Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Damage you've had

• 22-06-2003 9:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭

What injuries have you had? Someone I know is recovering from a crash and I was told the list of injuries they suffered. To say ouch would've understated it.

Here's me with just a few stitches in a few places (one set to close a hole right through my top lip) and broken teeth.
    Nothing as major as a missing leg or a broken arm TG :)

What about you?

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Only really serious one was a prolapsed disc.

The injury that keeps on giving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Perhaps my favourite one is the little scar on my chin. How did I get it, I hear you ask? Cúpla year ago, on a kid's tricycle, going 90mph around in a circle - put the feet down to stop and go flying over the handlebars. Oh, the shame.

My friend's brother had a motorcycle crash recently, very messy. There's still a huge amount of flesh missing from his leg, he's got metal bars in his leg and he'll be on crutches for a year. Ouch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Considering the amount of sports/activities I've participated in over the years I've never broken a single bone....

Unless you're counting people that I've injured?

I've sprained fingers during G.A.A. matches and gotten a concussion from a camogie match, the sliotar smashed through my helmet coz I eh.. blocked it with my head...

I also slit my hand and arm having falled out of a canoe when we were doing a "chariot" which involves two canoes, one person stands one foot in each canoe and steers, the other person sits accross the two boats to keep em together unfortunately my keeper together person got scared and hopped off so I was left with one canoe going one way and the other canoe going in the opposite direction. Amusing to onlookers I'm sure but not so much from my perspective at the time.

Also whilst absailing before a rope snapped on me and I was smashed against the thing we were absailing down and cut all my face and knees. The fact that I'm scared of heights didn't help...

So yeah pretty much my injuries have all been minor.

<edit>I've also damaged ligaments in my left knee and my soleous has recently become inflamed God knows how but meh! I had back problems caused by a hamstring injury which still acts up on me </edit?>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

I've had hardly any injuries over the years, never broken anything.

I hurt both of my ankles pretty badly a good few times, tore the ligament in both twice (not at the same time). That left me in crutches for about a month as far as I remember. I Split my head open when I was younger (about 10 I'd say). I fell onto a tree, not out of one! There's still a scar there. When I was working in SUPARVALU I cut my finger open using a meat slicer, that was pretty cool.

Umm I think that's it tbh, nothing amazing or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭NeoSlicerZ

None , oh , and Amz , i've done that before , doing tricks is more fun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

Okay where to begin........

Broken Arm (badly was in the Hospital for 2 months before I could go home even and had the cast bout 5 months)

Totally tore the Muscles in my back (like in two) had to get an op to pin them back together.

Various Multitude of scars but the worst is on my wrist where I fell weridly in the bath room when I was young and cut my wrist wide open.

Smash my knuckle once under a (big old style) window.

One time I came of a bike doing 40 kph (it had a speedometer)and went over the handle bars onto my face and had this massive scab for weeks.

Snaped my hamstring.

Smashed up my knee playing footy and had to get all kinds of stuff done to it.

Various twists, rips, sparains etc.

But the most painfull was the time I ripped the ligament in my left foot ffs that REALY hurt. My face went green and to this day and kind of strain on it and I nearly throw up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

fractured my arm once and have had a few concussions , all from rugby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

Originally posted by Neo-
    I've had hardly any injuries over the years, never broken anything.

I hurt both of my ankles pretty badly a good few times, tore the ligament in both twice (not at the same time). ....

I did the ligaments both sides of the same ankle once. Didn't think it was bad that an injury until the doc siad I'd have been better breaking it. Hello? Thanks doc. Was on crutches for a few weeks too. Was sore but ok. More awkward than anything. Put a metal spike through my foot once, which wasn't really all that painful. Gives me a weather warning which is handy. Done lots of other stuff, but one of the worst was dislocating a shoulder which can be ok but mine wasn't. I did a major job of it. Took 4 people to hold me down while they put it back. Still gives me grief. Hurt my back a few times, and that can be as bad if not worse as anything I've ever done. But everyone complains about it so it never sounds as bad as it actually is.

Of course theres always someone worse than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Swifty

Ages ago I was spinning around my cousins driveway on a skateboard, I was sitting on it 'cause I wasn't able for the whole standing up thing. Anyway a car pulled into the driveway and parked beside another car already parked there. Now I thought it'd be kooel to fly in between the two cars at hooge speed, I never stopped to think what might happen if the door OPENED IN MY FACE. Heh, got mauled in the top of my head pretty badly the blood was pouring out of me. Wasn't deep enough for stitches apparantly so I got it glued instead.

I also got one single stitch on my chin for falling off a bicycle years ago. Oh, and I'm awaiting the inevitable incident where I kill myself on my shiny new motorbike :ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

stitches all over the place. i have lovely bald patches all over the back of my head because them. stitches inside my mouth,outside my mouth, on my chin and other places. i have broken 2 fingers, cracked a rib, and torn the inside of my stomach which got me 4 weeks in hospital and 3 months recuperation time at home which was a whole lot of fun :mad: because i could do absolutely nothing. i lost a few teeth aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

I tore my left knee Anterior cruciate ligament. I had to wait 2 years for an operation after 6 months before even getting it diagnosed... It still feels a bit dodgy to this day. But god, the operation for that's the worst bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

I remember once I was running around the house driving my aunt mad as she was babysitting me....so anyway,I ran around the room,and then felt the most sharp pain I'd ever experienced in the sole of my foot. It was like stepping on a plug, but like you jumped onto it off a bunkbed. So I lifted up my foot with tears in my eyes as of the pain, I lifted it and stopped half way because of the pain. I look at my aunt,and her hand was at her mouth, screaming the house down. My cousin ran out of the room screaming.

Oh jaysus,this must be bad eh?

so I lifted up my foot a bit more then, and there it was, a big arse ****ing spike of all things (where the **** it came from I dont know!) was jammed into my foot. Oh the screaming that persued that...

Next one...well, for some reason,I was afraid of using my brakes on my bike. Dont ask me why, I just was. Anyway,I was heading over to d'grandparents house with mammy and daddy. Now,theres a big steep hill on the way down to their house. Yes yes, we can all see where its going from here. So basicly, I told my dad to let me go down on my own. Him,being unaware of me being afraid of pulling on the brakes, let me go. so he left me go, and I squealed for about 20s before slamming into a wall and over the handlebars and into somebodys garden and landed on a fairly big rock. Oh the pain.

This one,most people find humorous. I was 4yrs old and I just got a new tricycle, and was on the 2nd story of my grandmothers house while she was cleaning. I was right by the stairs.
    Me; "Nan-nan, Im going down the stairs on my bike!"
    Nan; "Oh no your not!"
    Me; "Well actually, I am!"
    thud-thud--thud-thud-thud-thud-thud-thud-THUD

I woke up in hospital 2 days later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Samara

The worst I've had are torn knee ligaments and a lot of road rash from a collision between my b/f's motorbike on which I was pillion and a car whose driver didn't seem to know what indicators are for! :rolleyes: That was six years ago but my knee is still somewhat 'numb' and I can't stand to have someone touch it, the sensation feels kinda icky *L* Still I got off lightly! No broken bones, unlike my poor b/f!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Sprianed my ankle quite badly once....by slipping on a smooth rock embedded in the ground while walking along.... the shame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

i once fell out of an attack, landed on my head. but the weird thing is i cant remember up to 5 hours before it happened and 16 hours after it happened. i feel sad that i cant remember that day in my life. apparently there was lots of blood.
    all i can remeber is waking up in hospital at night and my mam was asleep beside me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

A small scar on my bottom lip from where I was trying to open the clasp on my rainbow trouser braces with my teeth and it snapped onto my lip when I was about six.
    Big circular scar on my left knee, from er..well we won't go into that lets just say I had a hard time explaining to the doctor how I hurt myself.
    A scar on the ball of my left foot from Vincent. Vincent was my veruca, he was so big -approx an inch by an inch, that I named him and had to go to Hume street for about four months outpatient treatment. I missed him afterwards, and I had a hole in my foot for about two months after the liquid nitrogen vacated him, I asked if I could get him in a jar but no go.

<edit> strange thing is I've been knoked down three times off a bike and never injured my self, except for a couple of bruises <edit>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

plenty of scars-
    did a spectacular 35/40ft descent through the roof of the canoe club at tcd in 1990 at a party-
    broken elbow -still wired, broken femur-still got two plates, and two crushed vertabrae.
    Only fatalities were 2 canoes during my descent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I was drunk from Leeson St. one night and cycled home afterwards. I had done perfectly well giving my friend a backy to his destination until I tottered off on my own. I promptly fell off the bike and onto my chin. I broke my jaw and chipped teeth, my mouth still has out of place teeth because of it (pig headed Gordon didnt want a jaw brace).

This reminds me of some film I saw (akin to Jason and the Argonaughts) where the punishment for some guy was to have all of his battle scars and wounds freshly open like the day he got them. That would be interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

broke two fingers on my right hand and sprained my right wrist playing rugby, apart from that nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭endanagle

well theres lots n' lots for me!!!

I was 4 and my bro pushed me off a stool... onto a crate of glass bottles - there's a luvverly big scar on my right wrist now where it was almost bloody cut off!

then there's the usual list of clildhood bumps n' scrapes...

but i never broke a bone in my body...

until aug 2000...

i crashed a motorbike and managed to di the following to myself in the space of about 10 seconds...
    - fractured pelvis
    - broke middle finger on right hand in 4 places
    - completely mangled my left shoulder
    - snapped my upper left arm - big pin in that now
    - shattered my right elbow - plate there now
    - broke my big toe

believe me the big toe was the biggest pain in the arse!

then 'coz i snapped my left arm, i tore the arteries and all those related bits n' pieces in my upper left arm... so now they took a vein from my leg and put it in my arm.
    on top of this, all the nerves in my left arm got fscked up too... so no feeling, no proper movement or anything.

docs wanted to amputate my arm a few times but wouldn't let 'em - good choice methinks! almost three years later and now after all the therapy etc i can use my left arm pretty well...

there's lots more but thats the main bit...

i just can't wait to get my next bike! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

Cartilage damage to both my knees
    Concussion twice
    Dislocated shoulder
    Torn ligaments in my shoulder
    Torn hamstring
    Sprained ankle
    Sprained wrist
    Front teeth knocked out of place resulting in root canal surgery
    Fracture to the upper part of my arm
    Minor cut on my eyeball (any bigger and I would have been “proper ****ed”)
    Internal bleeding on one eye
    Broken Fingers
    Broken Toe
    Broken Nose
    Bruised Ribs
    I also once went through a pane of glass resulting in a lot of stitches.

I think that’s most of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

never broke a bone. Did myself various muscular injuries from running/weight-lifting etc. but none too serious. Have a little bald patch on the back of my head from when my brother threw a rock at me as a kid. Have a few little "twine" scars from various cuts etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

I broke my right arm rather badly when I was about eight... school finished for summer holidays at 12.30pm, I was in Loughlinstown Hospital by 5pm. I got out of plaster a week before I went back to school.

Yeah, that was just a great Summer.

I don't do breakages, I get strange archaic diseases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Mark

Hmm when I was about 4 or so a table fell on my small toe. It's more painful than it sounds dammit. There was bone poking up and everything and I had to wear sand.....ah never mind.

And every so often my knee gets an odd twist when I stand up and renders me in an astounding amount of pain for several seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Let me see
    A few Concussions
    Broken leg
    severe soft tissue and ligament damage to my right hand after it had a spin on a metal work lathe
    few other cuts and stuff
    torn my aesophogus a few times blurgh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

nail sticking out of a wall, i leaned back against it and it went into my head :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

i have a good few
    1- broken wrist twice, and ankle once
    2- broken knuckle right hand
    3- 5 scars on my head.
    finger right hand side agin got busted open from my part time job as a cellar man squashed it between two kegs, broke the top of my finger in 5 places and split it wide open 18 sitches.
    5- and the last but least a nice 4 inch scar going through my nipple, happend in school in holland when i was younger around 15 at the time got sliced open.
    6- the very last one a nice scar under my chin, dentist his fault he did not clean it propally before he put the filling in it, so i had a lump the size of a tennis ball hanging under my chin, wich had to cut in the hospital to drain the puss.

That is all i have for now. :ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

When i was 10 i actually cracked my head right open, very sore indeed.

At 14 I smashed my shoulder in two, as well as breaking my arm in 3 different places. Took bloody months to heal.

That’s all really, but my friend dislocated his knee one night when we were on the piss and he demanded that i push it back into place before he passed out. It was a rather peculiar but enjoyable sensation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Originally posted by richindub2
    broke two fingers on my right hand and sprained my right wrist playing rugby, apart from that nothing!

Sure....from rugby............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭honeymonster

I knocked my right knee out of place in a hurling match. When I was ickle, trying to impress a girl on me bike, i hit a car and when flying along the ground. Luckily it was only a few scrapes and she moved a couple a months later. When I was climbing over a wall, I cut my finger open. Was pissin blood and I could see the bone. Twas quite messy. Still have a scare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Cut liver
    Broke and cracked ribs
    Numerous stitches (damn that window :D)
    Broke bones (legs, collar, arms etc)
    Ripped tendons (knee, hand)
    Sprains (wrist, ankle)
    Dislocations (knee, shoulder)

ad nauseum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Never broke anything... sprained a knee and pulled a muscle or two. (Muscles were in my back and leg before anyone makes any smartass remarks :p )

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

When I was about 4, I jumped off a bed at home and broke my arm!

When i was about 11, a gang of us were playing tag in the dark, and i was being chased through a neighbours garden and I didn't see the low clothes line! So the link caught me under the chin and flung me! Ended up with with broken collar bone and a big long red stripe from where the line caught me under my chin!

On the day after my 18th I had to get my appendix removed so that was 5 stitches.

3 years ago, me and 3 other mates had a serious car accident. Luckily I only had whiplash. The driver and the guy directly behind him weren't so lucky. The driver is now in a wheelchair and the guy who was behind him had broken his neck, but is OK now (after about a year and a half in rehab). The guy directly behind me was unscathed too so I was sure damned lucky whiplash was the only injury I got! An experience I never want to live again! :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Scar on my eye brow which looks like I shave it daily :p
    Broken my ancle 4 times(same leg) and also chipped it which has/will lead to atortises(sp)
    Dislocated my right shoulder on purpose but it went wrong one night trying to show off :p
    Appendix burst one night,
    tonsils removed(not serious cause I liked jely then :p)
    that basicly it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

Originally posted by jd
    plenty of scars-
    did a spectacular 35/40ft descent through the roof of the canoe club at tcd in 1990 at a party-
    broken elbow -still wired, broken femur-still got two plates, and two crushed vertabrae.
    Only fatalities were 2 canoes during my descent.
    I forgot
    I have another crushed vertebra from jumping over the back wall of the handball alley in school -I landed badly.(Consultant ddn't know what to make of the X-Ray from the accident above, ubtil I explained the situation)

Few scars from fights and falling out of trees when I was younger (I was borderline hyperactive )
    One dodgy kidney as a result of a fight over a box of matches.
    I have a scar under my eye from falling upstairs outta niteclub at 6am in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

I cracked a small round bone in wrist (painful as hell, in a acast for 9 weeks) and broke a bone in my foot playing rugby, I also tore muscles on a regular basis ... the worst one for me was getting my nose broken in a fight (flaming drunk of course) when I was about 17, I got TWO vicious black eyes from it, a lot more embarrasing than the plaster on my nose ... heh, I was wearing these HUGE sunglasses for a few weeks ... in November:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

im just apussy when it comes to bones, i get all light headed and start to giggle uncontrabbly, i have to say that this is prob the best thread i have ever read, purely in the entertaining sense.

god im a sick bastrad

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

I am....

Unbreakable.

eyebrowraise.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Come to the soccer in Galway and we'll see about that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭jammy_dodger

broke left arm once
    right arm twice
    left leg once
    tore ligements in my knee
    cracked me skull twice
    ive 2 permanent dents in each shin.
    collar bone once.

maybe i should leave the circus !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Cut my hand open with bread knife when i was 6.
    Smashed my nose off my mates head when i was 11. 2 black eyes at the one time is quite a sight! Got another black eye running into a girl's head. She had those bally yokes in her hair to make a pony tail, and it boshed me straight in the eyeball. Embarrasing or what!
    Burst a disc in my lower backa few years ago. Fell on the floor in a niteclub, pissed out of my head, and my 2 mates landed on me. Thought I broke me arm but didnt notice the pain in me back til the morning. Never felt pain like it in me life. Excrutiating.
    Sprained ankles loads of times, pulled calf musles, sprained wrists, thumbs etc, mostly from football or acting the eejit.
    My head is indestructible though, smashed off the ground many times, never any blood.
    Had a few nastly bike crashes but was very very lucky.
    Also had a completely collapsed lung a few years back. Doc said I'd be in hospital for 2 days....spent 3 weeks in hospital. Worst time of my life by a long way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭mavedic

reading the other posts i think some people are going to run out of lives soon...

when i was 3 i fell out of a bedroom window onto the lawn and broke my leg. Don't remember much about it.
    I broke my arm when I was thrown off a horse.
    apart from that nothing serious has ever really happened to me tg!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Serbian

Some bad injuries out there but JESUS this one sounds horrible: :p
    Originally posted by Tusky
    nail sticking out of a wall, i leaned back against it and it went into my head :(

Anyway, when I was about 3 I fell on the patio in my garden and gashed my forehead. Only 2 stiches in that though, and the scar looks dead sexy :p

Then I broke the humeros in my left arm. Wasn't that painful as far as I can remember but it was a strange sensation.

After that I broke and dislocated my left thumb playing rugby. It wasn't too painful either, but I'll never forget them trying to force it back into the growth plate. Definitely the most painful thing I have experienced in my life!

At some point in my life I was also pushed through a pane of glass in school resulting in 4 stitches in the little finger of my right hand.

It's funny but a lot of the bad injuries you get don't actually hurt as much as the treatment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Once when i was 14 or so, i was cycling down a very steep hill quite rapidly. When i yanked on the brakes, they didnt work and i smashed my balls off that pointy bit in the centre of the handlebar. I had a nice screw shape symbol engraved in my balls for two weeks after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Vlad_Tepes

well, I had a litlle tumor located between the skull and the brain..and it hurt me a lot. I had a surgery and now everything is okay. But I wouldn't want my biggest ennemy to go thru that, the headaches I had felt like Hellraiser got me..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

-crashed my bike into a pole, broke my arm and damaged my head a bit

-Broke my leg in 2 places in a game of soccer...

- was stabbed in the chest (still have a huge scar from that)

-elbow was dammaged when it got cought by a piece of a fence that was sticking out when i was running by it (game of soccer)

-Sawed through my thumb durring the construction studies leaving cert practical exam a few years ago.

that's all i can think of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Sev

The closest I've ever gotten to breaking a bone, was when my brother and I were mess scrapping or something (he's three years older than me and I was like 10 at the time). Anyhow... he hit me with the most retarded punch in the hip, I heard a crack and a scream, and it turned out he broke his thumb. Got my finger caught in a door tho once.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I'll start small to big.

Sprained all fingures on both hands from Soccer/basketball/rugby
    Sprained Wrist on right arm.
    Sprainrd both ankles.
    strained tendsns on both ankles.
    thore ligments in left arm
    broke right arm in 4 places (at the one time)
    Severe bruisine of bone in left arm from same case.
    Broken my fot in 2 places(that hurt like a mofo).
    cartlidge rips in both knees.
    tendon strains in both knees.
    ligment strain in left knee.
    Ligment rip in right knee.
    right now my right knee has some badly strained tendons, legments and some ripped cartlidge.
    Left knee has some frayed cartlidge.
    I have sprained my neck.
    And I had a tumer in my stomach when I was younger.

Any injurys I didnt give a reason happened between Soccer Rugby and Muntain biking.

Mostly the second and third reason.

/me goes to visit physio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

just a couple of scars from scabs that i wouldn't stop picking at:rolleyes:

oh yeah, and a small scar on my forehead from falling over when i was 2 years old (must be where meh brain went)

a few twisted ankles & poked eyes along the way too (had to wear a feckin patch for 2 months when i was about 12, lucky i didn't blind myself)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Ryo Hazuki

I was going too fast on a bicycle (no brakes) and ploughed straight into a car coming out of a driveway, car rolled up on one of my feet and I had to wait for the driver to wind down the window and explain to her (heh) twice that my foot was under her wheel, and then she went forward!, Incurring more pain.

The car recieved no damage, nor did I.