Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Garda Patroling Finglas on KTM 790 Adventure

• 03-09-2019 11:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8

Two Garda Motorcycle cops seen riding around the Finglas area, one a KTM 790 with a small Garda sign on the bike and the other on a normal Garda Motorcycle.

Having had my own KTM Duke 182D stolen from the drive at 04.30hrs in Feb, I'm delighted to see them, hopefully it will be a game changer.

After 2850 euro in damage done and they didn't even start the bike, I hope it will put some of the yahoos off in the future. I found my bike in Dunsink tip head at 20.00hrs same day hidden in some trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Nice to see them taking a different approach. It'd be gas if their KTM got knicked though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

D3V!L wrote: »
    Nice to see them taking a different approach. It'd be gas if their KTM got knicked though :P

Sure it wasnt a chase............:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭IrishGrimReaper

Wonder is there any pics of it anywhere? Nice to see the Guards get nice yokes.

Wonder what the reasoning was behind going for the 790 Adevnture and not a more scrambler-esque type bike? I think of this video and the ow weight of the Honda's would make it much easier to grab people if needed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtekKSr-2YI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Wonder is there any pics of it anywhere? Nice to see the Guards get nice yokes.

Wonder what the reasoning was behind going for the 790 Adevnture and not a more scrambler-esque type bike? I think of this video and the ow weight of the Honda's would make it much easier to grab people if needed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtekKSr-2YI

Probably seized from someone with no insurance/tax/english..........:P

• Registered Users Posts: 38 dec_82

Probably seized from someone with no insurance/tax/english..........:P

A few different guards mentioned to be they plan to swap in small gs models into the pool. I have a 700gs so they always ask what theyre like. I think a few european forces already use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

dec_82 wrote: »
    A few different guards mentioned to be they plan to swap in small gs models into the pool. I have a 700gs so they always ask what theyre like. I think a few european forces already use them.

There are two on trial in the bike school in the college. But as usual the force probably wont by the Police specified ones. They'll buy a standard one and stick on lights etc :mad:. So when you turn on blues the horn will blow :D.

paddymur wrote: »
    Two Garda Motorcycle cops seen riding around the Finglas area, one a KTM 790 with a small Garda sign on the bike and the other on a normal Garda Motorcycle.

Hmm, just made some calls. It's not traffic and none of the specialist unit's have a KTM and above all when a bike is seized they NEVER use it like was suggested in another post. So this is a mystery. About two years ago an American guy touring the World had his KTM stolen from O Connell St. Like your bike Paddy it ended up in Dunsink. One morning when the birds were just starting to sing ;) the bike was "retrieved" by a large group :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,868 ✭✭✭Alkers

Spotted in Templemore

Alkers wrote: »
    Spotted in Templemore

The garage, where instructors can also park their bikes. The current deal with BMW is so strong that Honda/KTM would have to pull a big rabbit out of the hat. But if I'm wrong then I'm wrong. My info came from the horses mouth this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,868 ✭✭✭Alkers

The garage, where instructors can also park their bikes. The current deal with BMW is so strong that Honda/KTM would have to pull a big rabbit out of the hat. But if I'm wrong then I'm wrong. My info came from the horses mouth this morning.

What?

I was there and it was shown to me as a Garda bike... This was earlier in the summer.

What?

I was there and it was shown to me as a Garda bike... This was earlier in the summer.

Then as I said . . . . . I'm wrong. But RPU don't know about it being around :rolleyes: .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭H_Lime

I don't give a crap what the boyz are riding, unless they're on something faster than mine hoho.
    Did that training with them once and yer man more or less said "within reason" ride like you would on a sunday morning. He stressed within reason and maybe saw i wasnt a nutter/power ranger type.
    After ten mins I very slowly started to wind on more and more, till I was riding like it was a Sunday morn all bar the straights. On me like glue, mad to see an enormous orange n white pan right up yer chuff with yer man sat bolt upright as you're hangin off in a bend draggin a peg lol. Couldn't shake him. Best bit of the day was the low speed training but learnt a lot on road positioning etc.

What?

May also be part of the "sneaky squad" but it's not on general release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,031 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I don't know why they want the Adventure bikes. Was watching a Garda chasing a young lad on a scrambler a few weeks ago. Young lad was racing up and down the roads trying to lose the Garda and then went off road, the Garda went across a field on a fully dressed patrol bike no bother. To do any rougher you'd need proper off road bikes and tyres and they aren't going to get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,104 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Dont know, would you get a Patrol bike to do this ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLvNwrVUNLU

Perhaps just get Suzuki DRZ-400s for them :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15 ShaneH1

H_Lime wrote: »
    I don't give a crap what the boyz are riding, unless they're on something faster than mine hoho.
    Did that training with them once and yer man more or less said "within reason" ride like you would on a sunday morning. He stressed within reason and maybe saw i wasnt a nutter/power ranger type.
    After ten mins I very slowly started to wind on more and more, till I was riding like it was a Sunday morn all bar the straights. On me like glue, mad to see an enormous orange n white pan right up yer chuff with yer man sat bolt upright as you're hangin off in a bend draggin a peg lol. Couldn't shake him. Best bit of the day was the low speed training but learnt a lot on road positioning etc.
    Where did you do that?, if love to try something like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭turbodiesel

ShaneH1 wrote: »

Don't think it's been run for quite a few years.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056383645

ShaneH1 wrote: »

Ex Traffic guy in Navan station used to run it there. In Dublin there was a man wanting to run it and lower management were happy. Sadly people further up the management ladder decided to block it so it wont be going ahead anytime soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

BMW's seem popular enough with the Met, they have the bright ones for moped bumping and UV sprays
    https://www.standard.co.uk/news/crime/scotland-yard-unveil-new-tactics-in-crackdown-on-moped-gangs-including-new-scrambler-bikes-to-chase-a3672366.html

Otherwise the dark grey ones (F800GS) for more dramatic situations
    https://www.motorcyclenews.com/news/2016/august/met-anti-terror-police-to-use-bmw-f800gs/

You'd rarely see either on the tv box in any news coverage, but likely would save a huge amount of arrival time on their busy streets.