Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
30-09-2018, 11:56   #1
KevW24601
Registered User
 
KevW24601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 53
Barcadia Cork - Machine Fixing?

Hi everyone,

Just wanted to share a post from Barcadia Cork's Facebook page in the hopes that someone here might be able to assist.

https://www.facebook.com/BarcadiaCor...3523969198933/

Basically, they are looking for help with repairing an Atari Star Wars cabinet. They've had it in storage for a year and want to get it out on the floor, but the machine is having some problems that they haven't had the time to fix.

The link above is to their FB as well so if anybody is good with this sort of thing, drop them a PM. As a regular, I'd be very excited about seeing this game in action too!
KevW24601 is offline  
(2) thanks from:
Advertisement
30-09-2018, 15:40   #2
BrownFinger
Registered User
 
BrownFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5,305
paid in food and tokens..........gtfo
BrownFinger is offline  
30-09-2018, 16:03   #3
Inviere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrownFinger View Post
paid in food and tokens..........gtfo
The neck Imagine McDonalds offering to pay you in burgers for work done
Inviere is offline  
30-09-2018, 19:11   #4
Cake of Tremendous Power
Registered User
 
Cake of Tremendous Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,169
Neck like a jockeys bollocks. Some cheek out of them
Cake of Tremendous Power is offline  
30-09-2018, 23:12   #5
eddhorse
Registered User
 
eddhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: The Pale
Posts: 4,641
Send a message via ICQ to eddhorse
Jeez if they don't have someone to fix arcade machines i woukd be concerned.
Seems like something you should look into before opening an arcade bar.
Wouldn't know much about vectors myself though.
eddhorse is offline  
Advertisement
02-10-2018, 12:22   #6
Jack burton
Registered User
 
Jack burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,695
I called them on it on Facebook haha

"Ben Flyin we didn't mean this as "you do all the work" job but more of a community project to bring a few like minded people together to give it a go. We would also be happy to pay one person to fix it (if you'd like to send us a quote please do) but we thought this might be a bit of fun... and we would have some craic, fix some games, play some games, drink some drinks and make some friends. Maybe wires got crossed (and not just in the machine)."
Jack burton is offline  
(4) thanks from:
07-10-2018, 10:43   #7
magentis
Registered User
 
magentis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,959
I was in here the week before last.Easily half the machines in there are faulty.Looks like they run them until they break and then plug them out and leave them there.There was a locked area down the end which looked to have all their best games broken in there.Playing pacman without being able to move up was a challenge.
magentis is offline  
Thanks from:
08-10-2018, 14:22   #8
DaveyDave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 1,988
Sounds like every other arcade then. I shat my pants when I saw the arcade at Cineworld in Dublin had House of the Dead 4 but it was unplugged and collecting dust. Finally got to play it once and every other time I passed by it was unplugged.

I would have thought a barcade would have a handyman on speed dial considering their niche is arcade machines.

Token have put some of the better games into storage for repairs like Marvel Vs Capcom and Crazy Taxi. Don't know if they're in the same situation but at least they rotate them out with working machines. Haven't been there for a while though I think someone said Tetris is also down.
DaveyDave is offline  
Thanks from:
09-10-2018, 12:50   #9
80s Synth Pop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 348
Was in there on Sunday and Tetris is running. Good selection there.

Several machines run LCD's now but I mentioned that to the people I was with and they said "only a nerd would notice that"
80s Synth Pop is offline  
Advertisement
09-10-2018, 13:33   #10
Jack burton
Registered User
 
Jack burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,695
I'd imagine having arcade cabs running in a pub is a constant headache. I would definitely try and have a fairly extensive knowledge of repairs and some good contacts before taking on that challenge.

I find keeping my 3 pinballs in working order tough!
Jack burton is offline  
09-10-2018, 14:29   #11
CosmicSmash
Registered User
 
CosmicSmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,764
It would make sense alright, I think there's always going to be ongoing maintenance needed where cabs are concerned. I still haven't got around to fixing mine.
CosmicSmash is offline  
Thanks from:
09-10-2018, 14:31   #12
CathalDublin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dubberland
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80s Synth Pop View Post
Several machines run LCD's now but I mentioned that to the people I was with and they said "only a nerd would notice that"
I take it they're no longer your friends
CathalDublin is offline  
10-10-2018, 21:47   #13
DaveyDave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 1,988
Interesting that Token are running some LCDs, I presume this is for longevity/cost/repairs. How easy is a setup like that on cabs? If it's a crispy clean RGB quality picture then I'd say there's no issue.
DaveyDave is offline  
10-10-2018, 22:26   #14
o1s1n
Registered User
 
o1s1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: D1
Posts: 27,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveyDave View Post
Interesting that Token are running some LCDs, I presume this is for longevity/cost/repairs. How easy is a setup like that on cabs? If it's a crispy clean RGB quality picture then I'd say there's no issue.
Broken CRT so lashed in an LCD, simple as that really. Lazy fix.

Completely ruins a cab imo, it doesn't feel like an arcade machine anymore. No glow and no proper 240p...oh and screen lag so good luck with snappy controls
o1s1n is offline  
Thanks from:
10-10-2018, 22:32   #15
DaveyDave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 1,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1s1n View Post
Broken CRT so lashed in an LCD, simple as that really. Lazy fix.

Completely ruins a cab imo, it doesn't feel like an arcade machine anymore. No glow and no proper 240p...oh and screen lag so good luck with snappy controls
On that point, how repairable are CRTs? The only two cabs I'd be interested in getting are light guns. If I got one I'd like to know if something went wrong I'd be able to repair it so it would last a long time. Are replacement CRTs possible?
DaveyDave is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet