say something (I've not figured it out, nor do I intend putting the effort into trying). If you're gonna come to a country to beg, at least have the courtesy to learn words like please and a few others.

Those appeal ads with the old woman and her dodgy, shaky voice. "Plehease help thehese peheople" bla bla. Trying to make people feel guilty. tsk :rolleyes:

Those "can I take 20 seconds of your time" and "I'm selling lottery tickets for bla" people. Where do I collect the prize if I win? "I'll be here next week". Yah riiiiiight!

It is what it's.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by Kalina
    I hate Irish public transport, namely Irish Rail. I don't think they know the meaning of the word 'competent'.

I don't use Iarnród Éireann much, when I do it’s mostly Intercity Rail and beside the track improvements I’ve never had much problems with them.

Any how I do use Bus Éireann quite a bit and have no complaints but the condition of the odd bus and the fact they run two much so on time making me miss the bus :)

Originally posted by therannu
    What I hate the most is dozy people who walk too slowly in towns. Some of us have work to go to.
    ah jesus, that really gets my goat too. people with prams are the worst:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by BoobeR
    I hate Hedgehogs as they hurt meh
    How do they hurt you? ;)

I was walking past a neighbours front gate when, in the half-light, I saw the biggest, fattest rat I had ever seen - then I realised it was a hedgehog. :)

LOL at that last post.....

john

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Ry

#1: SCUMBAGS (For everything they do. Too many things to list about them. Mainly for getting in peoples faces and just generally existing)

#2: D4 Types. The ones who have such small naive minds that the most important thing to them is what brand their next pair of shoes will be. I hate their way of life and thought. I know far too many of them for my liking too, having been in school with them all my life!

#3: Men who cheat on women and vice versa!

Ry

Originally posted by Lump
    Isn't Ireland neutral? Why spend money on defence when we can leech off other countries...... surely it would be a better idea to soend the money on roads, rail etc...... instead of on jets, tanks, big METAL FÚCKING DICKS in the middle of dublin etc.....

John

Actually technically we arent neutral and never have been.

In our constitution, we have a "neutral defence and foreign policy", its only policy and not law, I.E. we aint muckin around in other countries wars unless our own interests are at risk.

To be a grown up western neutral power we need our OWN defence, and its TIME irish people understood that.

I stated 0.2%GDP is spent on defence, I meant 0.9%, thats not a lot of cash, the gov probably blows more on printer paper in the DAIL in a year. TANZANIA, SAO TOME MOLDOVA and MAURITIAS are other places that spend that kind of money on defence, SWEDEN is neutral and spends 2.1% GDP, FINLAND spends 2% and is also neutral, FOR GOD's SAKE, Latvia spend 1.2% and they cant even win the EUROVISION! we are the laughing stock of europe.

NEUTRALITY works both ways, you dont need a big enough military to invade someone else,

but you DO NEED enough military to be happy and secure where you are,

we should be able to patrol our own skies without asking for the brits to help (which we do)

we should be able to rescue people at sea without asking the brits to help (which we do) or by renting choppers from a company at extortionate rates which we will NEVER own in the long run (which we do, see big red and white coastguard chopper??? not ours....)

we should be able to patrol the largest surface area of territorial seas owned by ANY other european power to stop drug smuggling, illegal fishing etc. YES WE DO own the most sea!! but we have the smallest EUROPEAN navy, 7 ships, which are all underpowered, underfunded and undermanned. Each time there is a storm and a fishing boat or merchant ship gets into trouble it is the Naval Service which is called to go to the rescue. Despite one of the largest territorial waters in the EU, we have one of the smallest naval services. One officer writing in An Cosantóir said that with just seven vessels, it is like the Garda trying to patrol the whole country with one patrol car.

We should have a large and well equipped enough army to take advantage of the economical job of peacekeeping in future beneficiary countries which when peaceful again will have built up a relationship with ireland and will in turn possibly invest here as they remember how we helped them, we are currently accepted by ALL UN partners to be the world leaders in Peacekeeping and we benefit by providing some of the best soldiers on the planet to do the worst jobs.

We currently train other UN countries in peackeeping every year, this is a lucrative business for the army and local towns where the peacekeepers are based. We should respect how our soldiers work long hard hours without the benefits of other civil powers like the gardai.

Im not looking to take cash from hospitals or roads, im looking to invest money in our SECURE future, we should encourage homegrown defence industrys, CORK shipyards should be used to build our own vessels, the plans are easily available for existing UN Standard vessels which could be produced in ireland, as could our Armoured vehicles.

Anyway, I HATE peeps who shoot down the army ranting about other ways to spend their money, believe me you would be surprised how much cash they DONT get. I wish i could paint a simple picture to irish people, but most dont believe we need any sort of military force, Im not talking huge, just a little bigger and better equipped.

Lets hope we NEVER pay for NOT having one.:(

Well said Morpheus !

Couldn't have put it better myself :)

Silvera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

"Don't you hate pants?" - Classic Homer Simspon quote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭weemcd

not being able to get broadband
    scrubbers
    bullsh1tters
    tossers
    nazis
    tight lads
    2 faced people
    cabbage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Ry

OH Add Wicklow to my list of hates!!! I hate it more than anything because in it ARE scumbags too!! Nothing to do expensive to get out of and depressing to have to return to!!! k thanks :D

Ry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Hanelly Centre workers
    People who are afraid of spiders (they're one billionth your size!)
    Flies (They give other insects a bad name and really hinder summer evening football)
    Anti-Globalisation people (more of a pet hate)

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

1. Midges / Flies
    2. Holier-than-thou types
    3. Flu
    4. My PC when it acts up! :(
    5. Racism
    6. Bigots
    7. Ford Ka!
    8. Meagre wages

Sin é

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

I hate...

Moths and Butterflies - Their flippy flapping makes me feel sick

People in the gym who walk on treadmills

Posers at the gym who think it's unsightly to perspire and thus just prance about like eejits and pretty much waste their time and misuse the equipment!

Posers

Ignorance

Racism and intolerance

Spam

Muppetry

Violence

Abuse of power

Greed

Bad Manners

etc.

Yes I was at the gym today and had a few pet hates rear their ugly heads hehe!

Grrr!

I HATE
    anti globalisation people too..
    y dont they call themselves hippies cos thats what the majority of them are, and i HATE hippies

i hate my daily routine and missing the train cos i cant get up

i hate the whole im dressing like avril lavine and linkin park and im a skater dood people, i was a sk8r in the 90's when it WASNT as fashionable as now, unless you had MTV, or a tony hawks video.

I paid 140 pounds irish for a hand built board in 1990. Im 26 now, i cud STILL sk8 my ass off way better than these trendy types carrying cheap tesco's boards around now, BUY A REAL BOARD, learn some interesting tricks... hmm i shud dust off my deathbox and use it to catch said trains.... :rolleyes:

I HATE mushrooms and pepperoni and salami on pizza, I hate not being a pilot and not being in the army or aircorps cos im TOO F*CKING OLD!!! :mad:

I hate that i cant get up the courage to join the british army...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭oneweb

Software developers who wrap a 20kb app in a 950kb installer :mad:

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Originally posted by Silvera
    The Swedes even have Stealth Warships - something even the Yanks don't have !

*cough GIGANTIC NUCLEAR SUBMARINES

*cough - NO, wise guy.

They have actual stealth WARSHIPS, i.e. they stay ABOVE the water at all times !

(N.B. If you need proof, get the BBC video EXTREME MACHINES,1997)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 blazer1

i hate when you are going to get laid and one of your best friends walks in and stops it from happening :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

human beings

this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 blazer1

i hate girls who wont stop asking you out after you tell them NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Originally posted by Silvera
    *cough - NO, wise guy.

They have actual stealth WARSHIPS, i.e. they stay ABOVE the water at all times !

A technicality. A sub might be referred to as a boat rather than a ship, but it's still a **** load of firepower sailing the seas.

And I think Sweeden only have one prototype.....but I could be wrong. The Royal Navy is also researching a stealth ship, and no doubt the US are too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

I hate mimes, dosen't everbody.
    I also hate Suzuki Jimminys (Nissan Micras on steroids).
    More later.