Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
08-05-2005, 12:55   #1
Marcopolo85
Registered User
 
Marcopolo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 330
NTL Broadband in Galway City

Anyone got NTL broadband in Galway City yet?
Marcopolo85 is offline  
Advertisement
09-05-2005, 20:56   #2
po0k
Registered User
 
po0k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: [redacted]
Posts: 15,494
Send a message via ICQ to po0k Send a message via MSN to po0k
Yeah, I heard of someone I know getting it, he's out Knocknacarra/Clybaun side.
po0k is offline  
09-05-2005, 22:37   #3
Anima
Registered User
 
Anima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Galway
Posts: 3,702
Yeah I have it. It rocks
Anima is offline  
10-05-2005, 04:14   #4
po0k
Registered User
 
po0k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: [redacted]
Posts: 15,494
Send a message via ICQ to po0k Send a message via MSN to po0k
what's the upload, cap, total monthly cost (Inc VAT), latency etc.?
Static IP?
DynDNS support in the cable modem they give you?
po0k is offline  
10-05-2005, 04:44   #5
Anima
Registered User
 
Anima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Galway
Posts: 3,702
Its the same as the dublin products John, same speeds, cap etc.
Atm I've got 1.5mb / 256k but thats being upgraded to 3mb / 300k very soon. Give me an ip and I'll ping it for you. Heres boards anyway :

Pinging www.boards.ie [82.195.136.36] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 82.195.136.36: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=47
Reply from 82.195.136.36: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=47
Reply from 82.195.136.36: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=47
Reply from 82.195.136.36: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=47

Ping statistics for 82.195.136.36:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 40ms, Maximum = 50ms, Average = 44ms

My Ip gets assigned to me by DHCP and changes every now and then, although its stayed the same for a good while now. As for DynDNS support in the modem, I couldn't tell you. The modem is an Ntl:home 100/200 though.
Anima is offline  
Advertisement
10-05-2005, 11:09   #6
po0k
Registered User
 
po0k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: [redacted]
Posts: 15,494
Send a message via ICQ to po0k Send a message via MSN to po0k
If it supports DynDNS it should say so in the manual, or it should be under the configuration menu somewhere.
po0k is offline  
10-05-2005, 13:55   #7
Anima
Registered User
 
Anima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Galway
Posts: 3,702
Didn't get a manuel and theres no drivers or anything to configure. Theres only the "192.168.100.1" page but that just shows you stuff about your line really.
Anima is offline  
13-05-2005, 09:19   #8
Marcopolo85
Registered User
 
Marcopolo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anima
Its the same as the dublin products John, same speeds, cap etc.
Atm I've got 1.5mb / 256k but thats being upgraded to 3mb / 300k very soon. Give me an ip and I'll ping it for you. Heres boards anyway :

Pinging www.boards.ie [82.195.136.36] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 82.195.136.36: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=47
Reply from 82.195.136.36: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=47
Reply from 82.195.136.36: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=47
Reply from 82.195.136.36: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=47

Ping statistics for 82.195.136.36:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 40ms, Maximum = 50ms, Average = 44ms

My Ip gets assigned to me by DHCP and changes every now and then, although its stayed the same for a good while now. As for DynDNS support in the modem, I couldn't tell you. The modem is an Ntl:home 100/200 though.
Yep - it's up to 3 megs in Dublin/Waterford also.
Marcopolo85 is offline  
25-05-2009, 11:01   #9
clusterfuk
Registered User
 
clusterfuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcopolo85 View Post
Anyone got NTL broadband in Galway City yet?

Yea got it.., it has it's good days and it's bad days, which is a pain in the backside... Quite a few ppl where complaining their line were down but from what i have been told is their changing the lines and i have seen loads of NTL van tech. around. When it is working, it is really good and quick!
clusterfuk is offline  
Advertisement
25-05-2009, 11:30   #10
biko
Percolator
 
biko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Galway
Posts: 42,842
Feel free to continue in Broadband forum, this thread is from 2005
biko is offline  
Thread Closed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search