Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Search warrant

• 10-03-2021 4:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 18

Whats the story if a place named on a search warrant is very general

Example person garda are coming 4
    John Doe
    Killmacmadeupname
    Co. Kerry.

Nora Barry innocent neighbour
    Killmacmadeupname
    Co. Kerry

The address on the search warrant is
    Killmacmadeupname
    Co. Kerry

Technically, do the garda have the power to search nora barrys house since that is her address too?
    Or do search warrants contain postcodes.

Also does nora barry have the right to ask them to show the warrant before they walk in?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Cashmenson wrote: »
    Whats the story if a place named on a search warrant is very general

A warrant will always be for a specific place/residance, if the address is too general and any go to the wrong place and "find something" most likley it would not be admissible in court since they did not actually have a warrent for the place they searched
    search warrants contain postcodes.

They can/could/should but not always.
    Also does nora barry have the right to ask them to show the warrant before they walk in?

Any person has the right to see the warrent

• Registered Users Posts: 8,925 ✭✭✭GM228

Any person has the right to see the warrent

This is not always the case.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

GM228 wrote: »
    This is not always the case.

In what circumstances would one not be allowed to view/inspect the search warrent prior to a search.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,925 ✭✭✭GM228

In what circumstances would one not be allowed to view/inspect the search warrent prior to a search.

There is no general requirement to show or right to see a warrant other than when specified in the appropriate statute and many don't have such a stipulation.

They are often not shown where the warrant may give information to what is being searched for or otherwise be detrimental to the search or where it creates a danger to someone for example.

The requirement to show a warrant is often nothing more than a courtesy.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭The DayDream

They raid the wrong house all the time. I imagine it's very distressing for those it happens to.

And I imagine they get away with it a fair bit, whether it's legal or not. Leaving the wrong person with a damaged door and reputation.

And one commonly enough used option for standard operating procedure in the case of raiding the wrong address seems to be to refuse to show the person (who by now is rightfully kicking up a fuss) the warrant. Heard that happen more than once. Dunno if it offers the gardai some level of protection (edit: apparently they are actually not required to) but it also seems to just simply be a bully boy tactic used since they're all humpy over their feck up. They see a granny sitting drinking tea by the fire and a spotless house and realize this ain't Pablo Escobar's gaff and they want to be gone, no way theyre gonna sit there and show the occupant something that proves how wrong they were and be grilled over it, they are the ones who do the grilling (in their eyes). So they take the warrant and bounce.

Judges can be very forgiving of gardai admin errors. So they plow ahead without fear of challenges on their legal actions. Few people in Ireland want to sue the local guards. And I wouldn't want any case where i was defendant to rest on a technicality. It does happen where the judge will call the guards out on an error but I think he has to be in a weird mood to do it lol

We should be questioning these things more but plenty judges seem to feel the gardai have a very tough lot in life and will side with them, they're all in the small world of the legal system in a small place so they would know each other and so as I said, can be very forgiving of an error.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,268 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Or do search warrants contain postcodes.
    Only those places that accept post have Eircodes.

That is every residential property (not building) has their own, while multiple commercial operators in a single building might only have one. Outbuildings, vacant / derelict buildings, etc. don't have one. Newly constructed buildings might not have one.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

GM228 wrote: »
    There is no general requirement to show or right to see a warrant other than when specified in the appropriate statute and many don't have such a stipulation.

They are often not shown where the warrant may give information to what is being searched for or otherwise be detrimental to the search or where it creates a danger to someone for example.

The requirement to show a warrant is often nothing more than a courtesy.

So if the gardaí ring my doorbell and say "let us in, we have a search warrant", and I say "show it to me there", they can just say no, and walk in anyway?

Surely they have to show something to prove they're not just random ne'er-do-wells?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,472 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Thoie wrote: »
    So if the gardaí ring my doorbell and say "let us in, we have a search warrant", and I say "show it to me there", they can just say no, and walk in anyway?

Surely they have to show something to prove they're not just random ne'er-do-wells?

They might not even ring the bell.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

General good practice would be to have the name of the person on the warrant. E.g Hill Road, Ballygobackwards, Co. Wicklow, the home of Joe Bloggs.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,345 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

General good practice would be to have the name of the person on the warrant. E.g Hill Road, Ballygobackwards, Co. Wicklow, the home of Joe Bloggs.

Wouldn't that render the warrant void if it turned out that the person no longer lived there?

So Joe Criminal (named on the warrant) swears an affidavit to say that he had moved out six months earlier and his lawyers then demand that the DPP not use anything which was found in the search?

I think a warrant simply states the address, specifically to avoid that becoming an issue. I don't think that 'good practice' comes into it, this isn't a matter of customer satisfaction or the Gardai who smash down your front door looking to get a good review on Tripadvisor.

coylemj wrote: »
    Wouldn't that render the warrant void if it turned out that the person no longer lived there?

So Joe Criminal (named on the warrant) swears an affidavit to say that he had moved out six months earlier and his lawyers then demand that the DPP not use anything which was found in the search?

I think a warrant simply states the address, specifically to avoid that becoming an issue. I don't think that 'good practice' comes into it, this isn't a matter of customer satisfaction or the Gardai who smash down your front door looking to get a good review on Tripadvisor.

If the person is no longer living there then the Guards haven't done their job properly. It's really easy to establish if a person is living at an address or not. If the Guards have messed up then rightly so the warrant would be void. I have never heard of anyone swearing an affidavit to say they haven't lived at an address for 6 months in order to nullify a search warrant though. I'm sure it's happened, just never heard of it before.

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

If the person is no longer living there then the Guards haven't done their job properly. It's really easy to establish if a person is living at an address or not. If the Guards have messed up then rightly so the warrant would be void. I have never heard of anyone swearing an affidavit to say they haven't lived at an address for 6 months in order to nullify a search warrant though. I'm sure it's happened, just never heard of it before.

What if the search warrant isn’t in connection with a person living at the address. Say for example an employee uses a work computer to access child pornography. Of course a name isn’t included in a search warrant. It may appear in the information accompanying the application for the search warrant, but the warrant itself will be to search a specific address. I’ve seen aerial photographs used in cases where the lands are considerable in size and may contain multiple buildings/dwellings.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,345 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

It's really easy to establish if a person is living at an address or not.

Please tell us how. In a way that will stand up in court.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,269 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Something I've always wondered? If your door is smashed down and it turns out to be the wrong address who pays for putting the door right?

Wake me up when it's all over.

coylemj wrote: »
    Please tell us how. In a way that will stand up in court.

One simple way is a check through social welfare dept. They hold employment and social welfare records which will have the last known address of the person. Garda enquiries of the persons address also hold up in court once mentioned withing the body of the information.

RobbieMD wrote: »
    What if the search warrant isn’t in connection with a person living at the address. Say for example an employee uses a work computer to access child pornography. Of course a name isn’t included in a search warrant. It may appear in the information accompanying the application for the search warrant, but the warrant itself will be to search a specific address. I’ve seen aerial photographs used in cases where the lands are considerable in size and may contain multiple buildings/dwellings.

Then you don't include any name in that instance. Every warrant is different depending on what is being searched for.

I have literally seen hundreds of search warrants and informations. A name is never included on a search warrant. They literally refer to a place that a judge or PC authorises to be searched. The information may name a person. Bench/committal/arrest warrants name a person. It really is that simple.

I read back over my post and of course you're right, I should have said name to be included on information rather than warrant. The information is disclosable too so no harm putting the name on it. This is what I meant by best practice. Should have been clearer

Something I've always wondered? If your door is smashed down and it turns out to be the wrong address who pays for putting the door right?

If it’s a search warrant, then the warrant authorises the use of force in gaining entry.
    If they search the wrong premises mistakenly, say Number 10 instead of Number 8, then it’s handled by the state claims agency.
    Any claim can be made to the state claims agency however claims are generally contested by the state and upheld by the courts.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Cashmenson

But if there is just an address and that address covers 15 houses in a townland, does that mean under the warrant all those houses can be searched?

No. Multiple houses can not be searched with the same warrant

Id hope so but how does a garda with a search warrant with just an address on it that could technically cover 15 other houses decipher which house they can legally enter?

There is a process involved. A Garda swears an information before a judge in the District Court. The body of that information will contain very specific details in most cases. The Judge will only issue the warrant when they are satisfied with the Gardas application/information. The Garda has to be specific about the location they are searching and what they are searching for. It's not a carte blanche to search a few different locations.

Thanks for answering. Last part made me LOL. But say the garda were unfamiliar with this backwater townland came up on a day for the very first time with a search warrant and did raid the correct house, couldnt it not be argued that the search warrant is way too general?

They could argue all they want. If they searched the right house then the argument would be pointless

• Registered Users Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Lenar3556

If it’s a search warrant, then the warrant authorises the use of force in gaining entry.
    If they search the wrong premises mistakenly, say Number 10 instead of Number 8, then it’s handled by the state claims agency.
    Any claim can be made to the state claims agency however claims are generally contested by the state and upheld by the courts.

In that case the state claims agency would be likely to pay up for any damages etc. arising.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,019 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

Two doors were smashed down in my estate, both correct addresses and both were successful searches. Gardai replaced one and not the other.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Jackbe

Hi

I don't know if anyone can help me, in October while I was on a weeks holiday the gardai carried out a raid on my home, they broke the lock on the door and carried out a search under the mis use of drugs act. I was away at the time and my home was left wide open for 4 days with people walking in and out and all my mail was open.

I am a 62 year old woman and live in an older people's dwellings and have never been in trouble with anyone or used drugs and this has left me traumatised. My neighbours all avoid me now, my question is can I do anything about this?

I managed to get a copy of the warrant.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Tax The Farmers

A lot of (particularly younger) working folk tend to be registered at their parents address while actually living elsewhere.