Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

31-07-2018, 11:35   #1
pooch90

Any point applying for mortgage?

Hi guys,
As indicated by the title, I'm wondering should I even dream of getting a mortgage.

I'm a permanent teacher, annual salary of 50k. Hubby has been a mix of self employed and working for a company. He has recently handed in his notice though. The self employed wages are sketchy at best and quite low.

We've about 10k saved and my mam could possibly top this up by 20k+
I've found a house I love that is 235k.

We've been paying rent of 800 And saving 450 a month. I applied for mortgages 2 years ago before we started this saving and KBC advised we'd need to save 150 a month to show our ability to pay 950/month for stress testing.
Is there any point even trying now that hubby will be back self employed and on peanuts? I'd be well able to pay the mortgage on my wages.

Should I just forget about it?
Advertisement
31-07-2018, 11:38   #2
judeboy101

Quote:
Originally Posted by pooch90 View Post
Hi guys,
As indicated by the title, I'm wondering should I even dream of getting a mortgage.

I'm a permanent teacher, annual salary of 50k. Hubby has been a mix of self employed and working for a company. He has recently handed in his notice though. The self employed wages are sketchy at best and quite low.

We've been paying rent of 800 And saving 450 a month. I applied for mortgages 2 years ago before we started this saving and KBC advised we'd need to save 150 a month to show our ability to pay 950/month for stress testing.
Is there any point even trying now that hubby will be back self employed and on peanuts? I'd be well able to pay the mortgage on my wages.

If you are permanent take career break, 2 yrs in Emirates you could buy for cash.
31-07-2018, 12:59   #3
Cash_Q